15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About WPLMS

Software that converts your WordPress site into a complete Social Learning management system.

Learn more about WPLMS

Pros:

Loads of features, easily turn on/off at the macro or micro level. Easily integrates into an existing site.

Cons:

The only things that were to some extent troublesome about working with WPLMS was the amount of options/settings one were offered.

WPLMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

WPLMS has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 24 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WPLMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (24)

frank
ceo in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

great learning management system

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love them
I love wplms

Pros:

This is best lms ever. Not just wordpress them, it is a total lms system. And customer service is amazing. They are really nice people. I really like them! thums up!

Cons:

well. frankly. I do not have any Cons. Because this kind of large lms, it is natural, every case has some limit, but they do thier best.

Valerian
Owner in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Steep learning curve, but endless features

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: WPLMS is a great solution for selling our coffee courses as all you can eat membership, but also as individual courses. The design of the courses is very user-friendly and our customers love the professional look. The support is a mixed experience. Sometimes very helpful, sometimes just giving answers to gain some time.

Pros:

- Plenty of features - Work as an individual market place but also as a membership site - Modern e-learning environment and themes - Mobile app availability (sold separately)

Cons:

- claims it is responsive, but responsiveness breaks on certain pages - takes some time to learn it - more theme settings related to design would be welcome - the mobile app (not part of the WPLMS Theme, must purchase separately) is a mess. It does not work with Vimeo video service, has issues selling membership style e-learning pages, the support is horrible.

Laura
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Promised Great Things but fell short

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

There are fantastic options. Working with WPLMS helped me to narrow down what I want and don't want for my membership site.

Cons:

1) The theme requires way too many plugins that slow the site down. 2) they promise all kinds of functionality but then you are required to purchase licenses to all kinds of other plugins that they include in their theme 3) you will need a robust server and a hosting company that allows you to alter php 4) I have installed 47 plugins so far and the site still doesn't do what I need. Plus it's so slow that it's not functional. In the end, I need to find a different solution. The idea is good but the quality is just not there.

VibeThemes Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review. The review it seems is based on misinterpretation of information. 1. Too many plugins : WPLMS has 12 plugins out of which only 3 are required. Each plugin is for feature that you may want on your site. Which ensures that your site remains fast. For more fantastic features we assume that you're prepared to put more investment based on your user base. Also, more plugins does not mean it slows your site, anyone who claims this is misinformed about WordPress. Our plugins work at certain trigger points. 2. Not at all. The license for plugins by third party is optional. Only if you want to get exclusive support from them you need to buy the licenses. 3. We offer exceptional features, Course drives, video conferencing, white boards and yes more features require good host. 4. I understand, WPLMS is a versatile system, you can use it as you like. If not as LMS you can use it as Community centre, or Directory or just a website theme.Contact for support, we'll help you.

Markus
Research Assistant in Germany
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An all-inclusive package to get started with e-learning and more

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From start to (unwanted but forced, see above) finish: no complaints. Quick and good support, detailed documentation including video guides, vast amount of design options and of course functionality.

Pros:

I found out about WPLMS when I was working on my thesis in which I developed new methods to teach "Mathematics for Chemistry Students" at university level. One focus of my work was on developing some kind of online platform which gave students the opportunity to prepare/review the material before/after a lecture and also offer short exercises which the student could work on and get feedback on their results. With very little background in programming and web development, only some very basic skills in WordPress, I was very pleased with WPLMS as it met most of my requirements out of the box and by using some other plugins I got a first test page set up very quickly. With the help of the (excellent and quick responding) support of the developers I was also able to integrate one very important plugin (WPQuickLaTeX which offers basically full LaTeX support on my website) in the exercises and got the site ready for a test run with some students within 2-3 months. Unfortunately, for some technical and legal reasons (GDPR) I was not allowed to continue my work on this approach and had to switch to something provided by the university running on university servers, which resulted in me terminating the site. This had nothing to do with WPLMS though, and if it weren't for my general shortage of time I would have continued working on it as a private project.

Cons:

The only things that were to some extent troublesome about working with WPLMS was the amount of options/settings one were offered. In some way this gives you great flexibility, e.g. integrating some social network features into your site sounds great, but it was very much to deal with especially at the beginning. However if you are not afraid to dive into these kind of things or have already some experience in this field this shouldn't be a problem.

Matt
Managing Member in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quality LMS

5.0 last year

Comments: Been using this platform since its inception, basically 14 years at this point. It has grown and expanded massively and is so much better now because they keep developing it.

Pros:

Loads of features, easily turn on/off at the macro or micro level. Easily integrates into an existing site. Can be expanded with other plugins. Frequent updates and bug fixes. Great tech support.

Cons:

Steep learning curve. Runs a bit slow at times.

Soloveva
psychological in Russia
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am delighted with the learning platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have a private school of psychology for women. I create and sell my online courses on the portal. This is a great and easy tool for online schools with no monthly fees. Just bathed 1 time theme and use for life.

Pros:

I like absolutely everything: user-friendly interface, fast download, operational technical support specialists. They developed for me a function that was not originally free, just at my request. Everything is top notch

Cons:

I can't find what I don't like. All perfectly!

Rajesh
Board Member in India
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

WPLMS - Rise And Rise More

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: OVERALL EXPERIENCE : ***** 5 Star
1. Usability: 5/5
2. Feature : 5/5
3. User interface : 4.8/5
4. Customer care: 5/5
5. Response to customer's feature request: 5/5
6. Developers' credibility: 5/5
7. Documentation: 4.9/5
8. Video Tutorials: 4.5/5

Pros:

Constant development is the essence of a good usable software. And it seems that the WPLMS Team knows it the best. Feature wise, I can say the LMS has everything that a modern education system should have. But the icing on the cake is the Developers' farsightedness to think beyond the competition and their constant effort to take it to the next level. It has recently did a major Framework change from v3.x to V4. And that enhanced its functionality, 3x.

Cons:

In its default avatar it is more than enough for running a fantastic Learning Management System, but sometimes I wish if some premium Add-on feature could be provided as free or could come by default. :)

Andrew
Owner in UK
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A great Wordpress LMS

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The developers are really helpful, and came up with bespoke code to fix very specific issues I had. I did find getting everything working quite tough - but once it was up and running it worked well.

Pros:

It has every feature you could ever need.

Cons:

It can be hard to set things up. This was because there are a lot of different things in play to get this working - Wordpress, Buddypress, Woocommerce, Woocommerce Memberships, Woocommerce Subscriber - plus all the usual Wordpress plugins needed to make a site work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

best lms software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have designed an award winning digital learning platform with WPLMS after testing several similar options and it is robust and stable for any online learning undertaking.

Pros:

It has rich functionalities for managing e-learning

Cons:

It can be slow loading while some elements are for more money

Shailendra
Shailendra
Managing Partner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Good

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Excellent. One has to use to understand

Pros:

Very robust and extremely high features compared to nay others

Cons:

Support has scope to improve. There should be atleast chat option and most definitely a phone option too.

Guno
Manager in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall assessment

1.0 last year

Comments: Scale 1-5 = 2

Pros:

WordPress itself and its possibility for an LMS. But is mishandled by developer

Cons:

Coding and service response. Lack of mindset that when providing educational services online requires timely responses and fixes.

Raúl
Director in Mexico
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: If you have a community or you are creating one a wplms it is the best option to have your events both in person and online. I use it with some other plugins it works perfect.

Pros:

Buy several wp themes for online courses and this is without a doubt the most complete.

Cons:

It has so many functions that it is far from simplicity.

Nitin
CEO in India
Alternative Medicine, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful LMS that is extremely affordable

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Very comprehensive, feature rich theme with really nice support. This LMS has almost every feature you need and some addons for additional functionality. The price is a steal.

Cons:

A small learning curve and few bugs at the time of major updates

Palitha
Managing Director in Sri Lanka
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Green Hat Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are developing LMSs for government schools in Sri Lanka.
The features were very attractive for us.
But due to lack of good quality help YouTube videos we find difficulty to train the teachers.
e-commence features were not important to us, as government schools are fee.

Pros:

The features >> > Multi-Products > Multi-Instructors > Capability of keeping uses notes at the lessons > Social learning > Pricing

Cons:

Buddy drive Help e-commence (not important for us)

Sheryl
Owner in US
Fine Art, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WPLMS Review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Very pleased with the software.

Pros:

Functionality - does what I need it to do. I teach 1,000+ students online and it works well.

Cons:

Took a long time to learn how to set it up. Videos were helpful but not always easy to understand.

Abhresh
Freelancer in India
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best LMS with great features!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Best LMS with great features and many big brands are using as the base product for their sites.

Pros:

Ease of use! Great features! Everything is available!

Cons:

Installation and configuration was a task! To many updates and most of the updates are difficult to implement!

Pulkit
Founder in India
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Product With Lots Of Issues

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ample of features, flexibility, third-party integrations, front-end course creation, easy to maintain, good support team

Cons:

Inflexible app, lots of restrictions, difficult to self customize functions

Giorgos
Ph.D. Candidate in Greece
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best LMS

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

WPLMS is very easy to use and has a lot of functionality available to create your own school

Cons:

Customization needs css and/or sometimes help from support group.

Ernani
Owner in Brazil
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It allowed me to revolutionize education at my university

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With this wonderful code I was able to continue an e-Learning proposal. This proposal became my undergraduate project and later my university degree work. I got a grade of 10.
My project was to give students the opportunity to share knowledge among themselves, exchanging points with each other to acquire new content.

Pros:

What I liked the most is the professional way the system works. Many large local projects do not have the level of development of this system.

Cons:

I have no criticism for the system, everything works more than perfectly.

Terry
Execution in Hong Kong
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

worth to try

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: used to love the theme. it is quite complicated setting up if you are not good at wordpress.

Pros:

It gives most crucial elements for online learning.

Cons:

Not good for guys who tries to provide online+offline courses

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It's a great option with a lot of features

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I'm implementing a course selling website. So far has been really easy to set it up. I haven't been able to publish yet but the experience has been really good. At the beginning was difficult because i found a lot of options but the plugin documentation is great so i could set the main features. I'm still trying to set some advanced options like implementing multisite / multilanguage site for my courses and i'm still learning but i'm enjoying the experience

Pros:

A lot of options to customize the theme Great aperance of courses and quizzes All the basic features to sell courses are included Compatible with page buiders Easy to use

Cons:

You can't change the theme Options aren't multilanguage Some features need an extra payment

Kevin
Teacher in Thailand
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Dreadful support

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Frustrating

Pros:

It mainly works and it has a lot of features.

Cons:

The support is appalling I have NEVER had a support question answered. The support forum is amateur and it is difficult to find answers and is very difficult to log in. If the support existed it would be a good product.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Have used WPLMS for my educational site

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is fine , i will recommend to those who need basic lms integration .

Pros:

Have used wplms for my educational site , wplms is fine for providing all basic feature of lms site, i am a web devloper , so i am good to customize it ,if you know programming you can best use wplms. Simple feature of lms like loading subjects . Staffs information , books details etc.

Cons:

You must have good understanding of web devlopment in order to customize this tool ,this tool must have some advance features and guid to customize it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Useful, user friendly

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: great 9.9 out of 10.0

Pros:

it seems this will be the google of learning management systems in near future

Cons:

landing pages with slider revolution are slow