15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

Screaming Frog SEO Spider Reviews

4.9 (125) Write a Review! United Kingdom Local product

About Screaming Frog SEO Spider

On-premise tool that lets users find broken links, analyze metadata, discover duplicate content, and more on a centralized platform.

Learn more about Screaming Frog SEO Spider

Pros:

You can use it for scraping, find hard to see technical issues, runs faster and can manage very efficiently resources in your machine when you are processing big websites (over a million urls).

Cons:

Limited documentation in the tool (need to consult the website for Knowledgebase).

Screaming Frog SEO Spider ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Screaming Frog SEO Spider has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 125 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Screaming Frog SEO Spider before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (125)

Shannon
Shannon
Director of SEO in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Value for Product in This Space

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: When looking for an option to assess client sites, I need SEO software that works consistently and without bugs. It's also helpful that it's affordable compared to the other services offering a similar scraping of SEO data from a website. Given that it's a flat annual fee, I find that far superior to the high monthly costs. And as noted, it just works. If you're an SEO professional, there will be no real learning curve to use it.

Pros:

The software works exactly how it's intended to work, and the layout is intuitive. Once you've assessed a website, the output of links, metadata, word counts, and headers is all dead simple to understand—and even more, it's dead simple to sort the details as needed.

Cons:

I wouldn't say that the interface is either attractive or sophisticated. It's looked exactly the same for many, many years. It's not flashy, but it easily displays the data you need, so it's a small compromise that you don't even really notice.

Spriha
Senior Digital Marketing Officer in UK
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Two Years of Screaming Frog SEO Spider for a FinTech Industry

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with Screaming Frog SEO Spider has been really great. The application has become an essential element of my SEO toolset, providing great insights into the technical aspects of our website. Its ability to conduct extensive audits, identify flaws, and provide proactive advice has streamlined our SEO improvement process. One of the noteworthy advantages for me is the extensive data it provides, from examining metadata to finding broken links and difficulties with site structure. This degree of data has enabled our team to make informed judgments, resulting in considerable improvements in our website's search engine performance. While there is a learning curve, especially for novices, the tool's usefulness in giving real-time findings and assisting in strategic decision-making makes it well worth the effort. Screaming Frog SEO Spider has shown to be a trusted tool in keeping a healthy and optimized online presence for our company's website.

Pros:

What I enjoyed best about Screaming Frog SEO Spider was its function as a trustworthy tool in conducting SEO audits for our company's website. The tool's efficiency in identifying critical insights, addressing issues quickly, and producing actionable results in a timely manner was helpful. It was critical in improving our website's performance by revealing areas for development and ensuring that we stayed on top of SEO best practices. Moreover, it's much more budget-friendly compared to other SEO tools like SEMrush or Ahrefs. What's great is that it even provides a free version, albeit with limited features, making it ideal for getting acquainted with the tool without an initial financial commitment.

Cons:

If I were to point out a drawback of Screaming Frog SEO Spider, it would be the user interface. The abundance of features and technical details might be a bit overwhelming initially. While it serves its purpose, it might not be as intuitive for someone who is new to SEO analysis tools. Enhancing the user interface could make the overall experience more user-friendly, especially for those who are just starting with the tool.

Apurva
SEO Executive in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing Tool for Site Audits!

5.0 last month New

Comments: I personally love it and use it most for site audits and checking the improvement in my projects.

Pros:

Screaming Frog SEO Spider is great for digging deep into your website's SEO health. It helps you find broken links, duplicate content, and other issues easily. You can customize the settings to fit your needs and the data is presented in a way that's easy to understand, with charts and graphs.

Cons:

It can be a bit of a power hog on your computer, especially when crawling big sites. Also, if you're new to SEO tools, it might take a bit to get the hang of it. And while there's a free version, the full features come with a price tag, which might not fit everyone's budget.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It works, mostly

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Needed to identify thousands of pages linked across 13 websites. I thought it did that, but later found a lot missed. Not sure if that is the software or my use of it.

Pros:

On the surface it seems easy. Point at a domain and you get a list back. So easy to use and get what you need. I think. But see cons...

Cons:

I didn't always feel like this was crawling every page. Maybe it is a config issue, because the interface can be confusing. Yearly license fees make it not attractive.

Christopher
SEO Manager in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great foundation for any SEO campaign

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall SEO Spider is great value, and offers lots of insight as to technical issues to watch out for on your website. It even details why they are an issues and how to fix them.

Pros:

I love how simple SEO Spider is to use, its trickier to master but in terms of plugging in a URL and setting it off, its very simple and lets you know what issues to look out for on the chosen website.

Cons:

As its local software, if crawling a big site you can run out of internal memory to store the data and your computer can get slow while crawling.

Ryan
Head Of Integrated Search And Data Performance in Mexico
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

100 Sites Scraped - Fortune 500 Companies Supported

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: We've worked with the platform as a core part of our SEO and development offering for over ten years. It's essential to the industry and client success.

Pros:

We've used Screaming Frog as the core SaaS tool for staff training and SEO audits for over a decade. While other tools have invested in fancy dashboards and visual reporting - Screaming Frog has built a platform designed for power and detail. The ability to render JAVA, crawl subdomains, and identify a range of SEO issues is second to none.

Cons:

For first time users, the program can feel intimidating. Learning to Export data and manage that data in Excel is essential to getting the most out of the software. For anyone working in Technical SEO that learning curve is a must, because the granularity and results are far greater than those offered by other platforms.

Angus
Angus
Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best, cost-effective SEO technical tools

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall this is one of the best, most cost effective and reliable tools that SEOs should have in their arsenal. Its been around for a long time and I can see it being used well into the future.

Pros:

Screaming frog is a no fuss platform which makes it easy to do audits and find technical issues on your site that can affect your seo. It's probably one of the most essential tools anyone should have in their SEO tool stack. I like the fact it runs as a desktop app over an online one - while it uses lots of system resources it is responsive and not hindered by online loading times like web based tools. The UI is relatively clean albeit a little cluttered, but you get used to it quickly.

Cons:

The UI could be improved slightly. There are some similar tools like Sitebulb that are more intuitive and give more in depth suggestions on how to fix technical issues. Screaming frog just presents the issues rather than telling you how to fix them.

Kevin
Kevin
Director of Business Development & Partnerships in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Tool for Crawling; Tech SEO Must-Have

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: - works exactly as advertised
- best crawl tool on the market; multiple crawl setting to test security and site structures
- precise reporting and native download of data
- Sitemap management tool works well; very useful for larger site management with over 5K pages/types

Pros:

- easy to use and configure - reliable output of detailed lists of errors, issues, and optimization ideas - segmented reporting allows experienced users to zero in on specific issues - Sitemap.xml tool is top-notch and solves issues for large site implementations

Cons:

- the interface looks dated; learning curve to know where to find different views and data - needs to up updated regularly (not really a con -- users need to adapt) - limited documentation in the tool (need to consult the website for Knowledgebase)

Andrew
Andrew
Category Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cost-effective solution with no sacrifices

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Couldn’t be happier. With a little time invested in learning, we have a highly productive tool set at a steal of a price.

Pros:

It can do just about anything you need from a crawler, and at a fraction of the cost of other top tools. Interface is straightforward and simple.

Cons:

There’s a lot in the tool, so finding each part and learning it takes time. CSV exports for large sites are huge - an excel or other compressed version would be ideal.

Melisa
Organic performance manager in UK
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Screaming frog - best crawling tool

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy to use, good connectors, does not crash and give you cool functionalities

Cons:

sometimes data with GSC is skewed or not matching

Stephen
Digital Marketing Manager in Botswana
Packaging & Containers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most commonly used tool in my SEO toolbox

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The product is great - like, actually, truly, *great*. The service is equally impressive - I reach out via email or Twitter and rarely have to wait more than a day for a meaningful response. This is a tool that has made me better at my job, and has directly helped to implement improvements that would have added at least a 100x return on the purchase price.

Pros:

Screaming Frog is an excellent crawler, that is relatively easy to use, has excellent resources and community, but crucially not at the expense of good old customer service. It is a tool that helps me identify issues with my website that often cause problems with having it crawled or indexed by Search Engines. Through it's regular updates, it helps keep me up to date with new developments in the field. Although it doesn't look as sexy as some other SEO tools, I find Screaming Frog, along with Google Search Console and a Spreadsheet, is able to accomplish 80-90% of what I need to do. Specifically, I use Screaming Frog for tasks such as: * identifying pages with missing or incorrect canonical tags * identifying pages with missing, incorrect or duplicate meta tags * analysing pages that may have unusually large amounts of JavaScript (can help with performance to reduce redundant js) * identifying pages that are redirecting incorrectly, or missing pages * identifying pages that may have incorrect or missing robots directives * confirm all pages are loading via https/tls * identifying duplicate content * identifying pages with unnecessarily large images (performance) * checking structured data (e.g. schema.org) implementation There is a lot more, but that is some of the common tasks I do. It's very flexible - if you can imagine it, there is a good chance Screaming Frog will do it, or at least get you part way to your goal.

Cons:

Honestly, I cannot think of a single thing. I really love this software.

Don
SEO Specialist in US
Internet, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My go to tool for page analysis

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This tool lets you enter a URL for any website and click start to get some useful results. Within a minute or less, Screaming Frog spits out a list of every page on the site with information you can analyze to make sure it is optimized for SEO such as page titles, header tags and status codes. You can also use it to dig into competitor websites to see how you might beat them.

Pros:

My favorite feature of Screaming Frog is that you can analyze a competitor site to view there internal linking structure and possibly find ways to beat them in rankings. This tool also has a powerful feature that lets you find broken links on your own website. This includes both internal and external links from pages that may no longer exist or where moved.

Cons:

Scream Frog lacks the visuals of other modern software which can make it a bit challenging to view. It looks and behaves like a backend database which is fine for most who use it. But unless you are a pro user, you may have to massage the data a bit to find what you need.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Standard in Web Crawling Software and MUST have for SEO

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've used it for personal use (free version) and for work (paid version) as both a content manager and general marketer. Primary use was technical seo checks on live and staging sites as well as occasional competitor research.

Pros:

In short, it can do nearly anything! And best of all, the only real limit is your creativity. For example, while launching a series of localized websites in other versions of English (UK, AU, NZ) I used it's regex function to crawl our staging sites for common American spellings that had been missed (e.g. color/colour) There's TONS of support online and neat ideas for using it. Plus the latest version can run headless (i.e. via command line) so you can install it on a cloud server to do huge crawls without hogging your own internet connection or RAM. It's a must have for doing technical seo checks of your website.

Cons:

-Tons of options so not everything is super easy to find, but it's an advanced tool so that's to be expected. -Paid version is a bit expensive for ireggular users -Yearly license model is very annoying. Would prefer a 1 time purchase and then yearly IF you want updates like other software or plugins

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best crawling tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It helps us a lot in SEO. Helping us to identify broken links, canonicals, meta descriptions and so on. A perfect tool with a simple job.

Pros:

I think Screaming Frog is a most when it comes to SEO tools. I like that is easy to use, and you can crawl all the URLs of your website and the competition. Its free version works perfectly. Also, the customer support center is awesome

Cons:

Maybe doesn't have the greatest design. And if you dont know SEO well maybe it can be confusing. It will help if they have tutorials or an expert helping out

Scott
Web Optimization Manager in US
Entertainment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hands down best crawler for small to moderate SEO checks

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Screaming Frog SEO Spider has helped me quickly find all kinds of SEO issues on websites and when checking sitemaps. I also use it to crawl lists of backlink targets and other URL lists for various reasons. It is an indispensable SEO tool.

Pros:

This tool has defined the SEO crawler space for me and many SEOs that I have worked with. Even so-called enterprise crawlers have a lot to learn from the number of and quality of reports. Whenever I look at other crawlers that can handle huge websites, I compare their reporting to Screaming Frog SEO spider.

Cons:

What I like least is that it does use my local computer's resources and slows my other work. I am willing to deal with this on smaller and moderate projects that can be crawled in a day.

izak
CEO in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

best site crawler and audit

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: it is great software with many many features -very useful

Pros:

screaming from is a tool that every site optimizer should work with , its provide the fastest crawling audit to every site in order to check all of the seo elements to get a full picture of sites seo problems and score

Cons:

the latest version might be heavy and some feature have lost - site blocks might create error while checking some site

Mark
Head of Marketing in Australia
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Screaming Frog is the best SEO gap-filling tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: When I first used Screaming Frog, I thought it was dumb - why doesn't it do everything for me? But then I did some research, got my head around it - and now it makes perfect sense. I can get it to tell me anything. I don't use it for everything (I still have other SEO tools), but when I want to have an understanding of something, I rely on Screaming Frog more than anything else.

Pros:

Being able to crawl my (and everyone else's) website at a seconds notice is such a powerful feeling. I can find anything - from broken links, to speed performance, to my search console results - in seconds. It's unbelievable.

Cons:

It's a powerful spreadsheet, so you can't just press a button that says 'do this thing'. But once you get used to it, there's nothing you can't do.

Shaikat
CEO in Bangladesh
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Technical SEO Audit Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: A must-have tool for technical SEOs.

Pros:

Screaming Frog is the best technical data crawling and audit tool for SEOs. You can crawl your website and check how's your website doing in terms of technical SEO standpoint. If you're a technical SEO, this is a must-have tool. The free version is adequate for getting started. In fact, if your website has less than 500 pages, you're good to go with the free version. If you want advanced functionality and own websites with thousands of pages, you should get the paid version, which is an excellent value for the price.

Cons:

No complaints. It's a great tool for the price. And the free one is also good.

Omar
Omar
Digital Marketing Specialist in Chile
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most powerful SEO tool for technical optimization

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Couldn't do properly my SEO job without it. For a serious SEO, it is a must-have tool.

Pros:

Lots of features, always updated with changes in SEO landscape. You can use it for scraping, find hard to see technical issues, runs faster and can manage very efficiently resources in your machine when you are processing big websites (over a million urls).

Cons:

Some help on the software itself could be useful (actually all support and tutorials are on its website), and some visualizations options can take too much time to load.

Heiko
Heiko
Head of Marketing in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must-have Software for serious SEO

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

That you can crawl pretty fast your own but also competitor websites and get all the relevant on-site insights you need with just a few clicks. A short while ago they also added nice visualization features.

Cons:

I really cannot say here anything negative, even if you reach out to them when you have a question they are super helpful. Maybe that it will take some time if you are new to the tool, to explore all the features they offer.

Mike
Web Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must-Have Tool for SEO Audits!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I like how everything is organized inside the Screaming Frog app including each of the tabbed areas.

Pros:

I love the many features that Screaming Frog offers but I especially like the Tree Graphs under Visualisations where I can quickly show my supervisor a snapshot of all interlinked webpages.

Cons:

I can connect accounts such as Google Analytics, Ahrefs, PageSpeed insights and Google Search Console but when I close the app, then reopen it, I have a reconnect those accounts. Not a big deal and it's easy to reconnect but would love to see those accounts stay connected.

Mohd Adil
Digital Marketing Executive in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The Best Tool for On Page - Audit

5.0 last year

Comments: It was a good experience with Screaming frog . I have audited hundreds of the website from this tool

Pros:

The one thing which i like the most is that it is very easy to use, and also the tool audit your website in real time. if you change something today in your website and then audit again in the tool then i can catch that change whatever you did in your website.

Cons:

The updated are very frequently in tool and there should be at least keyword tracking feature which can make it undefeated in the seo market.

Aditya
Digital Marketing Executive in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use crawling software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: 10/10 for screaming frog because of it's price and other features.

Pros:

One of the best easy to use and fast crawler in the market along with site map creation, deep analysis and more.

Cons:

There is only drawback with screaming frog is poor interface it can be tough for beginners to understand the interface.

Chad
SEO Specialist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Incredible Results to Make You Scream

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Working in SEO, being able to crawl a client's site at a moment's notice and get results back FAST is always incredibly valuable. Screaming Frog does that - and more! Getting information about broken links, duplicate content, missing title tags, missing or excessive H1 tags, etc. is critical to my position and Screaming Frog does that with aplomb. I love using Screaming Frog and will continue to use it in the future.

Pros:

I like the ability to customize your crawl depending on your clients' specific needs. For small sites, nothing beats the speed and depth that Screaming Frog website crawls provide. Also, the image and video crawling abilities are unparalleled

Cons:

The only issue I have with Screaming Frog is that it can be a little difficult to set up and analyze your first time using it. There's probably a beginner's guide or instruction but I neglected to look for it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very powerful at a very low price

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love that it's cut and dry - if you're experienced in SEO, you'll love it because it gives you more answers more quickly than anything else I've found.

Cons:

It's less intuitive than some of the other Softwares out there - again, if you're experienced, you'll love it. If you're new to the world of SEO, you might get a bit confused. I do not have new members of my team use it until I think they're capable of understanding it.