MindMup Reviews

by Sauf Pompiers

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.4/5
  • Customer Service
    4.5/5

About MindMup

A tool that allows small teams to build and publish any number of mindmaps online and on social media.

Learn more about MindMup

Showing 12 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Agile Coach
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2020

"Useful and flexible"

Pros: Auto positioning of the nodes
Ability to create several mind maps on one canvas
Different types of mind maps
Sticky notes

Cons: Inability to copy format of the node.
If you change the background colour of the node and then create a new one, it has been created with a default background, so you have to do formatting again manually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2020
Susan D.
Brand Expeditioneer
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020

"Awesome tool to visualize what is in your head!"

Comments: Was up and running really quickly once I got past a few learning curve issues. But at $25 for the year, was more function than I could hope for at that price.

Pros: It was pretty easy to figure out how to use. Very intuitive interface for the most part. I like that I can add notes & graphics & attachments to the nodes of my map. I serves many purposes for me.

Cons: There were a few functions that weren't as intuitive to use. A few more help videos or explanations would have helped in the learning curve. Also, still trying to figure out how to drag nodes to a different location to make them stick... Lastly, an integrated legend would be nice to document meanings of color for example.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020
Rika L.
owner
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"Can't acces my file anymore"

Pros: Easy to draw the mind maps. Nice colors, elegant looking.

Cons: I can't open my file anymore, even though I downloaded it, I keep getting the same error message: "There was a problem connecting to Mindup. Please try again later." WTHF??

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Briana H.
Author
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2020

"Practical and Business Friendly Software"

Comments: I really enjoyed using Mindmup. I think it is overall the second-best mapping program on the market with Mindmeister being the first. This is because I am shallow and love the look and interface of Mindmeister more. At the end of the day, Mindmup has almost everything I could want in mapping software. It is just missing a bit of polish.

Pros: It allows you to begin mapping right away. You can change it up with the help of various features and the program has a lot of potential. I love that you can share and work with another individual along the way.

Cons: I wish the user interface was a bit more smooth and user friendly. It currently looks a little dated but perhaps not for business standards. I use it for creativity so I wish it was more creative looking in the design and finished product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2020
Muhammad S.
IT Coordinator
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/12/2018

"Mind Reader"

Pros: MindMup is basically Mind mapping application that helps you let your ideas flow on a chart.
Instead of paper, you can save your ideas on the cloud.
You can also use it as whiteboard in online sessions or meetings.
You can also attach a picture or any other document to any object.
With unlimited users, it's the cheapest mind map available in the market for Enterprise.

Cons: You can not arrange object with custome lines. It has its own curved line that adjust itself accounding to objecs position.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/12/2018
Quai F.
Singer/Songwriter/Storyteller
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2020

"MIndmup - Useful for Basics"

Pros: Mindmup is straightforward to set up and connect with Google Drive. This connects it with you Google account and leaves a mindmup file in the folders on your Google Drive.

Cons: While most of the functionality works well and has some good keyboard shortcuts, it can also be a bit confusing. It's sometimes unclear which object you're leaving a comment on for example, as it has separate user pane to work on for thing like comments, but doesn't necessarily make it clear which object is being acted on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2020
Antti W.
HW designer
Medical Devices, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019

"Just great for personal use"

Comments: Probably the JSON format allows clever people to write import and export filters to automate...e.g. to compose product structure in MindMup and export that to ERP?

Pros: I like that I could get started free. It is much cleaner to write stuff to MindMup than using pencil and eraser to achieve the same on paper. I like how the app integrates with Google and saves its data to Google Drive. I did not have to create a new account anywhere. I made the mistake of starting my first map in Cloud storage mode but I was still able to export the data to a .mup file and then open it again while in Drive storage mode. PNG export looked good.

Cons: Perhaps I am doing it wrong or have not found these features yet but...
My map grew quite large, to the point where I would have had use for hierarchical maps (link to another map from a node).
If MindMup would be used for business then I think at least linking to external documents would be needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019
Maria del rosario C.
Freelance
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"MindMup- Online mind maps"

Comments: It is an excellent tool for the elaboration of mental maps, the fact that this integrated with Google Drive gives it even more value, I currently use the free version but I would not hesitate to buy a subscription.

Pros: - It is a very simple tool to use, the ideas are organized and each node is highlighted with a different color, that is useful, the text size automatically decreases at each level.
- Allows you to attach documents or images
- The diagram can be exported in PDF or image format
- It has integration with Google Drive so that we have our work available on any device.

Cons: - It does not allow us to customize the lines, only its curved line is available that is adjusted according to the position and size of the objects by default.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Angela C.
5th Grade Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019

"Great Graphic/Visual Tool for Learning"

Comments: I use this software with students in creating mindmaps an d capturing notes during lessons. The mindmaps can be screenshot and then shared, as well as saved. it is an excellent tool to differentiate learning and to graphically organize student instructional content and curricular connections.

Pros: I love the fact that not only is this program almost effortless, but it is a fun and manipulative way to organize thinking in a creative fashion. Students have reported that this is one of their favorite note-taking tools.

Cons: Printing. When we try to print the mind maps, they are either scaled way too small too read or take multiple pages. if you want to print this , you have to be strategic to ensure you only use "document sized" space, as you aren't forced into this option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019
Shain A.
Support Executive
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2019

"Mind Mup"

Pros: MindMup is idea mapping application that help me let my ideas bloom on chart. Its cloud based applicaiton. The beauty is its so simple to use and learn. Its free for individuals users and keep data on cloud upto 6 months. It also adjusts the containers or objects it self, so don't need to worry about arranging them.

Cons: Its difficult to manage longer notes in MindMup

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Board Member
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018

"Mindmup is a great little flowchart tool!"

Comments: Using mindmup free version to determine if it is user-friendly enough to purchase for a team. It has made the cut to the top three at this point.

Pros: This tool was super easy to learn, very easy to put together flow charts and diagrams. Using the free version

Cons: The only complaint I have (and it may be a quirk of thefree version) is that each time I edit a mindmup, it generates a new URL save - so if I am not careful, if working with bookmarks I end up opening the wrong one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Managing Member
Medical Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2019

"Very useful for planning"

Comments: We use it for objective planning of future business strategy.

Pros: Links to google docs/drive. Free and premium versions are equally useful. Endless mapping size. Zoom, reorganize with ease.

Cons: Can take a while to load but not super slow or anything like that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/03/2019