15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Ledgy

Ledgy is trusted by high-growth companies to manage their equity: cap tables, ESOPs, HRIS integrations, scenario modelling and more

Learn more about Ledgy

Pros:

It’s simplicity and fun atmosphere (just love the title “Danger Zone” in the settings😉!).

Cons:

In the beginning it takes some effort to implement all the historic data which can lead to some difficulties.

Ledgy ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.6/10

Ledgy has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 28 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ledgy before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (28)

Julian
Julian
Investment Analyst in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Continuous improvement

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

- Ease of use: Once you start working with Ledgy, the functions all become very intuitive and easy to use. - All-in-all overview: Ledgy shows information, which would take hours to find with our old approach, in only one click and in a very easily understandable & visually appealing way. - Customer support: Whenever I had any question or reported a bug with Ledgy, I got a response within a day and the bug was often fixed shortly after.

Cons:

- Initial bugs: Not really a con, but as in any other software there were some bugs in the beginning, which made exact handling difficult. However, as I stated above Ledgy's customer support did a great job and fixed most of the bugs in a short amount of time.

Guillaume
In-house counsel in France
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

They say they make equity works. Indeed, it works.

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

There are lot of things that are really valuable from Ledgy. The ease to set up our account, import our transactions, create pools of incentives and grant stock options and other incentives through Ledgy. We really appreciate how the dashboard is. organised and the ease of customise our view and export them. The UX/UI of Ledgy is a plus. Every time we have question, there is always someone to answer to it efficiently and quickly.

Cons:

The possibility for investors to have a scenario modelling feature as we have as the Company, the PDF export doesn't take into account our customised view instead of the Excel export. The thing is, the tool is so good it gets a little bit frustrating when you realise the missing feature doesn't exist yet.

Jan
Jan
Intern in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cool tool for organizing your portfolio

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The tool provides vc firms with a great overview of their portfolio. You immediately see what your stake at a company is, what kind of shares you have, how much money you invested and so on. The tool helps to plan the portfolio better by allowing the user to create scenarios.

Cons:

In the beginning it takes some effort to implement all the historic data which can lead to some difficulties. However, there is great customer support and Ledgy always tries to help as much as they can.

Bianca
Head of Legal in UK
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Wish I'd moved to Ledgy sooner!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: We were looking for an equity management platform that not only made the process of issuing equity easier and more efficient but we also wanted to provide our employees with an equity dashboard that they would find engaging and motivating. Ledgy has done just that. Creating efficiencies with investor reporting has been a surprising benefit!

Pros:

The CS team is incredibly supportive and knowledgeable which is just what you need when dealing with sensitive employee equity data. Having spoken to their Product team, it is clear that they are laser focussed on their customers and making a product that speaks directly to their needs.

Cons:

I understand Ledgy are currently building out their functionality to make it even easier to prepare annual ERS filings and other standard reporting.

Rajko
Head of Global People Operations in Germany
International Trade & Development, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best tool to manage VSOP I have seen so far

5.0 last year

Comments: API interface was set up in no time. From the very first moment we were in good hands. The tool itself is very easy to be used.

Pros:

It is super easy to use and appealing look. Implementation was very fast and support from Ledgy was always outstanding. Our employees love the tool as well to see the development of their shares.

Cons:

Nothing I can think of until now. We have been very happy from the first moment.

Pablo
Head of Finance in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Probably the best equity management software

5.0 last year

Pros:

1- The possibility to make groups of stakeholders.2- The way to show the employee stock options is excellent.

Cons:

It's been an excellent migration experience so far, everything is going very well.

Alternatives Considered: LTSE Equity

Reasons for Choosing Ledgy: Because Carta tripled the pricing.

Switched From: Carta

Dominik
Head of Legal & Compliance in Switzerland
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very easy and quickly implemented

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: great product!

Pros:

There are so many features that Ledgy provides. But especially the round modelling helps a lot. For us it was important that all stakeholders have an easy separate login and have an overview over their investment.

Cons:

The notification feature is not that easy to understand. Also, it would be great to have an international QES functionality.

Kajal
People Ops Manager in UK
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Overall great experience from Implementation to Launch

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Assigned Customer Experience Manager was amazing. Hands on help with implementation and accommodated my requests for regular catch ups. Collaboration was customised for my company and not a general Ledgy approach.

Pros:

User friendly. So many other tools on the market focus on the compliance side. Ledgy has a good balance between both. You don't need to be an expert to implement and use this tool. Lots of integrations which make maintenance so much easier.

Cons:

More flexibility when running custom reports. Filters would be great.

Camilla
Investor Relations in UK
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Goodbye spreadsheets. Hello Ledgy.

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to set up and navigate. The investors also find it easy to find their outstanding positions.

Cons:

Not having a phone to contact customer support and not having the bot running 24/7. It's not a great experience if you work in different timezones and the team is not located in Europe.

Alternatives Considered: Carta

Janis
Operations Officer in Lithuania
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy implementation - intuitive to use

5.0 last year

Pros:

Easy set-up. Intuitive use. Great onboarding process and support.

Cons:

We are still working on integrating with our HR system, but there has been a new release.

Max
CEO in Germany
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ledgy saves you time

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Love it. Once you get to know it, it is easy to use, saves you heaps of time, increases transparency with shareholders and employees, and quickly became non-replaceable.

Pros:

It saves me around 1 hour per week on average, maybe 3-5 hours per week in phases where we hire a lot of people or are close to closing a financing round.

Cons:

It is not super intuitive initially. Here, a bit improved UX would be appreciated.

Nicholas
Head of Finance in Switzerland
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good bye Excel Cap Tables

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very pleasant. Support to set up is great, very reactive and following up on the status regularly. The team are open to suggestions. When [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] did not know an answer to my question, he did not wing an answer, but promised to get back to me. This swiss attitude is much appreciated.

Pros:

The fact that I can have multiple finance tasks done on one platform (Cap Table, reporting, signing of legal documents, ESOP, financing scenarios) It’s simplicity and fun atmosphere (just love the title “Danger Zone” in the settings😉!)

Cons:

As a novice in the use of Ledgy, I still have to find the answer to that question.

Christian
Customer Success Consultant in Switzerland
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Getting rid of manual calculations and Excel spreadsheets

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Share-, Option-, generally the whole stakeholder Management is substentially simplified, super efficient and even makes fun. History on transactions, splits, valuations can be seen at once, no painful searching necessary. Confidence that even if new requirements would come up, there is a friendly and reactive team supporting us.

Pros:

Ease of use, Reactivity of the Ledgy-Team, Proactivity (offering support, explaining features, pioneering), Speed in development

Cons:

Generally nothing worth mentioning. Great thing would be a mass mailing function to all stakeholders incl one or multiple attachements.

Marc
Co-founder in Switzerland
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Makes cap table and employee stock management easy

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Overview Shared with relevant stakeholders (investors, employees) Modeling of investment rounds Integrated Stock Option Plans

Cons:

Nothing so far. All working great and regular additions of new features.

Alternatives Considered: Carta

Laurent
CEO in Switzerland
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Must have for every startup

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Excellent captable management tool with additional features for management of shareholders and option holders

Cons:

No particular things I did not like. New features are continuously released.

Martin
Martin
CFO in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No brainer

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's plug and play... very easy to use and cost efficient

Pros:

* Ease of use * Various easy to use functions for shareholders * Modelling capability * Uploading of relevant documents

Cons:

* Not yet fully usable when it comes to modelling complex funding rounds

Chris
Head of Finance in South Africa
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use & great customer support

5.0 last year

Comments: Makes managing option grants & exercising significantly easier

Pros:

We switched from a competitor product to Ledgy & found the product far superior and much easier to use. The onboarding experience took about 6 weeks due to complexities on our end, however the onboarding team were more than helpful every step of the way.

Cons:

We require signature witnessing and this requires an integration with Docusign, which was an additional expense for us. It would be great if Ledgy could build in witnessing capabilities to their own product (it has signature functionality, but not witnessing).

Felix
Finance in Austria
Program Development, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nice tool for handling cap table and shareholder transcations

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

simplicity and possiblity to give investors access, also the round modelling is nice

Cons:

the signature process ist just being implemented, happy to see that coming soon

Dilyana
Strategic Projects Manager in Germany
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly recommended

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ledgy offers a fantastic cap table management solution. The Customer Success team did a great job in helping us get up to speed and answering all our requests while setting up the tool initially.

Cons:

I am overall quite happy with Ledgy. Since the company is quite young, they are yet to develop more advanced customization and scenario modeling features and I am very much looking forward to them.

Michael
CEO in Switzerland
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Equity management for startups

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ledgy takes everything around cap table management and company ownership to the next level. The tedious spreadsheet days are gone.

Cons:

Some features still missing, but it's a young product and company, so they'll add those eventually...

Alessandro
Partner & Head of Strategic Projects in Switzerland
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Practical tool to manage equity incentive plans

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easeness of setup, intuitive, compliance, support

Cons:

Designs might be upgraded as they seemed a bit old fashioned

Ralph
VP People & Culture in Netherlands
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ledgy at Crunchr

4.0 last year

Comments: Since we use Ledgy, our cap table is very organized and employees have a good view on their options and value from that. Great support from CS team in setting it up.

Pros:

Employee experience is great: looks shiny but easy to understand.

Cons:

The share value as presented on the main screen can be improved.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cap Table Management made easy

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Using the bulk function, the cap tables can be easily copied from Excel to Ledgy, thus saving a lot of time with large amounts of data.

Cons:

I would like to be able to use the bulk function if I want to adjust a financing round again. This function does not seem to be available yet.

Nicolas
Accountant in Germany
Human Resources, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pro and cons

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It makes the workflow easier and reduce the time we have to spend. For example to sign contracts for the capital increase.

Cons:

That it is not so easy for a legal entity to sign contracts.

Tobias
Co-Founder & CEO in Switzerland
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Must-have for every startup

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Offers all the features we need and customer service is state of the art.

Cons:

The UX does sometimes not feel 100% intuitive, but they're getting there.