15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Xero

Manage your bills with Xero. Reduce admin time, pay your bills on time and get an overview of where your business is spending money.

Learn more about Xero

Pros:

Integrates well with adds on to provide more sophisticated reporting. Integration with AI products such as ReceiptBank and Approval Donkey also work well.

Cons:

1099 reports are too limited. Tracking categories are too limited.

Xero ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Xero has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 2,923 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Xero before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (2,923)

Jonathan
Jonathan
Experience strategist in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dashboard enables multiple accounts all in one place

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Over the last 8 years it's been easy to manage my business finances - and that's from someone who doesn't really want to do finance tasks

Pros:

Mobile app enables at a glance view and ease to enter receipts when out

Cons:

Complex reconciliation when currency charges are deducted, sure you can make an adjustment, but it always feels clunky

Alternatives Considered: Sage Accounting

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Accountant recommended it, as it was something they liked working with

Jesse
Managing Director in Australia
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Xero is a Team Player

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Xero has helped us reduce the amount of admin time we used to spend by automating and simplifying some of the most time consuming daily tasks. We love the ability to connect and reconcile our accounts, easily process payroll, sign up new staff and process credit card payments for better cashflow.

Cons:

There's nothing I don't like about Xero. I'm just looking forward to more features and the ability to integrate with more external software in the future, increasing automation wherever possible.

Geoff
Global Sales Director in New Zealand
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Losing touch with the cusomter.

2.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: It works and accounting isn't the most exciting part of the day. The features and mindless design changes do not justify the constant price increases. Like the huge integration list, they should break up every feature and price by feature rather than base packages.

Pros:

Xero was great when we first signed up. It was a simple small business accounting software.

Cons:

They lost touch with the customers. Developers ruled with poorly thought out features and UI/UX. Tell your early customers how much you are discounting your new customers and then flood the dashboard with price increase notifications. Price goes up and the product gets worse.

Mark
Owner in South Africa
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy, capable, and to the point

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, we love Xero, having come from a free alternative which took so much more time to use.

Pros:

We love Xero's ease of use and the straightforward way of defining accounts, setting tax settings on these accounts and then reconciling transactions.

Cons:

While Xero has many integrations to other external solutions/applications, it has none which are valuable to us, being our local South African payment gateways and Buy Now Pay Later providers for the purposes of importing transactions from them into Xero for transaction reconciliation - examples of integrations which would be fantastic are to PayFast, PayJustNow, Ozow, Payflex, HappyPay, Float, etc.

Alternatives Considered: Sage Accounting

Reasons for Choosing Xero: No longer officially supported South Africa, no direct bank integration.

Switched From: Wave

Reasons for Switching to Xero: It was cheaper, supported direct integration with our business bank (Nedbank) and had fantastic reviews.

Jhoy
Finance Manager in Philippines
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Xero certified

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Xero is user friendly, easy to navigate things. And they have useful updates quarterly. They make sure they step up their game every now and then.

Cons:

Can't think of any right now cause going back to what I just said, they continuously update the software so it will be useful to their users.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Xero is user friendly, easy to navigate things. And they have useful updates quarterly. They make sure they step up their game every now and then.

Martin
Managing Director in UK
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and fluent

5.0 last month New

Comments: Easy and without hassle. Team were helpful in transferring from other accounting software.

Pros:

Mobile app is great for quoting in the job. Lots of automated features. Bank reconciliations are a breeze.

Cons:

Title and descriptions on quotes don’t transfer over to invoices. Other than that I have nothing else.

Jamie
Head of Growth in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for growing businesses

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: My experience with Xero has been very positive and I can’t see a point in time when I’ll ever move away from it as the go-to cloud accounting solution.

Pros:

It’s incredibly easy for SMEs to set up invoicing, P&L reporting and credit control processes and it scales with your business because of all the add-ons/3rd party app integrations.

Cons:

The only negative is it’s slight lack of financial data visualisation in reports, but this easily solved with the right integrations.

Samuel
CEO in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Xero is Great

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: It's been cool. Helpdesk has been responsive, although sometimes you need to explain things a number of times before the right agent gets involved and solves it. Overall, fine though.

Pros:

The team at Xero were very friendly getting me set up and the overall feel of the app is welcoming. It's got some quirks, but seems to be fairly straightforward once it's up and running properly.

Cons:

I did have some issues getting set up and connecting bank accounts, which resulted in duplicates for one of my credit cards. The solution was to just abandon one account and use the other to get it working. This will be better after a full fiscal year goes by.

Rob
Director in UK
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Modern, trustworthy

4.0 last month New

Pros:

A secure, trustworthy platform to keep track of our business finances in check.

Cons:

Pricing can be seen as fairly steep, however aware it’s one of the leading products out there.

lipa
Finance Manager in UK
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Xero - Accounting

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy usage and understandability, has great import features and can edit approved sales and payables invoices

Cons:

Not applicable at this point in time - can tell more in the future once I utilise all the other features

Gene
Senior Accountant in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting Software Design for the Business Owner

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Xero give me, an accountant, a tool to provide my clients with that effectively gives them a tool for keeping their daily records in an orderly fashion make my job easier at the end of each month.

Pros:

Xero have been designed to be used by non-account business folks. However, once the data has been listed an accountant has a great tool to use to finish the company financial records (Monthly, Quarterly & Annually). It is also priced at a rate that works for most business owners.

Cons:

I really do not know of any areas within the software that I can list as "Least" liked. I do not know of any significant problems which I believe need correcting.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Enterprise

Reasons for Choosing Xero: I found Xero to be better designed for the average business owner at a lower rate.

Switched From: QuickBooks Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Because of its design for the business owner.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Xero is an awesome bookkeeping solution for small business owners!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Xero is an awesome bookkeeping and accounting software solution for startups and small business owners. It is indeed a good match for business owners who know nothing about accounting in order to keep their books and to properly manage their finances. From my own experience, I found that Xero is very user-friendly and its accounting interface is streamlined, almost seamless, and uncluttered. The Demo Company is very useful as you can manipulate data without worrying about messing up vital information in your practice company. Xero’s accounting dashboard shows the snapshot of your business (i.e., bank balances and reconciling items, outstanding invoices, and bills, accounts on the watchlist, etc.) and fully customizable depending on your needs. Quickbooks had been the leader of accounting software for small businesses for quite some time but Xero is becoming more popular because of its competitive offering and value proposition. Xero’s starting plan is very affordable and you have the option to add-on some features depending on your need. It also offers a basic inventory and fixed asset management functionality in all of its plans, which is very cool! And the best thing about Xero is the unlimited users allowed to access the financial information.

Pros:

- Affordable and cost less for startups and small businesses - Includes fixed assets and inventory management in all of its plans - Very user-friendly especially during migration or conversion of data - Allows unlimited users - Friendly 24/7 customer support

Cons:

- Some countries lack a built-in payroll option. - Customized reporting options are still limited. I wish Xero can allow you to create your own report. - The contact list of customers and suppliers is mixed together and needs to set-up manually to organize.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Choosing Xero: Excel and spreadsheets for bookkeeping and accounting become very hard to maintain over time and can be time-consuming. Additionally, it is also prone to errors and data corruption. Therefore, it is not sustainable especially if you are growing your business.

Switched From: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Xero is more commonly used by my target market: New Zealand, Australia and Malaysia.

ian
owner in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pretty good, but in the end, more complicated than needed for two person practice

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: largely positive, but when they got rid of payroll, given my business of 2 employee/owner s-corp in a medical practice, with no retail/inventory, it made things a ton easier to just do my accounting in Excel. It was really the payroll that made this a no brainer for me.

Pros:

I loved the usability of this software. It was super easy to set up relatively sophisticated accounting with no accounting background. I thought the bank reconciliation was dynamite, and while they still had it, I loved the payroll. When I would eventually get triaged to tech support, the person was so patient, and so helpful it was really great, and they never seemed to mind spending a long time helping to fix some oddball problems that I'd made. Oh yes, loved it that they did the quarterly tax filings for me, but that also went away with the payroll

Cons:

One thing about this accounting software - when you have a question their first response is to tell you to have your accountant look at it. I was using this software as a replacement for an accountant, in order to save money, so that advice didn't help much. When you do a google for help, you run into a problem: Xero seems to be doing accounting software for all the english speaking countries,e.g. new zealand, australia, UK, USA and canada. each of these countries has different business formations/corporations, different taxation rules, etc, as well as meaningfully different accounting vernacular. I would end up mnost of the time getting somewhere only to realize I'd pulled up the UK instructions to solve a problem.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Xero: good recommendation from another provider who had a similar size busness. Was SUPER easy to set up, and the account reconciliation was a godsend.

Leanne
MD in France
Staffing & Recruiting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to deploy and use providing you have basic book-keeping knowledge

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Solid and simple cloud accounting solution that is easy to navigate and customise. Great that our external accountants and legal support can access online as they need. Seems to be continuously evolving and its reassuring to see ongoing development of the product.

Pros:

Customisable dashboard is a time saver and ability to customise templates helps with consistency for our company branding. Customisation of user permissions means the bonus of staff being able to enter their own expenses which is a further time saver. Being able to work across multiple currencies now is a plus, albeit I wish we could manually adjust exchange rates being used.

Cons:

Many advanced features that are standard for longer established accounting software solutions are available, but as "bolt on" packages, so costs can escalate quickly if you need full "bells and whistles". Customer service response can be very slow compared to other cloud software providers we use - in the beginning they were responsive for engagement but over time they're clearly pushing all customers towards getting answers from their user community and/or through the Q&A section. I appreciate that customer service probably don't want to be wasting time with queries better addressed by professional book-keepers or accountants, but in our instance, as "advanced users", our customer service queries tend to be related to technical challenges with the product. It would be great of Xero could analyse the types of queries coming from their customers and perhaps have a priority helpline on offer for "low maintenance" subscribers.

Alternatives Considered: Quicken , Sage Accounting , QuickBooks Online Advanced and FreshBooks

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Felt more user friendly, especially for team members who, at the time, had limited or zero accounting knowledge

Iain
Director in UK
Industrial Automation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very different to Sage 50

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We moved from Sage line 50 to Xero, this has mainly been a positive experience. From our day-to-day usage, sending invoices, chasing debt, bank reconciliation it is very easy to use. Our accountant set up Dext to import receipts and expenses which means we spend much less time with data entry now and we are much more paperless than we were. The key driver for us was to work in a cloud based system that would integrate with other business management systems and Xero kept coming up as the one that plays nicely with lots of other services. Our managment accountant has taken a lot more convincing as the web-based interface can be a little more clumsy in some 'pure-accountancy' areas and getting the chart of accounts nicely presented has taken a bit of effort. Generally we're really happy with Xero and are also happy with the split that the CRM/MRP/ERP system is supported by that vendor leaving the accountancy to the accountancy experts.

Pros:

Ease of use from a day-to-day perspective for a non accountant and integration with other cloud software such as Dext and Flowlens

Cons:

We have had a couple of glitches where bank feeds have stopped working for periods of time, manual import of bank statements can take a few attempts to get right.

Alternatives Considered: Dynamics 365 Business Central

Reasons for Choosing Xero: Compatibility with CRM/ERP, Cloud system

Switched From: Sage 50cloud Accounting

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Ease of use, Established brand, Integrated Payroll, migration support, ongoing cost

Cody
Controller in US
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to Implement and Manage Global Business, Low Customization Options

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Kanopy has found Xero to serve its needs well, but ultimately we moved on and migrated to NetSuite years later. We still keep Xero though for 1 international subsidiary that we found to be advantageous not to migrate. The mature business with complex operations may not find all needs are met with Xero, especially if the desire is to integrate many other tools/software with the ERP in a bi-directional data flow.

Pros:

Xero serves well as an "out of the box" accounting system, not unlike Quickbooks. It also has more functionality and use internationally, making it a superior choice to QB if your business operates on a global, multicurrency basis. There are some solid automations which can be implemented with Xero as well, and the canned reporting generally suffices for the majority of basic financial needs.

Cons:

Xero lacks the open customization options that software like Netsuite or Dynamics offers. For a small business this will often be fine, but a scaling operation looking to automate many functions based on unique business needs may someday find they have outgrown Xero and need to undergo an (often painful) ERP migration.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Online Advanced

Reasons for Switching to Xero: International features are superior, and ability to manage multiple subsidiaries based in different countries is more manageable in Xero.

Ibrahim
Ibrahim
internal auditor in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Xero is changing the landscape of cloud accounting

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience with Xero can be described as fulfilling, it has simplified my workflow and saved me a lot of time and effort, I no longer spend long hours at the office. This has also impacted positively on my health. I would recommend this software to everyone.

Pros:

“It’s so clean to apply, even for non-financial human beings” My financial institution transactions are robotically connect to Xero so I don’t have to manually input them myself. I get my Financial statements the first week after the year end Another charming issue of this software is that it is a great idea if a corporation is unfolded across a couple of places with personnel operating in various locations. The accountants from every location can get admission to the financial data of all branches at any moment irrespective of their vicinity or time. As a world main provider of online accounting software program, Xero utilizes world-elegance cloud safety. Your data is appropriately saved in the cloud, and guarded from both Cyber criminals and perils like fire or flood.

Cons:

The expenses tracking can be formatted to allow multiply currencies to be easily uploaded in batches or real time. No integrated ‘Debtor Chasing’ function so companies will have to manually follow up on their unpaid invoices.

Daniel
Accountant in Poland
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great online software for SMEs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been great software that helped many business to grow with up to date, online financial information.

Pros:

Xero has been one of the first solutions for cloud bookkeeping and accounting and has successfully competed with the likes of Sage and QuickBooks. It has probably the most other software providers that link directly with Xero over APIs.

Cons:

Over the years there were some features that were requested and it took a long time for them to be implemented, also more and more features are additional paid for addons.

Alternatives Considered: FreshBooks , Sage 50cloud Accounting , QuickBooks Online , Wave , FreeAgent and Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Choosing Xero: Clients were unhappy with existing software.

Switched From: Sage 50cloud Accounting and QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Xero: It has the most connections with other apps, links with workpapers among other things.

karl
Business and Change Manager in UK
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software for SMB

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We came to Xero from Sage and has changed the way we manage our accounts, and helped the team be more productive.

Pros:

customer service is great, even for an SMB like ours, we get good response times and knowledgeable people. the system is very easy to use and has great functionality for managing our sales and supplier invoices so that we can keep track of our cashflow accurately. Apps library is great and has everything that we need.

Cons:

certain functionality around automation and AI is not there but can be added via connected apps.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Desktop and QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Choosing Xero: needed more functionality and fewer manual processes

Switched From: Sage Accounting

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Allowed for a more flexible account and functionality was better than other solutions and better connected to other apps and services

Laura
Laura
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

To keep track of finances, Xero is a small business' best friend

4.0 last year

Comments: We've suggested Xero to a few clients and even forced them to switch from their current accounting software because of how much superior it is than its competitors.

Pros:

If you're not an accountant, Xero is still simple and straightforward to use. Daily operations are based on the straightforward processes of making payments to suppliers and receiving money. It's the best option for a company of that size. It's simple and straightforward to use this accounting software to keep track of your company's money. This program is something I use constantly.

Cons:

Xero is designed for small businesses, therefore it has basic restrictions (journal approvals, etc.). As a company's billing operations reach a certain mass, they outgrow a single Xero instance and require the use of many instances running in parallel to process all of the bills.

Rebekah
Office Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Brilliant product

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Really good, does what it says on the tin (so to speak!), perfect for our use case.

Pros:

Xero is very easy to use, it has a lot of useful features that make it stand out ahead of similar software

Cons:

There isn't much that I don't like, but maybe some more customisation to the interface would be nice, to make things cleared to see when needed or to remove bits I don't want to see.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Choosing Xero: Due to local 'making tax digital' regulations in the UK, we had to look at a cloud based solution and Xero came out on top for our use case.

Switched From: Sage Accounting

Reasons for Switching to Xero: Xero was recommended by our accountant, as well as several other people that we deal with.

jonathan
Managing Director in UK
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Appalling Software - Avoid at all Costs in My Opinion

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, Xero costs us a lot of time we didn't spend before, does things on it's own such as create new suppliers for an expense and to me, it seems the software was written by ex Bookkeepers who didn't really understand bookkeeping anyway and had a good go at designing a software package that would compete I am guessing with the likes of Sage and failed abysmally. We use Xero because our accountants do the bookkeeping for us and this is what they use, if not for this, I wouldn't touch Xero if my life depended on it.

Pros:

Nothing, nothing at all. The software is nothing more than a glorified analysed cashbook. Support is poor and some of the replies from Support demonstrate the advisor doesn't understand accounts, the accounts structure or the damage that can be done by the advice they are giving.

Cons:

All purchases whether a supplier, or a bottle of milk from Tesco's is a contact. A bottle of milk for the office should be coded directly to the nominal code, not a new supplier "Tesco's" created. Cash in an out of bank should be the same as the bank statement on a live bank feed, but it excludes transfers from savings to current account so not a true reflection of cash in and out. Xero doesn't reconcile customer receipts, even through the name on the receipt in the bank is the same as the customer account exactly. Xero dump a lot of support on to the accountant who provides the service. Xero creates accounts for customers and suppliers on it's own if it doesn't recognise a payment or receipt in the bank account. Software should never be allowed to decide if it wants to create something automatically. Xero isn't as automated as Sage Accounts, for instance when bulk invoicing over several days, you can't set the date at software level, you have to keep changing the date. When importing from Sage into Xero for the first time, if Xero doesn't understand an item on the invoice, it simply creates a new line on the invoice whether you want it to or not and there is no way apparently to undo this once done. Xero works with receipt bank and you can spend hours trying to tell it an expense is not to be coded to a customer. I could go on.

Anna
Administrator/accounting assistant in New Zealand
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Xero makes reconciling fun

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use Xero in two roles in my life, one as an employee and the other for the accounting software for my husband's business.
In my work New Zealand schools use this software as it is relatively easy to learn, quite intuitive and uses cloud accounting, enables document uploads for accountants to view etc. Once well set up it is also fast to use on a day to day basis.
At home I assist my husband to reconcile our business transactions for our accountant. We don't have to go in to the accountant's office or email invoices etc as we can upload them to Xero for him to see. You can set up the dashboard to get an overall view of your business and how much money is owed to you, and bills you owe, how you are tracking month to month, and the balances of your accounts you have linked to Xero.

Pros:

I like the ease of reconciling because once you get set up and code a few items it remembers them for next time for a faster job (you still have to check them to see if they are correct first). I find it fun and satisfying to reconcile in Xero as it is quite visual, you see several lines waiting to be reconciled and then as you work through the transactions, coding them and clicking on the middle button, they disappear. Setting up bank rules is also a huge benefit, as they get coded automatically, ready for you to just hit the green 'ok' button. You can use this for your usual bills for example, electricity bill, local cafe, cell phone bill, internet charges. Although it does take time to set bank rules up to make sure all details are accurate, it saves time in the long run. I like the fact that customers can upload documents into the files section of Xero and their accountant can see these documents immediately to work on them or code them. I also like the search function as you can search for a particular number, or the first few letters of a name or business to find relevant transactions. Being able to generate invoices and email them direct from Xero is great as it saves time.

Cons:

It is not the software's fault exactly, but because reconciling is so easy there is a temptation to accept what Xero suggests for a transaction and reconcile to this account, instead of pausing and really checking if the code is the best one. Xero is first and foremost a business accounting software, so the reports it can generate may not be exactly what other users of the software need, like schools for example, who may need a Xero add-on to get what they most need in regards to reports.

Afzal
Director in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Effortless Accounting with Xero, but at a Price

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been using Xero for accounting for quite some time now, and overall, I am quite satisfied with the software. The best thing I like about Xero is how easy it is to use. The interface is intuitive, and the software is designed to be user-friendly, even for those who are not accounting experts. It makes managing my financials a breeze and saves me a lot of time. The software has a wide range of features and integrations that allow me to keep my business finances organized and up to date.However, the one thing that I do not like about Xero is its pricing. It is quite expensive compared to other accounting software in the market. While I understand that Xero offers a lot of features, I believe that the pricing could be more affordable, especially for small businesses like mine.Overall, Xero is a great accounting software that is easy to use and has a lot of features that can help streamline your business finances. While the price may be a bit steep for some, I believe that the benefits it provides are worth the investment.

Pros:

I have been using Xero for accounting for quite some time now, and overall, I am quite satisfied with the software. The best thing I like about Xero is how easy it is to use. The interface is intuitive, and the software is designed to be user-friendly, even for those who are not accounting experts. It makes managing my financials a breeze and saves me a lot of time. The software has a wide range of features and integrations that allow me to keep my business finances organized and up to date.

Cons:

However, the one thing that I do not like about Xero is its pricing. It is quite expensive compared to other accounting software in the market. While I understand that Xero offers a lot of features, I believe that the pricing could be more affordable, especially for small businesses like mine

Ra
programmer in Saudi Arabia
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Xero is the ideal accounting solution for small businesses - easy, comprehensive and integrated.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Xero has been extremely positive. I found the transition to the platform smooth and straightforward. The intuitive user interface allowed me to get started with the software quickly without the need for extensive training. I’m now able to easily manage invoices, payments, and track expenses. The integrations with banks and payment apps enabled me to automate financial processes. The reporting and dashboards helped me make better decisions to grow my business. I'm very happy with choosing Xero as my accounting solution, and would recommend any startup to consider it.

Pros:

What I liked most about Xero was its user-friendly interface. The dashboard is simple and streamlined, allowing me and my accounting team to use the software smoothly even without extensive accounting background. I also enjoy the mobile access on phones and tablets, enabling me to manage accounting tasks anywhere. Additionally, the seamless integration with other banking and invoicing apps is great. Overall, Xero is easy to use and helpful for handling the day-to-day accounting of my business.

Cons:

What I liked least about Xero was the limited custom reporting options. While Xero provides many standard financial reports, the ability to customize reports or create more complex accounting reports is restricted. So sometimes I need to export data to Excel to build custom reports. It also lacks advanced support for inventory or manufacturing accounting. But overall, Xero covers my needs as a small business for now, and I expect the platform will continue improving over time.