15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Tutor LMS

Tutor LMS is a WordPress LMS plugin supporting the course creation lifecycle. Sell, administer, and manage courses with Tutor LMS.

Learn more about Tutor LMS

Pros:

Basically it just flows when you are building and drag and drop helps out a lot. You can build a simple or complex learning management system with free or payed capabilities.

Cons:

Once you buy the product they will not entertain you. They will ask you to email them and wait for days to get their reply.

Tutor LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.2
Features
3.5
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

5.9/10

Tutor LMS has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5 stars based on 22 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Tutor LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (22)

Darien
Darien
Associate Pastor in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Tutor LMS is a very simple & easy to use Learning Management System

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I'm still in the process of building the website that is using Tutor LMS, but have been incredibly impressed with everything Tutor LMS offers. The simplicity of the platform has made the setup very easy, which is incredible as it makes my life much easier.

Pros:

Setting up Tutor LMS has been way easier than I ever expected - offering a simple install-and-it's-pretty-much-ready option. We are in the process of launching an e-learning platform for our church, and Tutor LMS has made the process way simpler than I would have ever expected - giving the ability for even tech illiterate people to create courses with only a little bit of training. While this free version does not compare with the added features of PRO, having a free version with this much versatility is incredible - anyone could very quickly setup a website, build a home page with basic info, and then drop Tutor LMS in and have a ready-to-use learning platform. Tutor also allows for paid courses, integrating very quickly with WooCommerce to allow for payment processing of courses.

Cons:

Tutor LMS is very easy-to-use and offers beautiful pre-built templates for all Tutor LMS pages, however it does not offer much customizability for those pages (without perhaps extensive CSS coding). Fortunately this does not matter too much, as their pre-built template is very reminiscent of a Material Design 2.0 style, however it could be problematic for people who's web style does not match that of Tutor's.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The free edition is near perfect for SMBs

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The free edition is perfect for SMBs, couldn't face any bugs or technical issues since the deployment and the opensource community is of much support.

Pros:

We used the free opensource edition and we were impressed about the easiness of integration with WordPress and ability to edit the source code to fit our need, in short: 1- Ease of integration. 2- Flexibility to be edited. 3- Free.

Cons:

1- Lacks some of the major LMS features such as Evaluations, certifications, etc. (It's found in the paid edition of course) 2- No support for the free edition, but the opensource community is more than enough for us.

Amy
Founder in US
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Promising but does not live up to potential; support is awful

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: Awful. Misleading information. Unkind support. I couldn't even get help until I asked for a refund and left a 1-star review. Still no refund, even though they told me they never hold back refunds. They said they'd issue a refund if I get on a video call with their team lead between my local hours of 11PM and 6AM and if he can't fix all the issues I've had. I don't care if he can fix them. I don't support them anymore. I don't want to deal with them anymore. I moved to LearnDash, and it's just so, so much better.

Pros:

I like the look of the software and the promise of so many integrations. The potential is what won me over. They promised full Gutenberg editor, integration with Elementor, quizzes, reviews, Woocommerce integration, and so much more. All the functionality and ease of use was so so promising. Too bad it didn't live up to any of that.

Cons:

Most of the features and integrations Tutor LMS advertises are not true integrations. Gutenberg can only be used on the course home page. You canNOT use Gutenberg for lessons/quizzes/assignments. You have to use classic editor. It also was buggy for me, where any time I'd edit a lesson/quiz/assignment, everything that was already there would be deleted. When I asked support, they said it wasn't Tutor LMS's fault; it's my theme's fault. And that basically sums up my experience with support. Nothing is ever their fault, ever. Instead of making software that actually works with the giants like Elementor, Wordpress (it was a standard Wordpress theme), they say it's the giants' fault. The Woocommerce integration is also extremely buggy. If you just look at the support forums, there's always people asking about issues. I had so many issues with it, and support kept giving me conflicting advice (different support members told me to have a box checked, but others said to not have that box checked). When I brought it up when I left a 1-star review on the Wordpress plugin page, again it was not Tutor LMS's fault! They said, "We have a lot of new support team members, sorry." No sign that they'll make sure to train them better. Nothing. To sum up, what I hate the most about Tutor LMS is their attitude. They don't care about their customers at all. They don't care that the information they present is misleading. They just say, "Well, we're adding more functions to these integrations."

Gustavo
Gustavo
Director in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It is a good tool for entry level projects

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have developed a whole marketplace for courses, and the experience has been good, but sometimes the software lacks of some simple features that would improve a lot the experience for developers, instructors and students.

Pros:

The platform is pretty nice, it does offer a good value for money, the Dashboard offered to browse into the different sections of any account is convenient, easy to use, and the course visualizer is nice.

Cons:

It does not offer many ways to be easily customized. And there is a super drawback in the assessment capabilities when designing a course, there is no way to create a quiz without marks nor a poll. Those are must features when it comes to a course platform since many times instructors need to freely evaluate the students without applying any mark, or eventually, instructors need to consult students about the course itself.

Saad Ahmed
Saad Ahmed
Manager in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A complete Learning Management System which is easy to understand and free to start selling courses

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: While working in a software development firm I installed this learning management system for several clients. And this is the first choice we offer to our clients because of its unique functionalities and extremely positive feedback from several clients in the education industry.

Pros:

This is the most complete learning management system available for WordPress as well as for the mobile app. The best things about this LMS is that it integrates with Woocommerce and Elementor for free and it also integrates with the mobile app using RestAPI. Moreover, its premium version offers with a lifetime licence, as well as front end course development functionality. These all the capabilities of Tutor LMS make it a unique system that offer every thing required to start an online educational institution.

Cons:

The system is so much complete that I cannot find any major problem with it. However, it can be more improved if it offers more shortcodes and front end course development for free.

Danker
Danker
Teacher in Indonesia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

There are better LMS than Tutor

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, sofar it is a LMS with which I can work, for now, for the time being, but I will not recommend it, the system is not versatile enough. I am still looking for a better alternative.

Pros:

It is easy to install once you're used to working with LMS.

Cons:

Lacking quiz options. The quiz models that come with Tutor LMS Pro are very limited. The layout of the lessons online is confusing, not clearly delineated what is what, it's not really user-friendly. There are several bugs like overlapping texts that in fact should be side by side. Updating/ saving chzanges does not always work. If you're lucky, any changes are saved, but not always. Exporting quizzes is ok, but importing them fails: the csv files are distorted when importing them (comma problem), customer service is not able or not willing to fix it. Overall, customer service is horrible, unfriendly, unprofessional, unwilling to support.

Mario
Developer in Spain
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Solution on LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: i tried a lot of LMS, but tutor really is the best one, all my customers are happy with it .. and is easy to use.

Pros:

they have a lot of plugins to add, it's a cheaper solution on the market, they have great support. if you are a developer it is the best option, they work with system overrides and if you are a normal user, you can choose from many templates, works with Elementor and is optimized for SEO

Cons:

a single customer can't buy X qty of courses to share with their employees, so need to work / think more on b2b

Islam
Islam
Web Developer in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

great lms to start ... not to end with

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: i see that tutor lms has a great functions library to start with, and a very bad UI design effect easy of use a small effort in design will change a lot.

Pros:

this software has good advantages points but most of it for me as a developer is easy to develop, unlike other lms; tutor has cool documentation help me with edit classes , controllers and customize view , the ease to develop open the door to dozen function to be add as i have the great built in functions, that make me said that tutor lms is a greate lms to start with , if you have the right developer you can do any thing with it.

Cons:

tutor lms has major disadvantage i believe they didnot consider appearance whene they bulid lms i mean what a bad look student dashboard have, they even forget to have breadcrumbs whick cost me nothing to add but that effect the overall image of lms.

Haradhan
Haradhan
Digital Marketing Excutive in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tutor LMS is only best solution for online learning management system with wordpress

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experiance was truely Great With Tutor LMS and again i say that this is best and unbetable Learning management solution available for Wordpress. So if you finding any solution for Selling online cources on your won platfrom so Tutor LMS is my recomended choice.

Pros:

Without any complication we easily manage online cources on our website it's very smooth way to reach the target. As we wish we easily sell any cources from our website portal. From wordpress wide dashboard we check our sales information and it's compactiable with woocommerce. That's why payment collection was now more easy from any source almost we collect cource fees without any hassle.

Cons:

Tutor LMS is very simple system for developer and for Users it's too much easy to use for everyone.Just required to install Tutor LMS plugin from wordpress dashboard this plugin automitaclly create everything for us. This plugin working properly with almost every popular themes and page builde. Lot's of castomization option also available so I like everything about Tutor LMS.

Chandril
Chandril
Founder in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Worth a shot but with reservations

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am confused if the PRO is substantially different from FREE. Because I paid $599 and now am struggling to convince myself that PRO is different from the FREE but it's not really that big of a different. Or if I might say...if you are a beginner like me then go for FREE...not PRO. Pro is just few additional features which are often useless to me at least.

Pros:

I loved the UI. It looks good to the customers/students. Looks more professional than many other options. Plus, it's on Lifetime Deal right now.

Cons:

The customer care is OKish. I mean not as prompt as you would like. The live chat is mostly for pre-sales queries. Once you buy the product they will not entertain you. They will ask you to email them and wait for days to get their reply. If you are in rush then god save you. Implementation is not easy at all. So, customer care is much required. They have some documentation and few old videos on Youtube but I think they should create more tutorials teaching their latest updates. BTW the refund is not "NO QUESTIONS ASKED" and they will ask you a lot of questions if you ask for refund. I am concerned that once my refund period is over they might not address my issues as promptly.

Nabila
Content Writer in Bangladesh
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

You can literally build a Udemy Clone with Tutor LMS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have thoroughly enjoyed the UX of Tutor LMS and the amazing details you get with this plugin. The course creation process is not only made easier but very well organized. You can create professional sites and not have any issues whatsoever. Moreover, they have great customer support who have helped me with any query I have had so far.

Pros:

There are so many features in Tutor LMS that are really good. I particularly enjoy the frontend course builder which I have not seen in any other LMS. It helps me create courses on the go and see how it looks live. Instructors in my eLearning site can also create courses on the frontend without depending on any admin. The process is made so much easier and efficient with Tutor LMS frontend course builder.

Cons:

Although the LMS is quite new in the market, they're still missing a few features like the content drip.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Unsatisfactory Customer Service

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: Not good. Very displeased.

Pros:

The product is not bad for the price however it is priced at the top end for similar versions of the functionality. The plugin is also littered with bugs. The support is slow, has email send and receive issues and also has no ticketing system on their site which makes support virtually impossible. We have since deleted this plugin and moved to an alternative.

Cons:

Bugs in the plugin and terrible support. We lost time and money with administrators losing content uploaded to the courses. Very annoying.

Tomas
Director in Argentina
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most versatile plugin for online education

5.0 last year

Comments: Perfect! That is why we have been used for a long Time

Pros:

Easy to install and easy to use.There is no long learning period.In one afternoon you can understand all the secrets of the program

Cons:

It does not have a system to deactivate courses when a certain time passes

Ngalla
Ngalla
Software Consultant in Cameroon
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tutor LMS for any learning websites

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Amazing

Pros:

Tutor lms has been far the most easy to use and implement learning management tool. It integrates well with other softwares like MailChimp and buddypress.

Cons:

I have had many people complain about redirects on the plugin. Also takes time to send emails.

Charity
CEO Founder in US
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Plug in buggy

3.0 last year

Comments: I am not a happy customer.

Pros:

The course builder is easy to use and have so many features.

Cons:

I just purchased a license and while building my website I got locked out and could not log back in. I keep getting an endless maintenance mode message. Also, the mockup courses won't delete .

Philip
Director in Hong Kong
Animation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Terrible product and customer service

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: Terrible in every way

Pros:

This product has broken our WordPress site and Themeum.com provide no support whatsoever. Avoid this product at all costs. We will be going back to Learndash which is a far more reliable plugin.

Cons:

The fact that it broke our website and also the terrible customer service

Kiera
director in Ireland
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great potential, but awlful support

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: a product with great potential but their support team really lets it down.

Pros:

theme looks great and easy to manage design changes.

Cons:

the customer support, its just terrible......i cant stress enough how bad it is. even if it was free i would'nt use it again.

Nazia
Faculty in Bangladesh
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing solution for instructors!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Tutor LMS has one of the best UI compared to other plugins that I have tried in the market. As an instructor I get almost all the options I require to build my courses and exams. They also have amazing customer support that has helped me any time I get stuck.

Pros:

There are numerous features in Tutor LMS that make it very easy for instructors to create a comprehensive course in Tutor LMS. One of the best features is the quiz creator in Tutor LMS that enables one to build absolutely any kind of question paper. I ger over 10 types of question types to choose from, randomizing question options and automated checking. The frontend course builder lets me see exactly how my quizzes appear to students.

Cons:

I am yet to experience any cons with Tutor LMS. Obviously it could still incorporate more features and there's always room for improvement. So far Tutor LMS has been very easy and efficient to use.

Jorge Edel
Jorge Edel
CEO Veeme Media in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to setup WP LMS

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

At first I was worried that it would be really complex like other plugins. But then I got it going and it's really easy to setup. Basically it just flows when you are building and drag and drop helps out a lot. You can build a simple or complex learning management system with free or payed capabilities.

Cons:

Would like the option to have templates to choose different style.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Primary/Secondary Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Tutor LMS para gestión académica

4.0 last year

Comments: Es un muy buen gestor de contenido académico y de procesos de aprendizaje.

Pros:

Facilidad de Implementación y manejo del contenido académico y de aprendizaje.

Cons:

Dificultad para personalización de las características del complemento, esto mejoraria para la presentación de contenido.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Administrando la plataforma Educativay de Aprendizaje

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Al ser un componente de fácil implementación en la plataforma de wordpress. Brinda la facilidad en la gestión de cursos, desde creación, desactivación.

Cons:

Su dificultad de personalización de diseños y colores, que seria ideal al presentar contenido educativo y los cursos.

Itziar
Nutricionista in Spain
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Un gran sistema de gestión de aprendizaje

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: En general, creo que fue un gran descubrimiento, porque me aporta un gran toque personal a mi web en la hora que decidir de implementar un extra, como cursos interactivos y gracias a Tutor LMS lo puedo hacer todo de forma muy sencilla y dinámica.

Pros:

Es una herramienta que me ha facilitado mucho las tareas además de sorprenderme con su cantidad de funciones, como aprendizaje móvil, eventos de calendario, cuestionarios, etc, además de la gran ayuda para l creación de contenido interactivo.

Cons:

A veces se traba un poco con determinados plugins que tengo instalados, pero es en algunas ocasiones que provoca algunos fallos.