15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Oracle Business Intelligence Reviews

About Oracle Business Intelligence

Interactive dashboards, ad hoc analysis, proactive intelligence, real-time predictive analytics and mobile analytics.

Learn more about Oracle Business Intelligence

Pros:

Easy to set-up and create dashboards. Quite simple to teach end users to use the BI tool, view and create their own ad-hoc reports.

Cons:

Conditional blocks and rendering pages based on the variables are not easy.

Oracle Business Intelligence ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.6
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Oracle Business Intelligence has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 88 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Oracle Business Intelligence before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (88)

Rami
Rami
Internal Auditor in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Oracle Business Intelligence is a great business solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Oracle Business Intelligence saved a lot of my time and made our business life cycle better.

Pros:

After we moved from old software to Oracle Business Intelligence our company achieved many benefits, The work became more organized and users authorization more specified, And the transactions with more details, In the same time the reports became more easy to customize and export as Excel file or many others integrated software.

Cons:

In first month using Oracle Business Intelligence the reports was not working well, But after finish the project setup and go live everything is working great.

clive
IT Administrator in Zimbabwe
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best analytical tool with great functionality

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: A great analytical and reporting tool which has various functionalities that helps in analyzing data in different dimensions.

Pros:

Oracle is great analytical tool with great functionalities and opportunities which makes it easier to analyze data using different scenarios. It provides quality and precise results which makes data analysis and reporting easy. The dashboards are interactive which makes enjoyable to work with. The feature of allowing results to be saved in many formats makes reporting and information sharing easy

Cons:

The platform takes time to load and the pricing is a bit high though it is justified

Matthew
Manager
Insurance, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Robust system

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Oracle has a wide verity of options and functions which allows for robust reporting and detail. The system can be customized to meet most needs.

Cons:

You made need to purchase various modules in order to have a full integrated business solution. Investment may escalate quickly.

Michael
Senior Consultant in US
Accounting, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pretty Solid and Dynamic Reporting & Analysis Tool

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: I really love being able to start from the top of the data in a report and investigate all the way down to a single transaction which could be driving the financial performance in the report. This is something many database/reporting systems lack. You often must have a second database, or look directly into your ERP in another side process. Not with BI.

Pros:

The ability to drill down all the way to the transaction/invoice level in an overview report.

Cons:

It takes a while to learn all the caveats, bells and whistles. Once you're up and going though its not bad.

Shayne
Shayne
Project Consultant in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product potential which has been assimilated and developed into Oracle stack.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Works well with Oracle products due to effort made to assimilate into the Oracle stack. Graphical display on desktops to mobile devices and automated scheduled reporting provide ability to push and pull information via appropriate mediums for users.

Pros:

Graphical interfaces and ability to sit above multi-faceted cubes can produce strong reporting and dissection opportunities to mine and exploit data. Much of the Oracle BI is from third party acquisition (e.g. Hyperion), and while this has it's own issues, it does provide opportunities where it can interface across the Oracle family of products and be interfaced with Oracle, PeopleSoft and JD Edwards ERP. Such capability supports large enterprises that may have a mix of Oracle Financials and PeopleSoft HR (utilising specific strengths of each product set) where underlying cubes of data can mix, match, and slice data to inform and forecast effect and impacts. Certainly strides have been made in the graphical interfaces of the Oracle BI stack, from display on desktops, to reporting, and more recently mobile devices. Display of information is relative to the form factor, relatively responsive (dependent on comm. links) and can be paired with scheduling tools for automated notifications and reporting. This has advantages of not only ad-hoc reporting for users, but can also simplify regular reporting cycles such as month and quarterly end reporting.

Cons:

Overheads of management of underlying cubes can be troublesome due to the nature of products in the Oracle suite. Due to the acquisition of rival or complimentary products from other vendors and partial assimilation into the Oracle stack, and a reliance on old code as the base level of many Oracle products (including PeopleSoft); a strong knowledge of tables and inter-relationships is imperative. unfortunately in my experience a number of clients will also customise tables and fields which can further complicate maintenance and understanding. Creating an Entity Relationship Diagram (ERD) for your BI, whether Oracle or other products, to inform your Configuration Management Data Base (CMDB) can be most beneficial over the life cycle of products and BI overlays. Due to the nature/origin of the Oracle technology stack, the major drawback is often the need to employ (directly or via third party) specialists to configure, manage and maintain the BI stack. This is not just for knowledge or changes needed to BI to ensure effective operation, but also where institutional knowledge is required in the configuration and scripting required to ensure that source tables are appropriate and populated to support the BI outcomes desired.

Cesar
Cesar
Docente asociado in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Oracle Hyperion software to respond to the rapid changes experienced by the current market to carry

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With the system you can plan and generate reports faster, in more detail, with more precision in the field of financial information. Financial and business areas of the company.

Pros:

This tool provides a complete and fully integrated system of financial software that can be stored in the cloud with a Web interface and MS Office, and which allows the management of information and administration in common through a user-friendly system that adapts to the era of the modern internet and online businesses. Hyperion also offers the best financial closure and business planning applications that exist in the network, surpassing its competitors by the multi functionality and integrality of its modules that can be installed independently if necessary. This makes of program an exclusive and powerful weapon that generates to the organization a strategic and predictive modeling of its operations.

Cons:

There are very few things that may not like this system however with regard to Integration of data and metadata with Oracle transactions systems and other brands, including the benefits of deepening you have to improve your interface of relationships in lines that sometimes they make slow and its complicated use depending on the internet service provider

Jorge
Jorge
Co-Founder & Infrastrucure Manager in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Oracle Business Intelligence a great tool for any enterprise sizes

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I was involver in projects where OBIEE solution reporting needs for finantial enterprise, you can do a ODI integration for ETL solution to help data/information can be available in the way the thematic areas for reports pupulation needs.

Pros:

Oracle Business Intelligence is a kind of scalable solution, you can start from a suit module and then scalate to add more components. It provides a relative easy to use GUI for auto-service analysis and with the last OBIEE versions you can get the last graphs and animations. Im my experience migrations from previous versions is relative easy to perform, Oracle brings good documentation about the proccess and a lot of blogs about any issues on the process. The main products I used on this tools are: * Interactive Dashboards: brings analytics solution for managers, we can put on dashboards any kind of analysis, reports, graphs, including geo-locations. * OBIP: Publisher offers a strong reporting tool, for formatted documents, and the hability to exports to a variety of formats such pdf, word, xml, html, etc. * Ad-hoc querys: a good solution for auto-services, managers as ends users can build their own answers for business/operative questions, just pulling the business variables and combining graphs and customs in a intuitive tool. * Delivers: helps to schedule analysis, alerts and delivers content to filter configured targets.

Cons:

Oracle bring a complete tool, the cons is just limitated to improve user experiencie when working with time-dimensions, Oracle can work in to reduce the effort for this.

Sohaib
Sohaib
Technical Consultant - Data warehouse and Business Intelligence in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Technical consultant

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience was excellent, I got to learn a lot with it. Projects I covered were across financial solutions, HRMS and supply change modules

Pros:

The functionality and in-depth analysis with ease is the most prominent feature for me. Its fast, its robust, customizable to suit clients' needs and requirements. Easy to implement new features.

Cons:

For a starter it will be a little hectic to grasp the functionality oracle business intelligence solution provides.

Hasin
Data Analyst in US
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It gets the job done

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: I work with Hyperion during my time as a Data Analyst for the New School. It is not the best BI client out there but it is definitely powerful and I like the ability to have the option to write custom SQL queries.

Pros:

Ease of usage and functionality.

Cons:

The user interface.

Marcelo
Marcelo
IT Infrastructure Architect in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

my experience as administrator of the software is very good

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: the business likes because they have a products to make analitics of the sales that the companie makes and we can integrates with other systems of the company

Pros:

the pros is the way how you administrate the product is a standard of fusion middleware products so is very easy the administrations

Cons:

maybe can be the utilization of memory that is very high so i have to buy alot of memory for the hole environment if i have 200 user connected

Kenatu
Senior Programmer Analyst in Canada
Public Policy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

All the trimmings at a fraction of the cost

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: My company is what you would consider small about 200 + employees, but they have big expensive needs. BI Edition One allows us to get what we need without buying the whole cow [Enterprise]. If we every needed more, then we can upgrade without throwing out our initial investment. I won't go into all it does you can read the feature listings but suffice it to say if you use the PeopleSoft platform you will want this product. No more wasting time creating or generating reports for management. They can do for them selves and with a little training ad hoc reporting is at their finger tips. This leaves you with more time to work on leveraging all that you can from this wonderful robust platform.

Pros:

1. Comprehensive BI functionality — 2. Flexible Interactive Dashboards 3. Highly customizeable reports 4. Self-service and ad hoc analysis, 5. Data integration with simple server administration

Cons:

Cost - don't buy if you can't find a way to use it all. Its cheaper but not cheap, this platform is primarily for the PeopleSoft users its set to be of most use on that platform.

Ivan
DWH and Bi developer
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It has a high user friendly and native understandable interface with great functionality for analytics.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It is very powerful tool for analytics and for business users that gives a great possibility to visualize all the processes in the company.

Pros:

Great visibility, easy model and reports building. Easy administration process and creating access groups, speed of reports rendering.

Cons:

Installation process is very hard for users that doesn't have an experience with oracle products, license price.

Lorelle
Cash Apps/Cash Management in US
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

In total, I have used a version of Oracle for approximately 10 years.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's the best ERP software that I have used to date.

Pros:

I like that it is very user friendly. Out of the 5 different ERP systems that I have used, Oracle is the best.

Cons:

Unlike Lawson, Oracle does not provide visibility to the outcome of journals prior to actually posting the journals.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best BI tool from Oracle.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: oracle OBIEE is very powerful and robust business intelligence tool, which everyone can try and check it.

Pros:

Oracle BI has very good and robust dashboards. you can easily customize your dash board requirements.you can easily learn and build reports. very good training material available and customer support is awesome.easily report can be scheduled for batch processing.

Cons:

Not really big negative sides about Oracle BI, but it has lot of options and tools which makes little complex user interface.

Ashley
Self Employed in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful Tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is a very powerful tool useful for any Oracle user

Cons:

Like any Oracle product it can be very difficult to use

Lindsay
Editor in US
Writing & Editing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

works well but a bit slow

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The software does what it needs to do and helps me easily pull film-showing stats for my reports. I just wish it could load faster. Maybe one day!

Pros:

My company uses this software to track statistics of specific film showings in particular languages. It tracks plays from our app and online views of our films. It's accurate and up to date when I pull stats during the week.

Cons:

My only complaint is that the platform is a bit on the slow side. When I pull stats for my reports some weeks, I find myself waiting a while and having to come back a little later to see if it loaded.

Ivo
manager finance in Netherlands
Packaging & Containers, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hyperion HFM

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great tool for financial analyses, consolidation, and financial reporting. Invest at the beginning of the project and you will benefit the most.

Pros:

Great tool to do quick analyses

Cons:

The financial Reporting tool is difficult to use/change.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Oracle Business Intelligence

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: In my experience i have the oportunity in the implementation in other companies this product. Because another way to work with virtual create directly in oracle is stable and work fine. on the other hand have cloud its the same way to create dashboard, analysis, metrics etc.

Pros:

is the way to do a analysis, dashboards, create metrics and transform data from the data with graphics and administrative user, roles and other things

Cons:

i don't have nothing that i didn't like in this moment

Yoga
Datawarehouse Engineer in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Oracle BI Standard Edition One

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Good for big scale companies with large amount of data set, Reliable & Consistent, lot of features and functionalies.

Cons:

Hard to learn, Need training for sure, way to expensive product, Not worth for small to medium size company

Ingrith
Ingrith
college profesor in Venezuela
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

This powerful tool allows you to monitor business performance.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The benefit is the help in extracting information from the company for strategic purposes.

Pros:

With the implementation of Oracle BI the company data can be used to obtain a competitive advantage, thanks to the extraction algorithms that apply to the database. In addition to the above, this tool offers us the power of the real information of the company and gives the opportunity to react more quickly to market changes.

Cons:

It only offers open integration with the rest of the product portfolio of the ORACLE company. The cost of the investment is high, however the business tool is so efficient that the return on investment will be quick thanks to the many benefits it offers.

Daniel
Daniel
Consultor de BPM in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Oracle Business Intelligence. The largest and most complete tool for data analysis.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Software adapted to the basic needs of storage and qualitative and quantitative analysis of data. The analytical extraction applied to data masses, in Oracle BI is simple, its options are not very complex.

Cons:

When you start the Oracle BI application, different customization options are presented. You must have a high degree of administration of the tool to extract its greatest potential, and for that you can spend a lot of time.

KALA MALLIK
graduate research assistant in US
Farming, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

one of the best software for business

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: it is a good product in the current situation and preferred for small scale business

Pros:

it gives the predictive analysis of the historical data and also performs end-to-end business performance management tools, which is very user-friendly.

Cons:

there is nothing but sometimes the software annoys to perform the task. Sometimes, An unnecessary error pops up.

Marco
Marco
Coordinatore Area Business Intelligence in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally a tool to keep up with the competition

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A good product, still improvable

Pros:

With the latest versions it has become easier to extract and analyze data

Cons:

The architecture is still very complex, but recently it has slimmed down a lot

Syed Saad
Syed Saad
Manager Smart Grid in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Utilities, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful tool for business decision makers

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use Oracle BI for making sense of huge amounts of dates that guides our business strategy and helps decide where to allocate resources.

Pros:

It integrates well with enterprise software such as SAP and delivers multiple dashboards and reports that help managers make informed decisions.

Cons:

Once the dashboard is created, there is limited functionality for an end user to change the input parameters.

Robin
Cash Analyst in US
Oil & Energy, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I started using Hyperion the first time as a new employee. I was given minimal training but was able to perform my task with no problem. All tables are functional and efficient to use. My reports generate fast and are easy to be reviewed and approved.

Pros:

Detailed reports are easily saved for future running.

Cons:

Sometimes report doesn't print correctly.