Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9/5
  • Customer Service
    4.8/5

About Graylog

Graylog is a leading centralized log management solution for capturing, storing and enabling analysis of petabytes of machine data.

Learn more about Graylog

Showing 14 reviews

Remi S.
Enterprise Architect, IT
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2020

"Very strong on open source on-premise solution"

Comments: Experience has been great, we started by using the free version, it has provided benefits early on to the dev teams to search through web logs without the need for downloading them and using a log parser application, or committing early to expensive paid tools. Since then we keep adding new sources and are looking at more enterprise features as usage grows.

Pros: Graylog has alot of flexibility and a mature feature set. We use it across all of our Windows as well as Linux servers. It has a strong community and alot of flexibility, does not impose restrictions on our applications, good documentation and generally receives regular updates and features.

Cons: I find some of the latest changes to the GUI (changes happen all the time with Graylog) are less user friendly - functionality to get count tables are still there but it is less dummy proof whereas before a novice user could click around in the side navigation and discover certain features. There are also less cloud offerings for Graylog so it fits more the on-premise model where you manage the graylog server/infrastructure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
Data Analyst
Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019

"Incredibly flexible open source log management tool"

Comments: I am a data analyst so I often deal with large amounts of data that are really complicated to parse and sort through. I used Graylog to aggregate and parse logs which I later analyzed for relevant information.

Pros: Graylog is a fantastic tool to summarize and aggregate data into simple and highly accessible visual depictions and dashboards. Although it is an open source log management solution, it is really flexible and agile, and helps me parse data rapidly and intuitively. I think it's one of the best alternatives to Splunk - and probably is a much better tool even for enterprises.

Cons: Learning curve is a little bit steep. You need a somewhat technical background to learn it, but once you grasp the basics, it is way less cumbersome than others such as Alienvault or Loggly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Admin
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2020

"Main features of Grylog"

Comments: test traffic and log DB (eg. MySQL ...)
test all OS Unix/Linux system log and traffic
test log and traffic Firewall fortigate and FortiWeb device
F5 loadbalancer
Docker machine
LXC container
.........

Pros: 1- Understand how different equipment, operating systems, databases, services and processes and different teams work in the organization.
2- Detecting security threats (in-depth analysis to find the source of the threat)
3. Dealing with cybercrime, using logs and traces of intrusion
4. Improve the process of managing applications, servers and services in real-time
5. In-depth and accurate checking of incoming and outgoing traffic at the packet level
6. Identify the relationship and correlation between logs and events
7. Identify any anomalies in different layers of IT the organization
8. Automate the process of detecting and reporting errors and anomalies to relevant teams in the organization
9. Perform normalization and immediate correlations of events and traffic
10. Provide real-time field of view and capture Network Flow data events In close proximity to advanced analytics, the service status is revealed
11.Prioritize alerts
12. Excellent speed and quality
13. Ability to write proprietary Content Pack
14. And hundreds more wonderful possibilities
15............

Cons: 1-Speed and quality
2-Access to Content Pack
3-Being a user of Friendly
4-Support most softwares and devices
5-Good doc on the main site and internet

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2020
Abel L.
CTO
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2020

"Logging done right"

Comments: I love the product. I spread the word everywhere I go because I believe it has a future in the undustry.

Pros: Traditionally every IT/MSP business will use some sort of system to log data from all inputs. What I hated the most about other systems was that they really didn't improve on what was given to them (meaning logs). They either just held the logs or perhaps told me about errors I already knew. With graylog, we were able to get a wealth of additional info. Sure it requires some work writing extractors or pipelines, but at the end you get exactly what you are looking for. And with the available plugins, you can take what you had and improve. Simple example, in the past I would get an email of all errors but now I can get an email, Slack or push it as a ticket via API. Another great feature is the side-car addition. No more managing configs individually, you can manage and maintain the configs all from graylog. My wish is to introduce native plugins for other SaaS products. Recently they added ability to inject Okta logs. How about Cisco Duo or Umbrella. Both are in hot demand right now, might as well get that data too.

Cons: It's great at what it does but it does have some limitations. Dashboards and graphs are not as flexible as lets say Grafana. Not that it should be, but if someone wants a pure dashboard system then this may not be for them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2020
Nathaniel B.
Security Analyst
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020

"Great features and a dedicated staff."

Comments: I haven't used Graylog for logging of large enterprise systems so I can't how it performs in those cases, but I do like the DIY feel for smaller projects. It is very customizable and easy to configure things how you like.

Pros: I like Graylog because of how easy it is to get logs flowing into the platform. Most of my experience has been with the AWS Cloudtrail plugin, but syslog wasn't hard either. The documentation works for most typical cases. I also love the new update! The dashboards are beautiful and it's easy to get any statistic you want. It's come a long way which shows dedication and a want to always be improving.

Cons: Most typical use cases are covered by the documentation, but if it isn't it can take some searching to figure out if there's a way to accomplish your goal. I have no experience with the enterprise or community support so I can't say how much that might help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020
Sinisa D.
Network manager
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2020

"Enterprise grade log management"

Comments: I started with free version several years back and grew the cluster into multiple nodes. Product itself is solid and easy to maintain. Keep the documentation in sync with new features.

Pros: Initial deployment is well documented but after that it's up to the admin to figure out how to utilize the software.

Cons: Complexity grows with deployment size, which is expected from such software. Adding more predefined dashboards would save time for new admins while providing examples how to best utilize graylog.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2020
Niazuddin A.
Systems Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2020

"Great software that keeps improving"

Pros: Meets all of our logging needs and is very customizable. Community Edition is a great introduction to Graylog.

Cons: Catching up on the latest updates can be a pain.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
Technical consultant
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2020

"Graylog "

Comments: Very good, we needed to collect our application logs for an audit, Graylog does the job perfectly!

Pros: Very easy to send logs to Graylog and collect them using sidecar.

Cons: Building dashboards takes some time to understand, check out the marketplace for them

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2020
Allen L.
N/A
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2020

"Easy to set up and use "

Comments: When I needed to get logs into one centralized location for reading and understanding, graylog accomplished this when others couldn't.

Pros: Compared to other products of similar nature, I found graylog to be the easiest to setup and deploy, even on a limited VM. It's surprisingly well put together and can run even on a resource limited virtual machine.

Cons: The interface could be a bit nicer, maybe it has improved since I last used it, but that's the only issue I had with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2020
Adam "abe" A.
Regional Director
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2020

"You can’t do better for building a Log Management Ecosystem"

Comments: I’ve recommended it as a solution to many local governments during my conference presentations and they’ve listened.

Pros: Graylog is built on ElasticSearch and extends its functionality out into a great product with the System Administrator in mind.
You stand up the platform, point logs at it and the rest is up to your internal processes.
I also enjoy that the vast majority of intelligence and augmented data is built directly into the platform rather than an outside product.
The community support forums are chock full of helpful folks.

Cons: For a long time the visualizations were quite lacking and we required additional tools to properly tell our data stories but this is improving drastically with each new release.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2020
Lawrence S.
Software Developer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019

"Logging and alerting all in one place"

Pros: The most that I like about this software is that it keeps all of our application error logging all in one place and we use it to set up alerting policies whenever we get more than 5 errors in a minute or so. This allows us to get our engineers on the problem and fix it as soon as possible instead of waiting until a end-user reports an error which is not proactive.

Cons: The least thing that I liked about the software was the way that it collects the logs, you need to send your logs in a specific format for Graylog to consume so that may take writing a small application or script in the middle to parse and format your logs over to Graylog in the correct format.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
DevOps Analyst
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2019

"Good tool for centralizing logs, but difficult to configure"

Pros: The possibility of centralizing logs, besides being able to create deshboards

Cons: Difficult to configure and manage, confusing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer III
Logistics & Supply Chain, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019

"Great product but could use some additional documentation and examples"

Comments: Overall the product is great and you can get away with a lot without having to purchase a license.

Pros: Open source, scalable, efficient, many powerful features, accepts all sorts of inputs for logs, open marketplace for users to share their content packs

Cons: Large scale deployment documentation is missing (sure they give you ideas but it could really use a how to article or video). Could use some of the features from kibana.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Sunny J.
Directory Incident Response
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020

"Excellent Tool"

Comments: Excellent.
Highly recommend to folks looking for SIEM.

Pros: Ease of Deployment.
Ease to Configure Rules.
Very less overhead when Implementing.

Cons: Documentation can be improved.
Speed of digestion can be improved further

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020