Aiven is very efficent for me, because is very easy use to

Reviewed on 25/10/2017
Mario C.
Sys Admin
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: the serves restores in atumatic in downtime
the backup automatic
facility to see the performance

Pros: graph of metrics
query statics
easy admin of users
the autimatic backups and restores
the upgrades of service plans is a very easy and autimatic
the agents of service desk are very efficent and friendly

Cons: can't watch logs of befores days
aiven dont have a panel to execute querys, i could execute querys without any administrator of postgresql from your platform
cant admin sessions, i could close to sessions without pgadmin

Vendor Response

by Aiven on 20/02/2019

Hello Mario,

Thank you for your review. We¿re glad to hear you have enjoyed the ease of use of our managed PostgreSQL.

First, I wanted to let you know that it is now possible to close connections directly from console.

Second, our logs view has been improved; for longer logs retention, we support integration to Elasticsearch, where you can keep logs for unlimited (limited by amount of disk space) time.

Thanks again!

Excellent, well-designed product. Hard to imagine an easier solution to this problem.

Reviewed on 16/10/2017
Johannes K.
CTO
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The best feature is how easy it is to get up and running. Once you've set up an instance, you literally (in our case) just had to copy-and-paste the database URL into our site's (Django-based) configuration. The fact that scaling the instances is so easy also makes it quite comfortable to just start with a small one and then upgrade it as your needs increase.

Cons: We had one or two cases where the instance was unreachable, even though the dashboard reported that it was up. Considering the price, this is pretty good for over a year of service with no redundancy, though. Also, automatically upgrading the PostgreSQL version is obviously a double-edged sword. An opt-out feature might be helpful. We once started getting some errors when the postgres-server version changed.

Aiven is the perfect, no-lock-in DB solution

Reviewed on 01/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Aiven makes it trival to move databases between cloud providers. The stickiest thing about any hyperscaler (AWS/Google/Azure) is your data - it's a PAIN to move. Aiven makes changing your cloud provider a literal point and shoot operation, something that could take weeks of planning trying to from RDS to Cloud SQL or the like.

Cons: A little more customization in the pricing would be nice (and the ability to run within a VPC instead of having to peer VPCs), but honestly there's very little I don't like about Aiven.

Remote replicas to the rescue!

Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Daniel G.
SRE
Financial Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We tested and we loved it, the remote replica is a service that takes weight out of our shoulders in a brilliant and simple way.

Pros: The interface is easy to use and intuitive. The remote replica option is saving the company time. In the past, it was hard to manage and configure the remote replicas using tools like Bucardo and PostgreSQL in RDS, which does not support binary replication (at least it didn't back then). The replicas between the remote databases happen almost instantly. Great support for extensions.

Cons: The chat support takes a long time to answer the questions but when they do, the answers are to the point and helpful.

Using Aiven has been a great experience because it has permitted us to deploy faster database server

Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Efrain D.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Deploying database servers it is now really fast for us.

Pros: I like that is possible to deploy PostgreSQL within seconds. I also really like that is possible to upgrade to a minor or major version of PostgreSQL without a noticeable downtime. I like the offering of HA services. I like the great customer support.

Cons: That it is not possible to have customizable PostgreSQL logs. On our dedicated servers we customize this logs to show us querys that last longer than 5 seconds, currently this is not possible with Aiven.

Focus on the productive stuff

Reviewed on 07/04/2019
Mathias P.
CTO
Oil & Energy, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Extremely esay to use and get started with in seconds. Very helpful support if so be needed and a very reliable service.

Pros: It's incredibly easy to spin up a postgreSQL instance and start being productive. Everything from creating a secure password to SSL-certificates are handled automatically. Point in time backups make you confident to use and test without gambling hours of work and for the serious tests and development environments - spin up a replica by forking the database with the press of a button!

Cons: It is a bit expensive if you need more disk space, which isn't unusual when dealing with data and databases.

It's great. Everything just works; setup was effortless; customer service is responsive and helpful.

Reviewed on 18/10/2017
Verified Reviewer
Software developer
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The best thing are the no-downtime migrations and upgrades. The setup was quick and easy and since then no maintenance has been required. Customer service is great and pro-active. The dashboard works well.

Cons: As far as I can tell there's no way to set a separate billing email. It would be nice to also see in the dashboard what's taking up most memory and disk space and to be able to set up alerts, such as if there are queries that take too long to execute.

Vendor Response

by Aiven on 20/02/2019

Thanks for the review! Great to hear you have had a good experience so far.

Regarding to your comment on setting a separate billing email, field for that has now been made available.

Aiven PostgreSQL review

Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Bruno G.
Team Lead
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Performance is much higher than Amazon RDS

Cons: Failover can take quite a long time.

Overall is more far better than Google cloudsql

Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Sugandi -.
Devops Engineer
Entertainment, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Good so far, you guys provide mysql as well?

Pros: Availability and live migration feature is awesome

Cons: Last time (couple weeks) it still cannot zoom to specific range of time in metric dashboard or i am wrong remember

Works well, has cloud datacenters in many regions.

Reviewed on 26/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Lead
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Don't have to host Linux servers for it myself.

Pros: Datacenters in multiple regions, multiple PostgreSQL versions. General high level of availability. Support is helpful and pretty fast (located in my timezone.)

Cons: No real cons actually. Had a problem once (which was related to my PG driver etc), the customer support helped me resolve it fairly quickly.

So simple and powerfull

Reviewed on 01/09/2018
Márton S.
Senior System Engineer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I am very satisfied with Aiven so far.It eliminated the need for in-house solutions for backup, scaling and upgrading a PostgreSQL server.

Pros: I have only used the PostgreSQL service so far and I really like how easy it is to start, fork en upgrade the service. A great feature, and a must for us, is that you can choose on which cloud provider and location the service should be deployed. We have been hosting our own PostgreSQL server for years and had to manage upgrades, backup and scaling on our own. And it feels great to finally leave that behind us and start using PostgreSQL as a service. The support is great to. I have been in contact with the support using the chat feature and have been helped every time.

Cons: The official API client was a bit hard to understand at first.

Overall good, customer support is good, however pricing is not great compared to AWS, logs not good.

Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Ease of use, being able to upgrade, downgrade hardware as needed, great customer support, overall decent interface.

Cons: Hardware versus price is not great, especially compared to AWS, not great logging, seems difficult to customize, no auto scaling.

new to cloud db services

Reviewed on 07/08/2018
Mags D.
Lead developer
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very happy with service and support

Pros: - Australian data centre (no one has these!)
- Postgres support
- Easy to create an account and a database
- Customer support is very good
- Documentation and guides are very good
- Intergration with Datadog was easy

Cons: 1. The default db is named 'defaultdb' so i created new dbs for staging/prod so i dont use the default db, i find this a bit confusing
2. On overview page only default db is shown, I would prefer to see all my db's and possibly set favourites
3. When I hit the server the Current Queries tab shows IP address but duration and db fields are blank?
4. Pricing seems a little steep for mid level single app users
5. Would like to see explanations in console graphs to better understand what they mean

It works nicely

Reviewed on 22/02/2018
Karl-jørgen M.
Developer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy and fast to start a new service.
Easy service overview.
Nice pricerange from hobby to business

Cons: We had a service issue some time ago where we had no database for 4 hours. We needed to upgrade to business to have better fallback

Nice UI. Great support. Great features (for PG, a bit less for redis unfortunately)

Reviewed on 14/10/2017
Yoav A.
CTO
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Setup is very intuitive, and it seems to work great. Support was prompt and knowledgeable (which is hugely important). PG features seem solid and the flexibility to choose the cloud hosting, size etc is great.

Cons: easy Redis backup/import is still missing unfortunately. We'd love to use Aiven for redis too, but with those limitations we can't yet. I'm still a bit hesitant about how likely Aiven is to stay in business as a company. It's not so well known and hard to know who's behind it and that it's doing well financially to keep going for many years. (btw, I think you guys should be more active on HackerNews and other geek channels where you should market yourselves.)

Great service

Reviewed on 14/03/2018
James W.
Technical Team Lead
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The implementation of our business!

Pros: Can't fault Aiven at all, great service, the exact services we require (postgres and elasticsearch) and always more than willing to help

Cons: While it is a managed service you do need to have at least a minimum of knowledge to setup and run the services on offer.

Software developer

Reviewed on 31/10/2018
Alex G.
Software Developer
Banking, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: excellent

Pros: Easy to deploy and setup replication on any cloud provider we like

Cons: We want to move to our production environment but we need a SOC2. Currently, aiven does not have that. WHEN WILL YOU GET IT?!

Vendor Response

by Aiven on 20/02/2019

Hello Alex,

Thanks for the review! We¿re glad your experience has been good so far.

Regarding your question, we are aiming for SOC2 report it during 2019. In case you have requested the feature through our support, you will be notified when it¿s available. Meanwhile, I suggest you following our RSS feeds for further updates.

To demonstrate our commitment to our customers' information security, we maintain compliance with all major data regulations and are ISO 27001 certified.

Thanks again and stay tuned!

Very impressed

Reviewed on 05/07/2019
Mitchell D.
Tech lead
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The ability to link to our Google cloud cluster using VPC was very valuable. Features such as PITR and connection pooling makes Avien PostgreSQL in another league entirely when it comes to cloud services. Well done.

Cons: It would be useful to allow a whitelisted IP address into the service even when its configured with VPC

Good for quick start, but more features required

Reviewed on 02/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Backend engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Ease of use, quick setup.
We easily migrated to cloud and don't have to manage PostgreSQL any more.

Cons: Not enough features and settings for PostgreSQL: for example: slow queries logs are missing and we have to monitor by third party tools.

Great PostgreSQL offering with managed PGBouncher

Reviewed on 20/11/2017
Andy S.
Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: - Managed PGBouncher
- easy setup and upgrade
- quicky offering new technologies (e.g. PostgreSQL 10)

Cons: - lack of integration with datadog for metrics. right now we need to get some metrics manually using the Aiven metrics API

Great trial period experience

Reviewed on 08/07/2019
Jason S.
CTO, CFO
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Using Aiven lets us keep our DB from the tight grip of the majors and avoid lockin.

Pros: Excellent "managed" db setup, overall. I liked how Aiven seemed to abstract the cloud-company-centric database offerings that each cloud co offers but made it appear "seamless" to me.

Cons: Could use a better explanation of pricing w.r.t. what the standard google/amzn/do db setup might cost.

Great affordable product

Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
CTO
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, it's been a smooth experience transitioning and migrating over from our previous hosting platform. The support has been absolutely great thus far.

Pros: It's clean, simple-to-use, and best of all, is serviced by very knowledgeable IT staff who can answer the finer details of our technical questions and make nuanced recommendations. The pricing plan is also friendlier than those offered by the bigger platforms.

Cons: It would be great if we can be on the trial plan too, and getting on it was a bit of a hassle, but otherwise not much complaints.

We love to use Aiven to spawn PostgreSQL databases, it's easy to use and many features we like

Reviewed on 08/01/2018
Louis B.
CEO
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Fast and easy setup,
vast choice of cloud providers and regions.

Pros: Zero-downtime migrations and plan changes, database forks, nice metrics with iops.
Configuration seems to be hand-crafted to the installation, which is nice.

Cons: Plans could be more flexible in terms of space. Would be great to be able to choose disk space independently. Even for a small database which is used to store archive data, it gets very expensive.

Aiven provides reliable and secure services, and support has been super knowledgable.

Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Tony K.
Senior Engineer
Commercial Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use Aiven Postgres to deploy new services rapidly. I like how Aiven handles changes to the deployed environment. The support team at Aiven answers questions clearly and are knowledgable.

Pros: Aiven provides premium security for all accounts, not as an add-on feature.

Cons: The terraform plugin is not up to full feature parity, but covers most of our use cases.

aiven is a great service, very few downsides

Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Quinn W.
Senior DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall aiven PostgreSQL has been a smooth experience, with smooth upgrades/migrations. We are using it to replace a legacy MongoDB stack.

Pros: The self-service nature of everything, including vpc peering. The existence of a hashicorp terraform provider works perfectly for us :)

Cons: Chat support isn't great, I'd rather be able to asynchronously create a ticket in response to issues rather than wait for staff to be available via chat. Some postgres options aren't configurable (ie. deadlock_timeout).