15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ATOM

Tax practice management tool that optimizes tax returns processing & manages administrative tasks such as scheduling, billing, and more

Learn more about ATOM

Pros:

Integration with atom is easy and very simple.

Cons:

We have no intentions of closing but was a concern if we no longer wanted a monthly expense.

ATOM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

6.7/10

ATOM has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ATOM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Ian
Ian
Founder in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Smart & Cost Effective Automation of Customer Experience Data

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Using ATOM for automating how we choose who gets to work on specific projects as well as streamlining our financial checks and balances across all of our remotely located teams has been quite the experience.

Pros:

What I like the most about using ATOM is the high-level automation we receive in how we handle the information we collect about the experiences of our customers using our data. We've been able to gain impactful insights about how our each of our individual team members performs in varied conditions so now we're now able to use tried and tested data to match them to situations and clients they're all specifically suited to.

Cons:

What I liked least about ATOM was the fact that their Tax Automation systems still don't support some international taxation models, especially on our side of the world. We've seen their demos and we think they'll work pretty well for us; but the service just isn't available here.

Ryan
Student in Canada
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Versatile Text Editor

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, ATOM makes developing a much easier task. I use it to develop JAVA, HTML, and CSS and it’s hands down the best text editor I have used.

Pros:

As a open source text editor, ATOM offers many extensions that make it much more desirable to work with over other text editors. Emmet for example makes working with HTML5 and CSS a breeze and makes working much quicker.

Cons:

To date the only annoyance I have encountered is the fact that the welcoming pages always need to be closed. Otherwise the software has given me no issues!

Russell
Russell
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A budget offering with usability issues

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Hard to administer. Time consuming to configure. Several clients told me that they hated it and one refused to use it altogether. Security practices that were recommended to me were questionable and I don’t believe that their so-called KBA is actually compliant with industry requirements as it does not rely on any third party to verify the identity of the signer.

Pros:

Flat pricing that is quite reasonable for all of the functionality it offers.

Cons:

The design (visual and UX) is reminiscent of the mid nineties. Everything is hard to use and clunky. Clients hated using it and found it hard to navigate.

Mariam
Mariam
Sales Manager in Georgia
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Truly Great text editor

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is also extremely quick and its interface is fairly accessible and manageable, and it can be customised to suit our needs and comfort. It's really helpful for us. Due to its many purposes, it suits us when working in web development. It's so powerful that it is useful for us not only for the members we consider to be novices but also for our expert programmers and thus it's suited for all levels, taking advantage of their varied talents, capacity and functions.

Pros:

When we require a different code editor with progressed alternatives, usually the one shown since it contains numerous plugins and addons that come from the clients of the program, either depending on the code we are progressing to alter or the syntax, this is often the one that has the way better libraries since it is exceptionally expandable, we are able divide our venture into numerous windows separated from that it is flexible with the command orders allotting their claim color, as well as a real-time blunder finder, from the same program able to include the addons that Clients offer to quicken time and exertion depending on the work we alter, and in its plan it has different topics.

Cons:

Atom can boot slower than modern alternatives, especially when more plug-ins are added. Alternative text editors also appear to be supplied directly out-of-the-box with many additional capabilities, which I consider very useful - even if Atom is promoted as a modular editor that should be tailored for the user. Unfortunately, it is not always successful to rely on an open-source development team to enhance and sustain the product over time, while I see the allure of open-Source software.

Misty
Misty
Certified Real Property Appraiser in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

AMAZING!!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The benefits include quicker and more accurate communications/feedback with clients. We have been using ATOM for less than 30 days so we are just beginning to see some of the benefits.
Being able to take a phone message and note the file saves so much time and allows for better follow-up and follow-through. We no longer have to write a phone message and then locate the paper file to make notes. Much more efficient.

Pros:

The office management software is everything you need to track clients. Everyone in the office can quickly see the status and note a phone call, message other office staff, or add needed documents without having to interupt the staff member working on the client file or go locate the actual paper file. IT WORKS! The client portal for secure communication with clients is just icing on the cake.

Cons:

Wish we would have known about it sooner. We do wish there was an option to pay in full and not require monthly fees. Maybe a limited service to retain client data in same formats even if you could not make changes in the event a business wanted to downsize or close. We have no intentions of closing but was a concern if we no longer wanted a monthly expense. I do wish there was a one button option for moving someone from the lobby to tax prep. Something like the check-in option that front desk staff could click to move clients to each preparers office without accessing the office event screen but this is such a minor thing.

Carrie
Owner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Atom crm

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It was just okay. Support was great but the overall platform was clunky and manual.

Pros:

Texting with clients, the prospect of e-sin which also proved to be a challenge.

Cons:

The calendar was terrible. It required going in to it twice to add the appointment to my external calendar which required google. I don’t do google. The calendar also wasn’t flexible in blocking days and time. Their comment was, well we work 7 days a week.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Code Editor

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My experience has been excellent with this editor.

Pros:

It accomodates almost all programming language. It is an open source and pretty easy to use.

Cons:

To be honest. I found the features to be perfect for my usage as an amateur coder.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Atom Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience with atom so far has been on the average

Pros:

The Atom software has a lot of features that makes it a very powerful for the purpose of coding in different languages.

Cons:

the software has major issues with its live server extension which can be very frustrating when intending to view our work as you go

Abhinav
Abhinav
Associate Software Integrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review on ATOM

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is very good with ATOM

Pros:

Its open source editior. It provide all coding editor features that are used for development. Its require no training before use.

Cons:

It is less famous as compared to other tools like sublime and many more.

Ahmed
Ahmed
Web developer in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Reviewing atom

4.0 last year

Pros:

Integration with atom is easy and very simple

Cons:

Their is no missing in atom it is best software

MAI
Owner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product, could do more.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It was ok. For the price I think it needs more features. I didn't like that I would have to purchase other programs in order to operate the business so I went elsewhere to find a program that did it all.

Pros:

The client portal was simple enough when prompting clients to do task like pay a bill and sign a document. I like the tracking of client activities. The automated appointment function was great! The KBA signatures were easy.

Cons:

The e-mail/messaging system needs some work. Its not like a continuous thread where you can see previous parts of the message. There is no pipeline or workflow manager in there. The products is made for single prepares who can leave notes for themselves with regards to where they are in their workflow. Not made for group preparers.

Carey
Managing Partner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An option with problems

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: ATOM helped me to think about the business processes that I wanted to set up for each type of service that I offer. Every time I asked about how to do something I got the response 'we don't use it that way.' Very quickly figured out they designed something for their company's use and decided to sell it. Don't seem to have an interest in meeting the needs for customers unless they align with their needs.

Pros:

Blocks clients from download documents prior to payment.

Cons:

No integrations, poor customer service, everything is too segregated by year, e-sign functionality never worked, Client reset password never worked.

Shekh Md
CEO in Bangladesh
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

developing a website

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: web-site development is easy in Atom software. This software operation is very easy and user friendly. here you work with HTML, CSS, Js, PHP and many more coding language. one advantages is that of this software there is many work held at a time. total a website create by this software.

Pros:

I like it most creative tools where you work in HTML, CSS,BOOTSTRAP, Js, PHP You can do everything at the same time. this is very easy to implements a website.

Cons:

It is a free web-site making software. where you make a High quality web-site. Code typing is very easy and show bug if I put on wrong code.

PAULO
Software Engineering in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very Usefull but need very improvements

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very nice but we think there are better alternatives.

Pros:

The simple interface is very nice and easy to use by the way. I could manage tasks easely. Anyway there are improvemens in usability

Cons:

The plugins by community is a very potential positive point. But the problem is the software almost never tested.

Alberto
CEO in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Could be improved!

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I was hopeful that this would work for my proactive but it constantly fell short.

Pros:

Communication with the clients were automated and text messaging was very useful.

Cons:

Outdated format, very difficult for clients to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quick and Easy Text Editor

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The reason why I am using Atom are: - Plugin options - Easy and Quick - Clean UX

Cons:

It would have been better if listed points are updated: - Sometime it has poor performance - It occurs problem for big files

Mary
Tax Audit in Chile
Accounting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good code editor

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Practical, easy one, easy handling, has a good reputation and I have learned enough in my programming process

Pros:

I use atom because I am learning programming and it seems to me a tool of easy understanding and management. I like a lot.

Cons:

Sometimes the configuration I choose does not work, but they are minimal details that have a solution, I feel satisfied with the application

Mahonri
Mahonri
Electrical Buyer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Railroad Manufacture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Friendly source code editor

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was easy to learn how to use it. Also it is very user friendly

Pros:

It is very easy to use and very friendly

Cons:

The structure format is very simple and plain