15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Customer.io

Customer.io is a customer engagement platform for creating data-driven campaigns that reach people across all messaging channels.

Learn more about Customer.io

Pros:

Using customer.io helped us create personalized messages to our clients based on what their job positions. The website is easy to use and the support team is really helpful.

Cons:

And we set up our account based on customer ID so we have kind of a data mess in there (multiple accounts with the same email address).

Customer.io ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Customer.io has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 78 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Customer.io before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (78)

Orian
Orian
Growth Director in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Modern marketing automation platform with powerful data integration capabilities

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

As a SaaS company, product data integration was a key decision factor when picking our MAP. Customer.io was by far the best at leveraging product data in emails and became a key part of our workflow to detect and activate leads from Product.

Cons:

The initial setup was quite complex because of what we wanted to do, but the Customer Success rep was very helpful.

Alternatives Considered: HubSpot Marketing Hub and ActiveCampaign

Reasons for Choosing Customer.io: We wanted to go for a "best of breed" approach and did not need most Hubspot for Marketing capabilities. Also, data integration.

Switched From: HubSpot Marketing Hub

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: Data integration capabilities and a pricing structure that worked with our metrics.

Pedro
Head of Marketing in Portugal
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our go-to automation software

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall my team is very happy with the software and we would recommend it.

Pros:

It's very easy to use and does 90% of what you'd need to automate your marketing.

Cons:

Some of the UI choices over time have become worst, like elements covering crucial elements (eg. minimap when editing an email), and their push to become more of a CDP than a marketing software has made the platform more cluttered for those who, like me, want to use it for marketing automation. Lastly, but possibly most importantly, the fact that we still can't DUPLICATE a campaign is absurd. Having to re-create campaign settings each time is such a time waste, for a seemingly obvious (And simple) feature.

Alternatives Considered: ActiveCampaign and Klaviyo

Reasons for Choosing Customer.io: Customer.io is much more capable of managing multi-channel campaigns, with complex segmentation.

Switched From: Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: Price and ease-of-use.

George
CEO in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pricing doesn't work

4.0 last month New

Comments: Customerio is generally fine, but the pricing structure doesn't work for us. Ordinarily, in this situation, we would just go with a different company, but we haven't found one that makes sense. They got us in on their startup program, but that is just a bandaid on their pricing model.

Pros:

It can send emails based on actions triggered within our app.

Cons:

The pricing structure. It assumes clients are B2B businesses, not B2C or e-commerce.

Alternatives Considered: SendGrid and Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: User interface and the ability to send emails triggered by in-app events.

Suzan
Growth Marketeer in Netherlands
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good service, interface somehow difficult and less user friendly than other systems

3.0 last year

Comments: Good

Pros:

Great and quick customer service, broadcast function works well

Cons:

The data functions and the somehow difficult interface of campaigns and flow-building

Joana
Joana
Customer Operations Specialist in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Complete feature-set and excellent support

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Even though at first it might have a longer learning curve (because there are several functionalities we can make use of), I think it compensates having the ability to create complex workflows for email campaigns: there are several functionalities available, and we're always able to create the flows we ideate. I particularly like the “draft” option to test campaigns I've just set up and made live and that we're able to integrate with other data platforms, that enrich our trigger and filter capabilities.Excellent customer support. Even though we're not on the Premium plan, any of the queries we submit are answered within 24 hours and have detailed explanations or workarounds for the issues presented.They also have interesting webinars from time to time, with quite specific topics and tips.

Cons:

Unfortunately, we're unable to move a contact manually within a workflow; which is particularly important for exceptional cases that we might want to override the rules because of a human or sync error. Another feature I'd like to have (but also seems to be missing from most similar tools), is the ability to have custom reports – though I wouldn't need this very often, thus it's not a dealbreaker at this point.The pricing is somewhat expensive, and we're not able to temporarily downgrade the plan (if by any chance our business has a seasonality).

Alternatives Considered: ActiveCampaign, Sender, SALESmanago Marketing Automation, SendGrid, Drip, GetResponse, Omnisend, Mailchimp, Mailjet and Intercom

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: Customer.io had more functionalities and/or better deliverability rate than GetResponse, Sender, Omnisend and Drip. It had also much better support than Sendgrid. It was less expensive than Salesmanago, Mailchimp and ActiveCampaign, though these options seemed also very complete and with excellent support. Mailjet was close when taking the final decision, as it also served well our needs and would be cheaper; that would be most likely our plan B. Finally, Intercom was also considered, but we ended up discarding the option as there was no specific email marketing plan. The functionality is available, but ends up not having a competitive price at all.

Cagri
Cagri
Growth Marketing and Operations Manager in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficient and Comprehensive, but a bit Pricy

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: We started using Customer.io for behavioral emails and SMS messages. We're gradually moving transactional messages to Customer.io as well.

Pros:

Very easy to set up and manage. The visual workflow builder, webhooks, integrations, and API are my favorite.

Cons:

It's a bit expensive, especially if you have too many users, since Customer.io bills you based on the number of customers available in your account.

Alternatives Considered: Leanplum

Reasons for Choosing Customer.io: Because OneSignal doesn't have proper email and SMS marketing capabilities.

Switched From: OneSignal

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: We started using it with the startup program and then loved it!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A very useful tool for non-developer, tech-savvy marketers

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've tried many marketing automation tools and this hits the spot in terms of what a tech-savvy non-developer can do. There's a fine line between an eye-candy platform that scores low on customization and a fully fledged tool that requires constant support from a developer. Customer.io walks that line gracefully, allowing me to control onboarding and loyalty processes and much more.

Pros:

I like that I have yet to hit its limitations. Usually if a feature isn't readily available, the platform is open enough for me to find a workaround that gets the job done. Kudos for customer support, a real win! :)

Cons:

It could use more or better filtering and search options, as the segments, campaigns and attributes can turn into chaos if multiple people use it for different purposes. The learning curve was a bit steep. Except for the quite useful knowledge base and great customer support, I would have enjoyed some video tutorials/onboarding experience.

Arnaud
Arnaud
Co-Founder & CEO in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best email marketing tool for SaaS but expensive

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Customer.io is the Klavyo of email marketing sequences but for SaaS businesses in my opinion. We had a great experience with the software and it brought us great open rates once you have set up custom domain tracking. It's very easy to use as well for how complex the software is.

Cons:

Frankly everything was great except the pricing which is a bit expensive when you're starting out. They have a free plan for 6 months but then it's a big jump from free to paid, wish they had an intermediate plan at the time. It made us considering other choices.

Alternatives Considered: SendGrid

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: I chose Customer.io because it was more adapted to SaaS softwares.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Customer.io is very catered towards SAAS products like ours. Very easy to integrate our data sources like Segment, and simple to get attributes and events. Perfect for running onboarding campaign or lead nurturing campaign. It's the most simple to use product compared to everything else I've tried. Dashboard is also very fast despite a lot of data. Not clunky at all. This lets me create and send campaigns in a much shorter time.

Cons:

Quite a bit of jargons in the dashboard, which can be a little confusing. It'll be great if there's more explanation on certain features. Easy to overlook some of their outstanding features because they are hidden.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Great Marketing Automation Platform with an amazing support team

5.0 last year

Comments: We are mainly using C.io for lead nurturing purposes. We are quite confident with the fact they will improve their product with better reporting features.

Pros:

I've tried many marketing automation tools and Customer.io is clearly making a difference in terms of UX, documentation, and customer support!

Cons:

It can be quite complex sometimes according to your needs but thanks to their great UX, documentation, and support team, you'll find solutions. There are some missing features (eg. cohort analysis) but hopefully, they are working on it.

Max
Co-Founder in US
Online Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Loyal User

5.0 last year

Comments: We use it daily to reach our audience and drive engagment. It's been an important piece of software tied to our growth.

Pros:

The software integrated with our business easily and we were able to transition and begin using it immediately. Being able to segment users effectively is unmatched by other software.

Cons:

The drag and drop tool is easy to use to build templates, but is somewhat limiting.

Alternatives Considered: Marigold Engage by Sailthru and Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Customer.io: Ability to segment users more effectively.

James
Application Support Analyst in Canada
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customer.IO makes life so much easier with email tracking, Saved my butt multiple times!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Customer.IO has allowed me and my company to feel confident that the correct information is being sent to the people who need it the most, our customers. The ability to view all emails that have been sent and to ensure they were received by the customer is a huge benefit to us. being able to see if a email was suppressed or bounce give the ability to ensure you can deal with the issue in a timely manner and get the info into the right peoples hands. it has also assisted us in dealing with difficult customers that claim they never received a email, however the application allowed us to show the customer that no only did they receive it they opened it!

Cons:

the only negative i could see is that the application only allows you to send 50 emails at a time and for a large customer base this makes it more time consuming.

Carl
CTO in US
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customer.io is the best for startups to small & mid-size companies... maybe even more.

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Easy to setup, easy to use. No constraints (unlimited comms, events, properties). Loaded with great features. Affordable for small companies. Great support.

Cons:

Got a hard time setting up a couple features, but support is very responsive and got this done quickly. Otherwise, nothing really.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible but lacking some functionality

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Good user interface that's intuitive. Easy to get up and running without prior knowledge. Creating segments is quick and simple.

Cons:

Reporting tools are not very robust. For example, within Customer.io you can't sort or aggregate email campaigns to see roll-up metrics. Rather you'll need to export and sort in a spreadsheet or connect with 3rd party tools like MixPanel or Periscope.

Olivia
Content Marketing Manager in Philippines
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy-to-use tool for personalized communication

4.0 last year

Pros:

Using customer.io helped us create personalized messages to our clients based on what their job positions. The website is easy to use and the support team is really helpful.

Cons:

Sometimes it's hard to understand their pricing schemes and some of the features are only available if you pay more. Also, the reporting could be more detailed

Steve
Web Developer in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple, powerful and intuitive marketing automation platform

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

The customer service is superb. There was a learning curve to customer.io which customer service helped me with.

Cons:

There are no features of customer.io I dislike

Francisco
Francisco
retail sales in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

YOUR PARTNER TO COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR DIRECT CUSTOMERS.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have had an excellent customer experience, thanks to it I keep up to date the list of clients I work with, communicate with them through personalized messages and thus be able to meet our customers.

Pros:

I have been using this tool for several years to communicate with my clients, I am encouraged to use it because thanks to it I can send the newsletters and emails automatically to each client group depending on the profile, it is special to maintain a continuous communication with users , make them feel that we care and that communication is essential.

Cons:

It is a very good communication tool, however customer service is poor, attention is very slow and the response to the requirements as well.

Stephanie
Sales in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love customer.io! It keeps our company organized and allows us to send emails easily.

Cons:

Nothing! Everything has been very easy to use.

Paul
Head of Customer Marketing Success in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customer.io is great! Customer service from our vendor is awesome too!

5.0 last year

Comments: Very happy

Pros:

It just does all of the things I need it to do and most are intuitive.

Cons:

Sometimes there's weird quirks that you have to learn and figure out, but its not frequently.

Muhammad Syafiq
Software Engineer in Singapore
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

With enough money, Customer.IO is a good subscription to have.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The two things that I use, their Newsletter builder and their Campaigns builder, they are splendid. The builder is clean and easy to use. There are constantly checks on your dynamic variables to ensure that you are referencing the proper fields. As a software engineer that is interfacing with Customer.IO's API to send out notification emails to our customers, I have a few things to say about its API. It is easy to use and predictable. I did not have to spend many hours trying to send out an email. It was straightforward, fast and most importantly, reliable.

Cons:

With regards to building a Campaign. Before dealing with the dynamic variables in your template, you first have to make it available to you. In other words, from your code, you need to send in the payload with the variables that you wish to reference. Then, the template will come to life with your sample data and you can begin to finalise your design. I just feel that maybe, if we can have a dummy data kinda workflow for the UI of Customer.IO, that would be cool.

Kate
Kate
Content Marketing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Wonderful for Transactional Emails, Not as Great for Email Marketing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I think all our issues with the platform are because of the way we initially set it up. Customer.io has now added new functionality that fixes most of the issues we've had. They're doing a great job of listening to customers and amending their roadmap accordingly. Overall, think it's got a bright future.

Pros:

My favorite thing is that they recently added functionality to remove duplicate email addresses from sends. Thank goodness!

Cons:

Segmentation is tough. And we set up our account based on customer ID so we have kind of a data mess in there (multiple accounts with the same email address). But as long as you're using it as intended, for customer communications, it's perfect.

Rahil
Rahil
Marketing Associate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Automate your marketing campaigns with ease

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: An excellent tool for Automated Marketing campaigns and the product and support teams are extremely helpful

Pros:

- Customer profile management - Hybrid HTML and Text Editor tool - Workflow set-up for Campaigns

Cons:

Uploading Customer lists manually is slightly complicated

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An Advanced CLM tool

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- The Features and customizations available

Cons:

- The complications to bring about the automation.

Alessandra
Marketing & Communications Specialist in Spain
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best emailing platform I've ever used

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: 5 starts

Pros:

It's so easy to use, their sales and support team is the absolute best, and their features are way above average.

Cons:

Nothing, I love it. I wouldn't change anything.

Georgios
Research Associate in Greece
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Extremely handy email communications

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: An excellent product worth its money and reputation. We use it weekly for external marketing communications.

Pros:

I loved its compatibility and easy to use system. You can sign off an email marketing campaign with a few clicks.

Cons:

Perhaps its limited design options in some cases, but its automation is still high end.