Very helpful for theorists in their research fields

Reviewed on 04/07/2019
Nuwan chaminda G.
Graduate Teaching Assistant, MSU
Research, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: As I am doing my research in the field of Quantum electron transportation calculations, it's very easy to do all my calculations and most important thing is that it helps us a lot to analyze all my results well. As we solve the matrices which are having a higher degree, it doesn't matter since we have Mathematica. It simplifies everything, all electron transportation calculation we have. because other methods, such as the Green Function method and Scattering methods are much more complex!

Pros: It's easy to use as it provides more helpful manuals in the Wolfram site. If you can not understand some code, then you may click on 'help' and very easily you can find the meaning of the respective code. Plus, there are many more functions available to analyze, to do much harder calculations, to draw graphs, etc. It helps a lot in our Quantum Mechanics projects as once we analyzed the Icing Model using Mathematica.

Cons: To be honest, I like almost everything in Wolfram Mathematica. The appearance of the software is great, and the work is very good and there are many more advantages of Mathematica. However, to improve, I think it's better to have some way to simply some of the codes in Mathematica. Anyway, as the users, that's also not a problem. Mathematica, simply one of the most powerful software we are using.

The best symbolic math software, with a learning curve

Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
PhD Student
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Mathematica is the go-to software when manipulating mathematical expressions that must be solved, simplified, visualized, modelled, etc. It defines an entire language dedicated to writing expressions precisely, with the option to write them with math symbols (e.g. sum, product, etc) or more similar to other programming language. Particularly useful is the symbolic differentiation feature, which is easy and intuitive to use.
Many more advanced and domain-specific features are available, and keep being added at each release (yearly).
There is a 'cloud' version of the software which can run Mathematica notebooks in the browser, making it possible to make quick checks without a full installation.

Cons: The Wolfram language's syntax and patterns is unlike any that I've seen, and so becoming proficient with Mathematica isn't just a matter of a few hours. Thankfully, the built-in help (reference manual) and tutorials are of great quality, and come with many practical example. The dedicated StackExchange community is also a great resource. Contributing to the difficulty is the fact that certain expressions will be handled (e.g. simplified or factorized) by Mathematica more easily than others, even though it feels like they should be equivalent. It is sometimes necessary to expand an expression, then simplify and factor it again in order to solve it again. Despite the support for many, many domain-specific features, working with vectors and matrices is still painful. When not part of a university or ineligible for discounts, the price may be high, depending on the intended use.

It's the Macintosh of the interpreted software languages, it just works right out of the box!

Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Massimo F.
Assistant Professor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The most critical feature of Mathematica (and Wolfram products in general) is that everything is seamlessly perfectly integrated. Everything is curated and maintained up to date.
Competing platforms like Matlab sure offer a larger set of functionalities, but the integration of the many "packages" is too often very poor.
In Mathematica, every package is fully integrated with the rest of the platform like no other software. Maybe you can say that Labview somehow reaches the same level of integration.
Mathematica is a very flexible and multi-purpose software language that can be used for programming pretty much anything.
New functionality like "Cloud-deploy" allow anybody to run algorithm made in Mathematica from anywhere in the world, from any device, with the only need of having an internet connection and a compatible browser.

Cons: Some secondary functionalities like the Presentation notebook are not so well developed, yet. That said, I doubt many will ever use it.

I'm a computer science student, can't believe how useful this learning engine is!

Reviewed on 30/07/2018
Francisco M.
Customer Representative
Retail, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Well my study sessions are way more effective, almost every question is answered by Wolfram. My grades are doing well, can't exclude Wolfram for that, this software has helped me a lot through the University and I'm super satisfied with it.

Pros: Everything you need regarding math is in there: derivatives, integrals, closed integrals, matrix and vector operations... The list goes on and on! I really this program has helped me countless times with Calculus study sessions and passing through linear algebra courses. The procedure is printed in a ordered way and it does it step by step.

Cons: The UI and operation input should and could be way better. I've used Symbolab and other apps and they are way better than Wolfram's input system. Please change it! Would really love to see you guys actually improve that.

Wonderful!without wolfram I would not have approved the course of calculus applied in the university

Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Daniel L.
Asistente ejecutivo superior
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: wolfram is a marvel, just transcribe the equation in the software and in a few seconds not only solves it, but also explains step by step the resolution of the exercise and the different ways of doing it.
I consider that it is the best ally for the student at any level of academic training. It is useful for students of engineering, economics, business administration, accounting, physics, mathematics....
in wolfram mathematical and physical equations can be solved. no matter the complexity of an integral or a differential equation, wolfram solves it

Cons: Sometimes it can be somewhat difficult to transcribe an equation in the software. Maybe if the programmers of wolfram add some integrals and predetermined equations, it could help to mount the exercises more easily

Wolfram Mathematica makes it easier to develop knowledge in the area of mathematics and programming.

Reviewed on 24/04/2018
Richard P.
Product Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The ability to develop equations and to learn step by step how to solve them. Wolfram made my job easier and more practical and helped me save time and to create new projects by using programming.

Pros: Resolution of equations well explained and organized step by step as well as graphs that are self explanatory and have the possibility to add annotations and to choose the type of graph to be used. It also has the possibility of storing data in the cloud and to access it anywhere. Wolfram Mathematica is great for programming and it gives the possibility of exploring other areas such as language and geography by using mathematics and programming.

Cons: Takes a while to learn the basics commands of some areas of the software such as introducing equations into the system or start programming if you are still learning.

Great platform to calculate, integrate and so on.

Reviewed on 25/07/2019
Bhawin D.
Researcher
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: This is a very useful software in physics and engineering. We can download and install in our computer via our university link. It is very easy to use. Sometimes people from Wolfram come to our university to run a workshop about wolfram mathematica. Besides mathematica, I use wolfram alpha frequently.

Cons: Some computational work and big data analysis in Nuclear physics may be difficult using Wolfram Mathematica.

The best software for symbolic mathematics

Reviewed on 02/08/2018
Rodrigo G.
PhD
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have solve a wide variety of problems, from simple calculations to very complicated symbolic analyses. In the faculty is normally favoured for more abstract analyses which don't necessarily involve finite precision arithmetic, but it can obviously be used for that as well.

Pros: This software is extremely well suited for symbolic mathematics. Where MATLAB excels in numerical handling, Mathematica excels in symbolic mathematics. I have used this software for stochastic analysis, namely Markov Chain analysis. It is very useful as well for topology and graph theory and not only helps by solving complex systems but makes beautiful graphs needed in topological analysis. I have also used it in optimization contexts, to draw the feasible regions of complex functions. It is simply an extremely robust and versatile piece of mathematical software.

Cons: At the beginning is not very easy to use because small errors in syntax will render a big function useless; hopefully for simple things it is well integrated with Wolfram Alpha, which can interpret more natural expression the transported to Mathematica.

Simply the best mathematics tool available

Reviewed on 25/02/2018
Miguel P.
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: - The ability to manage symbolic functions
- The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators
- The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats
- The speed of the solver
- The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information

Pros: - The ability to manage symbolic functions
- The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators
- The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats
- The speed of the solver
- The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information

Cons: - The plots are pretty low-level. Could be improved.
- The error messages are almost impossible to understand.

One of the best mathematics tools available for students

Reviewed on 18/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Dental Student
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Life-saver for anyone who is struggling with mathematics.

Pros: This software can be an absolute life-saver for any student learning mathematics. The software solves such a large range of math problems ranging from simple to complex in an instant. It demonstrates step-by-step problem solving which facilitates learning. I used this software throughout my undergraduate education and still use it today.

Cons: Like any great software, there can be a slight learning curve in order to get the most out of it. For the simple functions, it is click-and-go. For the most advanced functions, it may take some time to learn.

A great environment for elaboration and validation of algebraic models

Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Danilo Almeida
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: During the development of some models of neural networks for massive data processing, it was necessary for us to search for a solution in the cloud capable of supplying our demand for a competitive price due to the lack of funds available. Based on this, and in light of other solutions such as AWS and IBM Watson, Mathematica was the choice that was able to meet our financial criteria and also enabled us to write a very relevant work within the company

Pros: The ability to use the system both online through the cloud infrastructure, as well as offline

Cons: The documentation, although extensive is still not very intuitive for people who are starting their projects

simplest and fastest way possible to obtain mathematical, scientific or statistical information

Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Shalinee S.
Web UI Developer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Best mathematical computational tool

Pros: I think it is the best solution to obtain mathematical/statistical information. The way it interpret the mathematical problem like solving calculas problem with step by step is amazing. Plotting data is very easy that made visualisation much better. Now, it is also providing to use it so that it some other system(app) can be built around this.

Cons: There are not much dislike of this, but there are two that I can think of:
1. Pricing : it is too costly if you want pro version with advance feature
2. it takes time to learn the new mathematica language.

Mathematica was utilized throughout my Calculus I, II, III, and IV course work.

Reviewed on 25/07/2018
John d. K.
Founder
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Great software for any DBA to utilize.

Pros: Mathematica has a vast number of tools and resources for anyone seeking to better understand trends, environmental data, forecasting and solve complex multivariable calculus problems for homework.

Cons: Mathematica saved my 4.0 in college, no cons from me--I hope I get to use Mathematica again in my professional life.

Useful tool to have around

Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Performing Singer-Songwriter
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I used Mathematica in my undergrad and continue to use it. First of all - it's the best graphing, master, super calculator you could ever have. With Mathematica one can quickly create graphics that are useable in presentations and reports. The graphics are attractive and professional. Wolfram also has a great team. I've recommended their Wolfram Alpha for people struggling with mathematics for years. Mathematica's language take a bit to learn, but with the basics you can hit the ground running with help from their massive support system. Great software overall. Plays well with Linux and Mac.

Cons: I have no beefs with Mathematica. I've heard people complain about inability to do what AutoCad can... but then just go use AutoCad for that! I've also heard it's not 'industry/university standard' 'Nobody uses it' but I think it's a shame if that's not the case now.

Maths in your hand

Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Jefferson T.
Geophysical Engineer
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The easy of using this software is stunning, you can use an equation editor and only copy and paste.

Cons: some results cannot be displayed in other platforms

My favorite calculation software behind excel

Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical Design Engineer
13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: For complicated algorithms or system design - Mathematica is, hands down, my favorite calculation software. You can make your calculations very presentable and can customize the look of your notebook as much as you want.

Cons: With all of the wonderful things about Mathematica - it has a fairly significant learning curve. There are lots of quick keys that make the software faster, but without it, the time to create calculations can be really slow. It takes a good amount of time to really understand the software.

Very Effective Math Tool

Reviewed on 04/06/2019
Jason J.
Student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: There are so many things that you can do with Mathematica because of the Wolfram foundation. It's completely free-form, so you can use it in whatever way you like and achieve results: from contour plots to simple arithmetic and anything more simple or more complex. There are built-in functions to help you if you make a mistake in your code or if you need help figuring out what to do to achieve your goal.

Cons: The tough part is learning all the aspects of the software. The way you have to write your functions and expressions are slightly unconventional to regular maths. And there's no way to know you did something wrong until you've messed up and it prompts you on how to fix it. Sometimes having too many functions is detrimental if there isn't enough support to help the users learn how to start.

Overall wolfram is good and a great learning tool. Ithas the best visual aids.

Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Eric U.
Student
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The ability to change variables and see how it effects the graph is a lot of help when trying to understand a function and how the vdidderent variables change the graph. Also just seeing a accurate representation of a equation in a graph, whether it's 2 dimension or 3 dimension, makes learning the material much easier.

Cons: A moajor con for me was the inability to get wolfram to work properly. Every time I needed to open something on wolfram I would have to manually open it with wolfram instead of just clicking on the display and having wolfram open it automatically. I would do this every time and was very annoying after the first 10 times. I don't know if wolfram doesn't work well with Macs or maybe it's older Macs. Nobody could get it to work properly and I'm still stuck doing it the long way.

Best computation knowledge engine

Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Gaurav Y.
Software Developer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I am using this for more than 2 year. I think you can solve most of the mathematics problem using this with in very less time. Now a days , it is also providing the vision api, speech api etc that are also very helpful.

Pros: The way it resolve the mathematics equation is very much self explainotary. Also, it is easy to plot the graphs in it. Linear algebra and numerical algorithm support makes it more advance. GUI is also very user friendly.

Cons: It require a long learning curve and it's interpretor is also slow. And the major disadvantage is the cost of using this tool.

Beautiful program for coding

Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Graduate Student
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: So far I am really happy to use Mathematica to do some simpel data processing and produce nice plots

Pros: The nice thing with Mathematica is the fact that it is very artistic and very easy to get publication quality plots

Cons: Everyone will agree that Mathematica tends to be slower than other programming languages

Mathematica is powerful, but you REALLY need to know how to use it to get great value from it.

Reviewed on 18/04/2018
Alberto G.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The capabilities and functionalities embedded in Mathematica are almost unbounded. You can create very complex models in every branch of mathematics and statistics with this software and, in addition, Mathematica can display the final results using graphics that can be entirely customized to suit your needs--from very simple plots to very sophisticated graphical animations.

Cons: The amount of effort needed to use Mathematica in all its glory is long and steep. Unfortunately, the logic and naming conventions that make Mathematica a powerful programming language are not intuitive--there are too many rules and obscure naming conventions that are not typically used in other languages. Error messages are not very helpful for new users, and frustration can quickly set in.

A free math tutor

Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Olga cecilia G.
Lawyer
Legal Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Everyone can understand mathematics with this app, it helps you with equations, graphics and stats. I really like that they show you how to do the problem, making it easy to understand. As soon as you have master it everything about this app is great

Cons: Wolfram has a really hard interface, even people who use this app daily has trouble when it comes to using the interface. Wolfram can be really difficult to use for new people

Helping scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work

Reviewed on 16/09/2018
Sk J.
BUSINESS PARTNER
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: One of the oldest mathematics software (first version 1988) that has helped many scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work.

Cons: They need to work in a team and stop giving an impression that the world of programming is the world of Wolfram. Little reference or appreciation for other programming languages and habit of self-praising by its founder belittles his own real accomplishments.

Pros and Cons

Reviewed on 29/05/2019
Simrat J.
Student
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: As a student, Mathematica has been very efficient in analyzing data.

Pros: This software is really useful in manipulating data and providing expressions and equations. As a student, I have used it for chemistry to manipulate the math equations.

Cons: Sometimes, Mathematica is difficult to cooperate with and does not realize that some expressions are in fact equal to one another. However, the built in help is great.

Wolfram mathematica

Reviewed on 14/01/2019
Rashmi ..
UI Developer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Wolfram is very good as mathematical computation engine. When it comes to solves the difficult mathematical problem, it is the very much needed solution for all kind of problem. You can solve whole of Calculas of mathematics with this tool. Also, along with that it offers a lot of other thing for image processing, machine learning and more.

Cons: With great power and usability it comes with a few negatives as well. It is not easy to use this as you have to learn it's own scripting language and secondly for other purpose like using it's api, it is a bit costly.