15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ETQ Reliance

ETQ is the world’s most flexible, powerful & easy-to-use advanced QMS for quality-centric organizations in dozens of industries.

Learn more about ETQ Reliance

Pros:

The ability to connect records throughout the many modules allows for seamless availability of data during investigations and audits.

Cons:

Since moving to the cloud we have lost the ability to the database for real time information, for reporting and trouble shooting.

ETQ Reliance ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

ETQ Reliance has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 47 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ETQ Reliance before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (47)

santhosh
santhosh
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

"Streamlining Quality Management with ETQ Reliance: A Comprehensive Review"

5.0 last year

Pros:

From my experience using ETQ Reliance, I have found the software to be highly user-friendly, with a comprehensive set of features that have allowed me to easily manage various quality processes all in one platform. One of the aspects I appreciate most is the ability to customize workflows, which has enabled me to tailor the software to meet my organization's specific needs. The reporting and analytics capabilities have also been beneficial, allowing me to gain insights into our quality management processes and identify areas for improvement. Additionally, the customer support provided by ETQ has been excellent, with quick and helpful responses to any questions or issues I've encountered. Overall, I highly recommend ETQ Reliance for organizations looking for a powerful and customizable solution for quality management.

Cons:

In my experience with ETQ Reliance, there were a few cons that I came across. I found the software to be quite expensive, and it required a significant investment from our organization. Additionally, while the customization features are excellent, it did take some time and effort to get the hang of them. Finally, I did notice some performance issues when dealing with large data volumes, which was a bit frustrating. Nonetheless, I still believe that ETQ Reliance is a robust and comprehensive solution for quality management, and I would recommend it to other organizations in need of such a system.

Jason
QMS Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Quality Driven System for Multi-Faceted Healthcare company

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been able to solve the our issues with document control and managing complaints and CAPAs using ETQ.

Pros:

The ability to connect records throughout the many modules allows for seamless availability of data during investigations and audits.

Cons:

The use of the ETQ Academy to teach users is still limited but is always improving and providing new courses for users. The ETQ Community provides even the most basic users the full knowledge of all the ETQ user world which can help with the short comings in ETQ Academy.

David
SWQA - Process Engineer in US
Medical Devices, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ETQ Reliance - Upgrade Nightmare from v17 to v2023

1.0 10 months ago

Comments: ETQ Reliance overall does provide a lot of features that are extremely useful for a Quality Management System overall. If we had no QMS and upgraded to this version it would be a vast improvement. There are many features, functions and modules that will help any company wanting to establish a QMS system. The support we received for this upgrade was dismal as we were told repeatedly "System Limitation". The worst thing about this whole episode is that it now takes 3 times as long to do the same task. Clearly productivity isn't one of their goals. If they hired Human Factors people with database management backgrounds they could probably have improved this latest product much better and been more easily received.

Pros:

V17 - Pros - Allowed for large file names, could add documents easily and simple filters worked.V2023a - Logs you out sooner to prevent people from keeping a document locked for an extended period of time. You can now drag and drop documents for attachments and you can download multiple files at the same time. Saved Filters is a bit nicer.

Cons:

ETQ Reliance v17 vs v2023. We were forced to v2023 and this newer version literally takes 3x longer to do the same simple tasks that we were able to do in V17. Text does not stay open and have to reopen it frequently.Attachment box is too big and you cant tell which items you are trying to delete if more than 10 items are listed.Tabs for Multiple ModulesColors are depressing and useless - previous version you could clear define what was was.

John
Quality/Compliance Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powerful software, customization more difficult

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: ETQ Reliance had been set up and working, partially for several years, but when it was upgraded from 2019 to 2020, some of the forms no longer worked. Use of the software decreased as others found the software difficult to customize. Attempts to correct this with assistance from ETQ has failed so far. Management is souring on the use of this software due to a decrease in technical support.

Pros:

ETQ Reliance is focused on the requirements for pharmaceutical industry with FDA compliance, but can be customized for ISO 9001 compliance. There is an extensive library of training video for each of the modules, customization of layouts and forms, and for all administrative duties.

Cons:

If you are not familiar with programming software, such as Basic, customizing the program can be a challenge. Though the software comes with preset forms, if modifications are needed, the task can be daunting.

Katherine
EtQ Reliance System Administrator in US
Medical Devices, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Benefits of EtQ Reliance

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall Reliance is a great product, easy to use, and has been beneficial in harmonizing our many locations.

Pros:

The best features of Reliance outside of the ease of use is the ability to configure it to your processes. You are not restricted to something out of the box that works for some and not for all.

Cons:

Since moving to the cloud we have lost the ability to the database for real time information, for reporting and trouble shooting. Also, things we were able to do ourselves now are billable services such as cloning environments and dropping schemas.

Tracy
Sr Dir QA in US
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Symmetry Surgical : EtQ for a mid size organization with limited resources for software management.

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, our experience has been great. We have eliminated paper documents and records along with the challenges of a paper system. We have significantly reduced the number of audit findings for record accuracy, completeness and availability. Utilizing notifications and views to manage work has kept our QMS system ready for audits at any time. We are completing activities such as document control, complaint tracking, NCMR tracking, PM/Calibration Tracking in 50% less time than before with paper and excel systems. I highly recommend the system.

Pros:

Product is easy to use with basic computer skills making adoption of applications (modules) on the shop floor easy. For a med device organization, the out of the box software meets the basic compliance requirements and follows a typical flow of activities. Minimal configuration is required to align with specifics about each organization. The connection profiles and excel import sheets make loading master data extremely easy. Once you get a module up and running as a pilot, rolling out to other facilities is extremely easy. Notifications and Views significantly improve ability to manage activities and required follow-up.

Cons:

1. The software is easy to configure if you have someone in your QA organization that is IT inclined that can understand basic configuration activities. Our experience is that the configuration works best when managed within the department and not totally dependent on RC hours or an IT dedicated resource to support. This may make adoption a little more difficult for some organizations. Other software may be more drop and drag....but you are also more limited on the configurations that you can make. 2. With our current version of the software, collaboration in document approval routing is difficult. It becomes a series of rejections for corrections and reroutings which can aggravate approvers. I believe newer versions have addressed this better.

Careena
Quality Systems Specialist in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to Learn and Use!

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, my experience with ETQ Reliance has been very positive. I'm looking forward to continuing to work with them.

Pros:

This software is easy to learn and use, and I appreciate that they are always looking for ways to improve their product and services. I was new to quality systems and taking over the administrative role was daunting, but ETQ has made the transition as smooth as possible by offering educational tools and support to help guide me in my new position. Our company uses Reliance for Document Control, CAPAs, Waivers, Nonconforming Materials, Assets, Calibration and Maintenance, and Quality Records, and we are hoping to implement their Training Management module soon, in addition to other applications. The ability to integrate this software with other systems is also a bonus as we continue to improve our own internal processes.

Cons:

ETQ is pushing to move to SAAS, and our company isn't quite ready to make the jump. I'm concerned that services and improvements for on-prem customers will start to lack as the focus moves more towards SAAS.

Waylon
IT Programmer in US
Chemicals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Two Companies, One Guy

5.0 last year

Comments: The software package as a whole is very versatile and when roadblocks are meant, the help desk (thru support and project cases) assist to find quick solutions. We recently discovered an issue in the upgrade patch we took on (v20a) and ETQ was quick to deliver a bug fix ahead of schedule (v23a). I also appreciate the flow of communication we receive from [sensitive content hidden] on webinars and upcoming events. The personal touch is not always seen from other companies.

Pros:

I have worked for two companies as a programmer in this software package under very different use cases. The fundamentals are the same even though one company made Nuclear Fuel and the other Flavors & Fragrances. "Out-of-the-Box" is the same for all customers and configured individually to the needs of the user.

Cons:

Later versions of the software have removed some of the capabilities of the programmer and that can be a hard adjustment, but it is understood why these areas are locked down and free of custom configurations.

Mudssar
Mudssar
Asst. Manager Porecurement in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ETQ Perfect for Quality Improvement System

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall wonderful experience with it, for compliance of QMS on large industry its a good option, further modification and customization can be done by changing QMS scenarios.
Analyze the opportunity of improvement with its cost is easier with this software.

Pros:

Best software to implement, control and monitoring of effective quality management system, The core of quality management system like Corrective, preventive action for continuously improvement are comprehensively covered, get reported and tracked for improvement. Lean methodologies to low down the re work cost, production burdens and loses is very good strategy which is too covered and act upon accordingly. Human resource development i.e their training, skills level record, needs are too covered which enables smooth, faultless production. Saas platform, remotely working is good thing to access it over multi locations. Integration with other tools, apis is versatile data reading, which record reading direct from tool. Quality improvement for from customer complaints is recorded in a effective way. KPIs based dashboard which effectively monitor ROIs aswell performance of QMS and employees.

Cons:

Visuals are not so interactive for large data, large data should be mandatory reading by visuals. The linkage or effects of cost of improvement on ROI can not be analyzed on it. BI and automation is not enough to drive QMS stratigically.

Marlene
Executive Director Quality in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This software has become the hub of our best business practices, database and management system.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We manage our total Quality management System and audits systems from this software. It is a valuable database which we are able to feed the data to our BI systems and create dashboards and metrics with little effort after original set up.

Pros:

The configurability and the ability to teach the basics to staff that has basic computer science and SQL/Java knowledge within weeks. The ability to influence changes in the product updates and the continued focus by EtQ on usability.

Cons:

First time users find it daunting but it is as much about change management as the software itself. EtQ needs to emphasize simplicity to new product users for greater acceptance of the product upon release.

Tom
Manager, Enterprise Manufacturing Solutions Architect in US
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly configurable QMS platform with dozens of built-in modules/applications

4.0 last year

Pros:

- I love how configurable the platform is and that we are able to import/migrate data from other systems into the platform. - Many of the OOB modules are very well designed and integrated, which helps create a holistic quality experience that complies with ISO-9001 requirements. - The "designer" experience is very robust and nearly limitless in capabilities, which has helped us use Reliance to replace multiple legacy applications, even when there was no similar OOB option available. - ETQ employees are passionate about the product and very customer centric. - Built-in support for "localization" (system-level language translations) is also a great feature. - The backend database structure is very well architected. - ETQ Academy has been a very welcome addition to the platform for our users to learn more about a OOB module without needing to schedule a formal demo with ETQ. - There have been a lot of leadership org changes at ETQ over the past year, and I'm happy with the current direction the company seems to be headed.

Cons:

- A lot of new users complain that the software not very intuitive to use and navigate. - License prices have increased a lot over the years and features that used to be included for free, now cost money (upgrades, SaaS environment clones, etc.). - The new Reliance "NXG" ("Next Generation") product poses a number of security concerns due to its multi-tenant hosting architecture. - No access to our data via SQL in NXG is a roadblock and we will not upgrade until there is a viable alternative to access our data that doesn't cost extra. - The "mobile" app experience is lacking in functionality (no support for Visibility Rules, no ability to "approve" a doc, etc.). - Built-in web services (APIs) are lacking and could use a refresh with more capabilities. - ETQ Insights is a reporting platform that should be included in the base platform, not a purchasable add-on.

Joel
Staff Solutions Architect in US
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

5 Star History, Uncertain Future

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Historically, VERY customer focused organization, however each subsequent time they are aquired, this "pro" seems to degrade significantly. In fairness, seems pretty standard to lose customer focus when smaller companies continually get aquired. Older versions very flexible and easy to configure. Very fast to deploy and at an amazing value compared to competitors. Newer versions less so compared to original. Still much easier to do oneself than their competitor platforms, keeping costs in check if you have an in-house resource. Marketing team is fantastic. Customer Support is generally pretty good. Level 1 support seems to suffer from turnover / lack of experience, but leadership and intention is top notch. Academy (online user training) and customer forums are GREAT.

Cons:

Currently going through what appears to be a philosophical pivot on their offering so the future roadmap is unclear to long time customers. Appears many new development choices are more focused on simplifying the product for the benefit of EtQ at expense of the customer and what they were originally sold. They appear to be pivoting away from flexibility as a core value by taking features away from customers. Older customers are not happy (bordering on angry), but newer customers will not know what they have lost and may be perfectly happy with the "new" value proposition.

John
Director Quality Assurance in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ETQ Reliance

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have reviewed and used many QMS software programs and ETQ reliance is very flexible easy to customize.
ETQ tech support and customer service is awesome.

Pros:

Cloud function and storage is great. Flexible design capability and changes to processes/workflow.

Cons:

Limited print capabilities such as font and size capability.

Andrea
IMS Developer in US
Mining & Metals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nucor Gallatin

4.0 last year

Pros:

I like the flexibility of configuring this software.

Cons:

Not a fan of some of the flexibility being taken away with NXG solutions.

Jennifer
Quality Control Associate in US
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software made receiving product, moving product, and finding errors much simpler than the old software we were using. A little confusing at first, but after a couple weeks of use it is very easy to navigate.

Cons:

It took a few weeks to really learn the ins and outs of the software, how to navigate it, but glad we made the switch.

Justin
Quality Systems Director in US
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The One-Stop-Shop For Any Management System

5.0 last year

Comments: We have taken several paper systems and made them digital. We've also eliminated bottlenecks from the old paper trail system, as well as silos where nobody could easily communicate with one another.

Pros:

Since beginning with document control and employee training, we have easily been able to transfer and evenintegrate older systems into etq. We've now come such a long way from those older tools and have made everyone's jobs much easier. The amount of transparency and sharing that we've achieved from etq was monumental.

Cons:

Some of the out of box solutions in modules like Employee Training and Assets can be cumbersome to make work for us.

Kirk
Quality Assurance Specialist in Canada
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have been using EtQ products since 2002. It's been a great experience!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Return on Investment is high. User acceptability. Overall ease of use. Reliance is fully integrated into our Enterprise system.

Pros:

Very easy to custom configure the design from our end or to build an entire application from scratch, users like it for ease of use, easy to pull data for reporting, Tech support responds to issues within an hour or two max - 99% of my issues are not to fix something but for how to do something, upgrades are reasonably painless, enterprise scaling is fairly straight forward and cost is very reasonable.

Cons:

We are experiencing some issues getting the mobility functionality working properly. I believe that it's something at our end. EtQ Tech support is sending a technician onsite to assist with troubleshooting the issue. Other than that there really isn't much to not like.

Christopher
QA Compliance Manager in US
Medical Devices, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ETQ Reliance Review from Medical Device view

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are a Medical Device Manufacturer and we are in a highly controlled industry. The software is validated and we can make changes as we see fit to better match our unique needs.

Pros:

The system does come out of the box with a lot of functionality and we did use a lot of it. The ability to customize to our unique needs was also beneficial.

Cons:

The system currently uses ETQ Academy for most training but I would also like to have more of a textbook for each of the systems. Using the videos is to slow to find information and not specific enough. Users would like better methods of creating Ad Hoc reporting. The system is locked down for the basic users and they cannot make their own reports/views.

Tony
SR BSA in US
Medical Devices, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Quality Software, easy to use

5.0 last year

Comments: ETQ Reliance has helped digitize our CAPA and NCMR Process

Pros:

Easy to configure to specific business process.

Cons:

Integrations can be hard to set up and you will most likely need help from an ETQ IC.

Steve
Quality Systems Manager in US
Dairy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ETQ Reliance is a Great Software for ensuring Food Safety Management System Compliance

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Some elements that I like most about the software are below: -It is easy to set up new users and they general grasp using ETQ as an end user fairly quickly -Change control of documents and materials is easily managed. -Office Integration with documents is easy to set up and reduces redundancy in updating revision numbers.

Cons:

Some elements that are not my favorite in the software: -Username and passwords are not able to be saved for ease of login -When doing change requests, documents need to be downloaded and re-uploaded. It would be nice to hit save and have it automatically updated in the system.

Rodney
Senior Global Database Administrator in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome software platform

5.0 last year

Pros:

The ability to develop our own custom applications on a great base platform.

Cons:

Taking away features and implementing cloud technology

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ETQ Reliance

4.0 last year

Pros:

Flexibility and configurability. The ability to distribute administration to local sites.

Cons:

Lack of support and degraded speed after the recent upgrade. ETQ has said that it will focus resources on the cloud solution and just kinda maintain the on-prem solution. It is pushing on-prem customers to move to the cloud solution which however is TOO expensive. This has left on-prem customers in a quandary wondering about options. This could be reasons for the lack of ongoing and development support.

Cliff
Quality Systems Leader in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use for every level of business. Flexible enough for every business function

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Flexibility. It can be used for just about anything. We call it the anything engine because it is flexible enough to be used on the plant floor or high level enough to be used by VPs. It is easy enough for normal non-technical business users to configure and get extreme value and flexible enough for highly technical developers to implement unique solutions.

Cons:

The biggest grip we have with this software is the lack of reporting capabilities. There are some out of the box feature, but they are dated and limited in functionality.

Ellen
EHS Technician in US
Chemicals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EtQ has been an important partner in our EHSS team for many years and has grown with our team.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It keeps us on track with all of the EHSS compliance tasks required.

Pros:

EtQ's Reliance is very flexible and we have been able to fit the software to the task instead of having to modify our systems to fit the software. It also has so many modules that help us manage the ever growing list of compliance tasks.

Cons:

The Employee Training module is scheduled for a much needed update. It can't come soon enough. As it is right now the training module is really just a repository for training dates at our company.

Cindy
Cindy
Quality Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our experience with EtQ software has been great.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We receive many benefits ie central repository for data, escalation process for tasks, easy document control system, etc.

Pros:

Having a central repository for data from various people in the organization is very helpful. Also, when customers come in for auditing purposes and we are able to show them our systems on the computer, they are very impressed.

Cons:

Ease of use for people with weak computer skills. Items that were once on older versions of the software are not always available on the newer versions.