Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Sage 50cloud

Complete, out-of-the-box-desktop accounting software, with secure cloud and mobile access, for small & medium sized businesses.

Learn more about Sage 50cloud

Showing 249 reviews

Mj D.
Accounting
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2018

"Decent accounting software for small business"

Comments: It is good software

Pros: It is easy to teach a new user how to begin entering transactions. You can set up an assistant to begin entering basic transactions almost immediately. When searching a list (purchases, payments, etc.) of transactions, it is not necessary to have entire name or number. The software will locate the search criteria even if it is just a couple of characters in the middle of a string of text.

Cons: Chart of accounts does not have a true hierarchy so you cannot get totals to roll up for sub accounts. It is often tricky to customize a report accurately. Some reports will omit data because it comes from a specific "journal" and there is no way to make the report include all relevant "journals".

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2020

"Worst experience ever"

Comments: I had one call and because the tech rep could not stay on the phone while I did as he asked, he did up a ticket...which he immediately closed. When I called back in they could not / would not reopen that ticket. I got pushed to sales and they would not give me back my one support call. That rep said I could speak with a supervisor, then pushed me back to tech. When I called in, someone took my name for the supervisor to call me back, and that never happened. This is the worst customer service I have seen in years. Meanwhile my newly purchased upgrade, is not doing what it is supposed to. Thanks for nothing Sage!

Pros: Fine once you get used to it; it is not as user friendly as Quickbooks

Cons: Functionality between computers has been a problem and tech did not help; read below

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2020
Shelagh F.
Treasurer and Technology Mgr for 3 related non-profits
Philanthropy, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018

"Have used it since 1996 and its the best accounting software ever!"

Comments: Its just easy to use. The screens are great. The 'note' under journal entries ( "this will decrease/increase the balance") means I don't have to be a CPA to get it right. I could not get reports "before depreciation" and "after depreciation" but I hardly ever need this. I can't rate their support because I have only needed help twice in 22 years. Once was a question about vendor balances and once was advice about backing up before I switched computers. Mind you, that was when it was Peachtree Accounting. I have looked at Sage's expanded products recently and their current support seems to be a bit fragmented.

Pros: It is super easy and intuitive to use. Even in 1996 they had this incredible feature where you could select an entry on a report, change it, and the report immediately regenerates with the change. The reports are just what I have needed.

Cons: There is one piece of functionality that QuickBooks has that Sage 50 does not. That is "sub-accounts" or "classes". In other words if you want to allocate part of your GL to a department or area in your organization, the only way to do it is using "jobs". Jobs are basically a reporting function based on a job id. I have rarely needed this anyway and refuse to switch because everything else is so great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018
Shevaunn N.
Office Admin/Book Keeper
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2017

"Extremely easy to use, unlike other accounting software I have used in the past."

Comments: I save time on training and exporting alone. I could hook this up to my bank and make my life that much easier, but that would just spoil me :p

Pros: I like Sage because it is very easy to use. I did not have to train on the software at all, I self taught myself. Also, being able to export to excel is a BONUS

Cons: If you want help from sage, you have to pay a ridiculous fee. HINT: almost everything is now free through google!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2017
Richard F.
Assistant manager
Accounting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2021

"The old faithful. Needs to modernise a bit."

Comments: Overall, a good piece of software and it still does exactly what you need it to do.

Pros: Sage has been the bread and butter of accountants across the UK for many years. Once you have learned how to use it, it is easy to use. Customer, Supplier, Nominal and Bank ledger are in a convenient layout for you to drill down into. Reports are good, and surprisingly intuitive for their age. The bank reconciliation function is old-school, but works perfectly. The financials function means that you can easily go in and edit a transaction.

Cons: If you don't know how to use it, mistakes can easily made, which takes time and money to fix. Sage will also feel a bit "old-hat" for some, and they will feel that it lacks the impetus of cloud packages such as Xero.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2021
Angela H.
Bookkeeper
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"i have been using Sage for many years. I am comfortable using it for my businesses."

Pros: User friendly and easy to use. I like the most recent update, it is aesthetically appealing. I also find the payroll function very easy to use.

Cons: Seems to crash often. Also, we signed up for the Sage Drive and had 1 problem after the next. Since there are too many bugs at this time, we stopped using Drive. Too risky, considering we lost over a month worth of data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Andrea C.
Office Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2017

"You get what you pay for"

Comments: Other accounting software and Sage 100 and up are two plus times more expensive

Pros: It is capable to customize reports and handle a large inventory. Integrates with Sage processing to ease the process of marking invoices paid.

Cons: Sage 50 does not easily integrate with WooCommerce. Therefore, internet orders for website still need manually entered for inventory and accounting purposes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2017
Diamond H.
self employed
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2018

"2017 sage 50 accountants edition"

Comments: Go for it.

Pros: Unlike QB, Fiscal year end rolls over. Under A/R A/P and GJ modules, you can set up recurring entries.

Cons: Journal Entries follow comments made on the main window rather than each individual have its own comment on the RHS. You could only see these comments if you further drill down on that particular entry. You need to have bookkeeping skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2018
Jason T.
Sales Manager
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019

"Good, powerful program, but can lag due to being cloud based"

Comments: Can work well for a smaller company, but as the company grows the program can lag behind and slow down

Pros: We use this daily at our company and it works well, it is powerful and can be customized to fit your needs

Cons: Due to being cloud based, the system can lag, especially with how we have it set up with many part numbers. The program also crashes often

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019
Lily V.
sales admin
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019

"User friendly Program"

Pros: The program is easy to use and easy to catch on. It's very easy to learn and teach others how to navigate the program.

Cons: The program only works for a single entity at a time. If you want to work on multiple entities at once or have multiple windows open, you have to open a new window and log in each time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019
Jennifer S.
President
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019

"Only Software I Recommend"

Comments: I have all of my client on Sage 50, because of the functionality and proper accounting methodology.

Pros: Sage 50 is designed for accountants. It does do operation behind the scenes like Quickbooks, like reconciling bank accounts without finding the differences.

Cons: I can be expensive, but not out of line with other software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Janet K.
CPA
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019

"Homebuilder Software"

Comments: This is very good software for basic home builders.

Pros: This is a very easy product to implement and use. The job cost is basic, but very adequate for homebuilders who sub out most of their work.

Cons: Limited sophistication. When calling support not all techs are knowledgeable and it is hard to get through.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019
Janet T.
Accounting
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2017

"Sage 50 for construction jobs"

Comments: I have used Sage 50 for the past 4 years for accounting purposes in a construction company. It has good features if you have to keep track of jobs. You can enter in change orders, keep track of job costs, proposals and estimates.

Pros: Easy to use once you familiarize yourself with the program.

Cons: Some reports cannot be a combination of years.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2017
Laura P.
controller
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018

"i enjoy using peachtree because it is user friendly. i didn't have to read a manual from cover to cover to understand how to use it."

Comments: no

Pros: the reportng is excellent. i can filter and customize reports easily. and if there is more needed i can always use the crystal report feature

Cons: sometimes it is too easy to manipulate. i feel as if it could allow for fraud if the wrong user had access to certain areas

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Sundeep M.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2017

"Designed for small business owners"

Comments: - Small buiness full cycle accounting experience.

Pros: Ease of use, fully cycle accounting, professional-looking invoices, prints cheques and manages direct deposits.

Cons: The need to continually having to upgrade this software every few years can make it expensive. over the long run.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2017
Mirza muhammad I.
Chief Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2018

"It Gets the Job Done with Ease"

Comments: Overall performance is good. Comparing to the cost benefits are greater by cost & benefit analysis, Suitable for Small & Medium Sized Enterprises.

Pros: The Software is Self-Explanatory. No Special Training Required. Better Journal Entry Adjustments. Good Customer Support.

Cons: Difficult to find problem relating to prior year. Lack of Efficiency while entering Journal Entry. Payroll Information is available only for Current & Last Financial Year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2018
Tashfeen bin A.
Assistant Manager Finance
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"best ever accounting software for medium enterprises"

Comments: Highly Recommended for small & Medium business

Pros: It is user friendly & easy to use for single user and multiple users as well as for branch networks.

Cons: Not compatible for large organizations where multinational organisation operating in multiple countries.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Zach S.
Business Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2017

"Sage 50"

Pros: Easy to catch on to. Sales and quotes are very easy to do. Payroll is also fairly straight forward.

Cons: Can not print screens and reports which would make sense to print. Can only increase the price of all inventory items or each individually not groups of them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2017
Yveete M.
Accounting Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2017

"It's okay for the Price"

Pros: This system is reasonably priced. We get 3 user logins and pay an annual fee. We can run a report to see the profitability of a job with is useful.

Cons: There's a limited number of characters for the job code which makes it hard to work with jobs with long names.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2017
Syed S.
Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2019

"User friendly and complete solution."

Comments: Sage (peachtree) has very informative and user friendly interface, I personally like it for its interface, but got into trouble sometimes when uploading some data from external sources like excel sheet etc, Sage team needs to work on it too.

Pros: Its feature of referencing, like user can go into deep root of any transaction from trial balance and they dont need to go and open ledgers and individual transactions separately. User friendly customizable reports features are awesome.

Cons: Getting data into sage from excel or bank statement is very cumbersome. As user have to format files in prescribed format of sage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2019
Allan B.
President
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2017

"Sage 50 review"

Comments: Generally an excellent product for the non-accountant.

Pros: The package either has as standard modules or add-on modules all of the functions you would need to run a small business

Cons: Requires M$ Office for exporting to excel spreadsheets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2017
Chad H.
Chad H.
finance
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2020

"A must have for growing businesses"

Pros: Sage50 is a widely used product for a good reason. Sage is very user friendly and combines many of the necessary items for businesses. This includes payroll, inventory tracking, invoicing, etc. One of the best this about Sage is that it can grow with your business and personalized to a certain point.

Cons: There are some shortfalls for new users and users with little accounting/bookkeeping knowledge as there can be a learning curve if you are not familiar with accounting software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2020
Mantas V.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2021

"Sage cloud user"

Comments: Very well maintained, updated regulary

Pros: Very easy to use, prefer cloud version over desktop

Cons: Can be quite expensive if you are larger entity

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2021
Brian F.
IT
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019

"Good option for non-profits"

Pros: Installed for a large non-profit and meets their needs for accounting. They do not use any addons such as payroll, but meets all other needs. Up there with Quickbooks as one of the best accounting tools.

Cons: On a local install there are issues with licensing, say if a user account gets locked up and you close the program, the server still thinks the user is signed in and it will give an error for that user at the next login. No known workaround aside from user reboot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Adam B.
it manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/06/2021

"A great option"

Comments: typically works well without issue, but the occasional issue can often require slow or tedious solutions. Support is usually very effective and helpful.

Pros: very feature rich, especially when compared to quick books

Cons: Admin/maintenance side is difficult and not intuitive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/06/2021