Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Passportal

Encrypted cloud-based, integrated, automated password protection to store, manage, and retrieve customer credentials and knowledge.

Learn more about Passportal

Filter reviews (87)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Passportal before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (87)

Andrew F.
Owner in US
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty good so far.

5 2 years ago

Comments: Being able to collect user passwords from my team automatically without us having to remember to document everything has been pretty helpful.

Pros:

It was quick and easy to setup and deploy on my systems and customer systems. Being able to see who accessed a password and when is also pretty huge for audits.

Cons:

There are some things that can't be changed after you set them, some of the setup is not super intuitive or flexible. Things like assuming the customer has a person who can administer the service onsite and forcing you to have at least 1 site administrator per customer when in reality, there are probably a number of companies that don't have a person in house suitable to be the site administrator. Integration with N-Central doesn't seem there quite yet, but we're hopeful they'll get it working properly soon enough. You can access and copy the passwords from the Take Control, but it won't actually paste the passwords into the system it seems.

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal: Confluence didn't have any way of automatically capturing our passwords as we put them in or give us a secure tool for giving our customers to manage their passwords.

Switched From: Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: It's distributed through Pax8, not developed in Australia, and we already use N-Central and wanted the integration between Passportal and our RMM.

Kelly speers I.
Kelly speers I.
Owner / Principal IT Consultant in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Passportal Ocular +Docs is helping us prevent brain drain

4 2 years ago

Comments: our documentation and password management are kept up to date allowing our contractors as well as the outsourced teams to know what we have in place.

Pros:

How easy we keep records of our client's setup and secure their credentials.

Cons:

there is a bit of a learning curve but support is helpful getting over the humps.

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: price and lack of meeting commitments other companies had mentioned to us about IT Glue not livving up to.

Kendall P.
Owner in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product

5 2 years ago

Comments: This software has been a life saver in terms of saving time and money. I would highly recommend it.

Pros:

I really like that all my clients information is readily available in 1 place. I don't have to hunt through pages of documentation to find a password, IP address, how to article or anything. All information is laid out in a standard format

Cons:

the integration with ConnectWise Automate and Control seems a little delayed. and sometimes doesn't show up at all if the serial number isn't populated in Automate.

Alternatives Considered: Confluence and Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Passportal: Pricing

Switched From: IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: Even though the other 2 options were free, being able to standardize the documentation was key. The password keeper was also a huge factor. the last was the integration with many other software platforms. For the price, we couldn't pass it up.

Chris B.
Regional Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

MSP Password and Security

4 2 years ago

Comments: Overall great experience, it helps us achieve some GDPR compliance and audit ability of our customers as well as a central store for documentation

Pros:

The audit report of known password by user and the ability to change windows password

Cons:

The fact that single sign on and ad sync is not an option at the moment

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal: The audit report and the automatic password change on engineer leaving

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: Simple interface and costing. It Glue is a great documentarian product but a poor password Maanger, Passportal is a better password manager but not as good in documentation. As our need was focused on password management etc Passportal was the best option

Ryan C.
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PassPortal Review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The reporting capabilities are pretty good. The idea of Docs is really good, but needs some work.

Cons:

It's pretty slow going between sections and clients. While there are a lot of integrations, there are no ways that I've found to bulk edit imported assets, or merge duplicate assets. Runbooks don't export long sentances properly, they don't word wrap well. For instance a long URL in a text field exported to a PDF would go off the page

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: The password manager seemed to be better.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Network Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good password management tool, fair documentation platform

4 2 years ago

Comments: Overall our experiences with Passportal (previous to being bought by SolarWinds) has been positive. While there have been some issues they have addressed them and the product has continued to grow substantially since we've been onboard.

Pros:

It does a good job of keeping login information for various customers in a central, secure, managed location. It allows you to restrict access to specific clients to specific people or teams and tracks every time a technician has accessed a password so you know what needs to be rotated if they depart.

Cons:

The browser plugin is tolerable but not great.

Nick R.
Infrastructure Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Changed the way the business operates.

5 2 years ago

Comments: The software has enabled our business to organise, check and collate all our clients documentation and credentials in one place. This means our technicians are spending a lot less time searching for information, so overall efficiency for our customers has been greatly improved. Having the ability for our technicians to have their own secure vault for corporate credentials has also improved our overall security.

Pros:

Access to the portal on any devices at any time. Portal is well designed and extremely fast to use. Ability to store credentials and documentation in the same portal is amazing, plus the ability to link documents and credentials in revolutionary for us.

Cons:

After using the software for nearly 6 months we have found no issues.

Michael H.
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Love the password management features

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Full auditing of password access Ability to fill passwords in ConnectWise Control (ScreenConnect) sessions

Cons:

Documentation piece is lacking, but improving.

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal: Better control over password management

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: Price and dealing with honest people

Ethan B.
ICT Field Technician in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Passport Review

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use joined with Screen connect making it easier to use the login feature

Cons:

That you can only link it with screen connect and it does not support other RDC clients

Dean B.
IT Exec in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Reasonable software

4 2 years ago

Comments: Support and sales teams have been quite responsive on this, our second go.

Pros:

The primary reason it was selected was for password management which has a plugin for Connectwise Control. The added bonus of a fledgeling document management systems helped tipped the balance.

Cons:

Encountered a number of bugs during the initial setup but these were corrected or worked around. DMS is still very limited. More automation with regards to integration would be beneficial.

Craig M.
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Documentation made easy

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Passportal has made documentation a lot easier and quicker. It provides a really good structure of all of the documentation, which I didn't have previously with using something like OneNote.

Cons:

Having a couple issues with integration with Ninja. Same serial number computers aren't coming in. Working with support currently.

Kevin K.
IT Project Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Passportal gets a pass

4 2 years ago

Comments: We have solved our password management needs and documentation for clients in one spot and hope to solve more once we optimize the use of the system more.

Pros:

I like how many features are combined in one solution from password management to documentation to offering portals to employees and clients easily.

Cons:

The organization method of the system is not very logical. I do not like how you have to create a vendor and then a contact and that the vendor list is pretty much global and not specific to company. Also the agent on the servers do not seem to work correctly and we still do not see them functioning as they should. After contacting support we have decided to table fixing this since no one is in need of it at this time. I also do not like the addon in the browser it autofills 2FA and creates login issues instead of seamless logins.

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: We chose passportal because it seemed to be more feature rich with greater value.

Tom S.
Tom S.
Technical Architect in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Enterprise password management

4 2 years ago

Comments: Very please with the solution, it makes it easier and more secure to login to multiple customer environments.

Pros:

I was involved in choosing this solution for our organisation and chose passportal because it is the only true enterprise password management solution on the market. I like that you can organize your credentials by company, that there is a plugin for connectwise control, and that you have the option to share the credentials with the customer themselves.

Cons:

There is no way to permanently delete something as a user, you have to get in touch with support to do this. This is essential for GDPR

Alternatives Considered: LastPass and Myki

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: Because it is the only solution that truly offered password management for an MSP

Eddie P.
COO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Using passportal with 500 end users

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The great thing about this software is that it seems pretty intuitive, I like the import feature for the passwords it works really really well. It has two factor authentication of course which is a requirement. lastly the windows sink although it took a bit of time to figure out exactly how it worked is extremely nice.

Cons:

when we first reviewed this software it looked like the search feature was extremely powerful however after using it for a while it isn't as powerful as I'd like. Secondly there's no way to move items around so if I create an item in one folder I can't move it to the other without doing it one by one there's no mass feature there's also no document import feature which would be nice that being said importing or rather copying and pasting from word or even from a website works extremely well

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: I like the simplicity of the price, I like the password sync utility and the support / sales people seem to really really great

Jason C.
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Clarity review

5 2 years ago

Comments: Passportal has been an easy tool for our team to use and has forced us to better manage passwords we use for our tools and access to our customer environments. Its another tool to help us improve the security we need for our client environments.

Pros:

Software is easy to use and provides an audit trail for password activity. Integration with Automate is an valuable feature for our use of the tool.

Cons:

Would like to see configurations between ConnectWise Manage and Passportal so that we don't have to copy information to Passportal.

Alternatives Considered: LastPass

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: A focus on the MSP space and ability to add customer password management.

Austin F.
IT Systems Technician Intern in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excitement for future features.

4 2 years ago

Comments: Working with Passportal has been quite positive. The application is fairly intuitive and theirs always someone willing to help.

Pros:

Passportal makes managing passwords for hundreds of clients simple. If a question arises, phone support is rarely longer than a 15 minute wait. Support staff is always courteous and wanting to help find the answer best suited for the scenario.

Cons:

Features could be more fleshed out such as setting default properties for folders, but this is only a temporary issue since we’ve been informe by Passportal that this will someday roll out to customers.

Darcy D.
Technical Account Manager in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Must-have tool

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The functionality of the product is fantastic, many great features are available right from the browser plugin without having to log into the web portal

Cons:

There are a few company-wide reporting features that are noticeably lacking.

Troy H.
SD Manager in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great little password tool

4 2 years ago

Comments: Positive, makes password management fairly easy.

Pros:

Our company started using passportal this last year, and it is much more user friendly than alternatives we have tried. Highly recommended!

Cons:

Browser extension at time was not great, however the company has released a new one that works great.

Monika L.
Office Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Inspire Digital feedback

5 2 years ago

Comments: There was no way to contact Passportal providers before. I am hoping this will be omproved as I have worked pretty much blind with that for past 6 months.

Pros:

The search bar! Ease in password inputting and folder creation.

Cons:

I am the one who set it up, the settings do not adhere to permission, the wording is different therefore it is extremely hard to set it up with accurate access. Also there are 3 thresholds of settings and all must be compatible to work accurately. The access, the used and the permission.

Kym B.
Kym B.
Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Better than IT Glue

4 2 years ago

Comments: My documentation for clients is so much easier to access and the runbooks feature gives you a nice readable document to hand over should the need arise. I usually update my runbooks and archive them for those "Just in case" moments.

Pros:

It is very easy to use, the browser plug-ins make password entry a breeze and integration with other tools such as Connectwise Control (ScreenConnect) and TakeControl is fantastic

Cons:

Sometimes the Chrome browser plugin will do strange things, but only if you have A LOT of tabs open (I think more of a Chrome issue than PP)

Tom G.
Director of Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Satisfied with PassPortal

5 2 years ago

Pros:

The password management and documentation portion of this product is fantastic. It has have a very positive impact on our organization. Allows our technicians to access the data they need in a quick fashion which ultimately provides our clients with a better experience.

Cons:

The customer documentation portion. As an organization we have

Todd F.
Tech in US
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Passportal is a winner

5 2 years ago

Comments: we use it to store our passwords and with the integration with automate we use it all the time when logging into our clients servers and machines

Pros:

It was easy to setup and migrate our passwords into the software, It's secure and it was integrated with connectwise automate.

Cons:

I haven't found any yet, I feel that the software does what it was intended for .

Dan N.
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Better than advertised

5 2 years ago

Comments: This is a great tool and well worth the cost just to help our team. The fact that we offer it to clients and help them with a password management application is icing on the cake.

Pros:

I think the software had more functionality and features than we expected. The documentation and Active Directory integration are a real bonus for our team.

Cons:

I really don't have anything negative to say.

Lachlan B.
Lachlan B.
Managing Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

Simplicity, and ease of use for all team members.

Cons:

Some issues with Browser add-ons and lacking some integrations that are on the road map.

Alternatives Considered: PST Password Remover

Reasons for Choosing Passportal: Active Directory Integration at a smaller seat count.

Reasons for Switching to Passportal: MSP Program.

James M.
President in Canada
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Passportal

5 2 years ago

Comments: It’s been a timesaver. All the information we need is in one place.

Pros:

Easy to use. It makes finding information easy. Links objects

Cons:

Only thing missing is notification for renewal of subscriptions and warranties