Consider everything during implementation

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Bryanna A.
Master Scheduler
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I think IFS is a great tool for mass producers but if you custom manufacture anything then this is not the software for you. IFS works best for a standard product list with very little change. There is NO method for archiving information like a product option, customer, supplier, etc. so once something is entered in the system it is there forever and available as a selection. If your business has very little variables then this is probably the right system for you.

Pros: Good training options, support response if fairly quick. Once you learn to 'think like IFS' navigation is pretty easy.

Cons: Inflexible configuration and really only geared towards specific business types. Our custom manufacturing makes it really difficult to use many modules of the software adequately. There are a lot of things our implementation team either didn't adequately consider or configured incorrectly and we've been paying for it for a decade. Nothing is easily updated or changed and options in a drop down (or list of values) cannot ever be archived. No workflows exist in the system and permissions setup is a complete nightmare.

IFS user since 2008

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
John B.
Director - Corporate Technologies
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: As with any ERP, the best way to evaluate is to talk to other companies that use it. Make sure that you talk to the users, not just the IT department or the ERP owner.

Pros: Most of our departments are using it across the company. Financials, Manufacturing, Maintenance, Sales, Logistics, Engineering, etc. Good integration options and nice programming interface. Lots of development resources to continually make improvements. Last major version seemed like the biggest one so far.

Cons: Like many ERPs, the user interface has lots of things that users will ignore or IT has to hide. If you have a weird process that isn't the norm in the industry, it will take more work to implement it. Support has room to improve.

IFS Applications

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Tj H.
Manager, ERP Projects
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I would definitely recommend IFS!

Pros: IFS Applications software is very intuitive and very easy to use. There is so much functionality available in the software and the great thing is, if a field is missing on a certain screen, it is easy enough to create the field that either references another field in the database, or is a free form field allowing you to enter whatever data you want into it.

Cons: I really cannot think of anything that I do not like about the software. Occasionally, there is some data that I would like to see on a certain screen, but if it is not there, it is easy enough to add it.

This management system offers a wide variety of features and support to streamline supply chain inefficiencies

Reviewed on 03/05/2018
Pavan P.
Safety & Quality Leader
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The ability to track, locate and edit multiple stock sites within our warehouse. The ease of the search feature when searching for specific items, for example: tracking maintenance work orders not only by who the mechanic was who performed, but down to the minute by minute tracking of progress.

Cons: Search queries take long at times, and when they do take too long there's no "cancel" feature. This prompts several people to simply hard-close the program and reopen instead of waiting for the program to load. At times the program also freezes if too many features are accessed at once.

Robust/Adaptable

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Rich S.
Controller/ERP Manager
Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I've never recommended any ERP system in my 25 years. I would recommend IFS. It is a solid system with a very powerful functionality and can be tailored to fit to almost any business environment.

Pros: Overall, IFS is a powerful system with a great deal of functionality. It is fairly easy to use, and to customize to specific company and user requirements.

Cons: The English used in the package at times is difficult to follow/understand. Customer support is well... Customer support and finding third party consulting firms is challenging, at least in the US.

IFS has been a great experience

Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Jay G.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I would certainly recommend IFS to other customers.

Pros: We like the flexibility as well as the stability. IFS support has been great to work with. When we have worked with R&D, it's obvious that they care about the customer.

Cons: While it does not do everything the way we want it to, IFS is interested in making improvements so that it does.

IFS - interface with 17 countries

Reviewed on 11/07/2017
Megan A.
Controller
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: IFS was a great software choice if you have multiple countries that you need to consolidate. The reporting module allows you flexibility to create reports.

Cons: There was a longer learning curve with IFS than software I have used in the past. When you are dealing with multiples entities there are many steps that you need to go through.

IFS User Review

Reviewed on 26/09/2016
Bryanna A.
Master Scheduler
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Once you are comfortable working in IFS it is very easy to navigate.

Cons: I don't know if IFS was the right choice when we selected an ERP, but after the time and money invested it is what we're 'stuck' with. Our product and processes are so specialized and IFS doesn't really work well outside the box.

One stop shop application

Reviewed on 26/09/2016
Jeff S.
Accountant
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Includes everything from opportunity to product delivery. When implemented properly, there is no need for outside programs to encompass all aspects of your business.

Cons: Not always user friendly, too many times if you don't have real good knowledge of the areas you are working with, you don't know how to solve problems because you don't know where the missing/invalid data resides.

IFS is a very robust software.

Reviewed on 22/09/2016
Sara C.
IT Manager
Aviation & Aerospace
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The vendor relationship is very good. I really enjoy the various user group meetings that are held. The product is fairly straight forward.

Cons: Our original implementation was rough. I don't feel like the consultants really understood our needs in order to help us move to our first ERP.

IFS review

Reviewed on 26/09/2016
Jonathan B.
Maintenance schedueler
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: its ability to capture data and have historical records. I

Cons: the most trouble I had is searching for past data. once I got more experience it is easier.

A review from a Network Admin

Reviewed on 26/09/2016
Lee R.
IT Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
Overall
2.5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3.5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Once it is setup, it runs pretty smooth! I like that is a web base application

Cons: If I had one wish, I wish IFS could be either a SQL base or Oracle base product.

Not Built As HRIS

Reviewed on 25/04/2018
Jana V.
HR Director
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
2/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: There better options (value for the money) at the market.

Pros: Our company is using one of the IFS modules as HR management SW - storage of emplyoee data across the division (12.000+ employees).
The system is built for larger organizations, allows to keep history data, create multiple business entities and give access to different people for each entity.

Cons: Very low customization options, no employee self service access, no automated approval flows in the system, very user undfriendly interface. If you need a manual to be able to download a report, something is clearly wrong when it comes to UX design.

IFS user Payroll

Reviewed on 26/09/2016
Lynne M.
Payroll
Building Materials
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: User Friendly, When help is needed they are available

Cons: There is nothing I do not like about the product. Easy to use.

Bad advices from consultants

Reviewed on 21/03/2017
Roald B.
Project manager work preparation
Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Many functionalities that seem to do exactly what we want. IFS looks intuitive and together with the system manual you will be able to make some small steps yourselve.

Cons: Often bad advice is received, where the IFS consultants don't even know how their own system works. This ends up in our company investigating and testing ourselves how some functionalities work. Handling of bugs by IFS is not customer friendly, and even if they admit that there is a design mistake in their software it will be unlikely for them to solve it. Another big disadvantage is the lack of a large online, open community.

Nice product and very user-friendly

Reviewed on 27/08/2014
Nain S.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3.5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The product is very user-friendly, and having loads of feature for power sectors. The most important thing is that it is easy to customize and easy to learn for users.

Cons: They take too much time for resolving issues and doing customization.

Reviewed on 02/11/2012
Dan C.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: Our company has used IFS Applications for four years now. The user interface is unintuitive, arduous to use and navigate. When our company first switched to IFS we quickly realized as users the software was not even on par with an alpha release and it has not become better over time. The IFS company will not repair shortcomings of the software unless be pay them a hansom sum.

IFS review

Reviewed on 24/12/2014
Paul R.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
Overall
2.5 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The application is fairly easy to navigate through.

Cons: Too many windows and screens to use for one application.