Proven for enterprise workloads

Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Technical Architect
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Have used DB2 as a Relational Database (RDBMS) for the past 10 years, primarily to support SAP based enterprise workloads. IBM's development of DB2 has been fuelled by one of its largest customers - SAP. As such this review will be biased towards SAP. I started with DB2 7.5 on IBM's flagship AIX Operating System, and it has come a long way. These days AIX is dead (unfortunately), and IBM's Power platform is leveraging Linux. DB2 of course supports the big-endian based Power platforms, and the little-endian based x86 platforms that run both Linux and Windows. DB2 is very versatile as a database, and supports most features that enterprise-based databases like Oracle support. It really is a matter of choice. DB2 administrators are obviously not as easy to find as Oracle's, but so long as the DBA's have good knowledge they can be cross-trained easily.

Pros: - ACID compliant like any good RDBMS (Oracle, MSSQL, SAP HANA)
- Runs well and scales well on IBM's Power-based platform, and commodity x86 hardware running Linux/Windows
- Various editions to suit customer needs and requirements. For example the Developer Edition is fully featured and is completely free for developers to use, or all the way to Enterprise Edition for state-of-the-art functionality (In-Memory based Columnar Tables thru its BLU functionality, High-Availability, Disaster Recovery etc. to prevent Single-Points-of-Failure). Rivals the existing enterprise RDBMS's

Cons: - Even though there is a GUI for point-and-click administration (IBM Data Studio), to really flex the database's features and functionality command-line tools are required (like Oracle :-)

DB2 - The stable and reliable database

Reviewed on 01/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
DBA SENIOR
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I work with DB2 for over 6 years. I participated in projects of implementation and construction of environments AIX and SuSe Linux with DB2 ensuring the geographic contingency.

Pros: The product is extremely reliable! Literally no problem.
It has extensions of high availability and geographic contingency that in my view are highlights. Easy to implement and it works!

Cons: This is not something I miss, but I believe it is a differential for some people. DB2 does not work very well with graphical tools. PLC is still the best way.

In My professional life I have used DB2 on the AS / 400 and e_Series platform for more than 15 years

Reviewed on 27/06/2018
Luis alexis R.
Director propietario
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Implementing in record time allowing operating different system projects in the companies where I worked, you can be quiet because the data of the companies are based on a robust database eliminated the level of distress, allows access to your level of user user security to the system users allowing them to elaborate the data of the database in an excel sheet for example.

Pros: Easy database Implementation easy administration can be managed from any station the level of specialization is much lower than any other database, robust and recovery by indexes, interconnects with other databases such as Sql Server and allows data sharing in Immediately, its level of robustness and integrity is unique.

Cons: Proprietary database, requires a lot of Hardware for its good performance and its costs are high.

Best RDBMS Software

Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Shashank V.
Software Trainee
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My experience using this RDBMS software is very good as retrieving of data from the database is very fast. We can execute complex queries in a smooth way. I actually wanted to store XML data inside the database in case of any B2B transactions that I need to store for further processing. DB2 database has the capability to store XML data and store some large files in regards to that transaction details.

Pros: 1) DB2 is very cheap, easy to install. We don't have to worry about license costs as they wouldn't be more than that in Oracle.
2) It can run on any OS like windows, Linux, Mac.
3) We can use DB2 along with XML data also.
4) The retrieving of data from the db2 database is very fast which is actually a very good feature.
5) Can store large files in the database in an easy way.
6) We can store the data in different locations across the data and the data can be accessed from different locations in a faster way.
7) Index feature is available in DB2 to identify a unique table out of thousands of tables in DB2 database.

Cons: I didn't find any flaws using this software.

My DB2 Experience

Reviewed on 29/05/2019
Jeremias E.
Associate Professor
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Learning a fully functional database or DBMS may require an educational institution to buy licensed software to be installed in the laboratory. IBM DB2 Express-C is a free closed- source software that a student can use. Even a student could download and have the personal copy of the application as he learns database during the course.

Pros: IBM DB2 gives a start up point for a student to learn databases. All the features a DBMS have are provided by DB2. The product supports almost any front-end application that requires database. All the drivers are provided as you setup a connection to an application. IBM DB2 is not limited in learning SQL scripts. You may initiate also database back up and security, XML, stored procedures, and user-defined functions.

Cons: IBM DB2 is a high-secured database server. You may be lost in the installation process if you missed one of its steps. If you experience failed installation, uninstalling it may not fully do the trick. You need to delete folders or directories it has created during installation.

Robust database engine, but takes quite a bit of getting use to.

Reviewed on 17/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Database Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This database engine is robust, with many tools and features.
Easily upgraded.
Minimal maintenance needed after it is up and running.
Able to use either the command line interface or GUI to access and manipulate databases.

Pros: This database engine is robust, with many tools and features.
Easily upgraded.
Minimal maintenance needed after it is up and running.
Able to use either the command line interface or GUI to access and manipulate databases.

Cons: Documentation needs to be more extensive, as you have to pay for customer support.
Takes quite a bit of getting use to, as syntax varies greatly from other DBMSs.

DB2 for you!

Reviewed on 08/08/2019
Lynda C.
DB2 DBA
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: On the rare occasions I have had to open a ticket with IBM I have had received great help in a timely fashion.

Pros: I have worked with DB2 as a database manager for over 30 years. It is a great product, robust, lots of flexibility, ever improving and rock solid.

Cons: Sometimes the number of options are overwhelming but the number of options is part of what makes DB2 great. Like so many things in life, it cuts both ways.

Great product, easy to install and use. Been using it for 6 years in different projects.

Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Consultant
13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Installation is very easy and when installed it's ease of use, very convenient. It's also very easy to connect to other tools like DBVisualizer which gives another way of viewing the tables and info.

Cons: They need to improve the help online to find some commands, and the explanation on the commands as well.

Stable and reliable ! Simply - It work s , even better that You expected

Reviewed on 12/07/2017
Lukasz P.
IT project manager
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Stability , performance , reliability

Pros: This product is very stable , it can be fully trusted . It's optimisation is perfect - every request can be optimised smoothly and without user interactions

Cons: Price - it could be better - but You know that Your money were well spend . Also support could be more active

db2 is the great IBM database manager

Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Richard E.
Senior Consultant
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I learned how to cluster distributed databases, the use of IBM products, they are very powerful

Pros: It is very easy to install, use, it can be used for small and large projects, there is a lot of documentation about DB2, and the support they offer is very good, as long as you have a good license.
I use it mainly for the execution of databases distributed in a banking project, its performance is very good

Cons: the bad thing that I see, is that you have to acquire a business license to use your maximum potential, apart from that there is also use IBM hardware, otherwise many conflicts are created

IBM DB2 user since several months

Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Lead Data Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We load all the sales data into DB2 system and will derive analytics on top of it. I can recommand if you have lot of budget to put on database managemnet.

Pros: 1) DB2 has extensive functionality, has a lot of built-in features. robust database software
2) easy to use, and MPP systems which make the system to process data parallel.
3) DB2 SQL is anscii standard so migration to/from other databases would be easy.

Cons: 1) expensive compared to other solutions available in market.
2) Few of the DB2 specific syntaxes are non convertable when we move to other databases.

IBM db2

Reviewed on 17/01/2019
Senthamizhselvan E.
Associate
Insurance, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: This can hold n number of records and easy to access it via online application and updated using the informatica

Cons: The application looks and query are bit complicated compared to SQL

DB2

Reviewed on 05/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Mainframe Developer
Banking, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: DB2 has kept me working for 30+ years.

Pros: DB2 is very versatile, and can be used to drive the processing in your software.

Cons: Too many abends using the product, and too hard to diagnose.

Powerful database.

Reviewed on 29/05/2019
Moises r. F.
Enc. Monitoreo TI y Computos
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Our card system is in ibm db2 database and super powerful and never the instance has presented problems.

Cons: Sometimes not all applications are compatible with this database.

One of the most used DBs

Reviewed on 30/01/2017
Nazeer S.
Application Developer
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: DB2 is one of the most used DBs. It is based on Mainframe technology. It easily integrates with IBM BPM, IBM Datapower very well. Task Scheduler component of DB2 allows for statistics gathering and reorganization of indexes and tables without user interaction. DB2 has comprehensive suite of security features such as authentication, authorization, trusted context, auditing, encryption, and fine-grain controls.

Cons: Pricing is little high

DB2 is solid as a rock

Reviewed on 05/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior System Engineer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I'm happy with db2 , IBM is doing a good job release by release powering the software .

Pros: DB2 is solid as a rock. I'm using it from several years and with last release 11.1 it's been also easiest to be set up from newbie admin. DB2 is the classical server you will setup and you fill find again after years.

Cons: It's not economic and needs some education to be used in production environment.

Very powerful database engine

Reviewed on 09/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Application Developer
Insurance, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I liked the raw power of the utility. I was able to run millions, sometimes billions of rows of data through and it handled it just fine. The included functions were very helpful in translating complex data structures

Cons: None really. It did everything I needed. Maybe the only complaint would be how complex it is, but that is more of a feature not a bug

Robustness and Reliability

Reviewed on 22/02/2018
Gerson M.
IT Consultant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: DB2 is relatively simple to maintain and performs very well.

Pros: Super powerful and valuable for its automatic applications, security, data integrity oriented and the backup and recovery features. Reliable for any volume of data and transactions.

Cons: Not many updates or improves for a very long time. Forcing to move your data to the cloud. For some that's not an answer. However I recommend it.

Solid database solution

Reviewed on 30/03/2019
John E.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Like other IBM products, Db2 is light and easy to install and maintain.
It's incredibly robust and can handle very large volume of data with ease.
I also like the support for the product from IBM.

Cons: IBM Db2 is very expensive to maintain compared to its competitors.
Another issue for me is the lack of timely updates.

Db2 - a robust product

Reviewed on 06/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Program Manager
Information Technology & Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: 1. It works well with mainframes which continue to be backbone of heavyweight lifting transaction volume at a decent speed.

Cons: I don't know about other databases much to list any cons. Would this be able to work well with upcoming technologies, not sure.

IBM DB2 is an excellent database platform

Reviewed on 17/04/2018
Rajesh G.
CIO & VP - Digital Transformation Solutions, Head - Infra Managed Services & Pre Sales, Solutioning
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: IBM DB2 is an excellent database platform. We are able to use it as a database platform for large corporates. It is designed to store, analyze and retrieve the data efficiently, hence one of the commonly used database platform.

Cons: There is nothing which we do not like about this database platform. everything looks so good about it.

Robust and ideal for managing large volumes of data

Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Alexander C.
Consultor Tecnico - JavaDeveloper
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It is recommended for large technological platforms

Pros: It is a powerful database manager, has a capacity to manage very high data volumes, recommended to be applied in large companies and financial entities

Cons: It requires a high level of hardware so that it can operate optimally, maintenance is often expensive and the installation is tedious

Great Database Software

Reviewed on 07/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Product Management Intern
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: 1. Excellent support
2. Reliable tool
3. Easy to maintain

Cons: 1. Further improvement of online documentation is required

Great Database from IBM

Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Consultor
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: IBM DB2 is a very good database to use in small companies, is very robust and easy to mantain with good performance.

Cons: The community and support team is not very helpful, the updates take a lot of time so it's not up to date if you compare with other databases

Good RDBMS

Reviewed on 21/07/2019
Vahid A.
Research Assistant
Higher Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It can be used in the cloud or physical server. I used it in cloud during an educational SQL course and it is easy to learn and use.

Cons: - I think the only problem is that It is expensive.