Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About Opsgenie

Opsgenie is a modern incident management and response solution for operating always-on services.

Learn more about Opsgenie

Showing 131 reviews

Fernando S.
Director of Infrastructure
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"A most have"

Comments: I've been a loyal customer of OpsGenie for almost three years now and I like to product so much that I wrote an integration with spring-boot-admin a year ago that now is used by many others. really great product

Pros: I like the easy of use and most of all It never fails to deliver a message, Great UX and full of features

Cons: I would like to have notification rules for how and when to receive some sort of events right now there is only one way of doing this but, that is something that would be ok to have but I'm very happy with the product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Network Engineer *Remote*
Consumer Electronics, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Informational"

Comments: Great product .great value

Pros: Easy usage. Good interface. Lot of info I'm one screen

Cons: Renewal process is nor simple. You need to improve the process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Phil A.
Senior DevOps Engineer
Publishing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"OpsGenie is a no-brainer"

Comments: We use OpsGenie to collect messages from multiple endpoints and manage rules for alerting. Basically our pager duty. Also use the Heartbeats feature for missed execution monitoring.

Pros: The pricing came in below Pagerduty by quite a bit and the features were much more plentiful. Really like the Heartbeats feature.

Cons: I really don't have anything negative to say. It's been an excellent experience with the product since day 1. Any (minor) troubles I've had turned out to be something I was doing wrong.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Adam K.
Network Engineer
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018

"OpsGenie is more like an Ops Miracle Worker"

Comments: Our issue was reliably alerting our staff of equipment warnings and outages. OpsGenie gives us the ability to not only send notifications, but see who received them, who responded, and escalate based on a number of factors to make sure that someone, somewhere is getting the alerts.

Pros: The ability to customize how events are handled is amazing. For example, our Nagios instance sends alerts to OpsGenie, but depending on host name or group that it is in, we can have staff get a phone call in addition to app notification for critical things.

Cons: Honestly we haven't really hit anything that we didn't like. We ran into a hiccup with a bug in the Nagios integration but the OpsGenie support staff were very helpful and quick at fixing the bug.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018
James S.
CTO & Co-founder
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"Nice affordable alternative to Pagerduty"

Comments: Distributed support management for our small team.

Pros: The economics of the platform fit our needs better than the alternatives. I like the ability to easily spread the responsibility of support across the team.

Cons: The complexity of the interface is the biggest weakness that this solution has. Sometimes it requires a long time user to use a support ticket to figure out how to do something simple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018
Darren D.
Operations Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018

"Ops Genie - a new way forward"

Comments: We needed a more suitable monitoring alerting platform to help us grow and make use of systems outside of our infrastructure. Ultimately, Ops Genie has helped us do that. We can now plug services like AWS and Jira into our monitoring without having to force Nagios checks to do the work that has mostly already been done elsewhere. It's provided us more accurate and reliable alerting and reduced the effects of duplicate alerts coming through whilst an incident is being investigated. We hope to make further gains using additional features we haven;'t touched upon yet in the Ops Genie ecosystem

Pros: We had previously been using a Nagios + SMS provider solution, which had served us well as a small company. However as we have grown, we have found that SMS just wasn't a reliable enough solution. We looked around at various alerting providers, and found Ops Genie to be the closest match to what we were looking for. It's given us the ability to test out new notifications before enabling them for our on-call schedules, Re-arrange on call as we see fit without having to fiddle with Nagios configs, utilise integrations to alleviate the sometimes difficult task of adding checks into Nagios from other systems and gain a better insight into our alerts while reducing the all too common "alert fatigue". It gives the ability to create much more complex workflows and setups that previously weren't possible.

Cons: As is often the case with software that provides a wealth of options, getting started was quite complex, particularly around scheduling on call patterns. I think larger organisations may not have this problem, but we wanted to do some rather custom set ups. Fortunately, the support from Ops Genie is frankly brilliant, and they walked us through everything we needed to do. Should there still be difficulties, they can enact the changes you're looking for and guide you through what was done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018
Andianne F.
CTO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"I'll know for sure that I receive my alert, using different channels"

Comments: Fast acting on solving a problem before my customers notice it!

Pros: It has many ways to notify me: push notification, SMS, Phone call, email. And I love the sum of integrations available, easy to set up and customize. It is a must have solution if you need to be sure that you get alerted when some of the services you offer have a problem and needs to respect the SLA. Long story short, you know when something goes wrong before your customer has a chance to notice the problem!

Cons: The search is not finding the correct results sometimes. The phone calls keep coming even after the alert is acknowledged, sometimes I need to answer in order to stop the calls. And what I like the least is that I cannot bulk note and close all the alerts at the same time, it should be a button for that, when 50+ alerts need the same note and close action.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Director of Technical Operations
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2018

"Easy to use, with great integrations and reporting"

Comments: We've been really happy since we switched our alerting to OpsGenie. Our old app didn't give us the flexibility we needed to create the complex oncall schedules that we needed for our engineering org.

Pros: It's easy to use, with integrations for all of our monitoring and messaging apps. The reporting around alert activity and agent performance is excellent. The team organization gives us great flexibility in how we set up our oncall and alert schedules.

Cons: Some of the scheduling around teams can be counterintuitive. If you're not doing it all of the time, it can take a little hunting around to get the setup you want

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Head of ICT
Music, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019

"Finally a tool that lets you easily organise your on-call team"

Comments: So far so good, I've tested the call and sms alerts and they've worked as expected. I'm excited to see how this benefits the team in the long run.

Pros: For years we have been running an in house on call team, up until discovering opsegenie this was a very basic on-call rota with a shared mobile number Opsgenie allows us to setup much more complex on-call rotas, with on call management and escalations, meaning alerts and on-call calls should rarely get missed. While I've yet to fully integrate all core system alerts, it looks like it can integrate with pretty much everything. The free tier seems extremely generous considering everything it offers

Cons: It's going to be quite time consuming to setup alerts from everything you want to monitor, but that's not the fault of opsegenie It took a little time to work out how to input the rota schedule for staff, this was down to me learning how to use the system, but I think the UI could be improved in that area to make it more clear

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Doug W.
Database Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"Reliable and easy to handle alerting"

Comments: If this is for OpsGenie then 10. I don't know what Capterra is.

Pros: The oncall schedule is perfect and easily allows you to add overrides for certain days/hours if you need someone to cover.

Cons: The message size limit can be a little annoying. Several of our alerts are a little long and get cutoff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Cloud Operations Engineer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Great Service for Operations Alerts"

Pros: Vast list of different integrations available to connect with current tools being used in your environment.
Allows for extra logic to be placed after the alerts are created which provides flexibility in many areas.

Cons: The ease of getting your users configured and ready to receive alerts is a little tricky to wrap your head around at first. After that, its smooth sailing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Shivashankar N.
Consultant(Contractor)
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2018

"Ops-Genie is a great tool"

Comments: Effective communication and timely information providing for critical issue resolution.

Pros: Highly sensitive and express pace in communicating the person responsible for any issue. Features really takes you to the function in no time and effective in network for the operations and functions for critical incidents are addressed in a proper way.

Cons: May be you can simplify the login procedure both in the system and mobile.
Reporting functions can be developed further and send out notifications on weekly/monthly basis, especially for MIM calls.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Lead, Network Service Reliability Engineer II
Internet
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"It is easy to edit, user-friendly and has amazing features of syncing up with communication tools."

Pros: Sync-Up feature with other tools like Slack/Hipchat. I am a daily user and the navigation and search options are pretty attractive.

Cons: The notes section can be made better, there is a notes button and then we see the notes. I think this can be improvised. Earlier, having used service-now, I am used to seeing notes in a better format.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Head of Customer Operations, Media and Financial Services
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018

"It does what it should"

Pros: We use OpsGenie to Alert our OnCall Team.
It offers different ways to be alerted.

Cons: It is a bit expensive. When we started using OpsGenie it was more affordable

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software and Data Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"We use OpsGenie to successfully monitor our servers all over the world"

Pros: It is easy to receive and acknowledge alerts or assign them to another person. The alert settings can be customized to override your phones do-not-disturb settings.

Cons: Adding a new person to the on-call rotation can be a bit tricky, if you only want it to adjust schedules starting on a given date.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Security Engineer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"Good on-call and DevOps tool for enterprises"

Comments: I'm on the Security Operations team and on the on-call rotation. We got a dedicated phone number as well that directly notifies us and it's been very nice having that type of availability for coworkers with security concerns. Way better than xMatters.

Pros: Good interface. Very similar mobile interface. Good way to quickly see what team and who is on call during an outage or a incident

Cons: Getting woken up early in the morning, but that's the whole point of being on-call. No issues that I found.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Barry P.
Senior Cloud Systems Administrator
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018

"Daily Usage"

Comments: We use opsgenie for our clients to ensure that their platforms are always online. It alerts us immediately when integrations are inoperable.

Pros: The ease of integration and policy control for alerting.

Cons: The policies for alerting could include multiple AND statements to make it better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018
Deepak D.
Sr. DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2017

"I like the support over chat that we get"

Comments: perfect on-call rotation, escalation, easy mobile app

Pros: ease of use, it has wide options of integration, very easy to integrate with other tools, good support, website experience is nice, it is fast.

Cons: we have thousands of alerts, searching those with some criteria is difficult sometimes, search pattern doesn't work well or at least I don't know how to search there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Engineer
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018

"Works fine; has some quirks."

Comments: Overall positive experience.

Pros: Alerting, scheduling, and managing teams wrt paging work well. Since these are the primary functions of this service, I give OpsGenie a thumbsup on their primary features. UI is arguably better than PagerDuty. Features are essentially identical to PagerDuty.

Cons: Quirks wrt scheduling, overrides, and alerting flow. Doing anything even slightly against the grain of what they have as the default operation is possible, but can be difficult to achieve.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018
Abraar A.
Information Technology Associate
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018

"Great Integration Support"

Comments: OpsGenie has great functionalities with an awesome user-friendly interface that anyone can understand. They have many out of the box API integration options which allow for you to integrate this app seamlessly with you current applications.

Pros: The support team is phenomenal - they are real support that interact and truly enjoy problem solving technical issues, instead of the typical support members that you encounter that just read off a script and do basic troubleshooting.

Cons: There is not much custom integration allowed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Laravel Developer
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"OpsGenie rocks"

Pros: Configurability is pretty straightforward.

Cons: Nothing that I can think of at this moment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Jerry A.
Principal Engineer/Architect II
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"Great groduct that is easily integrated with existing infrastructure"

Pros: The web user interface is very intuitive and responsive. Same with the mobile app. Lots of options for integrating with other 3rd party software as well as your own custom software. The API's are full featured and the api docs are very thorough. Support is always helpful and extremely quick.

Cons: I'd like so see more done with Policies. It would be nice to be able to have more powerful matching options like grouping with and's and or's.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Incident/Process Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"Pagerduty but better"

Comments: the company I work for is switching from Pagerduty to Opsgenie. I find the end user experience is more fluid and intuitive.

Pros: It is easy to navigate the web interface, but the cellphone interface is amazing.

Cons: I value function over fashion. If I had any compliant it would be the color scheme. Very minor in the grand scheme of things.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Gary R.
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019