About Metrix

Metrix® brings a unique blend of automation and cost driven layout creation to your business.

Learn more about Metrix

Pros:

It integrates well with XMF. Layouts come in smoothly and if you have to adjust layouts you can do it on the fly.

Cons:

The display is a bit low res unless you are zoomed in.

Metrix ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.3
Customer Service
3.0
Features
3.5
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

6.1/10

Metrix has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5 stars based on 15 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (15)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Metrix before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (15)

Robert
Robert
Online Storefront Manager and Prepress in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Metrix Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I really like it... it helps save a ton of time and calculating.

Pros:

Great for Calculating sheets needed and planning Job Layouts for Lithography.

Cons:

Big learning curve, but once you see the workflow you kinda get it.

Henry
MIS Manager in US
Printing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Integrated Metrix

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: EFI has owned Metrix for years and has been slow to develop solutions for its MIS integrated version. My experience is that much of this is due to the fact that EFI has moved its software development overseas. The developers rarely get it right the first, second or third time.

Pros:

It does a very good job of dealing with ganged jobs. Metrix will read in the estimated hours and material and the associated cost and then creates an optimized plan. When committed back to the MIS software it will update the plan and associated estimated hours and material based on the Metrix layouts. In addition, it will distribute cost collected for time and material based on distribution on the percent of the layout the jobs use.

Cons:

What is the best was related to jobs created from estimates. What it does worst is try to provide optimized plans for estimates as it relates to Pace’s MIS cross part optimization. It does a terrible job of communicating special colors through the XML.

Alternatives Considered: UKG Pro

Reasons for Switching to Metrix: We chose the MIS, ePace first. Our expectations were that since they were both owned by the same company, EFI, we would receive better integration than we have experienced

Josh
Prepress Manager in US
Printing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Metrix....

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Metrix software was the best thing out there for quite a few years but recently it is becoming a struggle to use. I believe that once EFI took over the software, it changed!

Pros:

Lots of options for estimating, planning and prepress.

Cons:

Software upgrades seem to always have issues that take awhile to correct. EFI support is really hit and miss if they can fix an issue. I get a lot of "Future update" answers to the issues we have. My team has not been happy with Metrix over the last few "upgrades".

Jim
IT Director in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The good, the bad, the ugly

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use this daily to create impositions. Some features have reduced functionality after an upgrade, but are eventually addressed. The software is usually a MacOS version behind, which doesnt seem to bother our end users.

Pros:

It does the functions that we are looking for (impositions mostly) quickly and efficiently.

Cons:

Each upgrade seems to break our workflow and is painful to get what we consider common sense addressed. Support isnt always helpful and core changes made to the software arent always in the release notes. We have open cases with EFI to address these issues and have moved past them with rollback and skipping versions to meet our end user needs.

thomas
Prepress Lead in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Metrix software - A work in progress

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: the software is ok, it is similar enough to other impositions. It has great potential, but our company hasn't had it and pace long enough to gain those automated job benifits.

Pros:

I like the connectivity to XMF. The idea of the software is very palatable, our company has had issues in getting it implemented as we do a wide variety of work. When integration is increased and people are taught more on the software it should be a main stapple of our prepress and give us a great deal of automated work done.

Cons:

Very dependent on the estimator. Changing jobs can be simple or extremely difficult to manage with our metrix/pace system. I believe some of our issues are training, also we just got word of an XMF upgrade that will help with some reported metrix issues.

Wanda
Group Executive Manager Finance in Trinidad & Tobago
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EFI

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is ok, just need to make the AR module easier to use.

Pros:

Easy to move through the program, good that is internet based. Easy to pull the standard reports.

Cons:

Since update it is difficult to do AR balances always have to remove the lines that invoice is paid and is zero, that takes a lot of extra time. AR statement in excel no long can use formulas if need to change anything,. Posting invoices have to also make changes again taking longer to post.

Jim
President in US
Printing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Metrix review

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Transformed the way we did estimates

Pros:

It is a great time saver, and makes doing certain types of estimates possible. Estimates are more complete and accurate

Cons:

Interface can be a little wonky from time to time

Paul
PrePress Manager in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EFI is great

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: So far completely satisfied with this product

Pros:

The ease of arranging pages for multiple up and spacing

Cons:

The display is a bit low res unless you are zoomed in.

Bruce
Prepress in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Metrix to XMF

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It integrates well with XMF. Layouts come in smoothly and if you have to adjust layouts you can do it on the fly.

Cons:

Doesn't do well with variable imposition.

Angelique
Wide Format Manager in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pretty Good

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: good we will keep using it.

Pros:

the ease of laying out multiple graphics is very smooth

Cons:

sometimes it does not lay the graphics out to best utilize the material size

paul
production planner in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Metrix

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to set up large brochure or books

Cons:

Can't fake anything In layouts and don't work great with e pace

Gail
Purchasing in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Metrix layout review

2.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Some of the combination of product features are useful

Cons:

I find the software cumbersome and rigid. If multiple lots are listed on a job and you want some lots not to be on a layout, when you make the lots inactive, the software errors out. Non traditional shapes can't be represented, dotted lines for scores and perfs. I could do more with an excel spreadsheet to represent pocket folders and die cut shapes in less time. I've experienced Metrix changing my layouts once I've set it up to be Perfect to printing sheetwise if I have to reorder layouts. There's too much to have to watch out for that may or may not change that can catch you if you aren't diligent.

Zivko
associate proffesor in Serbia
Printing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to handle, intuitiv, good preferences

Cons:

instalation procedure and support for educational institutions (every 6 months registration)

Rastko
teaching assistant in Serbia
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Metrix software review

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am satisfied with its functionality but not with its stability and set up experience.

Pros:

It is very easy to use, and produce very fast impositions; possesses many additional features in its database.

Cons:

It showed to be very unstable (student computers often lost connection to server; some projects became locked...); earlier versions where ; many obstacles when trying to upgrade to new version; very complicated new software verification system.

Robert
Dir IS in US
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Metrix

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It makes it very easy to import and organize large projects with a lot of different parts and materials.

Cons:

It's complicated to set up and maintain. It would be really nice if it integrated in with Monarch so that we didn't have to duplicate all our standards.