Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1/5
  • Customer Service
    4/5

About IDrive

Versatile solution that offers backup for multiple devices, including servers and mobile devices, through one account.

Learn more about IDrive

Showing 74 reviews

Mark d. M.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018

"Excellent Offsite Backup solution for a reasonable price"

Pros: I work with a number of servers. There isn't an extra charge for backing up a server like it's main competitors. There's a wealth of options that let you control what you backup, when you backup and for how long. On servers, it allows you to perform AD, SQL, Sharepoint, and Exchange server backups.

Cons: Initial backups seem to take longer than some of it's main competitors. The wealth of options may be a bit intimidating for novice users. The price increase when adding additional space above 500gb is excessive. It's cheaper to purchase a 2nd account.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Aviram G.
CTO
Entertainment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/01/2020

"a Solid solution for cloud backup"

Pros: iDrive is very easy to install and set up, i was backuping all my computers in 1 hour once i've done setting up everything. the Smartphone app to monitor whats working and what is not is a nice bonus.

Cons: the UI is alittle bit outdated and sluggish, buts nothing that decrease the effectiveness of it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/01/2020
Dustin Y.
Self
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020

"Great Backup Tool!"

Comments: I have not had any issues with the software and I used it for free for a year and I decided to purchase it because its a lot cheaper than most other backups and with more storage. I love having this and its very easy to access from anywhere.

Pros: What I like the most about iDrive is that you can set a backup schedule and it runs without interrupting. My computers back up at around 8pm on a daily basis so I know all of my important files are always safe. I can set many devices and computers to backup as separate backups so nothing gets replaced on accident.

Cons: Sometimes its kind of hard and slow to restore files if you have reformatted or need to restore, but overall its not bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020
Joe W.
Principal Consultant
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2018

"Used to be good but not any more"

Comments: They used to be so good! I don't know what happened to them. New owners? New development and support team? Their Support crew didn't seem very interested and I frequently had to prompt them into action. When I cancelled my old account they still tried to charge me a subscription renewal for it - turns out they deliberately obscure the process needed to cancel so you think you've cancelled when you haven't. I'm disappointed when any company uses deceptive tactics to make it difficult to cancel recurring billing. When I cancelled my new account (because it never worked and they couldn't make it work) they would not fully refund me. That's both mean-spirited and a very foolish business decision when I can clearly show by their own email chain that they never once provided a working product. That means disputed credit charge transaction and a very expensive merchant chargeback, all for the sake of a couple of dollars. I don't know what business manager thinks that makes sense.

Pros: I used to use a legacy version of iDrive on a legacy plan. It worked great. I was always impressed with them keeping versions of files and retaining deleted files indefinitely. Nothing else out there touches it for features. Unfortunately it simply doesn't work any more.

Cons: I wanted to upgrade to a modern plan and for that I had to upgrade to the current version of iDrive. It never worked. Not once. Many emails to and from iDrive Support and they could not get it to work. Keep in mind the old version worked perfectly for years on this machine. It would hang for 12+ hours in "preparing file list" even when I reduced the backup set to a single file of only 1Kb in size.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2018
Scott L.
President
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020

"IDrive is a good choice for backup"

Comments: Setup was fairly straightforward. You can create as many sub-users as you want who can also back up their hard drives using a shared space. You pay per GB, not per user, which makes the product more affordable for team or family use. I have not needed tech support so far.

Pros: IDrive is a cloud backup solution that saves up to 30 prior versions of your files. This makes it a great solution to protect against ransomware. If you get hit by ransomware, you can restore older versions of the files that are not corrupted. It offers solid encryption, including the ability to define a Private Key, which means IDrive cannot decrypt your files at all...not if they get hacked, not if they have a dishonest admin, and not if a government agency demands that your files be turned over to them.

Cons: It does everything advertised. One additional feature I recommend they implement is that for their backup to an external local hard drive, IDrive should be able to encrypt the data on the external local hard drive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020
Aris J.
Managing Director
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018

"Powerful tool for any size business"

Comments: Having our own encryption key.

Pros: Idrive is an amazing tool - powerful with lots of functionality. We liked how easy it was to set up and run a back up. Key decision for us having our own private encryption key. It has several backup options to choose from.

Cons: Although it is not a major issue for us, it would be nice if it had the option of unlimited space. Sometimes we might need files that are older than 10 versions. However , the benefits outweigh this function.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Tony B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2018

"Cloud Storage for an affordable budget."

Comments: I have solved the need for cloud storage and backup. The features offered are endless.

Pros: With cloud storage pricing increasing, IDrive offers a great solution for those looking to switch over to their platform. They offer awesome deals for users that are first time users.

Cons: There are no cons that I believe would steer anyone away from an awesome solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2018
Rodney M.
V.P.
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2020

"Good Software"

Pros: Once it's set up, it is virtually hands free.

Cons: Only con I have is setting up takes a little bit of time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2020
Benjamin K.
Senior Pastor
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"Installed, subscribed, and uninstalled"

Comments: The security of having your files backed up where they can be received should the need arise.

Pros: The software performs as described. It automatically backs up your files to an off-site server. Your files can be recovered should you have a hard disk failure.

Cons: The software is on the expensive side and it taxes your system resources significantly. Since it only backs up at specific times, you can lose file changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Brent P.
Director Of Information Technology
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2019

"If it works, it's probably fine, but we couldn't get far."

Pros: The feature set is rich. They have online file sync, ship physical drives, multiple device backups, etc...

Cons: We couldn't get it to stay working. It was solid for a year and then died. Tech did numerous remote in sessions and couldn't get it working. A full removal/re-install, etc... didn't help. No idea what the issue was, but had to change providers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/01/2019
Ronald R.
Partner
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2019

"Great Backup System"

Comments: Great system, no intent to ever change.

Pros: Great product, well priced, runs in background without using a lot of resources, real time backup, very fast to download files.

Cons: Searching is a little difficult, but not much. Desktop version sometimes doesn't work for downloading but the on-line version is faster anyways.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2019
Ben W.
Graphic and Web Designer
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2018

"Great free version with 5GB of online storage and full control, but customer service needs work."

Comments: 5GB of online backup and unlimited local backup (depending on drive size) for free! Great experience overall, especially when compared to other online backup options.

Pros: The free 5GB option is much better than a 30-day trial like some other online backup providers offer. I constantly get offers from IDrive to upgrade to a paid version but I know I will upgrade when I need more than 5GB of online storage. The local backup option is also great since you're only limited by the space of the of an external or mapped hard drive and it's included in the free version. Full control over what exact files are backed up and/or restored. Some programs force you to backup the entire C drive or only allow certain folders to backup. Easy to use interface with simple controls for the things you do most. The program is very straightforward and self-explanatory with little to no learning curve.

Cons: Customer service was difficult to work with when a backup error occurred. They claimed the backup was failing due to the 5GB quota being reached and that I needed to upgrade to solve the problem. After finally convincing them that I was only using 75% of the 5GB, it turns out I just had to reinstall the desktop app to solve the issue. With this kind of support for something as important as backing up critical files, it makes me question the overall reliabilty of IDrive altogether. As simple and easy to use the interface can be, it sometimes feels a bit limiting as far as the options it gives you. It would be nice to be able to switch to an "advanced mode" with more options like more detailed backup logs that explain exactly what is happening to your files and why they aren't being backed up if there's an issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2018
Scott F.
Owner/Operator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2018

"Very affordable cloud based backup AND sync solution for personal & business needs"

Comments: Hassle free and effective cloud based backups that simply sits in the background and does its job without reservation until you need it.

Pros: The price is what initially attracted me to use iDrive, but after using them for a while it became clear that even though it is affordable, it is also very effective. Once I had my backup jobs set there was quite literally nothing to do or worry about - just make sure the computer and internet stayed on. I loved being able to handle backups for ALL my drives and mobile devices on a single account and the online interface is great.

Cons: I'm not a huge fan of the PC application. It works, but it desperately needs to be fixed so that it is a little more intuitive. I noticed that many times the application consumes far too many system resources than it should for a resident backup utility, and finding some of the settings and abilities seemed harder than it should be at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2018
Mark W.
Knowledge Mangement & Technology Officer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018

"Affordable backup software for home or small business"

Pros: It is very affordable, easy to use and does exactly what it should...it gives you peace of mind that you will have your important files available in case of drive failure or emergency. After making the mistake of a single on-site backup in the early 2000s, I have kept a cloud backup too ever since. iDrive is my favorite since that time. The initial backup is easy as you can request a disk, put your files on it and send it in for them to upload directly to their servers. This saves a ton of time and bandwidth. You can also request files are returned this way if you need to restore and don't want to use the online restore. I have multiple drives all backing up to the same account and it maintains that separation, which is also great.

Cons: The only thing that drives me crazy is the files purge/cleanup. I have it set to run automatically every 30 days to clear out files I have deleted, but it always seems that I need to run it myself.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018
Dustin H.
Seminarian
Religious Institutions, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019

"iDrive"

Comments: Overall, I very much prefer iDrive to my previous cloud backup software. Would recommend.

Pros: I like that iDrive is affordable and does not backup only certain types of files based on your tier of membership. I love that you can encrypt the cloud back up as well as your local back up and that you can create an ISO drive image quickly and easily on an external hard drive.

Cons: I don't like that it seems I have to do a full system backup over again when I add a new file directory or drive. Even the scanning to verify files already on the serve takes a long time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/09/2019
Trudie V.
Office Manager
Oil & Energy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2018

"Easy way to back up all your files"

Comments: We have used this software for a little over 2 years and we have never encountered any issues. It does what it needs to do; back-up our files.

Pros: Once installed IDrive is easy to use. We used it for our business and it made a scheduled back-up, so we never had to think about making a back-up. You can set it up so you'll get a desktop notification when something went wrong with backing up a file, which is great. That way you only spend time when needed.

Cons: There's no unlimited storage option, so after 2 years we had to look for another option to back-up our files. It keeps older file versions forever, so you have to remove them to be able to get the most out of your storage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Partner
Financial Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2018

"Solid, secure online backup system for home or small business"

Pros: High security/encryption standard, remote redundant backup servers, easy installation and configuration. Automated local and/or cloud backup routines with error messages automatically generated and emailed to notify of any reasons for failed backups. Also option to receive notification of successful backups. Option for local encrypted drive back up in addition to cloud backup.

Cons: Installation and configuration of the local iDrive hard drive on the network was a bit less smooth than we expected. It's a proprietary drive they provide.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Executive Vice President
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2019

"Easy to setup and use"

Comments: There's nothing like automated backup, so this is one of many good choices that accomplish this, hands-off once you set it up properly. Just make sure to test and verify your backups to make sure everything is working properly.

Pros: Has an extensive set of options and features, such as incremental and compressed backups, file versioning and the handling of multiple devices.

Cons: It does not have unlimited online storage, so you need to pick your plan for now and then spend more as your space needs grow. Downloading can be a bit slow.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2019
Suzanne S.
Writer
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019

"Easy to use backup service"

Comments: Having my files backed up every day gives me peace of mind that if my hard drive fails, I still have all my data. That peace of mind is priceless.

Pros: 1. Ease of setup - it took just a few minutes to set up my preferences.
2. Ease of use - set it and forget it. As long as you have an internet connection, it backs up on schedule.
3. It works perfectly.

Cons: There are no cons for me. I've not had any problems this far, and don't expect to have any in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019
Lee T.
District Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"Nice cloud backup software"

Comments: Peace of mind knowing my files are backed up and are secure.

Pros: Very easy to use. The initial setup doesn't take much time and after the first backup runs, the others take little time. Love the ability to have instant backups on changed files instead of waiting for the nightly backup to run.

Cons: I don't like the fact that even though you delete files from your computer it still saves them in the cloud which takes away from your storage space.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Renelita M.
Owner
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2019

"Great for backing up important files"

Comments: My overall experience is good and it's good knowing that all my client's images are backup up safely.

Pros: I like that it easily and automatically backs up my files on my computer and external hard drive. I also like the mobile app that easily backs up my phone.

Cons: It's a little cumbersome to navigate in the program once the files are backed up. I have a little bit of a hard time finding how to add my cell phone backup. I had to download the mobile app instead which worked much better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Finance Officer
Religious Institutions, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Great Security"

Comments: We easily set it up and all was well when I would look back and see where it had backed up. However, something took place where it was not backing up and I did not realize. Don't know why it stopped working but I contacted the staff and they corrected the "bug" or whatever without my having to stay on line while they fixed it. I got a notice that it had been corrected the next morning. When I talked to them they were very nice (although not very clear English, which seems to always be true no matter what software company I am dealing with) but he did know what to do and did it without me having to wait on line. That was nice.

Pros: This system backs up quite well and on schedule. Less expensive than previous software backup systems.

Cons: It would be nice if I had been aware the software was not working correctly by getting some notification. For some reason the backup was showing being done but it was not saving the work correctly at one point. I don't know if they even knew there was a problem on their end until I contacted them. It was corrected but I do not know what caused it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director of Training and Service Excellence
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2018

"Utilize this for the 3rd Leg of a robust home back-up solution"

Comments: It backs up my computers

Pros: Pretty much set and forget it. Completes back-ups daily for my 2 Mac Computers and Ipad. Daily reporting and alerts is a good thing!

Cons: Wish that it had an unlimited back-up plan.
Currently no two-factor authentication.
Slower...wish it had multi threaded back up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2018
Josh B.
IT admin
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018

"Overall a good backup software"

Pros: I love how detailed that this software is to use. They made it so it covers all of your data simply and securly backed up.

Cons: User interface was a little clunky and old school feel. It wasn't the easiest to setup but once it was up and running it worked great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Amy V.
owner/operator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2018

"I use it for backing up my files on all my devices."

Pros: Love that I can set it up to back up just what I want and when I want. I love that I can purchase a plan that allows me to back up all my devices.

Cons: Nothing. I have been using it for a few years and have yet to find anything that I do not like about Idrive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2018