15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ScanWriter

ScanWriter is a Fraud Detection and Investigation Software that empower your investigations with actionable data insights.

Learn more about ScanWriter

Pros:

This software makes converting bulky pdf into excel spreadsheets much easier. An investigator can easily analyze where the money trail is going.

Cons:

This software was very hard to use for our accounting firm. It takes to long to read the document.

ScanWriter ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

ScanWriter has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 12 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (12)

Sort by

Have you used ScanWriter before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (12)

Randal
Randal
Construction Accounting Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have used ScanWriter for several years in our accounting practice and love it!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Saved us a lot of time in reconciling bank and credit card statements. Fairly easy to train new staff.

Pros:

It does what it promised and whenever we have any issues tech support fixed it immediately if not sooner.

Cons:

Short learning curve. It took us about three days off and on to figure it out because we used it on an Intuit Approved Commercial Host for our QuickBooks For Contractor clients.

Raveesha
Investigator in India
Law Enforcement, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ScanWriter allows me to focus on more important tasks by taking care of data preparation & analysis

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Their customer support staff is wonderful. For me, the after-sale service is extremely important for any product or service and it speaks volumes about the company.

Pros:

The ease of conversion of scanned documents, including handwritten checks from PDF to Excel plus the powerful data visualization features to easily understand the flow of funds and track the audit trail. It saves a lot of time I used to spend on data preparation and analysis. It is also very convenient for verifying the transactions from the bank statements and other documents while preparing data before exporting it to Excel and this feature ensures 100% accuracy of the data.

Cons:

The only thing that bothers me is the recent increase in the price of the software, making it a little on the higher side. Other than that the software is easy to use and provides customer support, which is great. Since the pros of the software outweigh the cons, I continue using it at an increased price as well and it has now become a necessity for me.

Carla
Accountant in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hard to us

1.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We could not find anything positive about this software.

Cons:

This software was very hard to use for our accounting firm. It takes to long to read the document.

Denise
Accountant in Canada
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Saves me a lot of time

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I can't imagine not using Scanwriter now. It just saves me so much time. I wish some of the tasks I have to do manually in Scanwriter, could be automated by the software, but overall it works well for me.

Pros:

Scanwriter for Quickbooks allows me to enter hundreds of invoices and payments into Quickbooks Desktop in far less time than manual entry would allow. Their support team is always available to help when I have an issue. Each type of document has a "Reader" that Scanwriter's team creates to read your document, so they have to have a set format to work with the software. If the document is a common one that other companies also need, the readers are free. If the document is a custom one, there is a charge for Scanwriter to create a reader. Some readers, ie for receiving payments, will do almost everything automatically with very little intervention from me. Others, require more manipulation and prepping of the data, so save me less time.

Cons:

There is a learning curve to get going in Scanwriter, like most other software. Sometimes upon opening the program it is not able to connect to the internet or my Quickbooks, so I have to restart my computer to get all of the features working properly. I am also experiencing some data corruption issues in Quickbooks since starting to integrate with Scanwriter. I am not sure if this is contributing to the problems. Also, some documents are slower to read, but I am free to do other tasks during the reading , so I am still very productive.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Flow of funds analysis made easy by ScanWriter

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: ScanWriter is a Game Changer! And I am on the winning team! …I love it.

Pros:

With ScanWriter, we were able to complete the case in weeks instead of months, determined the flow of funds and traced the money, could take on more cases to support the agency’s mission, and manage large data sets while maintaining data integrity

Cons:

No specific cons. It meets our needs. Significantly, the Flow of Funds model quickly illustrates where the money comes from, where it is going, who is involved, and more.

Nitesh
Manager in India
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Super easy to convert bank statements into Excel and analyze them

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We had bulky pdfs and it used to take a lot of time to convert those pdfs into excel. Scanwriter helped us convert those pdfs into spreadsheets with 100% accuracy.

Pros:

This software makes converting bulky pdf into excel spreadsheets much easier. An investigator can easily analyze where the money trail is going. We have used other software like Bank-Scan but nothing beats ScanWriter.

Cons:

It would be helpful if there are detailed instructions written in the software as what to do next.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

"Accuracy, Speed and Ease of Use Makes ScanWriter a Winner"

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

1. Accuracy in capturing financial data. 2. It supports thousands of financial institutions. 3. Saves manual labor of capturing and cleansing the data 4. Automatically creates data visualizations for financial data giving time more quality time for real investigations

Cons:

Can't think of any downsides of ScanWriter at the moment.

Carla
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's super easy to import documents.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: My job becomes so much easier with it that my stress levels have dropped drastically lol

Pros:

This software makes it so easy to import documents to work with that my job becomes very easy to achieve.

Melissa
Melissa
Bookkeeper and Certified Quickbooks Proadvisor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have used Scanwriter for several years and it is a great tool for quickly entering data.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Saves a lot of time so I am more productive.

Pros:

It is very fast and reliable. The customer service is superb! The best of any product I have used.

Cons:

I wish there were more instructions on the website or videos and it is not always clear what to do next when using the software.

Chase
Owner in US
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hands down the best around!!!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Extremely user friendly and provides information that other software doesn’t.

Cons:

I just wish I would have started using sooner.

Jany
Accountant in US
Investment Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Scan Writer changes how bookkeeping is done, in a flash!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

ScanWriter's sales team spent time customizing our special needs in scanning daily sales log that would normally take 1.5 days per week to process into a couple of minutes work. They spent time running sample and showing us how it could be done. Very helpful support team.

Cons:

The price could be a bit high if you need to customize a lot of different work.

Emmanuel
Project officer in Nigeria
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It those what it promises

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best part of the software is its feature that allows for the conversion of files to excel format, allowing me to easily work on files on other platforms. i must say it is reliable

Cons:

The only issue i have is the price. It cost much especially when you have a lot of customizing to do.