15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Gantt Excel

Create professional looking Gantt charts in Excel, with this completely automated solution that is super easy to use.

Learn more about Gantt Excel

Pros:

If you have familiar with MS excel, there is no big deal with GanttExcel. It supports you to schedule and visualize your project and track your progress.

Cons:

Of course, it has a disadvantage next to Microsoft Project, as the integration of MS products is seamless.

Gantt Excel ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Gantt Excel has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 22 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Gantt Excel before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (22)

Bojan
Bojan
Business Development Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for creating Gantt charts and workflows!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easily applicable to all sorts of project, makes it easier to monitor time spent on various steps of a project, previously over or underestiamted.

Pros:

I have used the tool for creating general Gantt charts for projects I have been involved on recently. I have to honestly say that it does the trick. It was simple to use and set up the various projects, as well as up tdate the content and cascade the process to my colleagues so that everyone was able to update their "staus" within the file as it was shared on our shared file.

Cons:

No issues to report, very easy to use for anyone with basic/intermediate excel knowledge.

Tim
Senior Program/Project Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wonderful Product and Support

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been a user for over 2 years and have moved up to utilizing the PRO version. The ease of use, progress reporting and visual management provides not only the necessary functionality for running a project, but also provides a comfort level for project team members who are typically not familiar or comfortable with the use of MS Project. Finally, I need to call out the level of support that I have received when required. As most have experienced, support of a product is not always a selling point. However, Gantt Excel support has been incredible!!!. They have been knowledgeable, responsive and willing to engage in order to assure that all issues are explained and closed to the end users satisfaction. In the past, I have worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and the level of support he provides, has set the bar for my expectations for ALL future support analysts moving forward. Kudos!!

Pros:

The functionality provided by the product is incredible and made even better by the ease of use. The "pro" version that I am using provides the ability to create, maintain, and report project schedules. In addition the project dash board provides accurate and simple visibility into project progress.

Cons:

As I use the product within our PMO, we store project files on a network drive. Unfortunately, this occasionally causes issues with the Macros within the product. If experienced, the file may become corrupted and unrecoverable. In addition, there are slight nuances that I needed to learn for import of resources. I may have missed it with in the documentation, but you can not use comma's between last and first name.

Gokul
Junior executive in India
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Value of money and time

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and its smart work softwear for Excel users

Cons:

Cons it's only that they are provcensing of file is time taking.

Bryan
Director, Business Intelligence in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy, inexpensive, but gets the job done

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: All I need is a simple way to manage projects. I don't need MS Project, nor do I want to subscribe to any of the Web-based products (most of which only partially meet my needs). I am very happy with the purchase of Gantt Excel and highly recommend it for anyone who just needs to get the job done without hassle.

Pros:

Gantt Excel contains the basic functions of Microsoft Project without the expense and complexity. All I need is a way to capture tasks, set dependencies and milestones, list resources, and provide quick status. Gantt Excel does all that with almost no learning curve for anyone comfortable with Excel and familiar with Project.

Cons:

I haven't encountered any issues with the software nor does anything about it annoy me or make me wish it did differently/better.

Jennet
Founder in UK
Biotechnology, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The programme is indispensable for us. We use it for planning, project monitoring and making reports. I have also used it for grant applications when a project plan and budget are required. It saves so much time and effort. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

I have been using the software since 2017. First, I was using the Ultimate version. Now I am looking forward to using the recently upgraded Pro version of the software. It is intuitive and very helpful for when one needs to create a Gantt chart with pleasing visual effect yet with lots of content and functionality. I would like to commend the absolutely fantastic customer support which can be reached literally within few minutes of your contact. They always react in the speediest and the most efficient way, going far and beyond than just a standard advice. I cannot thank them enough for the product and their help when it is needed.

Cons:

There were some few snags in the older version but not bad and you know how to bypass/avoid them once you use the programme on a more regular basis.

Michel
Product development manager in Netherlands
Consumer Electronics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Gantt chart project planning for customer electronics

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent tool, I have been looking for something like this for years

Pros:

It provides microsoft project alike features in excel which everyone has and can use. This makes it easy to share with external partners You can easily link activities to form a dependancy like start action2 when action1 is finished. If action 1 is delayed planning get updated. Group activities into one major activity so you get a better overview of the subplannings

Cons:

I had a minor set up problem which was resolved within 24 hours by direct customer support contact via email. For the rest everything worked and I never read any form of instructions

Mark
Operations Manager in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great project timeline product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Fantastic product, great tool and excellent customer support when I had questions. If you are looking for project timeline tools this it it.

Pros:

Gantt Excel is a great product, very intuitive and ease of use is fantastic. Have the ability to set up and track multiple projects as well as a great dashboard is something I have been searching for and this product certainly does a fantastic job doing it. The ability to have baselines and track costs was something I was not expecting given the cost of the product.

Cons:

No cons, customer support is great and it has features you would only expect in much costlier softwares.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ready to use Gantt charts with great customer support

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I used to create Gantt charts from scratch for work tasks but they were always lacking in their interface and end-user intuitiveness. Gantt Excel made it quick and easy and now I can essentially create professionally looking charts within a few minutes.

Pros:

There are a lot of websites offering Gantt charts but Gantt Excel has the most well designed templates with everyone one might need. I love the ability to set up task dependencies, create parent-child relationships, count only work-days for a task and generate a dashboard with a click!

Cons:

There is absolutely nothing to dislike about Gantt Excel- quick customer service, customisable charts, everything is fit for purpose.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Sales/Pipeline Tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Thus far, I love this product and had a few executives comment to others that they need to be doing it with their teams.

Pros:

I love the customizable features, being able to add columns and really tailor it to our needs. The support team was quick to respond and update terms to fit our sales language.

Cons:

Really, I haven't found anything yet. Any issue I had the support team fixed in a matter of 24 hours.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excel at using excel

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've tried other software for making graphs and charts but no one does it quite like Gannt Excel. If you know how to use the software you can make pretty anything look very professional.

Cons:

Its difficult to find easy to follow "how-to's". I feel like it's such a powerful tool that I am not using to its fullest potential.

Solomon
Senior Sales Engineer in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It gets the job done

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have tried 2 other Gannt tools before, but they were lacking in display, layout and resource management etc. I started using Gannt Excel and i felt i was no longer missing MS Project. I am very satisfied with this tool

Pros:

I was searching for a product that was not complicated to use and yet offer similar features as one would find in MS Project. Gantt Excel met my requirements, In a few hours I was able to create my project plan, add resources, schedule vacations and holidays and get a good sense of the project timelines

Cons:

Still trying to figure out how to add and associate project cost in the tool

Tim
Manager in Canada
Logistics & Supply Chain, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Gantt for the new day

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I learned Gantt Charts before Microsoft Project was around, and though Project was a reasonable substitute it never quite behaved the way I needed. Gantt Excel is exactly what I wanted to see all this time - the ribbon is perfect, the learning curve is light, and I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Using Gantt in Excel format seems too easy to say, as it is the software's name. But this is the greatest thing about it, and hats off to the marketing department for naming it as such. Excel is the perfect platform for Gantt charts, not only because of the column format, but because Excel is the defining business software of the last 20 years, so we all know how to use it. Gantt charts are extremely useful tool, but I found few people even knew what they were, much less how to use them.

Cons:

Of course, it has a disadvantage next to Microsoft Project, as the integration of MS products is seamless.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best solution for ones who are struggling with deadlines

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I can recommend you GanttExcel 100%. It’s a life saver. I also moved from scratch because GanttExcel is very easy to use.

Pros:

I like GanttExcel because it has an impressive interface and it saves my life by saving my time! It helps to make professional gantt chart in minutes. It can be used in windows as well as MacOS. It has the same background as the Microsoft excel. If you have familiar with MS excel, there is no big deal with GanttExcel. It supports you to schedule and visualize your project and track your progress.

Cons:

It’s been two years and there are no such drawbacks I have faced so far.

Dimitrios
Petroleum Technology Engineer in Denmark
Oil & Energy, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gantt Excel Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The technical support is outstanding.

Pros:

User-friendly, combined with Excel spreadsheet.

Cons:

There is nothing I could describe in this field.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing templates

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love the templates, representation of the data, handy to deal

Cons:

documentation is good but not provide satisfaction.

Heather
Team Leader in UK
Mental Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Customer service fantastic

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I am new to gantt charts, or things like this, but I found it very user friendly. I had installation problems but customer service was on hand to guide me through. Never felt stupid in the least. Thank you

Cons:

I would like the bars to change colour with the member of staff tasks. Eg. Red - Heather, Yellow - Mary etc

Hocine
MANAGER in France
Aviation & Aerospace, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very good tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Just go ahead.. very simple to use and it works well.. I love also the option of the dashboard..

Pros:

Easy to use.. the step by step given in a video tutorial ... Nice tool

Cons:

Worry about the Bugs !! but quick resolved by the GanttExcel Team :)

Raj
Management Consultant in New Zealand
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and intuitive to start using immediately

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The customer service and support is fantastic. The team is helpful and responsive so you're getting much more than just the product itself. This makes this product stand out.

Pros:

Integrates with Microsoft Excel which makes set up and use easier. Has ample features and smarts. Good dashboard features. Outputs are professional and can be used for presentational purposes in reports.

Cons:

To be honest, there is nothing bad to say about this product. It meets my needs as a one-man business - easily and well. Great value for money.

Darlyene
Founder/CEO in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

GREAT!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The convenience of use. Having to do the GANTT chart long hand is a nuisance.

Cons:

The time it takes to input information was not user friendly

Allen
EE, Content Developer & Trainer in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Affordable Project Management Software for infrequent project management use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

Cost and ease of purchase, quick access to the download, easy licensing.

Cons:

Copy features requires some re-entry of information. Would not sell product separately as hourly / daily planner. I would offer one version. Cost would still be low for the high end version.

Hamza
Hamza
devellopement logiciel in Morocco
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

avis sur Gantt Excel planifier

5.0 last year

Comments: excellente experience surtout dans mon parcous universitaire

Pros:

pratique et simple a utilisé ca facilité la gestion d'un projet ou suivi d'un travail

Cons:

non je pense que c'est assez bon pour suivre les taches

Dotou Cédric
PDG in Benin
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Profitez en

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Elle permet de créer les diagrammes de dans Excel, avec cette solution entièrement automatisée et très facile.

Cons:

Elle fonctionne sous abonnement et c'est cher.