Very useful to give non IT professionals the ability to create queries.

Reviewed on 28/05/2019
Ralf M.
Chief software architect
Program Development, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have developed software for a specific industry. This industry uses our software to manage their services, goods receipts, goods issues and invoices. Of course, good reporting is also required. Unfortunately, we were unable to meet the very different reporting requirements of all our customers. At the same time, it was impossible for our customers to write SQL statements themselves because they are not IT professionals. By using AQB we were able to integrate a visual component into our program that allows our customers to create queries without SQL knowledge, but only by drag-and-drop.
By hiding or renaming database objects, we were able to hide unimportant tables for the user or give fields more understandable names for the user. By the way: you can also add a ToolTip to fields.
We have received a very positive response from our customers. Our program has received a significant added value through the integration of AQB.

Pros: Before we chose AQB, we tested several other programs of this kind. We were convinced by the following points: + The integration into our program was really very simple and took less than 10 minutes. + You can change the names of database objects and fields using a mapper. For example, database objects can be hidden from the end-user or more user-friendly names can be assigned. (By the way, that's a big point for us.) + The user interface can be adapted very well and with little effort. + The Visual Designer can also be used intuitively by "normal end-users" after a very brief introduction. + In the very few cases in which we needed support, we were helped very quickly and competently. The support was so fast that it reminds more of a chat than an e-mail conversation.

Cons: I've really been thinking for a few minutes about what to put in this field.
But there is really nothing here that I could criticize. Maybe the documentation isn't perfect, but the software is so intuitive and the support is really good. Then I can do without a documentation that is 100%.

Simply ... a stunning piece of software for querying databases

Reviewed on 27/08/2018
Dom S.
Owner
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have an application that uses a very complex underlying database. It has proved impossible for me to predict every which way that end users would want to query their data and whilst I'm not averse to creating new views for end users one persons wishes will not always suit everyone else's. Active Query Builder is the perfect solution, providing comprehensive visual access to data in a safe and controlled environment.

Pros: From a developers perspective this tool is a joy to use, allowing simple drag and drop use (with very little code behind required) to a very customisable tool that can be fully integrated into your own application's environment. It allows you to provide your own end users with the freedom to interrogate their own data using a simple yet familiar visual paradigm or, for those who actually posses a good working knowledge of SQL the ability to create really quite complex queries to answer their specific needs, needs which I, as the application developer might not have even considered that they wanted. The 'SQLTextEditor' is a joy to behold offering not only good syntax highlighting but SQL intellisense as well (particularly useful for SQL novices). Equally impressive is the ability of the tool to allow you to create a textual query and then have it produce a visual representation of it. Within a very short time of trialing this you'll realise just what a superb tool you have found, and at the same time be cursing yourself for not having discovered it sooner. If you are looking for a way to allow your end users access to the database that holds the data your application is creating on their behalf that can is intuitively simple to use then look no further.

Cons: If I were to voice one criticism it would be that the documentation is perhaps not yet as comprehensive as it might be, although in fairness that is a failure acknowledged by the vendor themselves and is being corrected. However that isn't in reality that big a deal as the support that they offer is superb and that, from the perspective of a developer using a third party component, is worth it's weight in gold.

Great product! Real value for money!

Reviewed on 31/05/2018
Shrenik D.
Branch Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments:

Pros: The client did not had any way of extracting data directly from the database. With AQB and a little technical knowledge the client can themselves create custom reports as per their requirement. Previously the client had to spend money for the generating the reports and also had to wait until the reports are coded. AQB provides a safe way of extracting data without actually creating user or granting user access on the server. This provides another layer of security. Prompt responses on the support tickets.

Cons: It's common for there to be small bugs in each new release. With each upgrade, we have to open a ticket with AQB to get the issues resolved. It would be helpful if AQB is made compitable with Bootstrap. Hard to find solutions for the issues faced during integrations in the documentation provided by AQB.

Vendor Response

by Active Database Software on 03/09/2018

Hello, Shrenik.
Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad to inform you that the latest version 3.3 of Active Query Builder ASP.NET Edition is compatible with Bootstrap visual styles.

The go-to visual query designer

Reviewed on 05/09/2018
Gert V.
Senior Web Developer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our company has been using the Query Builder application for four years at the time of writing. The application is robust enough to create and manipulate a wide array of queries yet intuitive so that clients who have never created a SQL query before can manipulate their data and generate accurate summaries of their data in minutes. Should any error occur, a support team that sets the standard in speed and professionalism is a mere email away. Overall, a highly recommended application

Pros: -> A very powerful query designer with an easy to use interface
-> Greatly adaptable to fit a whole range of applications and custom user requirements
-> The product is constantly updated and improved in meaningful ways
-> Exceptional customer support and feedback, to put it lightly

Cons: -> There are usually minor bugs with larger updates, but these are always quickly squashed

Active Query Builder - a great tool to have in your pocket!

Reviewed on 31/12/2018
David H.
President, CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have been using AQB for about 2 years and are very satisfied with both the product and support we have received. It is an extremely flexible and intuitive solution for business application development where users need full featured SQL functionality to address their data needs. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add a robust, dependable SQL tool to their applications.

Pros: Out of the 'box', Active Query Builder is very easy to implement for our application/integration use cases. Both its drag and drop functionality and the ability to customize the interface for our users' needs saves us a lot of time and effort for integrating SQL query building, parsing, and editing functionality into our products. The ability to build and manage a query as text and as a visual representation for complex queries is bonus for our users.

Cons: We encountered a few bugs with DB2 syntax but after contacting customer support and it was quickly remedied in a subsequent version.

Simply a Great Software Component - and Exceptional Support

Reviewed on 27/08/2018
George bradley M.
Owner/President
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: IT has allowed our users to easily create complex queries and provides the various tools to make our software powerful and truly usable by our customers.
The software is easy to setup and use - and the support is outstanding. I would recommend AQB to anyone looking to provide a visual query building interface.

Pros: - Good quality software - it simply works
- Excellent support. Cannot say enough here!!
- Easy to get started with.
- Very powerful component set - works with all the DBs they say it does.

Cons: The documentation, while decent, could use a little work. The basics are easy to get going - but you need some support to get into the truly advanced features. However, that is where the AQB team comes to the rescue. Their support is very good.

The best SQL component

Reviewed on 15/02/2019
Stephane D.
CEO
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: SQL Parsing. Dynamic SQL query building. Visual SQL query building.

Pros: Fully complete to work with SQL. Visual component. Possibilitiy to parse and change query by program.

Cons: Modify SQL Query by the code is not so easy.

Vendor Response

by Active Database Software on 19/02/2019

Hello, Stephane!
Thank you for your rewiew.
I am fully agree with you that programmatic SQL query modification is tricky in the current version and this also leads to UI limitations. So, this will be the main improvement in the next major version. It will be available this year.

Professional application

Reviewed on 27/08/2018
Danilo M.
CIO
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Very effective and easy to implement solution

Cons: A little difficult for our end users use union

Great product

Reviewed on 09/07/2018
Damian H.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to construct a SQL statement by using the drag/drop functionality. The after sales support is amazing, the guys really go over and above to assist you. Easy to implement into your own product.

Cons: Cant really fault anything on the product, it works really good! The look and feel could be better as its using a default JQuery UI

Vendor Response

by Active Database Software on 03/09/2018

Hello, Damian.
Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad to inform you that the latest version 3.3 of Active Query Builder ASP.NET Edition is compatible with Bootstrap visual styles.

Good but undocumented

Reviewed on 16/05/2019
Pavel S.
developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Good interface, a lot of features, rich object model.

Cons: No documentation for the version 3. Support team answers quickly though.

Active Query Builder VCL Edition

Reviewed on 12/10/2018
Matthias W.
Developer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: - easy to implement
- intuitive UI
- excellent database support
- DevExpress support

Cons: - feature of other Active Query Builder versions should be ported to VCL edition