15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Doxford

Pet daycare booking and management software. Perfect fit for dog boardings, pet sitters, walkers, groomers and trainers.

Learn more about Doxford

Pros:

Exceptional customer service, always available to help. Works well on all devices and can easily be embedded on your own website...or use the free website that is included.

Cons:

It's odd that you have to add a client and pet separately, but it doesn't really make things more difficult as my business is very small so not a huge issue, just something to get used to.

Doxford ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.6
Value for Money
5.0

Likelihood to recommend

9.6/10

Doxford has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 19 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Doxford before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (19)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great for keeping your business organized and productive.

Pros:

All in one for managing your pet based business. Keeping track of your clients alone makes this software invaluable. 24/7 customer support.

Cons:

Haven't found any software issues in my time using it yet. Maybe a few more customization options would be nice.

Doxford Response

5 years ago

Thank you for such a nice review. We're working on the system every day, so there's gonna be many more valuable features really soon!

Lara
CEO in UK
Individual & Family Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Pet Sitting Software I’ve Found

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I don’t often write reviews however I feel like this one deserves a special mention because it’s really good and it is getting better every day. I like the visuals and the graphics and the thought behind it. The software maker is really easy to contact with any suggestions and feature improvements and he has already implemented quite a few things I suggested. It’s nice because you can tailor it exactly to your needs which saves you time. With other ones I didn’t like the design and it wasnt customisable so I couldn’t change much, but this is great! You can tell that the software [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] genuinely cares about making it just right for your business needs. It’s saved me so much time as before I was doing everything manually by hand.
It has pet info, client info, payments, calendar, invoicing, email templates, booking system, vaccine parts, legal disclaimer sections, check in/out, etc etc. I went through a lot of software trials before deciding on this one and I’ve now been using it for about a year. They have a trial you can do first, which is what I did. Hope that’s helps someone in their pet sitting business.

Pros:

I really like the design, colours, customisability and features. The customer service is second to none. It has absolutely everything you need to run a good pet sitting business all in one place.

Cons:

There are a few improvements to the booking system that the software [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is still working on. At the moment I use youcanbook.me for the meet and greet part but other than that I use Doxford. But probably within a week of writing this they’ll be perfect as whenever I contact him he makes changes really fast to get it better! That’s one of the things I like so much about Doxford is how much he listens and perfects it to my company’s needs

ALEXANDER
Practice manager in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Not enough time with it

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It was easy to keep up with appointments that were last minute

Cons:

I don’t think that I had enough time to see anything significantly wrong with the program

Jana
Dog Sitter in US
Individual & Family Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Exactly what I needed!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I was looking for something very specific & Doxford fit the bill completely. I wanted something affordable for a 1 person team. I knew going in that I wanted text notifications, reports with pictures and notes, plus the ability to track payments. I also needed to easily manage my schedule and be able to customize my services to each clients needs. All that while being able to access this from any device! Doxford still checks all of those boxes for me months later!! I actually went down almost the entire list on Capterra for pet sitting software, and tested them. Took me a month, so I did my research and found Doxford to be the best and most affordable for all of those things I needed. Doxford's calendar view shows me everything going on that day, week and month- it's perfect! Prior to using Doxford I was having to use a physical calendar and two apps on my phone. It was ridiculous! Now, I can glance at the calendar and know who is paid up, what appointments are confirmed and when I have openings! AMAZING! One thing I didn't know I would want, that Doxford offers, is that I can have complete pet profiles with feeding instructions, medications and personality descriptions. I like having all that info right at my finger tips in the software, so I don't have to dig through paperwork or try to remember everything on my own. It's SO HELPFUL when you can see your notes from a past stay to refresh your memory on boarding a particular dog.

Pros:

I love that I can easily view and manage my schedule online from anywhere. My customers get text notifications with a link to their check in report with pictures. I like how I can actually customize the reports a little bit too, so I can check off meals or medications that have been given. Everything is so nice and streamlined for me because all the information I need is in one place. Saves me time and my customers love it! Also, their support team is on top of everything, so its nice knowing someone has your back!

Cons:

I do wish I could have multiple owners receive text message alerts. As of right now you can only have the notifications sent to one phone number. However, I told the dev about this wish and it may be in the works. Any time I have brought up a feature idea to the support team they are all ears. I can tell they love what they do.

Cassandra
GroomerOwner in US
Veterinary, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Growing groomer

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far my experience has been good. I have made suggestions that the company has implemented and used my ideas.

Pros:

Doxford is a less expensive software to use. It is a growing service so being patient with the lack of features is important but for the price it does what you need it to. They have been amazing at listening to suggestions. I think the program has the potential of being a great program to use.

Cons:

I miss some features such as taking credit cards with the program, having confirmation texts sent to customers to respond and we know they confirmed their appointment.

Noel
Small Business Owner in US
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple, Easy to Use, Amazing Customer Service

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love that I can have mostly all of my business information in one, easy to use location. Client information, invoicing, vaccines, even client communication. My clients appreciate the client portal and ability to view/edit their information and their pets information at any time, pay their invoices and view previous ones, and request appointments all in one easy spot.

Pros:

Simple, Easy-to-use, Affordable. Ability to easily create and host a website along with features that would best serve me and my customers right off the bat. Customer service is top notch and feels like having a partner ready to help make things easier, implement a feature, or fix a bug.

Cons:

Would love more customization options in the future. Looking forward to the development of the mobile version, the Android App, and Boarding and Daycare implementations!

Coty
Master Trainer in US
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Watch out!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I'm still learning how to use the software myself, like with anything new it takes time to learn. However with the things I have learned so far I am pretty impressed

Pros:

This is easily the most quickly developing software i have seen for the pet profession industry. It literally gets updated daily with new features. I personally have worked with the developer and he takes every idea I have ito consideration when it comes to implementation. He cares about his clients and their needs which is my favorite thing about Doxford. I cant tell ypu how many thousands of dollars I have spent on companies with difficult software that was to lazy to make it better. This is a must for new and experienced pet professionals alike.

Cons:

The only con is that this software is still quite new and lacks some features. But with how quick the developer updates the site this won't be an issue within the next few months.

Alison
Owner in UK
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Software for Pet Sitting

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: They are great and the product does everything I need. Everyone I have dealt with so far has been really helpful. The are quick to respond to any questions I have.

Pros:

The fact the customers can pick manual times for bookings and it's not set times or blocks.

Cons:

The app could have more functions however everything I need is on the website.

Gary
Owner in US
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Dog Daycare & Boarding Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Have tried all the alternatives and Doxford is by far the easiest to use, offers the best customer service and is the most affordable.

Pros:

Excellent software for managing a doggy daycare and boarding business. Has all the features you need and none of the extras that only complicate and confuse the process. Exceptional customer service, always available to help. Works well on all devices and can easily be embedded on your own website...or use the free website that is included. Allows you to communicate with clients and provide email and/or text updates about their animals.

Cons:

Any bugs were quickly fixed by customer service, and they are willing to implement any suggestions.

Rosa
Administración in Guatemala
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It is the best pet care software.

5.0 last year

Comments: I have had an excellent experience with Doxford, a very good application, they give you the option of grayis the first 10 days of use, plus it has excellent payment plans. I highly recommend it so that we have our pets well cared for and with the attention they deserve.

Pros:

That allows me to easily have the important information of my pets, I also have an easy record about their health such as vaccinations, diets and other important information, all of this makes me feel calm and I can see it in the care my pets have.

Cons:

I have nothing to say, because until now I have loved everything I have been able to do, and above all it keeps me up to date on the care of my pets and that saves me time and allows me to spend more time with my pets.

Natalie
Dog walker in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great, affordable software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, a great affordable service that I recommend to all pet professionals.

Pros:

Doxford is an affordable software for all pet professionals. It is easy to use and overall looks appealing and modern to users and customers. The app developer is also very good at responding to messages on how the app could be improved and is always ready to implement any suggestions to make the app better.

Cons:

The interface for customers that use the software could be improved, but I believe this is being worked on!

Emily
Owner in New Zealand
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Brilliant!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have trialed and used 3 other popular pet service software's and I found Doxford the easiest and nicest to use and work with. The service support is amazing and my business runs so much smoother now.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use and it saves me so much time on admin tasks. It just makes the day to day running of my business so easy and less stressful! I also love how my clients get automatic reminders for their appointments without me having to do anything.

Cons:

Nothing really, because the service was so exceptional with anything I requested, as well as I was heard with any questions I had.

Maddison
Dog walker in Australia
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Doxford

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Doxford is very easy to navigate, it has everything I need for dog walking in one place!

Cons:

Just like any app there can be some technical issues which can effect the running of my work day, however this isn't a common problem

Declan
Dog Walker in UK
Hospitality, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy pet sitting service software!!!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Doxford has been very helpful for my business with their easy and simple dashboard and with so many features to help your business keep organized.

Pros:

Doxford is one of the easiest pet sitting service software I've used. It's very simple to use with great customer services if you need it. They take feedback very well and are very fast-acting on feedback too. Any change you think may benefit you and doxford they will happily look into for you and make it happen. Anything is possible with doxford pet sitting software.

Cons:

Cons? What are cons? No Cons about this service!

Allison
Business Owner in US
Veterinary, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Value

5.0 last year

Comments: Very happy with it so far

Pros:

I love that there is an area specifically for feeding instructions that you can save

Cons:

It's odd that you have to add a client and pet separately, but it doesn't really make things more difficult as my business is very small so not a huge issue, just something to get used to.

Ellie
Dog walker in Australia
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great app to use for dog walking 😊

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

All of it is great! Great way to keep up to date with all the animals we work with and to check in and out of jobs.

Cons:

The only thing is when yo write descriptions of something you can enter to another row, so it doesn’t show very clearly when trying to write points about something, in my case a dog for walking

Artem
Self-employed in US
Individual & Family Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good reliable software

5.0 last year

Comments: I had an outstanding experience with Doxford. The application is top-notch and offers a 10-day free trial. Furthermore, it has superb payment options. I highly recommend it for ensuring your pets receive the best care and attention they deserve.

Pros:

The application enables me to manage all the information about my pets in a pretty detailed way. This feature gives me peace of mind and allows me to be sure that I don't miss anything. I definitely has an impact on the quality of my services.

Cons:

I couldn't find any major concerns. The software worked pretty well for my needs so far.

Pascal
Freelancer in Nigeria
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I Love Doxford! It's the Best Pet Sitting Software Ever!

5.0 last year

Comments: This is great! I love Doxford specially because it saves me time and it is affordable. I have recommended it to a couple of friends and I will still do.

Pros:

What I love most about Doxford pet software is that it is super easy to use and intuitive, allowing for quick and simple setup. I also love that they offer a super responsive customer service and always open to feedbacks.

Cons:

So far there are no cons, although I expect that the software will get even better over time. I'm satisfied at the moment.

Emily
Pet sitter/walker in Australia
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Really easy to use app!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I love being able to see my appointments in a weekly format - it allows me to plan my week around various jobs.

Cons:

When I am walking pets the tracking glitches sometimes