ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

by ManageEngine

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Help Desk Support Software and Asset Management Tool includes, Knowledgebase, SLA Management, Ticket Tracking, Inventory Management.

Learn more about ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Showing 158 reviews

Mike V.
Teamlead IT
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2020

"Best Servicedesk Product EVER!"

Comments: I set this up as ticketsystem for our company and users have an easy platform to create tickets instead of calling. This works like a charm and even users with little computerexperience can create tickets. Also the solutions part of servicedesk is awesome.
We upgraded our entire IT deaprtment with this product, bye bye shard IT-mailbox!!

Pros: I love the fact that is is simple in use. You can isntall it yourself, you can customise it the way you want and that is all sooo easy. Updating the product is a piece of cake and best part is that you can make the program like you need it.

Cons: Nothing! Only pros pros pros!
Even when there is a issue, the support team is on top of it. WOW!

Alternatives Considered: TOPdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Topdesk is much more complex, updating is hard, more expensive and not as user friendly!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2020
Peter B.
Director
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/05/2020

"Sevdesk - easy to use bookkeeping software"

Comments: It has certainly saved us time on monthly bookkeeping and made a life for our accountant easier. It is a great solution for medium-sized businesses

Pros: It is really easy to use and understand with all the necessary plugins. The linking of documents is really easy with the bank statement import

Cons: There could be additional integrations to CRM systems, such as Hubspot etc. The CRAM is very basic and needs some additional features to be useful

Alternatives Considered: lexoffice

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: Ease of use and integration/export possibilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/05/2020
Billy W.
Billy W.
IT Systems Specialist
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"Among the top"

Comments: Organization is the best benefit that I received from this software. Additionally, maintaining proper process flow and accountability for resolving issues was another.

Pros: Feature rich! Automation ability is great. Affordable if you are going to use the features that it ships with. Additional modules available for additional features.

Cons: Setup is a bit intensive since there are so many pieces parts and features to configure and setup. A bit difficult to navigate at first when everything is enabled.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Mike S.
Programmer/Analyst
Paper & Forest Products, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020

"ServiceDesk Plus - Manage your Helpdesk with Ease"

Comments: it has been an invaluable tool these past years to keep track of our helpdesk tickets.

Pros: The software is great for tracking our IT helpdesk tickets. It provides easy to configure analysis options. Another plus is the option to keep and manage a knowledgebase of common solutions.

Cons: You have to be careful when assigning tickets from the main menu. I once clicked on the wrong check box when wanting just to select the very first ticket and thereby assigned all open tickets to one technician. Took us a few minutes to get all the tickets reassigned to the correct tech.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020
Miguel N.
Information Technology Project Manager & Quality Assurance
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018

"I have been using it for the past 8 years"

Comments: Very good ITSM software for a low price, alot of features that can be fully customizable, and easy to keep track of what everyone is doing due to an amazing dashboard!

Pros: * Excellent Service Catalog.
* Convertion of Tickets into projects, Problems, Changes.
* Asset Discovery and CMDB
* Lots of addons.
* Integrated chat.

Cons: This is a great software but updating versions can be a pain, due to the confusing documentation on this matter

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Philippe M.
IT Specialist
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2018

"Now using it fow near 3 years. Provided us with the needed tool for ticketing and repporting."

Comments: As a servive oline integrated with Azure AD . Easy setup, no maintenance and fully complient with teh business needs

Pros: Easy to setup and to use. It's alwas improving the features. The mutli portal is also a good improvement opening the scoop of service. Repport are also easy to setup.

Cons: some field selection on creation of ticket sometimes a little slow to be confirmed. This makes it difficult to do a fast encoding

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2018
Igor V.
Android Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018

"Excellent service to automate technical support"

Pros: Thanks to application statuses, you can achieve effective work with a large number of clients at the same time. For us, this is important, since our staff does not employ as many employees as we would like, and the number of requests received from customers is enormous. To provide support in the application, there are all necessary tools, such as reports, notifications, integration with mail services.

Cons: For some reason, there is no section with frequent questions, although this is very lacking. But in general, the program fulfills all the requirements to it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018
Chris G.
Chris G.
SharePoint Architect
Oil & Energy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017

"Daily workhorse"

Pros: Easy to use and configure
Use it daily for our helpdesk and have implemented it in 3 different organisations meeting the needs of all

Cons: Some things like change management are a bit confusing and cumbersome to use but the set of features is fantastic for the price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
Program Development, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2020

"Support is terrible"

Pros: Nice interface.

Cons: We have been using ServiceDesk Plus for 7 years now. We have contributed a lot into the development of this ticketing software and have around 2K users around the world using it.
Software does have occasional hiccups and glitches, but the worst part is their support. It declined so much over the years that it's unbearable now. Every time there is a remote session, it seems that engineers try to waste as much of your time as possible, just connect to you online and literally doing nothing.
You have to patch and update SDP manually quite often, sometimes 3 times per month. Every patch is downtime and a risk of an issue, where you have to contact support.
Their online instructions are outdated... Just try to renew SSL cert using the posted guides, good luck - another support call to Delhi.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2020
Sam N.
Team Lead
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018

"Convenient tool"

Pros: I was attracted to the fact that everything is standard. You want to make for yourself - tune, do not want - so work. True, then you have to adjust your tasks to standard functions. But as a starter package for beginners, administrators can be recommended, albeit with a stretch.

Cons: Many problems with databases. Very often the server is working because of this incorrectly, but it does hang. Technical support does not help much. In general, you can't do without your own knowledge and skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Manager
Warehousing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2018

"A great full featured service desk application."

Pros: Customization of request and incident forms. Approval/workflow. Mobile app. Email responses to ticket. Email customization options. AD Integration. Asset management. APIs.

Cons: User Interface and lack of customization of look and feel. Limited ability to add/remove/change forms and fields in templates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2018
Iwan A.
Administrator
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2018

"Incident Management"

Pros: Capture, identify to issues and service requests. Monitoring module for build and monitor service agreements is great.

Cons: Technical support works very poorly. The time for answering case is too long very often, we do not have a good solution for the support case.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2018
Pablo K.
Pablo K.
Gerente de Sistemas
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018

"Excellent. A User Friendly Complete solution."

Comments: Managing IT Requests in a properly way is leting us to focus on major projects at the company

Pros: Easy Of Use, specially for end users. A complete Help Desk solution for a multiproperty company. Excellent & very responsive support. Workflow design is great.

Cons: I would like to see more templates for regular requests. And I suggested marketing team to provide customers help with onboard materail

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Debby W.
Owner/Consultant
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017

"ManageEngine Service Desk Plus"

Comments: I have used ManageEngine for a few clients and have found the product amazingly quick to implement. It is an excellent tool for any IT Service Desk.

Pros: Ease of use and quick implementation. Fully ITIL. Easy to customize the screens. Excellent reporting and workflow.

Cons: Manual implementation of business rules - no functionality to import the rules. SLA / Priority Matrix is not very easy to customize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017
Santa F.
IT-manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"Standard package at an affordable price"

Pros: I'm happy with the program. You can easily adapt your needs to ready-made solutions. Service is also quite high quality. Technical support reacts promptly, patiently explains and answers all questions. Very convenient and functional product.

Cons: We have to adapt to standard solutions. On the one hand, it is convenient. But on the other - causes a lot of problems. Also, there are questions to the security of this system. I would like to see updates more often.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Manager - IT
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2021

""The Best HelpDesk Managing System""

Comments: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus is not just a help desk software. It is having so many useful functions/tools in-built and helping our organization to improve end user efficacy and motivating them self with ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus.

Pros: There are few most interesting features in ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus such as customizing reporting, tracking via mobile app, Self-Service portal, IT release management ext.

Cons: There is no major impact with this software other than local support. Hope they will improve their support service more efficient manner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2021
Dale O.
Dale O.
Infrastructure / Security Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"With several tech's its priceless, A one stop shop and integrates well with Desktop Central."

Pros: The effective integration with the other software solutions that manage engine offers. The ability to track any actions made by the tech.

Cons: Wasn't anything I didn't like! The service desk plus did just as it advertised and was continually updated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Eric F.
IT Manager
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2015

"I've been happily using ServiceDesk Plus for 10 years"

Comments: I wasn't planning to write a review but when I saw a few that complained about poor tech support I felt compelled to. My experience with ManageEngine support has been entirely positive and over a very long period of time. We started using ServiceDesk Plus because it was so inexpensive compared to other solutions with a similarly rich feature set. But I quickly decided it was far batter than its price would imply.
Whenever we've had trouble they've either resolved it quickly through real-time communication with me, or they had me generate a support file that they analyzed offline. Whenever they've taken a support file from me they were attentive through the whole process and always delivered a solution. They've even written custom queries for reports I was having trouble with, all without additional payment.
I was so impressed with the product and the team that I expanded our use to include many other ManageEngine products such as OpManager, PasswordManager Pro, DeviceExpert, DesktopCentral, and OpUtils.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2015
Verified Reviewer
IT Support Technician
Aviation & Aerospace, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2018

"Perfect for what we use it for"

Comments: No real problems, but Support are very helpful should any arise.

Pros: It allows me to log who uses which machine and keep an inventory of all assets we have on site.

Cons: It became slightly less user friendly with a product update.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2018
Austin G.
Senior Infrastructure Administrator
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019

"Not ready for cloud"

Pros: ManageEngine comes out of the box with a number of pre-built workflows that can minimize time required for implementation and it integrates directly with TeamViewer which can be a huge benefit for technicians who frequently perform remote support.

Cons: The interface was not as simple or easy to use as other service desk applications out there and the ability to run scripts from the tool in order to automate self-service requests required the entire application to be installed on-prem. Sadly, the ability to execute reports requires a third party tool at an extra cost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Patrick M.
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"Great product to help keep track of IT tasks."

Pros: With a fairly small IT department and an ever growing user base this software helps us keep track of our IT tasks including Helpdesk support requests and IT purchases.

Cons: It can be a little convoluted to setup, but with software this complex and feature rich that is really to be expected.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
James B.
IT Infrastructue Engineer
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"Good Service Desk product"

Pros: Ready to go out the box. Excellent templates.

Cons: Nothing, all in all this software does what it needs too.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Mohammed K.
Mohammed K.
Group IT Manager
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2017
Rafi S.
Service desk Analyst
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2018

"ServiceDesk Plus does what it says on the tin"

Pros: Tickets or Incidents allow you to keep all correspondence and testing together. Replying to the generate email allows non-users to add notes to the outstanding tickets. Ability to add changes and link to original tickets keeps things organizer and traceable.

Cons: The page redirects are buggy. Clicking links frequently go 404 at random as it serves a page wrong. Instead of going to it will instead just try to go to work order do and not find the page.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2018
Dennis S.
Dennis S.
Service Desk Lead
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"It managed service with Manage engine"

Pros: Asset discovery for networked equient.
Takes it assets management to the next level

Cons: Inability to expand asset management to non it equipment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019