Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.4 /5

About NCR Silver

NCR Silver delivers the tools you need to drive your goals. Cloud based ePOS, actionable insights, marketing tools, and more.

Learn more about NCR Silver

Showing 142 reviews

Wendy W.
General Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2019

"NCR Silver meets our multi store needs"

Pros: This cloud based system met the majority of our needs when I began searching for a new POS system when our retail store was adding a second location. I was looking for a system that could be accessed remotely, share information between the locations and could grow as our store grows. The 24/7 Customer Service is reliable and accessible. Most times, a single phone call is all it takes to resolve a problem.

Cons: The biggest drawback was discovered shortly after we began installation. We were told during the sales pitch that our system of alpha numeric sku numbers would easily transfer to NCR silver. The use of the bar code scanners and ticketing system would be simple process. This was not the case. We have to manually key in the alpha numeric sku numbers which is much more time consuming the scanning.
Four years later, we have of course adapted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2019
Michael P.
manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"Problematic"

Comments: Completely mixed bag, usually negative. I especially disliked the phone call I received from NCR EMV development lead when I complained about th EMV pad being defective junk last year. The call was very rude and unprofessional.

Pros: Cloud based POS with automated email receipts that also sends out automated coupons for marketing.
Remote inventory management for adding new SKUs and UPCs.

Cons: 1) Not truely EMV compliant. Most annoying was the ancillary peripheral chip scanner looked cheap, was not always on, turned itself off every 30 mins. Fundamentally the EMV pad was defective and not fully functional or compatible with the NCR POS.. We removed it from the terminal and were forced to do swipe only.
2) NO CONTACTLESS PAYMENT FEATURES!
3) Updating VAR sheet for NCR terminal after worldpay vantiv merger was HELL. I imagine transfering to another processor would be the same terrible experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Denise M.
Owner
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2019

"Stress releaf"

Comments: I have told, shown and recommend your system to many small business owners but they tend to go with other systems due to cost, they love the look on my bar with my 2 ipads on their stands, one for NCR Cimplebox calendar check ins and the other for NCR Silver POS studio sales.

Pros: Ease of teaching my employees, Ease of getting my reports, Ease of looking up so many things like cancelled tickets(times of cancellations would help), helps me keep track on employees.

Cons: Not seeing the integration of my online calendar system, thought their might be a discount for the calendar. Control of emails is a "0" - no means to click on several at a time to delete as I uploaded 6,000+ only to find out I could only use 2500 at a time, not I need to upload them all again in groups. But then if I have duplicates there is no easy way to tell and I do not want to bother my customers with duplicate emails. I also have no idea if my (Cimplebox) calendar emails are automatically going over to the Silver.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2019
Lori H.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2019

"NCR Silver for Retail"

Comments: I used to like it more. Now, I think other POS software out there has far surpassed NCR Silver's capabilities.

Pros: It is very easy to learn and use. It uses the iPad's built-in GUI well.

Cons: Bulk email is capped at 2500 users. Wish I had known that before starting to use the software. There is an ongoing issue with email logging. I have reported it numerous times. They are supposed to be working on it but no one can get me information about it. It's about 6 months in with this issue and still nothing.
The credit card reader has been replaced twice so far and has issues not working. The connection on the credit card reader makes charging difficult after months of use bc the connection gets worn (iPad flipped back and forth for users to sign.) It's a hardware issue that's certain to cause problems for the life of the design.
Inventory management features are very limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2019
Jessica M.
Cafe Manager
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"Satisfied"

Comments: Overall, I feel like you get a lot for your money and the ease of training new staff on the POS is greatly appreciated. The back office reports are great and help me keep track of sales and trends.

Pros: I like that it's super easy to train new hires on the POS and as I a manager I love that I can access so much information in the back office so long as I have access to a computer/laptop.

Cons: There are just a few things that I wish we could change, but a lot of the software updates eventually address a lot of them. Like any software out there, there are glitches that happen but they're minor so it's not a deal breaker. Customer service is a hit or miss. Most times friendly, but a lot of times it just gets sent to a different department because they can't figure it out, which takes time and follow ups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Elise E.
Payroll manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"NCR Silver Review"

Pros: What I like most about this software is the fact that it met all our needs for our small business. We offer a large number of products and the software is able to accommodate the number of products and gives us the capability of customizing our sales with discounts and other promotions. Customer service is prompt and accurate.

Cons: Inputting the large number of items and all the variables can be time consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Stephanie C.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"Review"

Comments: ...

Cons: On the POS side we really would like to see the the qty of tips adjusted and paid out before finalizing. Also if the total cash and left in drawer was printed on the receipt would be super helpful instead of only being able to pull it from back house. It would answer a lot of questions quickly without research

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Jerald G.
co-owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"NCR Silver for a Retail Business"

Comments: None

Pros: I like some of the reports but it is lacking in the ability to function for Retail

Cons: The functionality for a Retail business The software is developed with the food service industry as the target. I am looking at my options to engage different software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Roy C.
Owner
Wine & Spirits, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"Crow Review"

Comments: Other than the reports, the experience is frustrating as I know the information should be there but is not available and techs are frustrated as well.

Pros: I like the reports that are available for day to day tracking of sales

Cons: Difficult to track inventory, no history of inventory inputs or how to see daily sales coming off of inventory.
Inventory is far from correct at end of month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Tina F.
manager
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019

"unanswered questions"

Comments: The tech support is not as knowledgeable as I would hope for.

Pros: The ability to look and make adjustments from any computer.

Cons: Not much flexibility to adjust to fit my needs
Very expensive for what you get.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019
Terry T.
Store Manager
Museums & Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018

"Museum Store Use"

Comments: It gives me some information I never had with a cash register.

Pros: Easy to train my many volunteers. Easy to add inventory.

Cons: Hard to add additional inventory to system. Should be easier to use for annual inventory counting. Would like to be able to rent extra items like scanner for a short period of time.
Web sales don't connect to my system. When I asked if system could tell me what my best selling item was I was told no.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Patricia I.
General Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"A-one!"

Pros: I like everything about this company and the ncr silver apps and pos.

Cons: I didn’t like that I could not do an inventory count from an Android but they fixed it and I’m good now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Barbara D.
Retail
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2015

"NCR Silver is a good system for small businesses"

Pros: I like the simplicity of the system. Using an iPad is convenient and doesn't take up much room on our counter and it's portable. I also like the option of paying on a month to month basis, not being tied to a long contract.

Cons: The reporting, especially for the sales related inventory portion, is not as in-depth as I'd like. I would like to be able to pull a report of the items sold by vendor name as well as be able to look at a specific item and know it's detailed sales history.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2015
Jody L.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2019

"Overall"

Comments: Mostly good

Pros: Easy to use the functions
Like the look at POS

Cons: Inability to search sales numbers by individual days

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2019
Gina G.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"NCR review"

Pros: Very user friendly and easy to use would definitely recommend.

Cons: Would like this to be less of an expense.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Stacie S.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2018

"Ncr silver"

Comments: Ncr silver is a great addition to my cafe

Pros: It is user friendly! Gives me my reports

Cons: It’s been running a little slow. Probably needs an update

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2018
Molly R.
owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2019

"There are better products for the same money."

Comments: Overall my experience with this product has been terrible. The system needs some sort of fix almost everyday, which could take 5 minutes or 3 hours. The customer service tends to have long hold times, and they will run you thru hours of testing even if you have already tried everything - seems like they just don't care and when you are trying to run a business it is very frustrating. If you run a business that does a couple of transactions an hour you will be fine, but it you have, or hope to have any sort of volume I would look elsewhere. Also, their technology isn't up to date...be sure you ask every single question and review other products before settling with this one.

Pros: It runs on an iPad and is pretty simple to set up.

Cons: It's unreliable. Loses connection to it's hardware almost daily requiring a fix each time. The swipe hardware wares out very quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2019
Adam G.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"NCR Silver Pro POS replaces Aloha"

Comments: Other than suppprt issues, we like the software and since it runs on robust iOS hardware - overall we are happy.

Pros: Remote access over cloud. iOS hardware and eliminate hardware failure since Apple devices never fail.

Cons: First line of tech support is not very helpful or do not have the right tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Kaity S.
General Manager
Entertainment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019

"Wouldnt recommend"

Comments: I gave it over 2 years and have now cancelling and using a different company.

Pros: Being able to get real time reporting while I was open for the day and seeing previous years numbers

Cons: Many things;
Disconnected during busiest times
Backend to confusing when adding items
Inventory never worked
Customer Service was very slow
Very slow when running transactions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019
Katlyn D.
manager
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2019

"My review"

Pros: It is easy to use and nice design.

Cons: it has alot of corporate main power issues. Every now and then maybe once amonth the system/ card reader with NCR stops working.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2019
Bob K.
Cafe Manager
Restaurants, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018

"NCR"

Comments: We get real numbers to make better decisions about our business.

Pros: Easy to use. Easy to modify. The ability to monitor from anywhere.

Cons: We really haven't had any dislikes at this time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Corina R.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018

"ease at mind"

Comments: Excellent customer service

Pros: Accountability for all my products including revenue.

Cons: No gift card options to where the system promts

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018
Nick B.
Accounting Clerki
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"NCR Silver"

Pros: The software is easy to use. Entering products and editing them is a quick process

Cons: The reporting features are a bit lacking when trying to track item sales and sales to customers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Lilian T.
owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"Great Software"

Comments: Great

Pros: I really enjoy all reports the system offers to control

Cons: Not so clear to understand how to use at first time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Herb L.
President
Apparel & Fashion
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2016

"NCR Silver - Don't buy into the year contract to save money"

Pros: POS system seemed easy to use and get the hang of. Adding inventory was simple and creating the main POS screen was a quick process.

Cons: Lied about e-commerce capability, no account services or layaway. When asked to for reduced payout of contract they will not budge and are just looking to get people in a contract and get paid. Even after buying additional items as an additional wasted expense that cannot be returned.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2016