15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Viewpoint Spectrum Reviews

About Viewpoint Spectrum

Industry-leading construction management software designed for enterprise level contractors.

Learn more about Viewpoint Spectrum

Pros:

Easy to navigate between the tabs. I like that multiple tabs if the same can be opened at the same time.

Cons:

It does not integrate well into our other software, ServiceTrade, which runs our inspection and service department.

Viewpoint Spectrum ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.5
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

6.7/10

Viewpoint Spectrum has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 406 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Viewpoint Spectrum before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (406)

Keith
Keith
Inspection & Service Sales in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum works well for our business

5.0 last year

Comments: I highly recommend Viewpoint Spectrum to construction professionals seeking a reliable and efficient software solution. We use it daily for work orders and then billing customers.

Pros:

The software also offers comprehensive project cost management, including budgeting, change order tracking, and subcontractor management, ensuring that all aspects of a project are carefully monitored and controlled.

Cons:

It does not integrate well into our other software, ServiceTrade, which runs our inspection and service department.

Benjamin
SYSTEM COORDINATOR in Canada
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great system for small/med company 1-250 employees

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: its been okay, a learning curve but after 3 years we have found ways around the items that we were not able to resolve with viewpoint

Pros:

the ability to export most reports to excel. and the abilitiy to connect with Power BI.

Cons:

Payroll. not the best way to run payroll, if an error is made very difficult to resolve. lack of ability to email paystubs.

Les
Dir of IT in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spectrum ERP is adequate for a majority of your needs

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have not had a great experience with Spectrum from the initial sale, where we were told its capabilities in multi-company interchange, and found out it was untrue, and wanted us to pay a huge amount for this capability. Technical support is terrible where you have to sometimes wait for weeks to get an answer. I don't know when the last time I got an answer the same day, but with our other software we do.

Pros:

The import data feature utilizing Excel is a really good system. It does what an ERP system should do, so it gets the job done, not the most efficient but it works.

Cons:

This system is very click heavy and not streamlined. You have to click multiple times to get anything done, even though there is not reason to have to have extra clicks. Screen displays from on area are not consistent in another (some you enter up front info to see the input/edit screen, others the input/edit is displayed and is allowable when you enter the required information). It is not always intuitive for each module on where to go to get the information you are looking for. Many of the standard reports are really not helpful or complete as our last ERP system. Payroll Tax reports for state and federal requirements are not available unless you pay for custom reports at a very high premium rate. If you write reports using Crystal Reports or SQL, trying to find the correct fields and tables are difficult at best, I spend a lot of time in trial and error trying to find the right table and fields, other ERP systems I have used have an option that you can hover over any field in the display to see the table and field used. Not every table has an option to import changed data into the system, if something was entered/imported incorrectly (for instance they use a 2 digit year for equipment model year, upon import if you used a 4 digit year, they do not fail the import or warn you, they take the first 2-digits of the year, and after the fact you cannot modify the data except by hand). There are quite a few tables like this that you cannot change after the fact.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to leave a review! We want to make sure you're aware of our customer resources including Viewpoint Academy, The Network, and more. Follow the link for more information on these resources. https://info.viewpoint.com/rs/623-NDA-487/images/Customer-Success-Resources-2022-07.pdf

Brad
Controller in Canada
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

More than just an ERP

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall has been very good, far more information available through reports than our previous system. much more expansive in data that can be collected and processed. You can see how projects are doing on a daily basis. Transition from the previous system excellent. Overall very pleased

Pros:

It's a robust system that captures a lot of data in a timely fashion. It can be integrated in real time from sites, although we haven't progressed to that level yet, it is our intention to do so in the future. integrates all accounting functions as well as Payroll, PO's and equipment tracking. AP invoice scanning helps eliminate paper. Built in reports are very good and lots of customizable options as well

Cons:

Mostly geared for a General contractor, so some of the functions and reporting takes some work arounds as a subcontract. Our time capture for payroll is with another system which needed some customizing to integrate. Not always intuitive in its structure (voiding cheques in AP or payroll especially a direct deposit). limits to selecting multiple items ie.A/P vendors can only select up to 4 at a time unless you make grouping s or select all.

Shelby
Controller in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pros and Cons

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: Rough beginning, but we learned a lot and still are learning. It is a detailed system that requires dedication to learn and to use. If you don't plan to spend enough time and resources to roll it out, it's going to be a difficult time. However, the more we learned about it the more we liked it. It will do what you tell it, but you have to learn how to do that. Definitely challenging, but stay the course and commit to constant improvement and you will be successful.

Pros:

Spectrum really does a great job tracking job costs, and when the system is used properly does anything we need it to and then some in relation to jobs. Helps us organize everything and has some great job cost reports built in. Also appreciate the ease of importing data.

Cons:

Crystal reports are not ideal, no easy flexibility with report editing, bare minimum financial reports included, clunky processes to post transactions to GL and antiquated feeling user interface. And it's a small thing, but there are several fields that are way too short. Probably a fourth of our vendors have names that don't completely print on the checks. Also don't like the CONSTANT push to purchase add on products.

Kayla
Controller in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Spectrum Review for Electrical Contractors

4.0 last year

Comments: Spectrum has treated us well so far. However the migration and implementation was a terrible experience.

Pros:

Large upgrade from Procontractor, but I liked the functionality or workflow of Procontractor better.

Cons:

How each module is separate from the general ledger, becomes a pain!

Nick
VP Finance in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

New Spectrum User

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are still developing our processes as we are still a relatively new user, but overall we have had a very good experience with Spectrum.

Pros:

The software was relatively easy to implement and start using after going live. There are numerous canned reports that are very helpful and it is also easy to navigate the database when creating custom reports.

Cons:

The cost projection entry screen desperately needs to be updated. It was so cumbersome to use that we had to hire an outside consultant to build us an Excel template that interfaced with the system. Also, we allocate overhead based on a rate per manhour and this turned out to be a manual weekly process (our old software actually did this automatically).

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Nick. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Kerry
COO / Owner in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review

3.0 last year

Comments: looking back it wasnt what was best for our company, and would have not purchased it

Pros:

from accounting side, its really nice reporting structure

Cons:

cannot customize it for our specific use.training provided was very inadequate,felt like you were all in until it was sold, then felt left out

Josh
Controller in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Viewpoint Spectrum is very functional

4.0 last year

Comments: We are still implementing it but it seems to have all the features we need to operate more efficiently and to move off of some of our spreadsheets.

Pros:

I love that we can have project managers approve invoices digitally, easier to keep track of what's out there. I also love that subcontracts and bid schedules can be uploaded to Spectrum and you can bill off of them, makes it easier to make sure pricing is accurate.

Cons:

I don't love how difficult it is to move costs to different jobs. Maybe I just need to play around with it more, but I wish it was easier to adjust.

Raj
Web Application Developer in Canada
Construction, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Poor Customer Service / Technical Support

3.0 12 months ago

Comments: Poor customer service and tech support and this happens over and over.

Pros:

value for moneyAvailability of APIs for time entry and project entry

Cons:

The technical support is very poor.We were told that Spectrum can not find what went wrong with their system unless we tell them that exact time that the system has issues.We were also told that logs are deleted at 11pm everyday.How is that even acceptable for a software that is used by external vendors?On top of all this, the tech support person was quite rude

Meredith
CAO in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum Assessment

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall we have very few problems and almost no downtime. Our employees can access the system from any internet connection which has saved us during hurricanes, covid and such. We have never missed a payroll even during those times. It is easy to use and our employees are able to get their jobs done as needed relatively efficiently. It has open APis for pushing data in and pulling data out. They are focused on improvements to make the overall job of construction from the field, PM level and back office better and run more efficiently.

Pros:

The product is mostly user friendly so it's easy to train new employees. single entry that feeds all the pertinent modules is key. The linking of the documents to transactions and then being able to see them throughout the modules is awesome and has saved time in the support functions to not have to pull copies of documents for others that need to see it. Also, the menu that allows you to jump from one thing to another on the same project without having to reselect the project number in a new screen is great. The ability to setup template views for inquiry screens and reports is nice as well for having consistency throughout the company. They are also very end user oriented. There are advisory boards to discuss possible changes to the system that allow users to give feedback. They have a campaign now where they are having meetings with clients to discuss new programming possibilities and get feedback on proposed look and feel. They initiate surveys, have an enhancement request panel and have a on-line network environment where customers can pose questions to others using the product for help and ideas.

Cons:

There is no option to post in detail to the GL in some of the modules and some transactions, even though coded to a job, do not show the job number on the GL side. The job cost transactions do not show the GL codes on the transactions. Therefore, it can be difficult at time to reconcile things between the job and GL. Also, even though the JC transactions pushes to the T&M module, there is not a direct unique link between the two so trying to create reports that have the cost and revenue associated can be tricky and is not always exact. There is an issue between how committed cost is handle for the purchase orders versus the subcontracts that can cause you reports to be out so you really have to understand this when viewing the job cost reports. Would like the ability for security to be able to have some more granular controls on what users are allowed to see. For example, you may want to allow the purchasing agent to run job cost reports to check non-labor activity but you do not want them to be able to see any labor costs. You can't do that right now. So then you have to create custom reports to separate the cost types and give them access to only those custom reports. Overall security needs to be revamped to a more true role based model. It can be challenging in setting users for rights within a module and keep segregation of duties in place.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review. We really appreciate your feedback, Meredith!

Gwyn
Accountant in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Our perspective

4.0 last year

Comments: The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to implement the software that should have been included in the purchase price. The Service Tech application has been nothing but aggravating. Notes are lost, labor hours are lost. It has taken months to get the app working correctly, but still issues arise which cause payroll issues. Running payroll is over complicated and the minimal training we have received was not efficient to learn it properly. Now that things are settled, and our data is all inputted to Spectrum, we are running a lot smoother. The staff that uses the software is trained to be able to use 75% of the software. There are many features we do not use due to lack of training and the features not being user friendly or at an additional cost. On the positive side, invoices are going out smoothly, posting AP, payments, and cash receipts are going well.

Pros:

The ease of invoicing. AP invoices are instantly attached to a job or work order and the labor and notes carry over from the Service Tech App. It's nice to have all the charges already ready to be reviewed and invoiced. We do appreciate the real-time availability of the data. We can leave one site map open with data already entered and then we can open a new site map to add or change information. This allows us to not have to delete and start over on the original site map. We like the ability to be able to attach documents.

Cons:

The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to implement the software. The Service Tech application has been nothing but aggravating. Notes are lost, labor hours are lost. It has taken months to get the app working correctly, but still issues arise which cause payroll issues. Access to the work order/reports/labor report is terrible. Once the data is pulled to payroll it is not possible to pull the technician's time. There is no other report we can pull to send the guys to verify their hours.

Harris
VP in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Look elsewhere if you want a successful implementation with a company that cares.

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: If you want a successful implementation with a company that responds promptly and effectively when problems arise, look elsewhere! On our "go live week", Spectrum was not configured, AP and AR were not fully imported and the parts that were imported did not match up. Due to overworked Project Managers, it often took 2-3 days out to schedule a call time with them and no one from Spectrum senior leadership team seemed to care that our implementation was not proceeding successfully. We had to cancel the implementation and revert back to our previous accounting system (at substantial financial cost). I am currently waiting for my PM to update me on how they plan to take us live yet again with a detailed project plan so the above never happens again (Note: My PM never offered any suggestions here, I had to proactively reach out asking for a go-forward plan to keep them organized.) See below for all the struggles we have had with Spectrum. Also if you are transitioning from anyone other then the major accounting software systems, stay away! They promised that they had the past experience and knowledge to transition us from our current accounting software, Starbuilder, but when it came time to transition they had no one who knew how to do it. See "Cons" below for additional problems I will continue to update this post as things evolve.

Pros:

-None so far as they failed to take us live. -Competitive pricing -Great user community with a forum.

Cons:

Cons: -Custom projects not delivered on time for "Go Live". At least 1.5 months behind schedule -Sales team would send a contract and then when we went to sign said they made a mistake and increased contract price. -Never provided solutions to problems. -Implementation specialist what tell us features about features that we would be using then come back to us and say those features are actually not included and would be additional. -Never told us when purchasing that future modules might not be available for self-hosted customers only to more pricey cloud hosted customers (2 are already not available for self-hosted) -PM teams are not proactive or reactive. -Concerns and problems are documented by PMs but are never reviewed or escalated to management. -The purchase of Dexter+Cheny by Viewpoint has hurt the customers as admitted to by employees and seen by users (Short staffed, reassigned positions, information not shared across teams/ companies. ) -Dexter Chaney/ VIewpoint has not once, without a fight, offered acceptable solutions and any problems caused by them. -User is billed for time spent by PM team to fix problems caused by Dexter Chaney/ VIewpoint -This list can go on for another 30 bullet points at least.

Melvin
US
Construction
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Spectrum - Great features but could be better

3.0 11 years ago

Pros:

Document imaging is truly built inside the software. The image storage was built inside every module for anything you want to scan. All of our AP (invoices, vendor contracts, Insurance Certs), AR (invoice supporting documents, MSA's), equipment files (titles, registrations), etc. were stored electronically and very easy to review. When approving AP, right inside the pre-check register I could review an electronic copy of any invoice making approval on the road very simple. There were also reports that could be run telling you when contracts were to expire, registrations were due, etc. The bottom line is that the designers not only listened to what the end users wanted, they also spent a lot of time making sure they designed it to make it easy for everyone. There are also a lot of user designed fields that allow you to customize things to fit your needs.

Cons:

We had problems keeping the TB in balance. At least every three months, we had a transaction that only posted 1/2 of the entry, so when we ran a trial balance, it was out of balance (and the rebuild utilities wouldn't fix it), we then had to spend hours researching witch entry didn't post correctly, figure out the other side of the entry and then pay someone with backdoor access to recreate the missing entries. When we called Dexter and Chaney's support team, they had no answers as to why it happened; they would just help us figure out how to fix it (charged per hour). The financial report writer needs a lot of work. They do not support any of the better 3rd party systems like FRx, F-9, Hyperion, etc. Therefore, there was a lot of dumping to Excel and re-keying things into formats we could use. There was also zero drill-down capability. If you ran a TB and questioned what was in the line item, you had to run a detailed TB to see the detail. Then, if it came from another sub-ledger you had to run a report there to see the source document. Our implementation consultant was not very good; her training seemed poor and her knowledge of the workings of Spectrum were great, but she had no experience with the every day use of it, so I frequently pushed back on how it would work in the real world. Eventually she would concede that it would work better the way I proposed.

Anna
Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have been frustrated

3.0 12 months ago

Comments: it has been a work in progress, we felt abandoned during our training and thereafter. We do not feel with the fees we currently pay that we should have to pay someone to guide us thru something we were not taught or needed to go back over, tech support should able to do so.

Pros:

the uploadable pdf function to put with invoices

Cons:

Equipment Control/Fixed Assets, very unfriendly for job costing, to hard to track with the way the system is set now, also if you have depreciated out a piece one time and an error was made you cannot correct it, you cannot do a negative to get it back on track or to change months of depreciation etcChange order entries are redundant and not easy to enter in, does not automatically show the new billing items when you do the draw requests, you have to then manually enter into the draw request even though you made a billing item in the change order

Kaylee
Accounts Payable in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

In-Depth Program With Great Potential

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I do like Spectrum. I feel like there are areas it could improve in and that I could be made more modern/ appealing to the eye. When I am busy I am able to answer the phone and navigate through Spectrum quickly to get the information I need right away. The depth of the program is a very good thing as long as they focus on having ways to be able to dig deep quickly or else finding information can become a headache.

Pros:

I really like all the different reports that are made available. There are many places to add all different kinds of information and once the information is added in Spectrum allows you to pull reports for everything. Another feature I like a lot is the Favorites Bar. Spectrum is very broad and the Favorites Bar makes it very easy to quickly assess certain features of Spectrum that are specific to your role.

Cons:

Some features about the software can be "glitchy" in certain features. For instance we have a tab with lots of information added in to one thing and this can cause Spectrum to freeze up and I will have to close completely out and log back in and start over what I was working on at the time. We have tried different recommendations to resolve this issue, but we get the same result.

Susan
Job Cost Analyst in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spectrum is a versatile and dynamic ERP system

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The features that I find most impactful is the ability to not only use "canned" reports but to customize reports to our needs. Real-time information all day, all the time. Being cloud based means that everyone on Construction management has real-time data of the same information, whether in the field or in the office and everyone can communicate using this real-time data. This allows for trouble-shooting and prevention of overruns more efficiently. Field management with mobile users allows for the most current project information to be uploaded into Spectrum at any moment. This ability to have current information at any time allows for better analytics.

Cons:

Being able to do comparative reports over years. There are no reports that allow for jobs or financials to be viewed and compared over multiple years. Also, being able to pull customer historical data over 3 - 5 year period for Projects and various Industries worked in for bids.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, Susan. We really appreciate your feedback!

Lacey
Payroll Manager in US
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum is User Friendly and Reliable

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The company goes above and beyond to connect with regular users via their user network. They provide a lot of training options like live webinars to share information on new features, products, and industry news.

Pros:

Spectrum has all of the features I need to process payroll and track HR related information. Being hosted on the cloud has been a reliable feature. I enjoy knowing I will be able to process my weekly payroll on time. The company pays attention to its customers when it comes to requests for new features. The software is constantly improving but the look and feel remains similar.

Cons:

The security setup for giving supervisors access to jobs seemed a little complex. We have not set up a lot of access for our managers due to this. Since the company is always improving its features this may be one of those processes that is better now. We may need to revisit this in order to accurately review this feature in its current state.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Spectrum has been such a great fit for your business.

Kathleen
Chief Administrative Officer in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our software is cloud base so I can log into it anywhere on any device.

5.0 last year

Comments: It is a nice package that process all your every needs for running a business.

Pros:

Able to process all the functionallity with a business software system.

Cons:

The support can be 48 hours or more and now the chat support is not as helpful. They want to pass you on to consultant.

Danita
Office Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long-Time user - Honest Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall over the past 11 years of using Spectrum the program has done the job and what we needed it to. The support has went downhill from where it started (Dexter+Chaney, Viewpoint, Trimble). Their focus should be on customer support, upgrades to existing program, then add-ons. It seems like there focus is in the reverse order.

Pros:

Spectrum has robust features that work together well. Many of the features could use some updates to make the ease of use better. Some of the additional "pay" features should be offered in the baseline.

Cons:

The biggest con is all new features seem to be put with add-on products and the customer support is awful. We wait weeks for solutions. Any of the paid training for us has been train the trainer and the time could be cut in half. Most users wanting training for a feature that hasn't been used usually knows the basics of the program.

Jeff
CFO in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BSM Review

3.0 last year

Pros:

Accounts Payable module, Accounts Receivble module

Cons:

Reporting, drill down options to review jobs, accounts receivable credit limit notification, contract status report not reconciling to billed revenue.

Hanine
AP/AR in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Spectrum

3.0 last year

Comments: The job costing and reporting features are much better than the software we used prior.

Pros:

I like the help feature the most. If I get stuck on anything, I know I can use the help feature and find my answer.

Cons:

It could be a little more user friendly. When we first started using Spectrum, we struggled with learning how to operate it.

Susan
Administrative Assistant in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spectrum is not a great solution.

2.0 12 months ago

Comments: I haven't solved any problems with Spectrum, only created them. My life will be harder and my job will be more difficult. Anytime I've asked to incorporate a feature, I've been told it can't be done and it's up to us to adjust our processes.

Pros:

Our accounting department likes Viewpoint Spectrum. They like the all-in-one job cost integration it provides.

Cons:

Coming from the Operations side of the business, managing contracts and change orders, Spectrum makes everything more complicated than our previous system. Everything requires completing multiple screens and moving through multiple sections. I find there is no all-in-one capability. I can't even see PO's and sub-contracts on the same screen so my PM's don't see their total job commitment at a glance. I also can't get original and revised sub contract amts for the job on one screen.

Lynne
General Manager (McPherson office) in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spectrum has good points and some not so good.

4.0 last year

Comments: Some functionality has really improved over the years yet some has remained stagnant. We have 2 sisters companies in the construction business and 1 sister company that is a steel pipe distributor. Making construction software work for a steel pipe business has been a challenge. We have made it work, but would like to see more focus on OP and IC modules. The GL module needs some critical improvements, too.

Pros:

All one package makes workflow easier. We could get this from any number of alternate software providers. What we like about Spectrum is the depth of it's functionality/capabilities.

Cons:

Some of the modules are very antiquated and need serious updates.

Shannon
Senior Accountant in US
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spectrum is an effective and comprehensive Software for Job/Work Order Tracking

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been learning about the Job module and it seems to be a very comprehensive system. I think there is a lot more that a Company could do with the various options within the module and then the analysis via reporting.

Pros:

There are so many features that still need to be integrated into the user experience. The Webinar was extremely useful as I learned and advised the AP department of the function for the Automatic importing of invoices. The Banking and cash management is very straightforward and clearcut. I like how the modules are arranged and how they can be made favorites which makes my job more efficient.

Cons:

1) sending PR to multiple bank accounts within a company needs to be posted to Suspense and then journaled into the correct bank account - I'm not sure why that is.2) I wish the "favorites" actually reflected the "original path" of the favorited item (in the menu to the left). Sometimes when teaching someone else, it's hard to remember the original path.