15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Kangarootime

The leading all-in-one childcare software with automated payments and billing, a digital classroom and a parent communication tool.

Learn more about Kangarootime

Pros:

I enjoy having one place where parents can get all of their information from administration, teachers, therapists and nursing staff.

Cons:

The app does not notify families when a photo has been sent and our teachers find it difficult to manage the "rooming" feature.

Kangarootime ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Kangarootime has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 92 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kangarootime before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (92)

Shira
Shira
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Awesome Software!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Kangarootime has made the operations of my childcare center and preschool so much easier. I highly recommend Kangarootime

Pros:

Most helpful: integration with the Kisi system for secure keyless entry, easy to use tuition collection via the parent app, ability to send photos and updates of children to parents throughout the day, ability to communicate with families and staff, easy to use parent app giving parents access to all features in one place, customer service is extraordinary, continuous improvements to the product are excellent, training for implementation made adoption of the software very easy, support for centers and engagement of the team with centers is exemplary

Cons:

A bit more expensive than other options but entirely worth it! Honestly, the difference in cost may have been made up by not having to purchase other tools for some of the functions Kangarootime offers

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Shira - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Kangarootime! We're so happy to hear that our software is helping your center. We have taken your pricing feedback and shared it with our team. If you have any additional feedback in the future, do not hesitate to reach out!

David
David
Owner & President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software for child care centers

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Kangarootime has helped us improve communication with parents and teachers, and eliminate lots of paperwork. The Kangarootime team has been great to work with. They are very responsive and supportive.

Pros:

Software gives our Administrators constant visibility to room attendance and staffing. Parents love the smartphone app and the ability to communicate directly with Teachers and Administrators. Teachers love how the software helps them easily enter updates on the children without having to type out full sentences on the tablet.

Cons:

The software is relatively new so they are still adding and improving some functionality. Billing lacked some features that we wanted initially but they have been responsive to requests for improvements. Reporting is also limited but is expanding.

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi David - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Kangarootime. We're thrilled to hear that the software has benefitted your administrators, teachers and parents. We're also happy to hear that our team has been responsive to your product feedback and customer service needs. If you have any further feedback, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Dellisha
Assistant Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good foundation with work to be done

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like the ability to see the amount of children in the building and the amount of children enrolled. As well as the ability to take pictures.

Cons:

I don't like how outdated this software seems. I compare to tadpoles and I like that Tadpoles is particular with the tablets that can be used for their software and the tablets take phenomenal pictures. The quality of pictures sent home are a disappointment. I do like the way the pictures come out when teachers log into Kanagrootime from their phone. I just feel like the software is so outdated. I always think that when it comes to billing there's no way to fix a mistake. No easy way. I think it's silly to have to "credit" or add line instead of delete a billing mistake. I don't like how glitchy the app is. If I look through my gallery and keep scrolling it crashes. I don't like how I have to explain to parents to view the breakdown of their billing on the browser because the app does not offer it. If a child is "tagged" in a photo with other children (group photo) that photo shouldn't be able to be downloaded. That's another thing I love about Tadpole and how up to date it is with technology. as a mother, I would be very upset if someone posted my child on their social media without my consent.

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Dellisha - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Kangarootime. We appreciate the candid feedback about our software and have shared it with our product team. We're always open to feedback and incorporate it into our design process. I'm excited to share that a lot of your recommendations will be included in our update that will be released next year. If you have any further feedback you would like to share, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Karley
Child Care Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Thank you for making our day to day automated!

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Amazing company that continues to improve and grow. Happy to see things change and get better week by week!

Pros:

Their support and staff are incredible. They go out of their way to help and listen to any concerns or suggestions.

Cons:

I sometimes need forms or documents that cannot easily be generated.

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi Karley, thank you so much for writing us a review! We're so glad to hear you've had a positive experience with our team and platform. We're always looking to improve our software so if you have any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out! Thank you again, The Kangarootime Team

Sr. M. Mercedes
Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

GAME CHANGER!

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Their exceptional 5-star customer service compensates for any minor shortcomings. I know they take my comments and recommendations seriously.

Pros:

Kangarootime has truly transformed our childcare facility's operations, especially in maintaining proper ratios. With its seamless interface, we've seen a remarkable increase in monthly finances as we efficiently collect payments and empower parents with financial control. The platform's reporting tools are excellent.

Cons:

The admin dashboard could improve its view of student-teacher messaging. Increase/enhance employee-focused reports.

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi Sr. M. Mercedes, Thank you so much for writing us a review! We're so glad to hear that Kangarootime has transformed your business. Our team really appreciates your kind words and feedback. If there's anything else we can do to improve your experience, don't hesitate to reach out! Thanks again, The KT Team

Julie
Program Assistant in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Daily use

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: I enjoy using Kangarootime. I'm still learning, and looking forward to new updates.

Pros:

I like the messaging feature. It makes it easy to communicate with parents and staff. The customer support is wonderful, especially Eric. He is my go-to guy!

Cons:

I wish there was an easy way to receive a notification on the Admin side. I know parents receive a notification when they have a message, it would be nice if Admin could receive a notification on their phone or computer when they have a new message. Often, I am away from my desk, so this would make it easier.

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi Julie, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad to hear you like our messaging feature and the customer support we offer. If you have any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out! Thanks again, The KT Team

Daria
Center Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

All You Need in One!

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I love how Kangarootime is a multi-functioning app! I can process billing, maintain attendance records, keep contact information for all families, manage a healthy communication system with families, send photos to families and manage a secure keyless entry system for entry into my center.

Cons:

I don't have much negative feedback on Kangarootime. Overall, I am very pleased with the service.

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi Daria, Thank you so much for writing us a review! We're delighted to hear that you've had a positive experience with our platform and that it helps manage all aspects of your center. We're always looking for ways to improve our product so if you have any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out! Thank you again. - The Kangarootime Team

David
Business Manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One stop shopping. Kangaroo does it all.

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: clean use, easy to work with, second to none in customer service to explain how to or do it for you!!! 500 stars Yes... I know but not being a tech guy, I am impressed.

Pros:

I'm not a tech guy AT ALL. Even found it easy to use

Cons:

not able to send videos (BUT THEY ARE ABLE WHEN K2 DROPS)

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi David, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience using Kangarootime! We're so glad to hear that our software has been user-friendly and our customer service team has been helpful. If you have any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks again, The KT Team

Ashley
Child Care Director in US
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love Kangarootime!!

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, live KT and everything it offers my company!

Pros:

How much customer support comes with the company and how easy it is to use.

Cons:

I will when we receive messages from families we received an email stating they messaged us.

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad to hear that our software is easy to use and that your parents love it. If you have any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks again, The KT Team

Hannah
Regional Director in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

KT MLCC-Recent Implementation

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

-Customer Service: [sensitive content hidden] was and is excellent. He has helped our company (6 childcare sites) set up Kangarootime and get everything started at each location. He is always available and has been beyond patient with us learning the new technology so we can meet our families needs. [sensitive content hidden] goes above and beyond!

Cons:

-Ease of use at times for teachers in POC -Technology disruptions within the app--cannot provide accurate info to needed personnel due to this -Messaging feature-crashes and lose message

Kangarootime Response

3 months ago

Hi Hannah, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! We loved connecting with your team at Bounce and are so glad you've had a positive experience with our software. We will pass your feedback on to our team and continue working on improving our product. If you have any additional feedback, don't hesitate to reach out. Thank you again! - The KT Team

Rebecca
Management in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Everything in One!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Kangarootime makes daily operations easier. I can check attendance to see how many kids I am expecting. Staff and parents can communicate during the day through the messaging app. Multiple people can be included in a message through a feature to message an entire classroom or the entire center! Billing is done right through the app; parents setup automatic payment through their bank account or credit card so weekly all I need to do is verify the charges. Parts of billing can be confusing like when charges for next week are visible to the parent. It is easy to identify children with allergies because a yellow ring appears around their "face". Parents can put contact information into the app which makes it easier for staff to contact parents.

Cons:

I wish the messages part of the software could be organized, for instance sort messages into different folders; or filter by date or classroom or search word. It is time consuming to sort through an inbox to find what you are looking for.

Kangarootime Response

2 years ago

Hi Rebecca, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad you enjoy the all-in-one functionality of our platform. We love hearing how you use Kangarootime to communicate with families and make billing easier. Thank you for the feedback on our messaging feature. We're always looking to improve! Our team is here if you need anything or have any additional feedback. Thank you again!

Katie
Assistant Director in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kangarootime Review from a previous teacher, now Assistant Director

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love being able to communicate everything that we did for the day for each child; whether it's care or educational based. There are a few other "shortcut" options I would love to see, but overall I appreciate having a program that has many options to show the parents the quality care we provide!

Pros:

I really like that you can tell the parents everything about their child's day, daily! It's nice to be able to communicate with them using the messaging portion of the app as well.

Cons:

There are some aspects of Kangarootime I would change. For Education: When uploading pictures, it would be nice to be able to upload more than 2-3 pics at a time. Also, I would love to see more "milestone" options to click when observing what they learned.

Kangarootime Response

2 years ago

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoy our communication features. Stay tuned as we continue to improve our user experience! Thank you again for your feedback!

Lynda
Director in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kangarootime has helped to free some of my time since I don't have to make sign-in sheets every week

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I find Kangarootime user friendly and once you learn how to operate it, it's pretty easy. I like the fact that all the children are assigned into classrooms, so I know who is here and who is absent. I also like the fact that the company is always improving functions and making it easier for everyone to use.

Cons:

When you are on one page and need to go to another, it is difficult to go back and at times you have to start from the beginning. We should be able to go back and forth, from page to page with out being dumped out of the system. In the messaging area I would like the parent to be assigned to a child especially if they have a different last name. In the afternoon the teachers stay on the main rooming page as, they are responsible for check out for all the children and you don't see when any new messages come in. If parents don't request check in or check out, we don't know if that child is here until we are in our separate classrooms or ready to go home.

Lisette
Director in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

KangarooTime Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I love KangarooTime! Coming from the "old school" method of paper and pen, this software has made our centers day to day so much easier!!

Pros:

Makes the day to day input of a child's day so easy and user friendly, even for those who are not good with technology.

Cons:

One thing I wish we could change is some of the billing components (being able to go out in the future with changes instead of having to do the week before). I also am not a fan of the fact that if you make a change in someone's account after Tuesday that uses autopay, it cancels out the autopay for that week.

Kangarootime Response

2 years ago

Hi Lisette, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad to hear that our software has made operations at your center easier. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking to improve. Don't hesitate to reach out in the future! Thank you again.

Lailanie
Executive Director in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kangarootime and their staff has made our transition smooth and comfortable! We are big fans!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

As a director, I love that I have access to the families information, who is in school that day, what teachers are there, can message families, etc. all remotely. I dont have to rustle through paperwork or interrupt the teachers teaching for information that I can easily look up. The time/date stamps for attendance, the family info, the messaging everyone at the same time are my favorite features and has saved me time.

Cons:

That a child cannot have another person's guardian on their pick up list. That has been a frustrating issue for parents and teachers, and have had to resort to signing original paperwork in the meantime on those occasions.

Kangarootime Response

6 years ago

Hello Lailanie! The guardian issues will soon be resolved! Please make sure that you reach out to our customer success team to show you the MASSIVE updates in the Hopper. We have implemented the 'Education' 'Developmental' and 'Cognitive' milestones. Hope all is well! Scott Wayman Founder and CEO

fallon
assistant director in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and learn

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

inputting information is simple and not time-consuming, the rooming screen makes it easy to know how many children and staff are in attendance and where everyone is. It was easy to implement and start using right away.

Cons:

all of the toggling back and forth when looking up information about the children. Having to constantly click back into "families" tab or "admin" tab can get frustrating

Kangarootime Response

2 years ago

Hi Fallon, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoy our rooming feature and implementation process! We're continuing to improve our user experience so stay tuned! Thank you again for your review. If you have any additional feedback please feel free to reach out.

Jaimie
owner/director in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Software Program

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Amazing!!!!!!

Pros:

The costumer service is so helpful and great to deal with.

Cons:

Remembering all the steps to go thru in billing

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Jaimie - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Kangarootime! We're thrilled to hear that our customer service team has been helpful to you! We will take the feedback about billing and share that directly with our product team (we do have some exciting new features coming up this year that will help with this!). If you have any additional feedback to share with us, don't hesitate to reach out!

Jimmy
Administrative Assistant in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Kangarootime is great!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love how easily it is to manage billing as the accounting guy at our school. Also, the whole check in and check out process is easier and better for teachers and parents. To also see what rooms are over or numbers of rooms is so convenient, this is so much better than using tadpoles and procare like we used to.

Cons:

Occasionally support will take a little bit long on getting back to us on issues but all in all they do a good job.

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Jimmy - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Kangarootime! We're so happy to hear that we've helped your team and parents with our billing, rooming and check-in/check-out features. We also appreciate the feedback about our support response time and will share that with our team. Please feel free to reach out to us with any feedback in the future!

Brooke
Owner / Director in US
Individual & Family Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Brooke Sale Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very good overall. Customer service is wonderful

Pros:

Easy to use, and updated often to accommodate new request from users

Cons:

That employees no longer in the app still show up as option to print time cards. I think there should be an active list of employees and inactive when searching dates worked for timecards

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Brooke - Thank you so much for writing a review about Kangarootime. We're so happy to hear your positive feedback! We shared your feedback about former employees showing up with our product team. If you have any input in the future, feel free to reach out to us. Thanks, again, for your review!

Jennifer
Executive Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Engaging with Parents

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Kangarootime has helped our Academy to create excellent family communication between all of the staff and parents. It has created an easy way to manage our classroom ratios and to document child success.

Pros:

I enjoy having one place where parents can get all of their information from administration, teachers, therapists and nursing staff. I also like the ease of receiving payments from parents or guardians in one location where parents can see their invoices and statements.

Cons:

I would like the ability to upload videos to parents about what is happening in their child's therapy sessions. I would also like the ability to have fillable forms within the software for registration and incidents.

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Jennifer - Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kangarootime. We're thrilled to hear that Kangarootime has helped your Academy improve your communication. We also appreciate the feedback about the ability to upload videoswe shared that with our product team. If you have any additional feedback you would like to share, feel free to reach out to us.

Christina
Executive Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have enjoyed the software and the switch over.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It is mostly a time saver and parents love being able to pay online

Pros:

I like having all of the parent communication piece and my management piece in one software. like being able to look at what the teachers are inputting.

Cons:

Not having the Employee section ready and not having the Federal Food Program forms ready. Right now not being able to sumbit this form

Kangarootime Response

7 years ago

Christina, Thanks so much for the review. Employee section and Food Report automation will be here before the end of the year! Thanks so much for being the best!

Denise
Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Exactly what we needed!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is exactly what we were looking for! Teachers were feeling disconnected from parents (and vice versa), and this helped bridge the gap

Pros:

The ability for parents to "check in" on their child in real time!

Cons:

Pictures sometimes take a long time to upload, but that may be our internet speed!

Kangarootime Response

2 years ago

Hi Denise, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're so glad to hear that our platform was able to increase connectivity at your center. As always, if you have any additional feedback, our team is here to help. Thank you again!

Diane
Owner in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Not Happy!

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Well, I gave up all together understanding your program. The amount of work to do one entry is ridiculous. I can't stand the fact that if I have one simple question, I have to schedule an apt and it is usually 4 or 5 days out. Frankly, extremely disappointed with this program and the overall response time to one simple issue.

Pros:

Originally the two-way communication between parents and teachers, as well as the billing.

Cons:

Everything. It is not user-friendly at all.

Kangarootime Response

4 years ago

Hi Diane - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Kangarootime. We are sorry Kangarootime has not met your expectations. We would like more information about your specific experience with Kangarootime and will have a member of our team reach out to you directly.

Chelsea
admin/teacher in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My overall experience with KT has been great! I enjoy working with the program.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Kangarootime is a great tool to use for childcare facilities! It helps our center stay organized and simple.

Pros:

I like the feature where all the child information is easy to access quickly. Also, the employee features where staff can clock in without having to sign in every time. Its much more convenient for teachers who are in a hurry to get to class. The Development and Support teams always get things done quickly and are very helpful.

Cons:

KT phone App does not always work and tends to be frustrating to parents.

Kangarootime Response

6 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, Chelsea! We have made several updates to the parent app recently and we're continuing to improve it even more! We can't wait to release the staff schedule feature!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A Step Down from Previous App

2.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's slick looking and has all of the pieces you'd want as a parent of a child in daycare. Photos, notes, messages, check in/out

Cons:

No notifications other than messages. Other apps will allow push notifications for all updates provided by the facility and this one doesn't. Also, on the activity feed, there is no time stamp. It rounds up/down to the closest hour (e.g. "about an hour ago") instead of saying "38 minutes ago" which is pretty useless when I need to know when the next meal or nap is due.

Kangarootime Response

5 years ago

Hi! Thank you for the feedback! We totally understand your need for exact timing on your child's activities, so be sure to check out the "Daily Reports" section through the left hand menu where you can view your child's day with timestamps listed next to each entry. As for the notifications, we'll add some more customization in the future so you can choose what actions will alert you. Our goal is to create something that will fulfill everyone's needs, so thanks again for the feedback and feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] for any other questions about the new app!