15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Chatfuel

Chatfuel is the leading chatbot platform for Messenger. Increase sales, personalize marketing and automate support, all with Chatfuel.

Learn more about Chatfuel

Pros:

An intuitive layout which can be used by anyone who has no idea about Chatbot. Easy integration with Facebook Messenger.

Cons:

NLP is not good enough as it should be. Sometimes my bot failed to recognize the user's inputs and does not respond.

Chatfuel ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Chatfuel has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Chatfuel before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Yann
Yann
Consultant in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Facebook Messenger Chatbot-building made easy!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Of all the things Chatfuel brings to the table the one I consider my favorite one is its Drag-and-Drop builder for creating chatbots. No coding or any special skill required, simply click on a button, select the options that you prefer and set that up. Then, repeat the same process to add additional steps to your chatbot... it doesn't get much easier than that!

Cons:

Chatfuel focuses on Facebook Messenger only but it would be great to be able to leverage some of its chatbot features somewhere else, like on my website, for example. It's clear that the company decided to focus on a specific platform, and that's ok, but the idea of potentially rely only on one tool for all things chatbots...

Rocio
Rocio
Customer Support in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good chatbot for your Facebook messages!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We signed up for the paid program because we had very good results with the free trial. It is a fairly cheap plan and the chat is quite decisive. It allows us to serve our customers quickly and effectively.

Cons:

Sometimes some customers are not satisfied with the answers but it happens with all chatbots.

Luciano
Luciano
ChatBot and Automation Consultant in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A product that could give much more

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience little more than adequate. The few publishing channels available and the mixed approach between blocks and flows makes the work fragmented and not optimized, which is a shame.

Pros:

From the beginning, I appreciated the ease of use and organization of the work area. Initially, it was among the first platforms to allow integration with external systems to create interesting automations and webviews.

Cons:

Chatfuel's pace of growth could certainly be greater. The flow designer arrived years after the various competitors and, all today, is lacking in some functionalities. The block approach is still standing, but the platform should instead turn and convert completely to the flow designer.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great chat bot tool for beginners

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is a solid tool for building your first bots. It also has a free plan, which is what I used first to get started. I like the straight-forward approach and simple interface. It's easy to create a bot and you can take it into different directions. Plenty of documentation available as well. Overall this is a good tool, definitely one of the better chat bot tools I've personally tested. Worth checking out in my opinion.

Pros:

I found this a very straight-forward chat bot tool for beginners. I was new to building chat bots but found this easy to work with. My first chat bot worked just the way I expected and I even got inspiration to make it more advanced. It all seemed do-able thanks to the step by step instructions. Other tools I've tried had more settings and options, making it a little more complicated. Chatfuel keeps things simple and also has advanced features if you want to use them.

Cons:

It's not as advanced as other tools on my first inspection but pretty much does most of the things you would want to achieve with a bot. So overall there's not much to dislike here.

Mukesh
Mukesh
QA Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good for Messenger

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall the conclusion is that you can build only simple chatbots. I don't recommend chatfuel for complex chatbots but highly recommended for prototyping bots. You can build use some available templates to build bots.

Pros:

Chatfuel is easy to use and deploy a chatbot on messenger in a few mins. Best chatbot development platform for Facebook messenger bot as it allows user to one-click sign up with your Facebook account and many pre-built chatbot templates as well. Best of beginner and a non-techie guy to start building their messenger bot. An important thing is, You can build your chatbot for free.

Cons:

You can deploy your chatbot on Facebook only and personally I don't like this. Also, you need a Facebook account to sign-up and build a messenger bot. You cannot build any complex chatbots on chatfuel. NLP is not good enough as it should be. Sometimes my bot failed to recognize the user's inputs and does not respond. Documentation is also poor. There is no support for subroutines, jumping around a conversation.

Gleb
CEO in Brazil
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great solution that helped us to automate sales funnel

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: It helped us to automatize the sales funnel saving a lot of money and increasing the % of the leads being qualified. Chatfuel´s product has a great perspective in the online sales industry.

Pros:

- speed of the implementation- customer support- ability to customize the product

Cons:

Did not notice any. Probably the only one that the implementation required a good time contribution from our side as well

Pierfrancesco Maria
Pierfrancesco Maria
Ceo & Founder in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I started in 2016 ..

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The simplicity of building a chatbot is impressive even if you have zero skills

Cons:

Free version too limited ... before it was much more performing

Héctor
CEO in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Chatfuel is a great tool for starting a Chatbot building

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Im creating a bot and is not for marketing, it is for user profiling, it is helping a lot!

Pros:

It is so easy to use, you don't even need chatbot experience, just writing skills

Cons:

It is probably hard to get into other interfaces than messenger, but for messenger is great

Melissa
Melissa
Director of Communications in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Create your own chat bot

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The integration with Facebook messenger is really convenient. The visual builder is easy to use and the randomization option is useful.

Cons:

The mid-pandemic changes in tiered pricing was inconvenient for a non-profit on a limited budget.

Ayobami
Ayobami
Writer & Blogger in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Chatfuel has ingredients to make your business boom

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Business survives when you have a great channel like chatfuel that helps you connect to clients or customers quickly. Chatfuel has been very good in such area. Almost everyone use facebook these day, you can easily convert your prospects easily

Cons:

For new users, the software can be very complicated. One may need a tutorial video or notes to get along with the software.

Kristoffer
owner in Denmark
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Takes care of business

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Chatfuel makes dealing with our approaching Facebook messages conceivable by directing the discussions and sending notices to our colleagues when suitable. Chatfuel takes care of business to address routine inquiries.

Pros:

Not realizing coding was an enormous in addition to in choosing Chatfuel. I likewise truly like that you can copy informing tracks for various Facebook pages, which saves time when you're setting up a few channels.

Cons:

I didn't discover Chatfuel to be totally natural. Setting up our informing venture was tedious.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Gets The Job Done

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our team is a skeleton crew. Chatfuel makes managing our incoming Facebook messages possible by guiding the conversations and sending notifications to our team members when appropriate. Chatfuel gets the job done to answer routine questions.

Pros:

Not having to know coding was a huge plus in selecting Chatfuel. I also really like that you can duplicate messaging tracks for multiple Facebook pages, which saves time when you're setting up several channels.

Cons:

I didn't find Chatfuel to be completely intuitive. Setting up our messaging journey was time-consuming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Business Supplies & Equipment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Congratulations! Your Chatfuel Is About To Stop Being Relevant I Recommend for Facebook comments

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I put down my hands in auto reply comments in facebook, chat fuel does everything for me. Chatbot reply comments automatically to generate leads and convert them to customers. Very efficient tool.

Pros:

It has coolest and popular feature makes mind-blowing automatically reply to users comments. It's very simple b, chatbot automatically replays to users comments to facebook posts. I use this for comments for auto reply. Generating leads Managing reputations I like this software I recommend this to others.

Cons:

I don't find least in this software. All features are more effective and best , I enjoy and generate revenue in this tool.

Mateusz
Mateusz
Growth Hacker in Poland
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice product with great community.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's def one of my favorite chatbot tools out there.

Pros:

I like it for being so powerfull tool. You can use it fot very simple bots but also for super complex ones.

Cons:

It's buggy sometimes and the support is hard to reach sometime.

Alejandro
Digital Content & Engagement Director in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Automation for everyone

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great bot for various easy tasks.

Pros:

I created a chatbot that assists with many common questions and tasks with minimal work from employees. I recommend this service to many people.

Cons:

It would be great to provide the service without Facebook as website visitors are increasingly more hesitant to interact with Facebook.

Mark
Owner in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great but chaos

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It has every feature that you can need with bots. The ease of sharing a bot is appreciated! This is an extremely feature rich platform. I have confidence with this platform over any other. With all they keep adding in features, I know they'll stay on the cutting edge.

Cons:

Ok. This is confusing to use. It's got so much features without the intuitive thought on how to make it easy. Not an appealing interface to work with.

Nicole
social media manager in South Africa
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy chat bot creation

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Made it easy and simple to create a Facebook chatbot

Pros:

Very easy to use and learn how to build fully functional chat bots

Cons:

The trial version has a watermark that remains until you pay for the full version

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Cosmetics, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Boost your growth with an efficient chatbot !

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My bot could answer to my clients when I was focusing on my product, my SEO, making money etc...

Pros:

For my own little business, I need only the free trial at this moment. I could build a scenarii when visitors come to my facebook page. With my bot, I can ask questions to visitors, and answer to theirs even when I sleep. I also collect a lot of valuable mail adresses !

Cons:

You'll need probably one day before understanding/experiencing all you can do with this tool. So take time to watch/read tutorials.

Rahul
Head Of Online Marketing in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Chatbot building made SUPER easy!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- An intuitive layout which can be used by anyone who has no idea about Chatbot - Easy integration with Facebook Messenger - Advanced condition/logic based system to make complex scenarios easy - Support for Synonyms/ AI - Easy deployment process

Cons:

Its a great tool for building basic chatbots which support analog functions (condition based) but if you want to get a little more advanced (integrate your CRM system to fetch data etc.) it lags behind in that way.

Vadym
freelancer in Ukraine
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Most of all I liked that even free functions of this chatbot provide a possibility to build a powerful chatbot for FB messenger.

Cons:

Not so easy in use as ManyChat, but still very powerful and provides more possibilities.

François
François
Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
4.0 7 years ago
 Dominique
 Dominique
Founder in Belgium
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Platform to build your Facebook Messenger Chatbot

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: This is one of the easiest tools to build a chatbot in minutes and develop it over time. Deploying is like a breeze and you can test the chatbot on the fly.

Pros:

Easy of use, possibilities to make simple but also elaborated chatbots

Cons:

No sequencing to start chatbot marketing: Follow-up people who subscribe to your bot with follow-up chatbot conversations.

Okikiola
Okikiola
Business Owner in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Best tool to create a chatbot

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I was able to reach and sell more in my business service

Pros:

I was able to design and develop a chatbot successfully for my facebook page. It's the best i've used as it requires little or no coding ability.

Cons:

The pricing i guess is really unneccessary and it doesn't support other platforms other than facebook.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very limiting software

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

can't think of any pros right now maybe later

Cons:

It's hard to use and it's very expensive and very limiting in their free plan

Habib
Habib
Chargé de forces de vente in Benin
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Chatfuel, le meilleur

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Bien que Chatfuel soit un logiciel coûteux pour des personnes avec de budget limité, c'est un outil très puissant pour la conception de chatbots pour tous; même ceux qui n'ont pas de compétences en programmation.

Pros:

Chatfuel est simple d'utilisation. Il permet aux personnes non techniques de pouvoir créer facilement et rapidement des chatbots de manière intuitive. De plus, vous pouvez le relier à plusieurs d'autres plateformes dans le but de rendre performant votre chatbot.

Cons:

La version gratuite de Chafuel présente parfois des limitations à des paramètres avancés. Ce qui nécessite d'allouer un budget souvent élevé pour bénéficier entièrement du logiciel.