15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

Gather Reviews

4.8 (71) Write a Review! United Kingdom Local product

About Gather

Market leading software in the capture and commercial analysis of site data to accelerate sustainable construction.

Learn more about Gather

Pros:

One of the standout features I liked most about Raildiary was its intuitive and user-friendly interface.

Cons:

Syncing is an issue sometimes but very rare, no autosave yet but is coming.

Gather ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Gather has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 71 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Gather before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (72)

Anthony
Rail Systems Engineer in UK
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Anthony's Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Really enjoyed using and testing the app on my sites, I would definitely recommend it to other engineers and managers.

Pros:

User friendly and has a massive reduction in physical paperwork.

Cons:

The app works great, I have had ne issue with it. For a time I couldn't be an administrator and operator at the same time, this issue has now been fixed

Michael
Site Manager in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great site reporting platform.

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Great, as an experienced site manager with over 10 years reporting either as Ganger/Supervisor or management the gather platform saves myself personally 10-20 mins per day reporting daily activities.

Pros:

Efficient to use especially when entering numerous labour resources, plant, materials etc. Excellent for tracking site labour working hours in line with fatigue management. Easy accessible PDF file past daily reports.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike, as mentioned in previous review.

Gather Insights Response

2 months ago

Hi Michael, Wow, thanks a bunch for the awesome review on Capterra! We at Gather do a happy dance every time we hear someone finds our platform helpful, and yours definitely makes us smile. While we know company decisions on platforms can sometimes be out of your hands, we're super glad Gather's a valuable tool in your day-to-day.

Esira
Railway Field Engineer in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Makes life alot eeasier instead of creating your individual rail diaries.

Pros:

The product was very much simple to use given the way its been layed out.

Cons:

Excellent and the system is proving to be very helpful 👍🏽

Gather Insights Response

9 months ago

Hello Esira, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of Raildiary. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you found our product easy to use in your role as a Railway Field Engineer. It's great to know that you found the layout of Raildiary to be user-friendly and straightforward. We designed the platform with simplicity and efficiency in mind, and it's wonderful to hear that this aspect has resonated with you. While your review states that there are cons, your comment seems to indicate that you are actually quite satisfied with the system. We'd be interested in learning more about your experiences and any suggestions you may have for improvement. Your insights are invaluable to us in our ongoing efforts to enhance Raildiary and make it even more beneficial for our users. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that Raildiary continues to meet your needs and expectations in the future. If you have any questions or if there's anything more you'd like to see in the product, please do not hesitate to reach out. Your feedback is important to us.

Steve
Construction Manager CRE Signalling in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New site diary user review

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: as a new user i am liking it very much and i think it will be a great advantage to me in my job and to the company as a whole

Pros:

I found the site diary features good and the team are happy to work with us if we feel that another aspect/feature could be adjusted or added to help our reporting. As being a new user it is a little learning curve the first couple of times but its like that with anything and i think this system will be very useful for the business

Cons:

as stated above we are new user's but looking at it i think it will be very beneficial to our works

Gather Insights Response

11 months ago

earn that you're finding the site diary features beneficial for your role as a Construction Manager CRE Signalling. Your feedback on the usability of our platform and the willingness of our team to accommodate your suggestions is greatly appreciated. It's completely understandable that there might be a slight learning curve when starting with any new system, but we're thrilled to hear that you're already finding your way around and see the potential value for your business. Your observation that Raildiary could be very useful to your company echoes our intention to provide a versatile tool that enhances business processes. We're excited to have you on board and look forward to being a key asset in streamlining your reporting and management tasks. Should you have more feedback, questions, or ideas to share, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're here to ensure that your journey with Raildiary is a successful and advantageous one for both you and your company.

Chris
Scaffold Manager in UK
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sceptic user

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall experience is good training to use it made it sound more difficult that it is which was an initial turn off to the product. But once started using it i have no complaints.

Pros:

The best thing is the ease of use and how much detail you can enter into Raildiary. All relevant information is there and to hand. It is so easy to but it all together.

Cons:

Sometimes there is a lot of repetitive typing if you are say planning for the week. should be away of saving a more detailed report and copying the information for several reports especially if your works and labour are repetitive

Gather Insights Response

11 months ago

Hello Chris, We truly appreciate your thoughtful review of Raildiary. Your feedback about the ease of use and the level of detail you can enter into the platform is wonderful to hear. We designed Raildiary to provide a comprehensive yet user-friendly experience, and it's rewarding to know that it's aligning with your needs as a Scaffold Manager in the construction industry. Your mention of the convenience of having all relevant information readily available is one of the core principles behind Raildiary's functionality. We're glad to hear it's making your tasks more efficient and streamlined. We've noted your observation regarding repetitive typing, particularly when planning for the week. Your suggestion to save more detailed reports and copy information for several reports is valuable feedback. Our team is continuously working on improving user experience, and your input will contribute to these enhancements. If you have more insights, suggestions, or questions, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're committed to making Raildiary the best fit for your needs.

Andrew
Scheme Project Management in UK
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A superb tool for large projects to monitor project progress

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: RailDiary has been a massive benefit from a client side to see the Key Insights on the project to assess live progress on the works in comparison to the programme submitted by the contractor. This has introduced a level of transparency into the project and improved working relationships and communications between NWR and JMS.

The justification sections for lost time/ progress has been of massive benefit so we can target regular occurrences and work on lessons learnt on how we can avoid these during the project.

For the scale of the scheme, this has been a very cost effective tool providing multiple functions to support the project. This includes resource allocation, project tracking, activity tracking and fatigue management, ultimately reducing and simplifying the background work we have to complete as part of our Business-as-Usual activities.

Pros:

Live information, forced justifications for lost time and efficiencies, ease of use, ease of rectification, support team were amazing

Cons:

Not much!! It would be good to be able to share the BI stuff through a business without providing access to the raildiary maybe

Gener
Project Engineer in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

RailDiary review from Linbrooke user

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Generally happy and an improvement and an improvement on previous reporting system

Pros:

It's simple, quick and efficient and easy to use.

Cons:

Allocation of hours and plant and resource is tricky to copy and paste when allocating the jobs and can be time consuming

Gather Insights Response

9 months ago

Hello Gener, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Raildiary as a Project Engineer. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you find Raildiary simple, quick, efficient, and easy to use. These are the key aspects we aim to provide in our product, and we're thrilled that you've had a positive experience in these regards. Regarding your comment about the allocation of hours, plant, and resources, we understand that this can be a crucial aspect of your work, and we appreciate your input on this. We're constantly working to improve the functionality of Raildiary, and your feedback will be valuable in helping us enhance this area and make the process more user-friendly. We're also glad to hear that you're generally happy with Raildiary and that it represents an improvement over your previous reporting system. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we aim to continue providing you with a valuable and efficient tool for your work. If you have any specific suggestions for improvement or if there are additional features you'd like to see, please feel free to reach out. Your input is essential in shaping the future of Raildiary. Thank you for choosing Raildiary and for your review.

Philip
Site Manager in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use onsite

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Makes reporting easy as it can be carried out throughout the shift and photographs uploaded instantly when taken through the app

Pros:

most of the information about the shift can be pre loaded and checked prior to the shift and the ability to pre load staff names / roles

Cons:

nothing to dislike, Raildiary is quite straight forward to use

Gather Insights Response

9 months ago

Thank you, Philip, for your fantastic review of Raildiary! We're thrilled to hear that you find our product easy to use onsite and that it has streamlined your workflow as a Site Manager. It's great to know that you appreciate the feature that allows you to preload information about shifts and staff names/roles. We designed Raildiary with the intention of simplifying the reporting process and making it more efficient, and your positive feedback confirms that we're on the right track. The fact that Raildiary allows for real-time reporting and instant photo uploads is indeed a key benefit, and we're delighted that it has had a positive impact on your work. Thank you for your support and for taking the time to share your experience. If you ever have any suggestions or if there's anything more you'd like to see in Raildiary, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're here to make your job easier and more efficient. Wishing you continued success with Raildiary in your role as Site Manager!

Alex
Alex
Assistant Quantity Surveyor in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A really effective and intuitive application

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

A really simple and structured way to create daily reports that are uniform and detailed. Encourages the inclusion of all necessary information.

Cons:

It does not yet include a mass download feature which can prove to be an issue when multiple files are needed - however the support team can usually get me these files pretty quickly. A feature consisting of a box that can be drawn in would also be massively helpful so sheets can be hand signed on tablets by the employer on the day

Kenrick
Site Manager in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Life with Gathers on site

5.0 last month New

Comments: Ive enjoyed using this app it has made my life so much easier with the shift reporting and keeping my managers and commercial team with the happenings in site . Well done to the gathers team.

Pros:

How simple and easy it is to use on your mobile phone and laptop.

Cons:

Not able to add more than ine photos in close call section and shift comment section

Michaela
Office manager and sentinel coordinator in UK
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient and detailed reporting

5.0 last year

Pros:

Offline reporting Fatigue feature Shift planner saves hours of admin time.

Cons:

More detailed fatigue data would be appreciated - if an operative is exceeding their hours, it would be amazing if Raildiary showed us where, rather than having to look through the shift records

Gather Insights Response

last year

Hey Michaela, Thank you for the awesome review! We're thrilled to hear that you find our reporting feature efficient and detailed. Our goal is to provide you with comprehensive reporting tools that save you time and streamline your administrative tasks. We appreciate your feedback about wanting more detailed fatigue data. We understand the importance of having a clear overview of operative hours and areas where they may be exceeding their limits. We'll definitely take this into consideration and explore ways to enhance the visibility of fatigue data within Raildiary. Our aim is to make your experience even more seamless and informative. We're glad to know that our offline reporting and shift planner features are saving you hours of admin time. We designed these features to optimize your workflow and eliminate unnecessary manual work. Thank you again for choosing Raildiary and for sharing your valuable feedback. If you have any more suggestions or thoughts, please feel free to reach out. We're here to support you and continuously improve our product to meet your needs.

Darren
Senior Delivery Supervisor in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very impressed use it every night

Pros:

I'm impressed with the app it makes reporting easier, all paperwork in 1 place saves on printing multiple work packs and documents

Cons:

Syncing is an issue sometimes but very rare, no autosave yet but is coming

Gather Insights Response

last year

Hi Darren, Thank you for the great review! We're thrilled to hear that you find our app easy to use and that it has made reporting easier for you. Our goal is to provide a user-friendly experience that simplifies your workflow. We understand the value of having all your paperwork in one place and the convenience it brings. Saving on printing multiple work packs and documents is a great benefit, and we're glad to hear that our app helps you achieve that. We appreciate your feedback about the syncing issue, although it's rare. We're continuously working to improve the app's performance and ensure a smooth syncing process. We're committed to addressing any issues promptly to enhance your experience. Additionally, we're excited to inform you that an autosave feature is in the works and will be available soon. It will further streamline your workflow and provide added peace of mind. Thank you for being impressed with our app and for using it every night. We value your support and are here to assist you with any further needs or feedback you may have.

Piotr
Manager in Poland
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 last year

Comments: In my overall experience with Raildiary, I found it to be a delightful platform for documenting and sharing my rail travel experiences. The user-friendly interface and interactive features made it enjoyable to create a personalized travel diary, connect with other rail enthusiasts, and discover new destinations. With further expansion of railway coverage, Raildiary has the potential to become an indispensable tool for rail travelers worldwide.

Pros:

One of the standout features I liked most about Raildiary was its intuitive and user-friendly interface. It made it easy to record and organize my rail travel experiences, with options to add details such as photos, locations, and personal notes. Additionally, the ability to share my rail journeys with others and explore travel recommendations from fellow users was a great source of inspiration and community engagement.

Cons:

One aspect that I found less appealing about Raildiary was the limited availability of certain railway networks or regions. While the platform covered a decent range of rail journeys, there were instances where I couldn't find specific routes or networks that I wanted to document. Expanding the coverage to include more global railway systems would enhance the platform's overall appeal.

Andrew
Construction Manager in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

4.0 last year

Comments: Very good, once i understood all the features it became very helpful

Pros:

The search back on previous diaries is very helpful gain summaries

Cons:

Unable to upload multiple photos on the shift comments section

Gather Insights Response

last year

Hi Andrew, Thank you for the great review! We're thrilled to hear that you're finding our product helpful, especially with the search feature for previous diaries. Being able to gain summaries from past entries is indeed a valuable tool. We appreciate your feedback about the inability to upload multiple photos in the shift comments section. We're always looking for ways to improve our product, and your input helps us prioritsze our development efforts. We'll definitely take note of this and explore options for enhancing the photo upload feature. In the interim, I would recommend checking out the Worklog Events function which allows multiple photo upload. We understand that navigating through all the features can take some time, but we're glad to hear that once you got the hang of it, our product became very helpful. We're committed to providing a user-friendly experience, and we're continuously working on making it even better. Thank you again for choosing our product and for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Frank
Programme Lead in UK
Government Administration, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Programme Management made easy

5.0 last year

Comments: The mobile app provided by Raildiary is a game-changer. It empowers our team members on the ground to capture and share data effortlessly. Whether it's taking photos, recording audio, or inputting manual observations, the app streamlines the process and ensures that the data is instantly uploaded to the system. This level of automation has eliminated the need for manual data entry, reducing the risk of errors and ensuring that information is up-to-date at all times.

Pros:

Raildiary is an exceptional tool that revolutionizes the way we gather and access information from rail construction sites in real time. As a project manager in the railway industry, I have had the opportunity to use Raildiary extensively, and I can confidently say that it has become an invaluable asset for our team. The feature that stands out the most and has greatly impressed me is the tool's ability to provide immediate and accurate information from the site, allowing us to make informed decisions promptly.

Cons:

More integrations with Network Rail systems would be nice

Gather Insights Response

last year

Thanks Frank! We really appreciate your support!

Jaclyn
Assisant Project Manager in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple but effective system

5.0 last year

Comments: Increadibly helpful customer services and support. [sensitive content hidden] has visited the office on a number of times to help me intergrate the system into our way of working. We wouldn't have been able to do it without the help and support from [sensitive content hidden].

Pros:

How quick and easy the system is to use, being able to upload doucments to be signed on site. The reports come in very handy, and the compliance leaderboard which [sensitive content hidden] creatred for us has helped boast the number of shift reports being submitted. Also, being able to set the guys up on ipads was great for getting the shift data live on site.

Cons:

Honestly, I cannot think of any! Every aspect of the system is critical to our shift reporting and is incredibly easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple - It can make the complex work simple

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Raildiary can replace traditional handwritten site reporting with an electronic system that is reliable and more accurate.

Pros:

- Simplicity. The concept is so simple and it works- It minimises the errors, and paperwork and produces clean site records that can actually read- No room to miss contra charges, extra work, or unplanned works if managed properly- It can improve the collaboration and team work as it connects levels- Attentive client support from the Raildiary team [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. They really take effort to improve your project.

Cons:

- It is not integrated with other project prgramme tools. - It minimises the errors but never the 0. the site allocation is directly linked to the cost. if data is entered incorrectly it can change your cost data and you may be projecting incorrect data to your client- it would not detect or notify when there are errors such as duplicate entries.- there can be glitching errors with Android OS- a designated administrator will be needed

anthony
Compliance Manager in UK
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good reliable bit of software

5.0 last year

Comments: Raildairy is a good useful tool, if used correctly, it needs management for the company/person using it, to ensure staff use it correctly and complete each section correctly.To me it's the only way to achieve its full benefit and usefulness.

Pros:

For me it's a really good data management system, it allows our staff to have all our documents in one place, being in compliance it can be stressful searching job folders to find what I need to look at. Raildiary allows me to do this in one place, and so easy to navigate, i can also get a compliance detail report or a combined shift report.

Cons:

To be honest i have never thought about this, to me i can't see any issues, its a good Data base if used to it's full potential, i would assume there will be some Cons.

Sam
Signalling installer in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sam hardy

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Easy to use

Pros:

Easy to use and alot of the information can be pre uploaded which is good

Cons:

When searching for attachments it has all old ones still there

Gather Insights Response

9 months ago

Hello Sam, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Raildiary. We're delighted to hear your feedback as a Signalling Installer. It's great to know that you found Raildiary to be easy to use and appreciate the feature that allows you to pre-upload information. We designed the product with user-friendliness in mind, and we're pleased that it's meeting your expectations in that regard. We do acknowledge your comment regarding searching for attachments and the presence of old ones. Your feedback is essential in helping us improve our platform and ensure a better experience for all our users. We're continuously working to enhance our features, and we will consider your input as we move forward with document archiving. We're committed to providing the best service possible, and your review is valuable in that process. If there's anything specific you'd like to see improved or if you have any additional comments or suggestions, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thank you for taking the time to review Raildiary, and we look forward to continuously improving your experience with our product. Your satisfaction is our priority.

Mark
Site manager in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Rail diary UTB

5.0 last year

Comments: It is very good

Pros:

It's accessible and logs back to we're left off

Cons:

Hour times of on site subcontractors and travel times

Gather Insights Response

11 months ago

Hi Mark, Thank you for your concise yet impactful Raildiary review. We're glad to hear that you find our platform accessible and appreciate its ability to log you back to where you left off. This continuity in your workflow is something we value. Your feedback regarding tracking hour times for on-site subcontractors and travel times is noted. Enhancing time tracking accuracy is essential, and your insights contribute to our ongoing improvements. It's great to see that you've continued to have a positive experience with Raildiary even after switching companies. If you ever have more insights to share or any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Craig
Site Manager in UK
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Raildiary review

4.0 last year

Comments: very good product, and very easy to use even for the most inexperienced IT individuals.

Pros:

very good product, and very easy to use even for the most inexperienced IT individuals. amount of information being captured on sites helps manage and control both cost and works.

Cons:

nothing stands out, maybe an option to upload more than one photograph with comments.

William
Project Manager in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Project Manager Overview

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Excellent real time working

Pros:

Easy access to current work bank and issues

Cons:

still finding out, looking at the site map where you can pick a site and interrogate where there are multiple sites hard to select the one you are looking at as the pins are on top of each other.

Gather Insights Response

11 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Raildiary, William! We're thrilled to hear that you're finding value in the easy access to your current work bank and issue tracking. It's great to know that Raildiary is aiding your real-time workflow effectively. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the site map feature. Your observation about the pins overlapping when dealing with multiple sites is duly noted. Our team is continuously working on enhancing the user experience, and your input will be valuable in improving this aspect of the platform. We're committed to delivering a seamless experience, and your review reaffirms our dedication to that goal. If you ever have more insights to share or any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our customer support team. We're here to assist you and ensure that your experience with Raildiary remains exceptional.

Mark
Operations Manager in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Innovative, Interactive & Accurate

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I most like the interactive, helpful team, that not only help you with understanding and customised set-up, but more importantly are on-hand personally to guide you, help create new features that benefit the business, and also check that the output suits my needs.

Pros:

The software is predominately easy to use, especially as the ever-helpful team are available to tweak and adjust everything to my specific needs. They even changed the clock face setup to help with the accuracy that I needed.

Cons:

Sometimes it is hard to see why the data hasn't been accepted, and a trawl through the questions is required to find an error / tweak that is required. It could be beneficial if the system automatically points you to the problem area.

Nick
Senior project manager in UK
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TfL 4LM

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

Raildiary revolutionised the delivery of the cable pull project for TfL. The software provided real time reporting, enabling full transparency between office and site based teams. The continuous link between the two groups enabled swift issue resolution throughout the delivery phase.

Cons:

Raildiary took on feedback throughout our projects together, working swiftly to introduce added functionality where we needed. There was nothing I didn't like about the experience.

Zak
Senior Railway Manager in UK
Railroad Manufacture, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Zak’s review

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Great experience in getting involved in the evolution in this system

Pros:

Good user interface. Great support from Raildiary.

Cons:

Nothing really. We have been involved in the evolution of the system and our comments were incorporated during the development.,