15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Diligent Equity

EquityEffect is an easy-to-use platform for private companies to manage their equity. Easily manage your option administration, cap tab

Learn more about Diligent Equity

Pros:

Could have some nice features like waterfall if data was reliable.

Cons:

Data inputted by their team is often wrong, software is buggy, and lots of key features (like companies that have shuttered being reflected as zero) are not yet implemented.

Diligent Equity ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
4.3
Features
3.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

6.9/10

Diligent Equity has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 12 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Diligent Equity before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (12)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Finally a platform for VC's that actually helps....

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, great customer service, does a lot

Cons:

Looking forward to new features being added -- e.g., more portfolio KPIs

Nick
Controller in US
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

YE Review

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like the API Plug in the availability of the info.

Cons:

Would like there to be more customizable features for the tear sheets to be able to drag and drop information onto the page however we would like. Also, for post money valuations, would like the ability to update on our own if there is a disconnect as it's based on Pre-Money and doesn't always agree to our records.

Anat
Revenue Assistant Controller in Israel
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Software is not reliable enough

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: On a daily basis, I use the software mainly to check options status of the company's employees. I perform exercises and cancellation of options. Also, I manage the company's cap table and all other relevant equity updates (pool increasing, warrants updates etc.).

Pros:

Easy to understand how to use. Menu is simple.

Cons:

In my opinion, the software is not reliable. I don't trust it to save my data in proper way. I usually do double checking when performing actions.

Genevieve
GP in US
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Refreshing and functional!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The team at Equity Effect is great to work with! They are super responsive, helpful and patient. Great team and great customer service!

Pros:

We really like the capabilities for managing cap tables and modeling scenarios. It is easy to use and has sophisticated functionality.

Cons:

So far, there is not anything I do not like.

Patrick
Associate in US
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Becoming an Integral Part of Our Operations

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The EquityEffect team has been incredibly responsive and helpful.

Pros:

EquityEffect has made it easier to aggregate our fund information, investment documents, and other pertinent materials in a centralized location that is accessible to both our team and our investors. The system provides nice visualization tools and other features that aide in our reporting and portfolio management.

Cons:

The software is missing a few key features that would enable us to upload without having to go to the Diligent portal, easily update investments on the platform , etc. All in all, it seems the system is still being iterated upon but will eventually reach a point where it provides a seamless interface for VC fund management.

Sergey
Controller in Israel
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Zerto

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Recommended for use by small-medium enterprises with a lot of controls in place to constantly verify the data.

Pros:

Helps with the daily large database management.

Cons:

1) Not reliable - sometimes the saved changes are lost. 2) Upon some updates, the data may be altered. 3) No flexible reporting functionality - build-in reports vs having a flexible reports building tool.

Erez
Controller in Israel
Computer Networking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ES review

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

What did you like most about this software: user-friendly interface

Cons:

no forget password mechanism some features required to reverse other data so it will be affected

Gil
GC in Israel
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

my review of EquityEffect

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: generally satisfied, the software delivers but there is definitely room for improvement.

Pros:

Friendlier than similar software, ticks all boxes for my purposes

Cons:

often you run into bugs both in the UI/UX and in the core capabilities.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Complicated and unreliable

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: This software has increased the time required to manage the cap table by 10X compared to a spreadsheet

Pros:

Could have some nice features like waterfall if data was reliable

Cons:

Complicated to navigate and fix errors Slow customer service in updating cap tables Data entry unreliable and data spontaneously changes

Michael
Michael
Office Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

No matter what Industry you are in, one can't go wrong with this software...

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It took me only less than 2 days when it came to mastering the software and being confident on how to use it.

Cons:

the software has so many features that when you first see it, it can't be a little overwhelming the first 3 times you use it.

Ben
Finance Senior Manager in US
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great solution for fund construction

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall great. The onboarding team was very detailed with building our environment and we have enjoyed working with the team. They have been very responsive to answering questions, too.

Pros:

I really enjoy that it gives you a one-stop shop for evaluating future financing rounds (via the scenarios tool)

Cons:

A bit trickier to handle international (non-USD) cap tables

Sam
Head of Ops in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Don't buy EquityEffect

1.0 4 years ago

Pros:

They seem to have a general sense of their product strategy, roadmap, and useful features

Cons:

Data inputted by their team is often wrong, software is buggy, and lots of key features (like companies that have shuttered being reflected as zero) are not yet implemented. Save yourself the time and frustration and wait until their product is usable.