15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Syncplicity

A global product which provides collaboration, file sharing, syncing and everything in between for your business. Any device, anywhere.

Learn more about Syncplicity

Pros:

File transfer is very easy and safe with this product.

Cons:

Syncing multiple files can be painful sometimes. I assume there are minor issues when compared to overall performance.

Syncplicity ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.1
Features
3.8
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Syncplicity has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Syncplicity before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Umurefe
Umurefe
R&D Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Share your files with confidentiality

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I can upload anyhting there to share with my clients.

Pros:

You can share your files online with your clients, with confidentiality.

Cons:

It is a bit hard to get access from my company.

Kyle
CEO in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent solution for creating, sharing and backing up files in the remote working era

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The way that folders and files can be browsed to by each user within their finder window. Even though you are browsing files stored entirely in the cloud (not locally), it FEELS like you are accessing documents right from your machine. And as they are added, changed, deleted, etc., your folder structure adjusts behind the scenes without you having to do anything manual to cause the syncing.

Cons:

Initial rollout of the software takes a little while. Given the volume of folders and files we have in our system, we have to have a machine stay "awake" and online for 8 - 12 hours to fully index everything and build the folder structure in a new user's finder window. Also I wish I could add seat licenses as I need them one by one, not in chunks of 5.

Sezgin
Sezgin
Product Development Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It is just ok

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I'm mostly using this product to share data with our external partners. I can share any document I want with our external partners and it is really easy to upload.

Pros:

I can name 2 things I like the most about this software; 1) if you want to share multiple files you can put them in a folder and share the folder itself at one go 2) the speed of data upload is very satisfactory

Cons:

You can't share a single file as it is, but it must be placed under a folder to be shared

Özgür
Özgür
Product Development Supervisor in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A secure way of file sharing

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: If you want to share or store your files in a secure way then syncplicity is one of the best options. Enterprise level common usage really makes it a good choice as most of the partners to your company would be probably using it. I've never had issues during file sharing with syncplicity so far. Therefore it is a robust choice as well.

Pros:

One of the things about online sharing platforms is mostly having a simple and user friendly interface. It is easy to use for most users. It is really secure (business level). This is also the case for syncplicity. Another good thing is option to use in different platforms; via browser or IOS or Android mobile apps.I mostly use syncplicity for business needs. Most of the companies uses it so it's really make sense to use it. This enables our partners and team members keep their connection alive.

Cons:

It is not hard to find many issues for syncplicity as I'm using it enterprise level. Not sure of storage issues. In the very beginning I had some issues when create folder and file orders; but got used to it by asking some help. Syncing multiple files can be painful sometimes. I assume there are minor issues when compared to overall performance.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Syncplicity Offers a Solution Few Others Do

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I already use SugarSync, which is one of the other pieces of sync software that allow you to pick the folders you'd like to sync. For a client, I needed to use a different one and there are surprisingly few of them out there. Syncplicity does the job and it does it well.

Pros:

The main selling point to Syncplicity, as opposed to other sync software that keeps your files updated on your different device, is that it allows you to choose which folders you are syncing. This differs from the "Dropbox model," where you have to put all your folders under a specific parent folder. There are times where you can't rearrange your hard drive to put everything in one place and things need to stay where they are. It is here where Syncplicity shines.

Cons:

The functionality is very good, but the features are a little sparse, especially in terms of the web interface. It would be nice if you could "sync" to an external hard drive , too (which you can't). It would also be nice to be able to eliminate a folder that resides in a parent folder that otherwise syncs.

Serkan
Serkan
Product Development Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Secure, but not user friendly

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's a simple way for file sharing securely, but user experience needs to be improved by considering feedback.

Pros:

It allows you to login with your company account name and password. You can drag and drop multiple files. It offers you to add any people to whom you share data and assign them as editor or reader only. Upload speed is quite fast. Deleted items can also be seen that you can restore or permanently delete.

Cons:

No way to share a single file only. You must create a folder and then share out of your organisation. There is no search option to find uploaded files. No specific application on any operating system, you only use over web.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sharing in a such safe platform

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It helps a lot for file sharing within & out your organization. Improves productivity a lot.

Pros:

Very good product for file sharing that helps a lot for working with clients which keeps the history of sharing so can get the records any time that I want.

Cons:

Need to empty the the shared folders list quickly as there's no that much space that you can use every time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Does it’s job

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, syncplicity does what it is intended to do. It takes a while to figure out the design, but then it is fine to use.

Pros:

I like that the software makes it easy to store files without much effort. The software does its job of automatically backing up all files I save at the point of use.

Cons:

When first using the software, it can be difficult locate the files that you are actually saving. My company had syncplicity already installed on my computer, so when I went in for the first time to find my files it wasn’t completely intuitive. When I had a folder shared with me from another colleague, it was difficult for me to find and access it.

Amanda
Amanda
Technical Recruiter in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Staffing & Recruiting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful product with effective features

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: An easy and interactive user interface of this product is amazing enough to make all my work a bit easier. Multiple files can also be dragged through this splendid product.

Pros:

With this certain product I am able to collaborate among my team members with full ease and also its ability to arrange my documents is worth knowing. I would say it is working towards right direction.

Cons:

Since I have been using this solution there is nothing bad I have come across with. It is providing standard support and services.

Tyler
Executive Support / Senior Internal System Support Analyst
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Exactly as needed

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: We have had issues in the past with syncing software across all mobile devices.
We did a bunch of research for other syncing companies and we went with syncplicity.
Since then, we have used this for many other applications, backup of critical documents, syncing across many laptops.
This works extremely well in all areas. We have 130 seats and have never had an issue with any of them. We did however have an issue with a cryptolocker virus which syncplicity wasn't able to handle that well. It infected the backup which infected other users of a shared folder.
restoring of files and excruciating but since had back a dedicated backup software we were able to use that instead

Pros:

Ease of use does what it intends to do speed

Cons:

Price could be a little cheaper and restoring from previous dates could be a lot easier.

Carlos
Partner in Brazil
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Syncplicity: cloud storage and synchronization with bare-bones free tier

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Syncplicity allows me to store my files and documents in the cloud and synchronize them to my devices easily. While light on features, their free plan delivers what it promises (although with rather slow speeds). It's a no-frills, free alternative that works fine.

Pros:

In my opinion, Syncplicity has the following advantages: 1. It's cross-platform. Syncplicity runs on Mac, Windows, iPhone, iPad and Android devices. 2. It's free. Syncplicity has a free plan for personal use with sufficient storage space to meet users' basic needs. 3. It's developed by experienced professionals. The company that develops Syncplicity was founded by professionals who worked at Microsoft.

Cons:

I think these are the disadvantages of Syncplicity: 1. It's very basic. Although it works fine, the free version for personal use is rather lackluster. 2. It's rather sluggish at times. This may depend on several different aspects, like the computer that runs Syncplicity and the quality of the internet connection. 3. It's quite expensive for corporate users. Syncplicity has a pricing model that can accumulate quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Recommended

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is really supportive for my leader to see my information that I saved in the mornings and so he can easily know what I did

Pros:

My colleagues from different department can see my information that I saved

Cons:

It can be locked sometimes and not possible to find last saved things

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and safe file sharing

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's helping to transfer documents with everyone globally that has access and very safe for sharing.

Pros:

File transfer is very easy and safe with this product. I use it to share important files with suppliers that I work with. Creating folders for sharing is helpful for tracking history.

Cons:

Sometimes I can not upload files for any reason that I could not find yet but not happening so much.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An average cloud storing product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use it to share many documents at once with different parties; colleagues, suppliers etc widely.

Pros:

This product has the basic features of a generic cloud storage product. It has a simple, user-friendly interface and one can very quickly grab the basics about how to use it.

Cons:

It has a folder type of storage method which is sort of useful; it prevents you to upload single files.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best software for sharing data

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have been using this software for getting and sharing the huge files with internally in our company or suppliers.

Pros:

It's very simple interface. You're able to share huge size data as read or edit only.

Cons:

It' s limited space. If space is close to full, you need to delete some documents.

Kadir
Kadir
R&D Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy access to data sharing

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Syncplicity can be use data sharing and a back-up platform for your documents.

Pros:

Easy and confidential way to share your data. You need to be careful when share the data with your colleagues.

Cons:

It has so many compatitor in the market and it must be enterpreneur.

Eray Kaan
Eray Kaan
Mechanical Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

User Friendly File Sharing Software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Generally, i am using syncplicity for share a file, raport etc. with another departments or even suppliers which have access to syncplicity.

Pros:

Upload and Download system is very easy to use and interface is user friendly. Therefore, it is my favorite file sharing software an the work.

Cons:

My company using syncplicity and for this reason, i need to enter my credential several time and sevelar pages to upload a simple file but this is a unique case and overall it is a still very usefull friendly program.

Doug
Manager Solutions Assurance in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Weak and little or no development

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It's free to use for the basic version. That's really about it.

Cons:

No ability to create a shared link. No ability to send someone a link. Emails often don't make it to the person you are trying to share with. Little or no Support at all. I have submitted feedback but never hear back or seen any improvements in the product over many years of use. The upgrades appear to only address bugs or OS upgrades. When there is an upgrade, it is totally disruptive - you have to close all other applications and reboot your system.

Darian
Cat Herder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Terrible

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

You can't really see your files. You can't really sort your files. You can't really search your files. You can't really use the desktop tool, and the web tool is limited. I'm not sure who this is for, but I do not like it at all.

Cons:

Everything. It's frustrating at every turn. The only reason I use it is because I have a client that uses it, and this is the only way they send me files.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quite good software to share and download files

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As I am working in a global company, syncplicity is quite helpful to share and get files globally. I need to transfer many files for my projects but sometimes they can exceed the limits of the e-mail. In this cases, this is my first option.

Pros:

Actually I never see any problem to upload or download a file. No problem is the best all the time.

Cons:

It has limited time to download a file. If you miss the date, file will disappear!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you need to transfer files, syncplicity is for you!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: If you are working with large data sets and you need to transfer it, this is one of the best solutions you can have. It is reliable, secure and easy to use.

Pros:

It is really easy to transfer or get a file online. You can use this product if you are working with large data that cannot be sent via e-mail.

Cons:

When you upload a file, it has deleted after some time, this time range can be larger.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Safe Storage Place

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Safe enough

Pros:

As working with global suppliers across the world, syncplicity provides an oppotunity to share folder with only dedicated people. I do use without any safety concern. I believe that my documents are secured confidentially.

Cons:

If it would be such a software which is connected with my PC's local storage area, ı would have share more files.

Onur
Onur
Product Development Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quick and easy file sharing program

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best feature is no sizing limit. You can upload big documents (like big data sets) easily.

Cons:

Multiple file download options is not without extra payment.

Emre
Emre
Emre Ozugurel in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Share files with least effort

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: There are many file sharing softwares but this product is the most efficient that I experienced. I usually had problems when I tried to upload big files with other tools but it is not a problem with Syncplicity

Pros:

I think the most important feature of a sharing software is to be the ease of use. With this software, it is very easy to share and I never experienced problems.

Cons:

There is nothing I did not like about this product

Vedat Hakan
Vedat Hakan
PD & Design Engineer in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Share the data globally

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Sharing datas in secure way Very user friendly

Cons:

Do not forget to download files, otherwise it is deleted automatically