Redis is awesome

Reviewed on 07/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Software Engineer
Financial Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Redis is a basic, but extremely fast, key-value storage. We made a decision to use Redis because our use case didn't require a full blown database. We needed something to hold the data temporarily and loss of that data wouldn't lead to any issues. Redis was perfectly fitting our use case, and since then we are a bunch of happy Redis users.

Pros: - Being a non-SQL database, it does not require any structure. Perfect for unstructured data like key-value pairs. - Redis is extremely fault tolerant. As soon as we write a record, it gets saved to the disk, without any performance issues. - Redis is very lightweight. In docker it takes less than 30MB, so it is so easy to run multiple containers in cluster without taking too much power. - Redis has a very good query API, and they are in their website each operation is clearly mentioned with its time complexity. This gives you a clear picture of performance. We didn't in fact do any performance testing because we trusted their site with all the information. - Redis has a very strong community around it. We have never found an issue for which a solution didn't exist beforehand.

Cons: A cluster in Redis was a little hard to understand and deploy, but this is a one time thing to learn, no worries.

Redis Enterprise - OSS or Enterprise

Reviewed on 30/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Leaders in Innovation Fellow
Public Policy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, I would really appreciate the Redis Enterprise engagement especially the support as that is something (apart from cluster support) which really makes it shine.

Pros: The pros over other solutions and its open source versions include: 1) On the fly scaling
Scale to more/less cores and memory as and when needed.
2) Cluster support
Support for clusters unlike the OSS version where the cap is on 1 core and fixed memory.
3) High availability & automatic failover
Redis enterprise manages the failover internally, so no crashes.
4) Predefined SLAs
A mandatory spec definition required by most enterprise customers
5) Monitoring, alerts, etc all such services are available
Get notifications on configurable events

Cons: Well, the pricing may not be very well suited for small companies which are low on budget. Not really a con as the open source version does most of the things except for the cluster support on the technical side of things.

The nearly perfect cache

Reviewed on 12/03/2019
Gedson S.
Senior Production Engineer
Telecommunications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We're caching mostly everything now in Redis. Performace has ski-rocketed,ans the database decoupling has also improved application resilience and reliability.

Pros: Redis is a very flexible key-value store, allowing a lot of different data types. You can set a TTL for each key, you an have replica stores, you can set up a Pub/Sub, you can persist to disk, and all this in memory, with blazing fast performance and unbeatable reliability.

Cons: No database known to men can, to this date, provide consistent transactions, partition tolerance and high availability. Redis is no exception here.

Redis is super fast in-memory cache

Reviewed on 24/03/2018
Ashish A.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are using Redis to provide faster response rate by storing and retrieving data from redis. We also use redis to process our background jobs. Benefit i received from using redis is speed and reliability.

Pros: Redis is high performance open source in-memory cache. Redis is my favorite choice to store data into cache. Cache can be used in multiple use cases like session storage, page caching, temporary data caching for faster speed. Redis supports various data types: Lists , Sorted sets , hash tables, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes. Redis provides secure and high availability service.

Cons: It is tricky and time taking process to setup redis for production environment if using to process background jobs.

Benefits Accrued by integrating Redis as a Cache storage .

Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Joseph N.
Software Developer intern
Management Consulting, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The fact that Redis boasts of more than a billion downloads means that if you have a problem you are most likely not the first person to come across it. And with its massive online community your problem gets sorted quickly. For newbies, I highly recommend visiting Redis university website for online tutorials with practical applications of Redis data structures.

Pros: Redis has many benefits one of them being speed, reliability, and extensibility. Redis as a cache storage optimizes the fetching of data to and from the main storage. I also like the fact that with every Redis version that gets released a number of commands are added which simplifies work.

Cons: Redis to me has made my job simpler having not used any other product for a cache storage before am a Happy Redis user.

Simply put Redis is fastest and easiest to use data storage software I've ever used.

Reviewed on 01/08/2018
Miguel H.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Faster development times and easy database scaling.

Pros: It's fast, reliable, and easy to use. The added support and scalability of Redis Enterprise allows an already easy to use solution to scale to solve any problem.

Cons: Redis has some limitations with how it stores its data in order to achieve such great performance. Often times this trade off is well worth it for something that works as fast as Redis.

Absolute non-avoidable piece of your software solution

Reviewed on 28/01/2019
Suyog K.
Chief Software Architect
Public Relations & Communications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: couple of years back I started using redis, I was new to redis, datastructure, lua script, hosting, clustering but their technical team helped us to design the architecture using their services and guiding to build best practices

Pros: Redis enterprise gain big confidence in market with their ready solutions build on redis database. these ready solutions and new data structures are helping to build software applications much faster and with great performances

Cons: Costing is little high, but if you are getting best solutions with less time to go to market then why not pay?

Redis review

Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Omer G.
Technical Operations Engineer
Research, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: In general I'm very pleased with the software and it meets the needs I need - a good opportunity to say thank you!

Pros: I use this software to manage all user data in our apps at the company:
Software that works very simply with a real-time update of our user status in the app.
It's very easy to update users' data.

Cons: Sometimes information from certain keys can not be cross-referenced.
The filters sometimes do not work at all (or not well).

Good Service

Reviewed on 26/06/2019
Joe C.
CTO
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The overall experience has been good. We use it for storing/accessing user sessions and it has met our needs very well with little cost.

Pros: It is fairly simple to get up and running and extremely cost effective. Beyond those base points, it scales extremely well and performance is great.

Cons: The documentation is not very good at all when it comes to the available commands. It is a difficult task to learn how to use Redis from the documentation.

Redis Enterprise Beyond what was imagined

Reviewed on 25/02/2019
Buena C.
Technical Account
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: High avaibility, excellent service, covers the need to have several Redis databases on a server,

Pros: Write data in a quick way
Can be used as an intermediate layer
Durable and zero dataloss

Cons: For those who use software for the first time it is challenging

REDIS ENTERPRISE FOR HYBRID DATASTORE

Reviewed on 17/11/2018
Prakash S.
Principal Software Engineer
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are merging the data nearly a million coming from multiple apis as a feed.We need to mesh the feed and get the results out of it.
We have improved our search time 4X times faster by using redis.

Pros: We use redis extensively in our application.The basic factors it stands out from the crowd are
1.Fast
2.Reliable
3.Rich set of data structures
4.Easily scalable

Cons: Some better documentation and tutorials they can have.

Perfect default chose for high load solutions

Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Rail S.
Lead Software Developer
Computer Software, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Redis as probably everyone know - simple and simply works. As it simple it's easy to start using it by new developers. Simply work means that it requires minimum it support.

Cons: So no Cons actually. Just like with any solution it's not a Silver bullet. Learn about it and read documentation and use cases. Know when is better to not use it.

Using in production for 4 years

Reviewed on 17/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Entertainment, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We are using Redis for session management and query result caching and the experience this far has been very smooth.

Cons: Love to see soe good tools for monotoring the Reds clusters.

Best in-memory key store

Reviewed on 13/01/2019
Jorge M.
Engineer
Telecommunications, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Redis has brought an impacting performance boast to many of our apps. Whenever data doesn't change very frequently we're using Redis as DB cache.

Pros: Easy to setup and get running
Simple to use by developers and sysadmins alike
Very high performance
High reliability
Master-slave replication
Pub/sub support

Cons: Some operations are very complex (e.g. zrevrangebyscore)

Redis is great

Reviewed on 06/05/2019
Zack H.
Senior Software Engineer
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It has been great. We wouldn't have chose anything else for the use case.

Pros: Redis is a small lightweight storage platform. It does it's job and is really simple to use. It is very scalable and a no brainer to use.

Cons: Redis doesn't have a lot of features, which is a good and bad thing. It's just a simple map storage technology.

Ease of setup, performant database

Reviewed on 11/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Associate
Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have been using Redis Enterprise to power our main database and to build low latency applications. So far our experience has been great, and it's very production ready

Pros: - Performant
- Low latency
- Ease of scaling and maintaining

Cons: - Remote support
- There is a gap between the open source solution and the enterprise, but it's negligible

great in memory data base

Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Acquisitions Leader
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: great experience is implementing and using this in memory data solution

Pros: It is open source and is a very flexible data base as far as data structures are concerned and hence is a great in memory data solution

Cons: actually, there is nothing that I dislike since it serves the purpose really well

Great service overwall

Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Emiliano P.
SRE Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: - Simple and easy to use
- Great support team

Cons: - The pricing is a bit high, but it's ok for enterprise companies

Redis is best NoSQL DB.

Reviewed on 19/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Sr. Software Engineer
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We solved our very complex business logic. We are handling lot of users request at same time. Redis reduces our content loading time. I can say redis is excellent db.

Pros: Redis is the world's faster NoSQL database. Redis read and write is very fast.

Cons: Redis does not have data-structure like RDBMS.

Great in-mem DB

Reviewed on 29/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director of DevOps
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Great in-mem DB for cacheing and boasting transactional DBs

Pros: Very reliable
Very fast
Very flexible
Simple command set

Cons: Command set could be more powerfull
An evolution to a distributed architecture would be amazing

Redis is best in cache storage

Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Amit S.
Web Developer
Design, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall experience is awesome not because of its fastest speed. because of excellent service provide by Redis, technical support and many more.

Pros: I like most about redis is high performance in memory cache. This cache we can use in temporary data storage, page caching etc. I like redis high speed cache, reliability and it is easy to use. It can help to build faster application with fast performance. and redis is durable for long time because of its faster performance.

Cons: For a beginner, it might be tough to know about its all functionality. Somehow I feel the pricing is also one more reason.

Very effecient

Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Christophe J.
Technical Lead
Online Media, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We can rely on Redis Enterprise on a lot of use cases. Very performant, efficient and reliable in many use cases.

Cons: The principal problem is that if you want to use Redis as a power toll and not a basic key-value store, you have to un-learn how to structurate your data without retrying to reproduce what have been done in other (no)SQL products

Reliable and powerfull data base tool

Reviewed on 08/04/2019
Deepak B.
full stack web developer
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Don't try to to use it on premise. For smoothly work look for redis in a cloud provider. its functionality is extemely fast.

Pros: Along with product and service both are remarkable. It is a fast, reliable and most powerfull database tool. We have used redis extensively primarily because of friendly UI design. It is so easy to integrate and running in the organization. It has read and write speed of redis is extremely fast.

Cons: It's hard for me to find any dislike. overall i like it.

Redis is great...

Reviewed on 19/07/2019
Ashish S.
NA
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Its a great piece of software with great ease of usage..

Pros: It has roots in open source and is high in performance.

Cons: the open-source plugins repository is great but how about integrating them in the main product at a faster rate and make room for more innovation.

Great in memory data structure

Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Abhishek V.
Backend Developer
Design, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like most about open source redis is how quickly it's growing and with seamless service support. it is fast and convenient for many application implementation. How smoothly it can uses for many purposes like caching files, queueing, pub/sub systems and storing temporarily data storage.

Cons: well I didn't find anything to dislike it. but i recommend to make it more secure to protect data.