15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Catalyst

Data collection software for ABA therapy professionals working with individuals on the autism spectrum, or with other special needs.

Learn more about Catalyst

Pros:

I love the desktop version and all the features.

Cons:

The app no longer displays the number of targets. Therefore, techs are no longer displayed a number if there are items in baseline and maintenance.

Catalyst ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
3.5
Features
3.5
Value for Money
3.0

Likelihood to recommend

6.7/10

Catalyst has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Catalyst before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience has been great. I have not had any complaints from submitters or reviewers about their user experience.

Pros:

You can make changes to submissions as long as the submission period is still open (not a feature you normally see). If there are any exceptions the tool allows you to open it just for a specific person. Submission and review status' are updated real time on the site. The tool allows you to customize reviewer metrics to assign people or it can be manual. Reviewers will get an email notification that they've been assigned. Has blind and double blind settings. Users can customize and assign roles so certain people can only access and view assigned tasks. Reporting is tied into email system so you don't have to manually enter or check off any emails or names.

Cons:

No automatic emails. Cannot customize colors, only the top banner.

Lacey
CSR in US
Insurance, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

BEST CMRS EVER

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great product. Much easier to use than other system I've tried!

Pros:

It integrates so easily with our phone system and company updates. Everything is so smooth! And anything that needs fixing, the system lets us know

Cons:

Nothing! From in system email usage, integration to our birthday system to send out cards to all clients, everything is wonderful!

Morgan
BCBA in US
Medical Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Recent Updates leave App at Lower Quality

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am thoroughly disappointed in the lack of progress that app has made over the last five years.

Pros:

As a board certified behavior analyst using this platform to track client behavior data and program, this software is excellent as it does all the graphing for you. I love the desktop version and all the features.

Cons:

I have used Catalyst for almost five years, as a technician collecting and as an analyst opening/closing programs. Their have been several updates that have made this system significantly less user friendly and have made it much more difficult for the techs I manage to use. The app no longer displays the number of targets. Therefore, techs are no longer displayed a number if there are items in baseline and maintenance. Since the update, I have notice a significant decline in maintenance targets being completed. Techs are also unaware unless specifically told to complete baseline. Technicians must now going to settings to know if there is daily maintenance, weekly, bi weekly on monthly. Target settings for maintenance no longer obviously display targets left to run, but continue to display targets that have already been targeted. The app works HORRIBLY with Samsung tablets. Technicians are not able to exit the app without the app crashing. The app crash numerous times through out session. Fetching trial data often displays incorrect data. A tech ran this three times in a row and the numbers fluctuated up and down with each fetch. Targets may not go into the app immediately after being opened. I have experienced targeted that are "closed" or "on hold" popping in and out of current targets. Overall, I am thoroughly disappointed in the lack of progress that app has made over the last five years.

Jeffrey
PreK ABA Teacher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Teaching with Catalyst

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Positive and convenient. I look forward to getting better and more efficient at using it.

Pros:

I like Catalyst installed on our tablets, so we can see the programs/trials for each student, and record the data as we work with the students.

Cons:

We have 4 tablets in the classroom. We rotate our students to centers with different staff at each center. The tablets must follow each student to record all the current data for the day. The data will not record and show on each tablet for each student.

Samer
Attorney in US
Legal Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Catalyst is always consistent even regardless of version

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: In general each user will find Catalyst to be well worth the effort, time and money. While there are many platforms that can set reviewers to analyze emails and find privileged information, you will be hard pressed to find another program that has been so consistent. Catalyst is dependable and you will love it!

Pros:

I love the consistency that Catalyst provides to the user/reviewer at my law services firm. For over ten years I have worked on numerous versions of Catalyst and each time the program always delivers high speed review screens, loading data and moving our reviews at a nice pace that does not slow my team down.

Cons:

Of course each version is different and years ago the software would allow for so much of the email to be seen at once. Lately Catalyst has improve the screen visually with making fonts and the communication of the message more easy to read. The program each year is always improving which is a good sign of a developed program.

Tamar
Tamar
Clinical Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Catalyst: An Unreliable Data Collection System

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: Catalyst has overall been a nightmare to work with.

Pros:

The set up on a desktop is ascetically pleasing.

Cons:

The website/app is down and inoperable 40% of the time. The support staff is rarely helpful and the data often does not sync so our data team must manually enter each goal and each target.

Mailelei
Behavior Technician in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

So easy and convenient!

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Recommend for data taking and reviewing!

Pros:

I can easily pull this app on my device to enter data for the day.

Cons:

Needs to be updated frequently and edited by advisors only.

Amanda
BCBA in US
Mental Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Mixed feelings

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I like how easy it is to graph and download the graphs to attach to client reports. This is feature is much easier than other software I have used. It is also easy to switch through clients. This software is more functional on the computer.

Cons:

I do not like the phone application. My biggest complaint for both myself and supervisees under me, is taking data on program goals with the app because the number of trials is not clearly visible. The app only indicates completed trials by a green line but it does not indicate number of trials making it difficult to keep track of required trials to run through a session.

Katie
Office Manager in US
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good features, but spotty functionality

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I don't have a current alternative for Catalyst at this time, but if I did, I would likely switch to a more consistent, less buggy program.

Pros:

Catalyst gives our therapists an easy way to keep track of client data without the complication of using paper or timers. The result is a better delivery of services, which is great.

Cons:

This software has been regularly unreliable in terms of data syncing to the server, applications freezing, and data being completely lost.

Anna
Site Director in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool for data collection

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Catalyst is a great tool for data collection and graphing. The graphing options allow for optimal analysis and update live as data is being recorded. I love how details can be added to target goals to ensure staff know exact expectations.

Cons:

The software takes a while to sync for users once updates are made from the administrative side.

Jessica
Executive Dirextor in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Beware Don’t use Catalyst

1.0 last year

Comments: When we asked to speak to management as business owners on 2 separate occasions, no one contacted us. They don’t care.

Pros:

Nothing. Used to be able to use the product to get access to accurate data. Not now with the bugs and issues.

Cons:

Tons of unfixed bugs and crashing problems. Makes your data incorrect and you have to spend hours to fix it. Absolutely horrible customer service and follow up/ follow through. The new app is so bad that we are using the old one and that one has bugs and unfixed issues too. Their response time is awful and they do not give you a date for when they will fix things. You are left being better off going back to paper and pencil. Get a different app before you waste your resources on catalyst!

Zona
Administration /HR in US
Mental Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Your ABA Tool for success

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our experience has been very positive. We are able to explain it to our staff and they are able to understand how it works. Very smooth and compatible transition for our staff and parents.

Pros:

That we can share the detailed programs with the parents and other staff. I can pull graphs and reports to send to insurance. Very informed programs that is right there at your fingertips.

Cons:

Not compatible with older i pads or tablets

Steve
IT Manager in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dumpster fire

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Imagine slowly freezing to death. If you are a ABA professional considering Catalyst RUN AWAY.

Pros:

None. This product should be taken out back and put out of its misery.

Cons:

No data integrity. Laughably bad support and up time.

Brad
BCBA in US
Newspapers, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Frustrating

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It has been too slow for the past 10 business days. 30 -45 second latency after commands.

Pros:

I like the ability to graph and make condition lines.

Cons:

The programs are very slow and cause much frustration adding goals.

April
RBT in US
Mental Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great I loved it!

Pros:

System is easy to use. Great shortcuts for tracking data

Cons:

The system but automatically jump from program-to-program instead of letting you stay on one specific program.

Patrick
CSM in US
Financial Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for CSM's

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience has been great with Catalyst.

Pros:

Extremely easy to use. Catalyst has a great interface that allows for easy navigation and use. Reporting is top tier.

Cons:

Catalyst has a ton of features with that said it can be a double edged sword. Sometimes its easy to get lost.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use program

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy to use right from your phone!

Pros:

I used this program for work and it's very convenient! I was able to download the app on my phone and keep track of everything I needed to while I was on the move!

Cons:

Customer service was a little difficult. I had an issue with my account the customer service took a while to get back with me.