Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.6/5
  • Customer Service
    3.3/5

About Sage HRMS

A complete on-premise human resource management solution that will help you maximize every dollar you invest in your employees.

Learn more about Sage HRMS

Showing 24 reviews

Melissa H.
HR Manager
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2019

"HRMS works for us!"

Comments: This product is great mainly because customer service is such a great help. People at Sage know their product well and their people have been able to answer every question I have to help find solutions.

Pros: The software has wizards that help with entering new hires, training, pay raises, job changes, etc. These are helpful because you don't miss a step!

Cons: The software requires a manual export to our payroll system. So, after a new hire is entered, or any changes are made for that matter, I have to manually export the data to payroll. I don't have to enter things twice, but I do have to wait for the information to export over so that the most up to date information is in the payroll system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2019
Barbara T.
Vice President
Paper & Forest Products, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020

"Sage HRMS - Takes effort but worth it."

Comments: The learning curve was quite steep but since we have been using the software for a while now, we are much more comfortable with it.

Pros: The system has many features within the program itself to store information, provide status and look-ups. Set up is extremely important to have done correctly in order for the software to function fully and correctly.

Cons: Reporting features are limited requiring an upgrade to incorporate Crystal Reports to obtain needed information for tax payments and reporting purposes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020
Meredith H.
Payroll Manager
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2020

"SAGE HRMS PAYROLL/HUMAN RESOURCE modules compared to SAGE ABRA PAYROLL/HUMAN RESOURCE"

Comments: It gets the payroll process done and has other modules to greatly help, like attendance and human resources but would like a more modern payroll module.

Pros: I love that it does not have a hard close after each quarter and you can rerun reports for any payroll that is in history which means you can go back years. Love that it has an HR module that is easy to use and did not change much going from Sage ABRA to Sage HRMS but wish the payroll module was more modern and interactive so you can actually see a paycheck instead of doing a calculating process and then pulling a report to see what the paycheck will actually be. Love being able to have an excel spreadsheet containing bonuses/incentives that can be easily imported/uploaded into the payroll module.

Cons: Hate that HRMS Payroll does not have an interactive paycheck view while processing payroll where you can make a change on an employee's paycheck and see instantly how it changes everything. An example of this is if an employee wanted to change their 401k pre-tax election/deduction how would it change the taxes and net pay. It is time card driven then you have to calculate (process) before you can see an employee's possible paycheck when you run a Pre-check payroll register (report driven). Every time you have to make changes you do the change on their timecard, even to deductions, then calculate pay before you can see the employee's paystub when you run a report (Pre-check Payroll Register Report) so it is report driven. I would love to see an interactive paycheck in view and see how changes can change the net pay. I love that it comes with Crystal Reports but to find the information (fields) in the payroll directory/data bases is difficult but on the human resource director/data basis are considerably easier. Support, that you pay for, does not help you with crystal reports or how to find the field/information to get it onto a crystal report. Also the standard reports that come with the HRMS program (payroll) are not helpful nor have enough filters/sorts/structure to make them useful so you have to become savvy with Crystal reports to get the information you want in the format you must have it. Also to do W2 or tax forms are only process in HRMS payroll to Aatrix.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2020
Karen L.
HR Generalist
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020

"Sage HRMS"

Comments: I have access to any employee data at any time and can do reporting from the system with ease.

Pros: This system keeps data and is relatively easy to report from. It is nice to upload a picture of employees. It provides easy look up for employee data.

Cons: This system needs an onboarding tool and self-service options. Also, sometimes it would be good to see more data on a person without moving from page to page.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020
Keron T.
IT Technician
Utilities, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020

"A great investment ."

Pros: on a users perspective it is very intuitive and very user friendly.

Cons: depending on how much users are using it at the same time it would lag .. but most of it was due to our systems being overloaded

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020
Mary X.
Payroll&benefit administrator
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2020

"So far so good"

Comments: We use SAGE HRMS as payroll processing and HR part.

Pros: This sofeware is very stable. Sometime computer has stuck and dead . After start off the computer Sage is working well.

Cons: Some feature is not conveninet to use. Getting compensation report with Salary as of Sage HRMS always runtime error.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2020
Mornay B.
Operations Training Instructor
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"Limited Functions"

Comments: Our company has been using the software for a number of years. We will replace this software with another type that will provide more functions.

Pros: A good software program to manage employees and keep record of employee actions.

Cons: Cannot upload and store documents and training material.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Dave O.
Sr Network Administrator
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019

"Full Featured"

Comments: Overall, HRMS is very detailed and gives you the power to keep track of a wide spectrum of employees. We run payroll for weekly, and bi-monthly employees, as well as hourly and salary pay. A wide range of reports to keep the bean counters happy as well.

Pros: Sage HRMS gives you a powerful platform for running payroll, filing necessary tax forms and handling of vacation/sick time.

Cons: Quarterly updates are a bit of a mystery at times. It would be better if they would integrate updates to the software instead of having to go search for the exact update you are in need of.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019
Chris F.
Controller
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019

"Look at your other options"

Comments: HRMS has created more problems that it has solved. Wrong pay, missed items, treating taxable wage as non-taxable, reports that don't tie, and flat out recalculating (incorrectly) payrolls that were run in the prior system. We have had to manually calculate payrolls to determine the fixes necessary. So far it has failed to deliver correct results without multiple runs and edits. I have zero confidence the program will give me accurate results and reporting.

Pros: Thought it would really be a better product than Sage ABRA, which is losing support this next year. Thought (wrongly) that it would be a smooth transition from one Sage product to another.

Cons: Although there are a few minor improvements, HRMS is actually a step backwards in usability and reliability from ABRA. The software is a constant source of frustration, and has actually led our 20 year payroll lead to retire, rather than deal with this software. Staff have nicknamed it the "HRMS Titanic"

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Dee A.
Personnel Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020

"Issues with HRMS for Several Months"

Comments: Lately, our experience has not been good. We have had and continue to have major problems with the system with no support.

Pros: We have had Sage HRMS since 2005. Loved it when it worked. .

Cons: It no longer supports connect point to MIP payroll. We have had several issues with the system with no support. I have emailed and called with no response.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2020
Betsy
HR Analyst
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2019

"Easy to use"

Pros: Everything is well laid out, intuitive and has a nice, updated look. Like that you can add as many custom fields as you want on the HR side. They do a great job of keeping up with tax and legislative updates.

Cons: It's not necessarily a con because the software comes with lots of standard reports, but if you want custom reports then they need to be written in Crystal Reports. If you have someone that knows Crystal Reports, it's super easy! If you don't have someone that knows it, then you can end up like one of the previous reviewers and end up with reports that don't tie out. :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Charles C.
Director, Human Resources
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020

"Excellent HRMS platform."

Comments: HRMS platform has been a excellent tools to manage people operations.

Pros: This software was easy to learn, use and teach. Ease of use and service.

Cons: Integration with our payroll services was null.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2020
Gabriela J.
Human Resources Manager
Environmental Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2020

"HRMS"

Comments: Have used HRMS for many years now. It was an easy software to navigate

Pros: Board to board functionality. Make's it easy to use and train on.

Cons: Crystal Report feature can be difficult to learn.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2020
Kelsey H.
Marketing Director
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019

"Sage HRMS"

Comments: Reliable for mid-size company, doesn't require a lot of hours of training to use, user friendly.

Pros: Very easy to use, the tools are great and the analytics are really helpful. I like that it is an all in one for payroll, benefits, performance reviews, applicant tracking and so much more.

Cons: Sometimes the reporting isn't exactly what you want/need and you have to do some digging in order to get the right results.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Jessica T.
Payroll Manager
Banking
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2015

"Payroll Software"

Pros: This software is very user friendly and efficient.

Cons: I have no complaints regarding this software. I am able to navigate and process payroll in a timely manner using this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2015
Vicki F.
Credit manager
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2017

"Keeps Us Up To Date on Payroll Changes"

Pros: Keeps Us Up To Date on Payroll Changes. We don
t have to worry about law changes or payroll changes.

Cons: No so easy to learn and understand. Somewhat complicated which I assume it has to be to encompass the necessary laws.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2017
Krista M.
AVP Human Resources
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017

"Extremely poor customer service. Inconsistent and flat out wrong answers which have caused more work for the HR Team as well as make us look bad without employees."

Pros: Some similarities to ABRA Suite. Crystal Reports still similar as well. Does not outweigh the cons at this time.

Cons: Support is extremely poor. We are supposed to have GOLD level support and we continually get first line tech support. Takes much too long to get the expert answers we need to move forward.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017
Loren A.
HR Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"Outdated and expensive compared to other systems."

Comments: I have used sage products since the early 2000s and have noticed the decline in quality over the years. Sage has not done their job in staying updated with the times and the system reflects that.

Pros: Customer service has always been good with the company. They have made several customization over the years that were specific to our operations.

Cons: System was slow, prone to crash and did not allow for selfserve access and management by employees. Outdated for the times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Ashley T.
Payroll Coordinator
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2016

"Multifunctional but Complicated"

Comments: I did not like this system at all until I had to try another system and then I realized they have both definite cons and pros. Their customer service is horrible and they do not usually provide much assistance and use outside support contractors that are not always pleasant or timely. I ran into problems quite frequently but I also have to say I was using it for a municipality, not a private company like the software was intended. I can say that the options for reports and capabilities are extremely extensive and the limits seemed never ending in terms of data. They had some hiccups with their ACA reporting add-on but in the end it was extremely simple, easy, and effective to use.

Pros: Features and functionality.

Cons: Customer Service.
Complicated to understand and learn at first.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2016
Gary C.
Controller
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2020

"new user"

Comments: payroll

Pros: good reports for checking history, check printing

Cons: customer support doesn't answer the phone

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2020
Felicia D.
HR Coordinator
Banking
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2015

"Great product!!"

Pros: Abra's support and notifications of updates are beneficial. The system is very user-friendly. I have lots of information at my fingertips. The system those all the regular reporting such as 941's and W-2's.

Cons: I have not had any problems with the product or vendor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2015
Jeff L.
CFO
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016

"It's better than hand processing payroll"

Comments: Abra is a pretty basic in-house payroll system. It helps automate more of the process into electronic records, but we still had to require paper timesheets and do a lot of manual cross-checking and verification before processing.

Pros: Basic, simple, cost effective

Cons: Lack of or not useful for timesheets records, have to back up internally, requires lots of manual work hours

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016
Sheri B.
Controller
Philanthropy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2016

"Sage HRMS Review"

Comments: Sage HRMS is very difficult to use. The reports do not tie out and are not easily available to be written.

Pros: None

Cons: Very difficult to use and doesn't function well

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2016
Carlos U.
Computer Software
  • Overall Rating
    2.5/5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5/5
  • Customer Support
    2.5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2015

"Review for Sage"

Comments: Review for Sage

Pros: Friendly user interface, windows compatible, cost effective

Cons: Adds on options, does not work in Mac iOS, no tools for Mac developers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2015