15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About EROAD

EROAD: reliable, accurate and easy to use fleet technology

Learn more about EROAD

Pros:

The integrated tax/miles tracking. The Ehub is easy to use.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of comes to mind that is a large issue. Sometimes the mobile app is difficult to use mainly due to the size of the screen on my phone.

EROAD ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

EROAD has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 105 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used EROAD before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (105)

Nicklos
Nicklos
Training Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Only product to consider

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall experience was great. I really enjoyed working with the sales team, and Soona their consultant.

Pros:

As an experienced business systems analyst I put several ELD products under the microscope to not only address our compliance needs but also business challenges. The ELD mandate was a nightmare for our company because we are not truckers. We drill water wells and operate 24/7. Their consultation and Customer Service was top notch. In a sea of fly-by-night companies attempting to capitalize on this new government regulation, E-Road stands out because of their many years of experience with fleet tracking in management software.

Cons:

Needs a non-regulated driving mode added

EROAD Response

5 years ago

We're happy our fleet management solution helped you meet your business objectives and banished the HOS compliance nightmares. We enjoy working with you, too, Nicklos! - Your EROAD Team

Aaron
DOT Compliance Officer/Fleet Manager in US
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unparalleled in all ways!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I in house Demo’ed 13 companies when going on our search for a new ELD system. From the largest companies to the earliest start ups. Everyone got a fair shake. I used each companies software and telemetry systems and began a 3 month research project. Long story short it literally only came down to Eroads. The user interface was simplistic with the most applicability. The software was beyond anything any other company provided. Turning my IFTA nightmare into an IFTA dream now a days. The self generated reports have moved our company leaps and bounds with versatile fuel management reporti Nd, geofencing, Driver Safety, etc and that’s only three of the over 20 reports available. They even custom designed a software package for our light duty trucks and assets like skid steers and heavy equipment trailers and generators. I’ve met personally with their Director of Compliance, Soona Lee. Software designers from New Zealand. Sales associates. Customer Success representatives. They go all out even for the smaller accounts. As I said before..... they are unparalleled.

Cons:

The only thing I could possible say I like the least is that a lot of the reporting factors are in 24 hour clocks versus the standard 12 hour clock we are used to. Lol. Very simple to overcome however.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Wow, thanks for the great review, Aaron! We're delighted that you're so happy with your EROAD solution. - Your EROAD Team

Tim
Vice President in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Communication is HORRENDOUS!

3.0 4 months ago

Comments: The units are okay. They blank out and reset going down the road after a couple of years of use. It's incredibly annoying at 2am in the morning and it's flashing bright lights in your face. The main issue with the company is the communication about their products and contract. Once you're signed, the care disappears and they will not respond or help in any way!

Pros:

Easy to sign on, install and train drivers to use. Permanently mounted to the dash, but small in size.

Cons:

Communication from Eroad is beyond horrible. Like any company, we have turnover in management for various reasons. I've left many, many voicemails and sent multiple emails, only to hear nothing back. Added new trucks and needed more units. Months went by and zero responses. Finally reached someone on the phone after multiple tries again, and they gave the email and phone number for the Director Indirect Sales. He was floored that we got his phone number, said he'd look into it and simply ignores everything now. When we asked to cancel our contract after multiple years of putting up with them, they won't let you out of the contract. We've asked where to send the units and we'll just pay out the rest of the contract, and can't get a response. All we're asking for is to make sure we're not getting charged when the contract is done, and THEY WON'T ANSWER! DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY IF YOU VALUE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!

Adam
Director of Safety in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best there is, the best there was, and the best there ever will be.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've watched many fleets struggle with ELD implementation. EROAD was smooth and easy. I can teach a driver the ELD functionality in 5-10 minutes.

Pros:

I will keep this short and simple. EROAD is by far the best ELD/Tax/GPS fleet management solution out there. I trialed the top 12 providers over a period of 6 months. Not a single product was nearly as simple, efficient, and reliable as EROADs. Save yourself the headache. Go EROAD.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike about EROAD's product or EROAD's team.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the awesome review, Adam. It made our day! - Your EROAD Team

VIVIAN
CFO in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

EROAD...

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love the support that comes with this software. All questions are answered in a VERY timely manner. The information provided is immense and able to be customized to fit specific business needs.

Cons:

The cost can become overwhelming; however, when time savings and sheer volume of information provided is a factor cost becomes well worth the price.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for spreading the word about the ROI EROAD provides, Vivian!. - Your EROAD Team

Chris
Fleet Director in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Cellular Coverage

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am pretty satisfied. I will be attempting to export data from Eroad into my fleet management system soon and that will tell the tale...

Pros:

The cellular coverage of this product is very good. We work in some very remote locations and have service almost always.

Cons:

Custom reports have to be approved through New Zealand and aren't very easy to get. I also had to explain my need multiple times before customer support would understand and just do it for me.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review, Chris. Please reach out to EROAD Customer Success if you have any questions about exporting the data.We're here to help. - Your EROAD Team

Keith
Safety Director/HR in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

EROAD Elog - Intial Review 4 months in after installation

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From the initial conversations with my salesperson to the 30-day trial period (Trunk Stock) to their detailed on-boarding schedule and commitment to ensure that we get off to a good start, to the excellent training materials, videos and documentation this has been a wonderful experience and transition to a great telematics company who is organized, great design (and ruggedized), cares about their customers vs. our old company where there product rarely worked, frustrated drivers and never returned calls and gave you the run around. Take heed telematics companies, EROAD got it right and deserves to have a higher market share. Highly recommend- you wont be dissapointed! They even gave me names and numbers of Safety Directors/Cpmpanies already on board and they confirmed for us our decision and had nothing to say but great things, which proved out to be true!

Pros:

1. Elog- So easy to train drivers, very simplistic, logical and easy to use interface. My least tech savvy drivers picked it up no problem and rarely have any user issues or questions. I can even train Temp Drivers in under 5 minutes and they grasp it and execute per the Eroad instructions (which are great!) 2. Admin -Depot: This tool is so valuable for Safety and Dispatch. Both Elog and Depot software are very well designed and you can tell it was thoroughly tested. Both are always on and no down time. The standard reports are great and I use them for IFTA taxes, supplying dispatch with HOS statistics and to ownership for various trends and driver analysis. The map is great and we use it also with Google to provide real time estimates for time to a delivery location with customers. The detailed activity report is also great for looking at routes, stops and other metrics

Cons:

No major complaints. I am working with my designated EROAD tech rep when I come across a report that would be of use (i.e. warnings when drivers are approaching an HOS violation) or a value that i would like in some reports (i.e. ability to do a certain date range vs. daily, weekly, monthly or quarterly). Eroad always responds to my emails, phone calls and takes my suggestions seriously and even reports back to me what there future plans are and where my request was sent to and it's status. Well done! Great company producing great products and software! Blows away our last telematics company that we had!

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your terrific review, Keith! It made our day to know we got it right. We count ourselves lucky to provide great service to awesome customers like you. - Your EROAD Team

Kathleen
Safety Assistant in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

EROAD likes and dislikes

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: readable because paper written by drivers is not easy to read their writing. My overall experience i'm like it, I have much more to learn. I don't like not being able to help someone with problems when I don't have the answer because I don't understand it myself. I'm not as tech savy as some but I do ok for the most part.

Pros:

Love easy to read, love the ability to find where a driver is , i'm sure if I had more time to give this a lot of thought might be able to come up with more things.

Cons:

The malfunctions that require the data diagnostics. Drivers complain that they don't have a signal that their system malfunctions. The number one thing I hate is whenever the drivers log malfunctions the ELD gives them a message says to go to paper log. It should tell them to call Safety first, then we can contact EROAD to see if it's really not functioning properly, because they see the message & want to do paper.

EROAD Response

6 years ago

Thanks for your feedback Kathleen, it's much appreciated. EROAD is fully compliant with what the ELD Mandate requires for malfunctions and data diagnostics. Your drivers should follow the instructions on the Data Diagnostics & Malfunctions Visor card that we provided with each ELD (required in each truck per FMCSA). There's further explanation and training available on our Helpsite, but we will also have one of our customer success agents follow up with you to answer any questions you may have. - Your EROAD Team

wendy
director in New Zealand
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

still not fully utilised

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: its a good function but like everything else its getting expensive

Pros:

it is good for finding the trucks if the eroad gps is current like said earlier there are times when the truck pin point can be hours behind

Cons:

the cost monthly and trying to get help when theres an issue.

Don
Operations manager in US
Building Materials, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ELD and asset tracking

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: They are pretty good at responding to service calls but they only have west coast service hours so it leaves us hanging quite often but Overall it has been very good and the ELDs function well and are accurate and most of all our drivers like it and don’t fight tooth and nail to not use it

Pros:

ELD is direct wired with no BS wireless Bluetooth garbage. System is basic but does what we need.

Cons:

We would like to see more features for drilling down on our data.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

We're sorry that 5am - 6pm PST Monday-Friday and 8am - 2pm PST Saturday, aren't enough support hours for your team, Don. Your people get started early! EROAD Customer Success has taken care of the Enhancement Request for more features and reached out. Thank you for the review! - Your EROAD Team

Almir
President in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

More good then bad

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

easy to use for drivers, inability to manipulate or falsification of HOS; rigid but could use some upgrades.

Cons:

inability to create reports as each company require (missing report builder option). over-promised few options on the system but never delivered (diagnostics of truck/ showing codes from ECM) . Improvements in regards with easy to use device for drivers (specifically allowing software to maintain trailers in the log for multiple days even though we have made suggestions how to fix this issue); overall, lots of small things that could be improved and would make driver/administrator job lot easier.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for bringing these to our attention, Almir. The Customer Success Rep. for your account believes there's some training he can provide that would show you the breadth of reporting and enhancements, and help resolve these issues for you. He'll be reaching out to you. - Your EROAD Team

DOUG
Safety Director in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Safety Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: For the portion I utilize, I find the results very useful. I can use certain screen prints to help coach drivers.

Pros:

I personally use the program to monitor driver behavior. Speed, Hard Braking events, Daily tracking of drivers routes, etc.

Cons:

In reports I can't just toggle back to the original page once I have reviewed a driver history, speed events, etc. When trying to print a page it only prints part of the page, not the entire record; ex- overspeed events by location, date-time, etc. If this is available I need training!

EROAD Response

4 years ago

Hi Doug, thanks for the review! We're glad you find EROAD useful, especially for helping coach drivers. - Your EROAD Team

Lyndi
Fleet Administrator in US
Building Materials, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EROAD Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Fuel Reports,

Pros:

It is great for tracking the units, and for report keeping

Cons:

The messaging system is not the best, you do not know who is sending you messages just the truck number it is sent from. The EROAD unit it the truck is not very user friendly for writing up defects and communicating back and forth. There are many steps and it is difficult for the drivers to locate the accurate information.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thank you for the review, Lyndi. Please feel free to use the Driver Resources available on our Helpsite, as well as our website. - Your EROAD Team

Robert
Safety in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Loss of excellence

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Used to be great! Now really hard to reach customer service. Lots of hold time, dropped calls and people not knowledgeable of their own product.

Pros:

Point and click compliance. Great for logs and weight mile taxes

Cons:

New reporting system missing items and a lot less user friendly. No longer as accurate as it was before the last "upgrade"

Jerry
Logistics coordinator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hello do this next

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Has improved dispatching to cover pickups and deliveries greatly. also able to communicate accurate ETA for deliveries and pickups to customers.

Pros:

Close contact with drivers and keeping track of road tax.

Cons:

the lag in reception to Ehub's is sometime a problem. Even local Ehubs can sometime take a hour to show on the trucks Ehub

EROAD Response

5 years ago

We're glad our solution has helped you improve dispatching and communicating accurate ETAs, Jerry. Thanks for the review. - Your EROAD Team

Chrissy
office manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Plain and Simple

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: They are progressing with their technology and I am really happy I chose this ELD.

Pros:

I like that I can track all my trucks and see where they are at all times. Most of my drivers figured this system out pretty quickly. I didn't want a ELD that used my driver's phone and data and this works great. All I need it to do is track their time, where they are at and help me out on the IFTA and IRP side of things. It does a lot more but the few things mentioned are just my personal preference. Also when these had glitches, customer service took care of it right away and got their Tech team on top of it.

Cons:

The mount system I really don't like. If you want this to not fall off your dashboard or wherever you put the sticky side, you have to drill holes. I'm not a fan of drilling holes in my vehicles, so right now they are stuck with double sided tape until I figure out a better solution.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

We're really happy you chose our ELD, too, Chrissy! There are options besides hard mounting or double-sided tape available, so please contact your EROAD Customer Success agent to find a better solution. Thank you for being an EROAD customer. - Your EROAD Team

SKYDREA
Office Supervisor in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Daily Eroad user

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As a rental company, having an ODOT and IFTA approved guaranteed trip sheet has reduced out over all paperwork. I wish that you could retain the information more easily after an eroad unit is removed. Customer support is ready to help though.

Pros:

Frequent updates, quick customer service...

Cons:

There are still lags in reports. Down time for updates...

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your review, Skydrea! We're here to help. - Your EROAD Team

Mathew
Safety, Eroad & Logistics Assistant in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Eroad has been great. Susan and Heather are appreciated more than they know!

Pros:

The thing I liked most about this software was switching over from PeopleNet and getting all the positive feedback from our drivers. They love Eroad. It's user friendly and self explanatory.

Cons:

Install Wizard after installing Ehubo in Volvo's

EROAD Response

6 years ago

Thank you, Mathew! We appreciate Susan, Heather, and all your happy drivers, too! :) - Your EROAD Team

Judi
Truck Shop Admin in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Eld Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: All in all, I enjoy using Eroad. I have gotten familiar with the program and am able to help drivers easily.

Pros:

The software is simple and easy to use. It covers almost all of my needs.

Cons:

The only 2 things I have issues with is #1. when messaging a representative, it takes long periods of time to get a response. I have waited as long as 19 minutes after asking a question. #2 The Help section does not have some of the answers I need.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

We're happy to hear you enjoy using EROAD, Judi. Thanks for the review and for being our customer. - Your EROAD Team

Stuart
Director of Logistics & Distribution in US
Food & Beverages, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great features at a great price

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This is far superior to most products on the market, especially compared to the "self serve" driver apps and "no monthly fee" gimmicks out there. We consider this a one stop shop for not only compliance but for driver management and planning.

Cons:

The only complaint I have is that the portal will kick a user out after a duration of time due to inactivity.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your feedback, Stuart. We're happy to hear our system is working so well for you. The security of your data is one of our primary concerns, so the timed automatic logout helps to reduce the chance that your account will be used by someone else should you walk away from your computer while logged in. - Your EROAD Team

BABA
VP of Operations in US
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

IWP Clackamas

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: the branch in Tualatin. OR has been very helpful in the warehouse for pick ups and drop off.

Pros:

GPS and locations of our fleet at all times. idle times for us is really important.

Cons:

i really have not heard of any issues with the software we are pleased.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review and for being an EROAD customer, Baba. - Your EROAD Team

Raymond
Owner in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Eroad is awesome

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The software is easy to use. The customers support staff are great [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] are great to work with

Cons:

At first there were a few bugs but the support staff fixed then right away

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review and being an EROAD customer, Raymond! - Your EROAD Team

Craig
Truck Manager in US
Building Materials, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very great experience with Eroad, excellent customer service!

Pros:

reliability, and functions(very easy to navigate around)

Cons:

Size of the unit, and the touch screen.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks, Craig. We appreciate your review and your business. - Your EROAD Team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Eroad Review

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The integrated tax/miles tracking. The Ehub is easy to use.

Cons:

In order to update a a fuel stop I missed, I have to upload a spreadsheet into the website.

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. You can easily add a one-off fuel transaction without uploading a spreadsheet. Just contact our Customer Support at 1-855-503-7623, choose option 3 for help with Depot, and they can walk you through the process. - Your EROAD Team

MIGUEL
Operations Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use. Definitely worth it.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Happy with the service, I really like the fact that they have almost 0% down time

Pros:

Easy interface. almost 0% down time . ( reliable ) . Customer support always available

Cons:

it all works fine. No complain so far. really like the graphics

EROAD Response

5 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review, Miguel. Wishing you and your drivers many happy miles to come. - Your EROAD Team