Great backup solution, and a great partner

Reviewed on 22/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Manager, IT Architecture
Entertainment, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Cohesity has allowed us to move to a global backup platform that has modern cloud based capabilities, enabling a more flexible and cost efficient architecture.

Pros: I like the flexibility of the platform to service many backup needs, as well as the ability to act as a file server replacement for branch offices. In addition, the ability to archive and restore on-premise backups to AWS cloud is a major feature that we depend on for our operations. Last but not least, Cohesity has been a true partner as we rolled out their solution, and on more than one occasion has developed or improved their product based on our feedback or issues that we discovered.

Cons: as with all software, I wish it were cheaper.

The great way Cohesity is going

Reviewed on 23/04/2019
Arnoud K.
Infrastructure Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We managed to solved managing 2 systems for 1 product and having to manualy exetend datastores for backupjobs. The support is great and product development is listening to the market and their customers for features.

Pros: We were running into problems with our old backup solution, cohesity gave us the posibility to combine scale-out storage and backup software in 1 design. Making it easier for supporting and maintaining the software. It got great support for VMware software and gets better features with the newer releases. Functionality is almost on par with other vendors giving them a great edge on competition. New versions gives us multi-tenant support for MSP's and vCloud director support.

Cons: The functionality is not completely on par with other vendors, but the new 6.2 release gives us great functionality for vCloud Director and multi-tenant support for MSP.

A great solution for backups

Reviewed on 22/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Infrastructure Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The simplicity of backups is amazing compared to some competitor products. We've owned the product for 1.5 years now and we're still as happy today as we were when we first purchased it.

Pros: Implementation was a breeze. Using it on a daily basis is very easy. Backups no longer take hours to register or review.

Cons: Installing SSL certs can't be done from the webpage neither can changing the IP's of the hosts. This all has to be done via the CLI.

Better, faster, and more reliable backups

Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Brian H.
Sr. Sysadmin
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The Cohesity experience has been very good. The proof of concept using a virtual machine was smooth and really allowed us to test extensively before committing to a hardware trial, which we bought quite quickly.

Pros: The software is easy to use and the restores are fast. Searchable backups are a game changer. Instant volume mounts and instant recoveries actually deliver, unlike Veeam.

Cons: Cloud storage is a bit hard to get a handle on, as far as how much will actually be replicated.

Cohesity backup solution

Reviewed on 01/05/2019
Pinchas Z.
Senior IT Manager
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Ease of use, intuitive, stable and customizeable.

Cons: One really, Wish I had heard of them sooner.

Set and forget backups

Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Mike O.
Director of IT
Mining & Metals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have been able to easily backup, replicate, and restore data. It helps me sleep at night

Pros: Ease of use. Easy to set and monitor backups and a choice of restore options make this product a stress reliever

Cons: Hardware monitor features could be better (temp, and so on)

Game changing backup solution

Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineering Manager
Automotive, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The ease of use has made backup easy. They have a google like search like helps you locate file to restore when employees cant remember what they called the file. Installation of new sites take less than a few hours. Recoveries are fast and there instant mount are great.

Cons: No so far the product has been working great.

Cohesity - modern backup and more

Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Chris M.
Lead Storage Administrator
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It just works. Racked and installed in under 1 hour and was able to backup and test recovery in very short order.

Cons: So far, I have not found anything that I do not like.

Better backups with Cohesity!

Reviewed on 08/01/2019
Jason S.
System Engineer 1
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I found this software to be very clean and organized. I can easily view both of my clusters and manage all their settings. This software will be used to replace my current backup tapes.

Pros: Cohesity is a great product that preforms as intended. Backups work with little management and upgrading is very simple. I started using this software about 3 months ago with no prior experience, I have a very good understanding of how this software works.

Cons: my biggest complaint is, there is no Cohesity sponsored user training. Many other software businesses offer some user training. This would have made the learning curb much easier.

Cohesity for Server Team Farms

Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Uriel P.
Systems Engineer II
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It's easy to use and has a rich interface. Great functionality!

Cons: So far, no complaints. The setup was easy and user interface is intuitive.

Cohesity is what you need

Reviewed on 20/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Storage Administrator
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We started the migration from NetWorker for our test environment and backup of the VM is so fast and easy to put in place. The Cohesity cluster was up and running in a few hours and ready to take backups.

Pros: It's easy to deploy and use.
It's powerful and reliable

Cons: Lack of some basic features like BMR but I hope this should be added to the product soon

All in one backup solution

Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Joey D.
systems engineers
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like that not only does cohesity backup up your environment easily but you have added bonus of being able to use it as a file share and have apps that add to the value.

Cons: The updating of the clusters could use a little work

Cohesity Backup

Reviewed on 18/07/2019
Brett H.
Service Desk Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like that it lets you backup data to a cloud environment instead of tapes!

Cons: They seem to have struggled with their portal, I personally didn't have a problem but they are always asking for feedback on it.