15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Sumo

Sumo helps ecommerce businesses to grow their email lists, get more customers, and convert visitors into lifetime buyers automatically.

Learn more about Sumo

Pros:

After looking for a simple tool to increase my website's traffic and collect emails for marketing I found "sumo. It is very simple to integrate into my website.

Cons:

So, in case of any problem, could be a third party problem and solving it or requesting help, i think, become more difficult.

Sumo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Sumo has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 67 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sumo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (67)

Jake The Film
Jake The Film
Cofounder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use Sumo's free suite of tools on my Squarespace site, and I have been 'em for nearly three years.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: A pain-free way to collect emails that go above and beyond what Squarespace and/or Mailchimp can offer to a startup/small business? Sumo has your back, hands down.

Pros:

I love the (even at the freemium level) assorted tools they have for capturing emails. With a little bit of coding, you can customize your lead magnets, both in terms of appearance and delivery.

Cons:

My only complaint with their suite of tools are their sharing tools, and this is nitpicky. I already have built-in share buttons on my CMS that look great on mobile and on a desktop. The Sumo tool was a real bother when I was using it (2015-2017). It even caused one of my followers to email and let me know it was a nuisance with this lagging (yet persistent in its following) behavior.

Sumo group Response

6 years ago

Thanks for your review! We're constantly working on improvements and appreciate your feedback. If you ever would like to test out new features, here is a link to our Ecommerce plan free trial: http://bit.ly/2LBfk1T Good luck with your business!

Monica
Monica
Dott.ssa in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Alternative to Paid Products

4.0 last year

Comments: I find Sumo a product with great potential. Overall is a great product to use as a free tool, but compared to others maybe have a bit of more work to do to reach the same overall quality level.

Pros:

Pro is that is possible to access a lot of templates or free software subscriptions and even courses, useful to learn abouth business and audience growth, marketing strategies and customization of email campaigns. Other services with a free plan, instead, let you use a very limited range of services for free, with very limited recipients number or email per month.

Cons:

Seems like sumo integrates a lot of services but all are third party services, like sendfox for sending emails. So, in case of any problem, could be a third party problem and solving it or requesting help, i think, become more difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Affordable and it works

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall I like Sumo for pop up email collection. We have been using them for years.

Pros:

I chose Sumo for its affordability and ease of use. For a startup it’s great.

Cons:

I like Sumo but would love to see some better analytics and features.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to set up, but a bit clunky

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: SumoMe enabled me to get started free with an email marketing automation that would require a paid account with Mailchimp. It was a good way to get started testing things out. As I grow, I'm looking into moving to Mailchimp though.

Pros:

It was easy to get started with my email campaigns and it was free. Automation was easy to get started even in the free version.

Cons:

The interface leaves a bit to be desired. More guidance would be helpful. In the free version, stats are only available for 30 days. Integration with ThriveCart would be great.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sumo saves your time and allows managing you websites sing up forms on the go.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far Sumo free version is installed on two our websites and everyone is happy with is.

Pros:

Code is easy to install via GTM. My favourite feature is smart mode for visibility, which really is helpfull when you need to add a sign up form to your website quickly.

Cons:

Sumo is probabbly not that easy to use for new users or those who never used similar services or edited images.

Sachin
Sachin
Digital Marketing Specialist in Barbados
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Stop Leaving Money On The Table!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Sumo which when I first started using was referred to as SumoMe has proven to be a worthy addition to my website arsenal and a valuable tool to recommend throughout my digital marketing consultancy. This set of tools has boost some of my clients email acquisition strategies as a number of clients where established brick and mortar stores but online virgins. SumoMe interface was really intuitive and presented very little headaches for my clients to wrap their heads around with a number of them collecting list of 1,000+ plus emails after previously struggling to even get 50 emails in the beginning.
These tools definitely adds value to any arsenal !

Pros:

Grow your email list seamlessly Address cart abandonment concerns Ability to collect email address from user on exit Discount Codes (ecommerce plan offers unique codes) Autoresponder And more

Cons:

Free version advertises on your website Plans can be costly if site offers little ROI

Colleen
Colleen
professional blogger in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I really like sumo. I use a lot of its features on my blog. It helped a lot.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It helped incorporate features on my blog with ease that I wouldn't of been able to do otherwise.

Pros:

I love that a lot of its features are easy to use. They come with very easy to use directions. It has a lot of features that costs money on other programs.

Cons:

I use the free version, and I wish it had more choices for that. I also wish it had better choices for email. I have to use another program for that.

Sumo group Response

6 years ago

Hello, Colleen! Thanks for the warms words. I noticed that you are using our free version and would love to see more features and options under this version. We currently offer free 14 day trial of our Ecommerce plan. Check it out and see if it has what you are looking for: http://bit.ly/2LBfk1T

Magnus
Magnus
Customer Service Team Lead in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Recommended for Leads Collection

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I also connected it to Google analytics to show overall page views and organic searches.

Pros:

I use Sumo on both bookclubs.com.ng and a client's website I had set up on WordPress a few years ago. If you plan to collect emails on your website with pop-ups and other campaigns then I recommend it. My dashboard also shows me comprehensive statistics such as Top 5 visited pages, conversions rates and all my subscribers. They also make it easy for you to export subscribers

Cons:

This feels really small to add to a review but logging out of Sumo completely will take an average techie awhile. I was looking for the log out button the first time I used it. It was so frustrating. I ended up going on their faq page on their website to find it. 'Click the "X" icon on the Sumo control panel (blue tab) while holding down the shift key to completely log out'. Why does it have to be so difficult?

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Experience with Sumo

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great product. Have set it up for a handful of clients to build out their email lists.

Pros:

Sumo gives users the ability to do one of the most important things an online business needs to do: collect emails to grow their list. They do so with great pop-ups, welcome mat, and smart bars.

Cons:

Some of the functionality is a bit clunky. They seem to go wide vs narrow, i.e. trying to do everything instead of becoming the best at a few things.

Sumo group Response

6 years ago

We're happy to have you as our customer. Thanks for the review!

Tal
Tal
Manager Marketing in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

They have some bugs but i tried the free version and they keep getting better and add capabilities

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Good. Gave me what I needed, free

Pros:

Easy to use, great guides, helps achieve many marketing goals, combines analytics ontop of your website, great features

Cons:

I encountered several bugs that didn't make me purchase but I'm pretty sure the paid version works great. They are a very good company, brand

Sumo group Response

6 years ago

Thanks for your review, Tal! We are always improving our plans and hope you can feel more confident in using them :)

Anthony
CEO in Ghana
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sumo Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Sumo has helped me double my email subscribers which helps me convert them into customers. I have been able to share my own content with my audience on all my various social platforms like facebook, twitter, etc. to make them aware of new contents. This increases the engagement of my contents hence increasing my traffic as well.

Pros:

After looking for a simple tool to increase my website's traffic and collect emails for marketing I found "sumo." It is very simple to integrate into my website. The settings are so simple with many preferences of your choice. It helped me add social share buttons to my website and helped me grow my email lists at a faster rate. The attention of any visitor is easily caught to interact more with me and my website. Sending emails to a bunch of subscribers in my chosen groups look simple when using sumo. The pop-up subscription box and the social share buttons are not intrusive and it has an automatic welcome message for all my new subscribers which saves my time of welcoming them with messages all the time.

Cons:

I haven't been able to send emails to individual subscribers. It allows me to send marketing emails to only those added to my groups and I don't know why. I therefore believe because I am using the free version that is why I have been limited to that. I would like to be a premium member soon.

Emily
Freelance Marketing Strategist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great, easy pop-up tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have had a great experience with SUMO. We use it on multiple sites as an email capture tool, and our email subscriptions have tripled since adding this pop-up on our site as the first thing people see when coming to the site.

Pros:

Sumo was a great addition to our company website to help gather email addresses through a pop-up when someone comes to the site. The pop-ups are easy to create with either custom imagery and their wizard, or using their basic templates. There are many options for the type of pop-ups that they offer. Implementation is immediate and was something that I could do without needing an HTML programmer. The pop-ups do not interfere with any other tracking or plug-ins on our site, and I like that I can set the frequency to not overwhelm frequent visitors.

Cons:

I like the reporting functions, but I would like to see more data as it relates to the success. You get the impressions and actions taken, but I would like to know how many times an individual sees the popup before finally entering their email, if more than once, as an example. Otherwise, I'm very happy with this tool.

John
Owner in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Connects Email Marketing Effortlessly

5.0 last year

Comments: Sumo is an excellent tool to connect your email marketing to your website and design custom call to actions.I use it to connect SendFox to my Squarespace sites. The process is simple and you can create good looking call to actions for free. If you want to get fancy and really make your CTA "pop" and have more access to features, you can pay for Sumo.As my businesses continue to grow, I will likely end up paying for those extra features on Sumo. For the price (or lack of price) you cant beat the cost-to-benefit ratio Sumo provides. The team behind Sumo and other products (SendFox, TidyCal, etc) is great and always working on the products.

Pros:

- easy to use- easy interface- cheap/free

Cons:

- some features hidden behind paywall- can suffer from option paralysis

Douglas
Owner in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Enhance Your Website Visitor's Experience While Also Gaining Greater Insight

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Setting up Sumo on each of my websites was very intuitive and easy to accomplish. There are features that allow you to personalize the look and the experience visitors to the site will each have. Once set up it then runs on autopilot to track some helpful metrics on those visitors and what they do while on each site. Sumo enhances the look and functionality of the site on which it is installed while providing helpful functions that improve each visitors experience.

Pros:

I like best the ease of use in setting up this program to provide my website visitor's with a better on-site experience while also providing me with detailed metrics on those visitors.

Cons:

I've been using Sumo on two websites for more than a few years and have not found anything about that I do not like.

Shashu
US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Plugin For My website

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I am actively using SUMO on my website now. It's a great tool for my site. I've recommended it to many of my business connects. I use it for signups and newsletter listserves. I like that you can group signups by the promos you're running. The interface is easy to understand, it actually "guides" you through the creating process. It asks your desired outcome and where you'd like the signup box to appear, when, and what it will look like. You can turn on and off the sign-ups at any time. You can also send tests to see what it looks like when someone does sign up. You can check your website analytics with Sumo which is a great perk!

Cons:

I hate that many times you have to re-login to sumo when it's connected through your website. Like I have Sumo linked as a plugin and I always have to re-login and I wish it would stay logged in. Also, when you are checking the analytics, I feel it could be more in-depth. I wish that I could use more than one signup at a time. The unpaid version, of course, is limited. If you don't have design skills, you cannot make a "pretty" "pop-up" box with ease. But, if you're tech/design savvy, you should be okay.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Truly an easy way to collect emails

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is a very solid tool for growing your business. I've built email lists in multiple niches and tools like Sumo help you do that fast, using high-converting (tested) elements on your pages. The free version is great to get to know the platform and might even be enough for people starting out. There are a lot of templates available and they all look great. That's important if you care about the look and feel of your website and web pages (and don't want to annoy your visitors too much). Great job, this tool has been around for long and keeps getting better. Definitely worth testing!

Pros:

The simplicity is what I like about Sumo. This tool makes it very easy to start collecting subscribers on your website. With just a couple of clicks I was able to start collecting new leads. It's fast and bug-free. There's a generous free plan to test the waters. I took advantage of that before I upgraded. Sumo has a number of tools that you can use to grow your business.

Cons:

This tool offers a smooth experience and there's not much to dislike. I do wish there were multiple paid plans available. Now I think most of the good features are in one paid plan. It's to be expected, but compared to other tools, I think this can be improved.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Concept, Terrible Execution

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like to concept of the product and the abilities it has to incorporate popups to your website without adding more than a script to your site.

Cons:

Everything else. Their help service is the worst and they often treat you as an idiot. Even with photos and indepth information about issues, they still are unable to understand the problem. We went round and round with them for 4 months about an issue to later find that it was a bug on there end. Using the product is hard and the data you're provide on your popups is limited.

Sumo group Response

6 years ago

Hello! Thank you for your review and I am sorry you've experienced issues with the software. We've made lots of updates to our service and hope you can reconsider using Sumo for you business. I highly recommend trying out our new Shortcuts feature :) Here is a link to free trial for you: http://bit.ly/2LBfk1T

Lee
Owner in UK
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Easiest Way To again Customers

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Superb customer service.

Pros:

Easy to use once fully set up. Very important to me is the ability to A/B test promotions and change pop ups, banners and welcome mats according to my current promotions.

Cons:

Very little. I have a Pro Account but would like access to a few more “add-one” namely Short Cuts and Cart Casino. These are minor negatives and they would be available if I upgraded my account.

Shannon Simone
Shannon Simone
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sumo me is a must have tool for email capture

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This solves my problem by allowing me to offer a beautiful pop up email collection item on any website with minimal effort

Pros:

The Sumo product is easy for a novice to integrate and provides amazing free tools. The welcome mat and email collection features are fantastic.

Cons:

I truly like the software and interface. Some additional features must be purchased but that is to be expected.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Good looking forms, but the asynchronous loading doesn't help the business

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Note that I've only used the SumoMe forms. Ignore this review if you're using their other tools. The forms look good and you have the option to customize them in more-than-you-have-time ways.

Cons:

The SumoMe forms aren't a bad tool, just that... You're at a conference and you have a single page with a SumoMe opt-in form for people interested in your product + some bad internet that you can't control. The page you worked on only loads the rest of the content and people scroll past the form (the form that doesn't load, because it's made to load asynchronously and it prioritizes the rest of the content before the form). So basically people just leave because they didn't see the form. Now imagine the same thing, online, and all the users and their internet speed that you cannot control. That was the end of our story with SumoMe. And it had the potential to be a good story.

Bogdan
Bogdan
Administrator in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best marketing tools I ever used

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Before using Sumo, I coded the forms myself or used other very poor plugins. After using Sumo, my email list grew much faster and my sales increased.

Pros:

Very easy to set-up a pop-up form for getting people to sign-up to email lists. Easy to integrate with most used email management services such as Mailchimp and others. Email Automation included in the free plan.

Cons:

Could not find the option to disable the forms on specific pages but maybe it's there. Other than that this tool is pure gold.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An ideal way to start building a list

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great starter product, ironically with the type of offers provided by appsumo you'll probably end up ditching this for something else in the long run

Pros:

Sumo allows you to quickly and easily grow a list using intuitive opt in forms You can build a large list of subscribers and then email them all within the free plan, which is great for starting out

Cons:

Once you outgrow the free plan it starts getting expensive It improved over the time frame in which I was using it, but it did seem a bit sluggish

Holly
Blogger in Canada
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It's ok

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I still use it and it's ok just wish they would work on a few things.

Pros:

Ok so I do really like Sumo. I like how I can save email templates. I like that I can change my pop up box on my website. Their customer support is really good and someone always gets back to me.

Cons:

There are a few issues. My emails don't always send out to all my subscribers which is really frustrating. I can't send more than one email in a 24 hour period so if I make a mistake on an email I can't then send out another one and I feel like the value for my money isn't the best.

Artur
Artur
E-commerce manager in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Worth the money.

Pros:

A very easy-to-use tool for generating leads. Friendly interface, great possibilities of testing various graphic variants. Very useful ready-made pop-up templates.

Cons:

A bit unintuitive way to change templates in tests, although perhaps the problem has already been solved.

Tito
Freelancer in El Salvador
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SUMO is the king

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Tried several tools but definitely SUMO is the best solution to grow my business. Easy to use and implement with a lot of documentation.

Cons:

I can’t fin any cons. They are improving continuously their product and fixing everything that can be a con.