15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Milanote

Milanote is a visual project organization software for creative teams.

Learn more about Milanote

Pros:

I think of it like Evernote, but without all of the constraints. If you are a visual person who likes to storyboard out your ideas without having to fit it in a box, this is perfect.

Cons:

The only thing i dont like about MilaNote is its default color scheme which is not that pleasent to my eyes.

Milanote ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Milanote has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 59 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Milanote before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (59)

Tristan
Tristan
Game Developer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The BEST project management tool 2022

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: great experience. would definitely use it for future projects

Pros:

This can be used in so many ways, from whiteboard to mind maps, to brainstorming ideas. lets you use words or imported pics

Cons:

Allowing access can be frustrating sometimes

Jeremy
3D Environment Artist in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Milanote Just Works!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Milanote is a great software that allows for quick and easy iteration of ideas using their built-in flexible tools to mindmap, organize, and sketch out almost any idea you could have!

Pros:

Milanote is a very versatile solution to ideation and whiteboarding that does a great job. It is perfect for online moodboards, storyboarding, documentation, and mindmaping.

Cons:

I wish rather than having a card limit for all boards there was a board limit and a card limit per board. As is, the software doesn't have enough PAID features to make the paid version worth it, and the free version is lacking enough to use it as anything other than an idea board. I still prefer Jira or Trello for project management, and PureRef for my moodboards (even though that doesn't allow for collaboration and isn't online).

Kobey
IT Specialist in US
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Make Organizing Tasks Easier with Milanote

5.0 last month New

Comments: I love Milanote for the user experience. Dragging and dropping images is super easy and intuitive, and relationships between images or other objects are super simple to create. Milanote has helped keep my thoughts organized.

Pros:

I like the ease of use of Milanote. Milanote is one of the most intuitive organization apps. I enjoy the simple and user friendly interface and the fact that there is no feature you will struggle to find. One of my all-time favorite features of Milanote is how easy it is to drag and drop images from google images or elsewhere directly into Milanote without copying, pasting, or saving.

Cons:

I think the drawing tool could be a bit better.

Wendell
Educational Trainer in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have a love/hate relationship with MIlanote!!!

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Milanote needs rethink it's membership program. There needs to be something that attracts customers back on a weekly basis. And in the current freemium service, there is a reason to go back and use Milanote once your 100 boards are used up. I believe Milanote should give users 5-10 free boards every month. I believe this will get people to use the program more often, more comfortable using the program, and collaborate with their people, eventually purchasing like I did.

Pros:

Milanote is fun and easy to use. I really like this tool a lot. Whenever I need to storyboard an idea, I go to Milanote.

Cons:

The free boards and subscriptions don't make any sense. Milanote gives 100 free boards. That's wonderful!!! However, once you use up the 100 boards, your only option is to purchase a monthly subscription regardless if you use one new board or 1000 new boards. I only use Milanote in seasons, meaning I use it for 20 days each quarter. I purchased a yearly subscription and after 6 months I realized I only used it for about 40 days. So purchasing a yearly subscription for 80 days of use is a waste of money. I did purchase it one month at a time, but that was annoying.

Trevor
Director in UK
Alternative Medicine, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Milanote's Evolutionary Journey 😇✈️😊

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Collaboration, streaming work flow, better project management, this software is a must for any business, 5*****'s.

Pros:

It has so many features, post graphic previews, pdf document sharing, brainstorming sessions, video content, website development, project management, team management, and last but not least, a great tool at a great price.

Cons:

When this software came along, I was fairly disappointed, I compared it to the likes of cling. Since its evolutionary journey has progressed, the company have listened to feedback of its users. That initially was the big hang up. Not listening. It had so much potential, just didn't tap into what the customer saw and wanted. Now however, things are very different, and its a pleasure to work with.

Mauricio
CEO & Ddeveloper in Mexico
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best tools for ideation

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Milanote it's pretty easy to understand and to deploy within your team. Also the tools that they have for making mudboards or brainstorms are amazing, with that and the facilities for collaboration you can ideate projects or products on your computer like having your teamates next to you.

Cons:

You can't track the progress of activities on a detailed way, also you can't see how many activities each team member have to do. At the end I understand that Milanote it's not focusing on these things but it would be nice to have them.

Jakub
Founder / Designer in Czechia
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nice tool for millenial teams

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used the app quite a lot at the beginning and tried to pull all my colleagues into using it. After some projects we realized that the free tier is slightly unusable for us and so we moved to something else.

Pros:

I like the overall appearance of the tool and the way it allowed me to store ideas and data in one place and share it with others. Visually and simply via drag-and-drop.

Cons:

The structuring of content in layers and "buckets" went so far it became nearly impossible to know where what asset is stored.

Kelsey
Kelsey
Communications Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Clean, easy to use system of visual organization for designers.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Milanote is awesome and an essential design organizational tool

Pros:

I started using Milanote when it was in beta, when I was looking for a neater alternative to Trello. I do design work, so being able to put pictures and text wherever I want is really important. It's equally, important, though, that everything be neat and easy to organize. I mostly work by myself with a handful of individual clients. I can work on Milanote without having to deal with excess team features, but still share the boards with clients via a "secret link". (They can also join the board fully if they're members.) Milanote has also been steadily adding features that have really helped me to use it even more and with greater ease, particularly the Mac desktop app. Pulling in links is especially useful, as it shows you some of the webpage as well as the URL itself. I also love that I can embed GIFs and have them work as they're supposed to. (Airtable, for example, will just show it as a still image in a larger view.) Being able to show clients exactly what I'm talking about is huge, and the fact that it's easy to organize and make changes to really helps. It's standardized in its design but gives me everything I need.

Cons:

There's no integration with Zapier yet. I believe that's on the roadmap, but it'll definitely make a difference when I can connect a particular design board with tasks on Todoist, for example.

Adam
Adam
Consultant in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Milanote is a terrific creative canvas for ideation, research, collaboration and everyday notetaking

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Milanote is a creative workflow asset. It allows me to rapidly iterate on just about anything that's how versatile I've found it to be.

Pros:

Milanote has an elegantly simple interface. It's great for capturing notes on the go, consolidating and mapping your research findings, organising your creative ideas, arranging all of the above into projects and using whatever system/workflow suits you (and your team, in realtime).

Cons:

As a product, Milanote sits somewhere between a fully-fledged word processor and an online file storage service, like Dropbox. It's not either of those extremes, so manage your expectations! However, it is absolutely terrific at filling the void in between.

saad
Founding designer in Morocco
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My honest review of Milanote

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Excellent, fantastic, and incredible, one of my favorite tools not just as a designer but as an Entrepreneur

Pros:

Everything, from the design to the ease of use and the overall experience, I also like that I haven't had a single problem to date with this amazing tool

Cons:

That is not known more, yes Milanote is that perfect, I wish more people use it so it would be even better in terms of sharing and collaborating.

Alexa
Conversion Copywriter in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I can't live without Milanote, I use it for EVERYTHING

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Everything I used to do with a corkboard I can now do on Milanote. I have so much of my planning, writing, and proposals in this software now, it is my go-to anytime I need to quickly get something out of my head and onto "paper". It's the one software I can't imagine running my business without.

Pros:

I use Milanote daily, for everything from mapping out a new story to creating wireframes for clients, to merely clipping quotes from the web for later use. It is such a versatile tool. I think of it like Evernote, but without all of the constraints. If you are a visual person who likes to storyboard out your ideas without having to fit it in a box, this is perfect. The templates are really great too.

Cons:

The mobile app has been a long time coming and I'm getting happier with it by the day. I do wish I could share the live board with clients or friends without them needing to signup, like a view-only option, but that's not a dealbreaker since the export to PDF option fills in the gap.

Dominique
Marketing Automation Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easiest way to organize strategies and workflows

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is the main tool that my team and I turn to when organizing new marketing campaigns, outlining strategies and gathering inspiration.

Pros:

Super easy to organize ideas and share concepts with the team. The ability to add arrows, imagery and comments makes it super easy to decipher complex ideas with the team in one view. The ability to add links right onto the board with previews make for a great visual planning tool. The Milanote team provides amazing ongoing communication with examples of how other users organize their projects and new features

Cons:

The comment feature is great for team input, but there is no way to hide comments while previewing the board without completely dismissing it/deleting the comment altogether. When sharing a collaborative board with my team, I would love it if they were able to view other's comments with the ability to turn the comment view on and off

Desmond
C.E.O. in Nigeria
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ultimate Planning Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am currently using Milanot to plan every of my project and it's so very helpful.

Pros:

Planning has never been easier, I am able to add links, images etc. It's just like seeing what your final output would be like even before it is launched. I remember planning my website on Milanote first, and I still plan all my projects and campaign here, draft out my designs and scripts for the video here also. The guide at the beginning also helps to familiarize yourself with the app and how it works. Great Tool!!!

Cons:

First of all, most time, I want to also work offline, but can't and I really wished there was a possibility. They should also consider cutting down the price a little, the other option is referring to get more space.

Jovan
Jovan
Performance Marketing Manager in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best tools for organizing creative projects within the team

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: When you need to create content from stretch you need to have everything organized in one place (copy, visuals, external sources etc.) and everything needs to be visually well arranged.
Milanote provides us everything you need in one place, so we can move faster with our tasks and deadlines.

Pros:

I like to use Milanote for website content creation, customer journey mapping and even for creating simple diagrams. The learning curve of using this tool is not so long, you can conclude everything that tool can do within the few hours. Great UX and UI visual experience.

Cons:

Struggling with shaping and moving arrows.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effortlessly Organize Your Creative Ideas with Milanote

4.0 last year

Pros:

As a user, I highly recommend Milanote for organizing and scaling up the clarity of ideas. The flexible drag-and-drop interface allows me to arrange my projects in a way that makes the most sense for each one. The platform is intuitive and easy to navigate, allowing me to quickly find everything I need. The visual appearance is beautiful and feels like bullet journaling, and the ability to adjust the boards to any length or width is a fantastic feature. I have used many project and content management systems in the past, but Milanote stands out as one of the cleanest and most user-friendly. I love using it to create and manage my social media calendars.

Cons:

Milanote falls short in some functionalities, such as lacking edit history tracking and restricting content on mobile app for TikTok and Instagram posting. Additionally, it seems to lack flexibility in areas such as naming links. Overall, while it excels in organization, it may not meet all users' expectations in terms of functionality.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Perfect mind mapping tool

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: I've been working with Milanote for the past 7 months. I'm using it weekly and it feels comfortable for me to integrate it in my projects.

Pros:

Milanote has de most efficient yet faster Mind mapping tool on the market. The visual workspace and all its flexibility, make brainstorming gets easier and faster. Mainly when you need to work remotely and need to share files, ideas, copy texts, mood boards, etc. with collaborators or partners in your projects. I really love the use of icons, images, and charts to visualize any project management workflow or idea.

Cons:

I'm still giving it a try, but for now, it feels very complete and it brings me all the tools I need for my projects. Maybe I do prefer using it on my PC or Laptop than on mobile... but it is just an opinion...

Maria
Maria
UX/UI Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Made for Designers

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I'm able to feel more organized. As a designer, I benefit greatly from having everything in one place vs physical boards. I can take it with me on the go, on my phone and it's been great for collaboration with my team.

Pros:

My favorite aspect of Milanote is having the ability to create different boards. I work as a UX designer so the boards have been an amazing way to collect research, images, references and to compile them in a way that is visually easy to look at and organized.

Cons:

When I have long pieces of text, it tends to expand in length but not in width. Having more control of the text boxes so they can be adjusted using the cursor in terms of both width and height would be very useful!

Megan
Blogger in Australia
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Milanote is a great tool and fun to use

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use Milanote to help plan my website and make mindmaps about future content for my site. It's a great way to save notes and photos to inspire you and your team.

Pros:

I love that you can organize thoughts and things in a visual way. The tool can be used to plan designs or anything really using a visual layout. You can also save links to websites and make notes etc. You can make some amazing mindmaps and vision boards using Milanote.

Cons:

The price is a bit prohibitive for me personally. The free tier allows a medium level of usage. I think with a few more features it could replace other tools like evernote.

Pablo
Data Analyst in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very happy with the ease of use and the possibilities. But there's still much to improve.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Organise projects I'm working on and future ideas and projects. Feel a bit more organize with it, but still needs a lot of improvements to really be used much more. Especially for the price it has.

Pros:

Ease of use, very visual and intuitive. Being able to organize everything the way I want is one of my favorite features compared to other tools like Evernote that I found quite restrictive in this sense. The possibility to create any possible combination of notes, boards, images, it's great and allows to create each board different according to your needs.

Cons:

Still lots of things to add and improve, especially for the cost it has. In my opinion, the actual price of the pro version doesn't justify the features available. There is no android app, so it's almost impossible to use on your mobile phone, becoming just a desktop app. I miss the option to upload files of any type and modify the notes to be wider if we need so we can add paragraphs of text easily.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

I love Milanote

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: I love it so far! Will use it for help with studying and game development projects with friends.

Pros:

It's very aesthetically pleasing and easy to use. I love that i can collaborate with friends for free whereas some alternatives make you pay money to even try out the real time collaboration features.

Cons:

I would like some more features but not too many so that it doesn't become bloated like Notion.Maybe i just haven't found it yet but it would be nice if we had rows along with the column feature. or maybe just put 2 in 1 and call it a grid? I tried to add cards to the right or left of other ones in a column and sadly it didn't work. It's not a big deal though.

Michelle
Freelance Social Media Marketing Consultant in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A go-to for pretty much everything

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Great. Amazing tool for presentation, brainstorming, collaboration and the templates are great places to start for any workflow. I love that images and videos and links can be uploaded with ease. It's a great, versatile tool that helps collect everything into one place.

Pros:

I absolutely love Milanote and the ease of use for the tool. It's my go-to for client presentations and I love that boards can be downloaded into a PDF or word doc for easy sharing. This has become a staple in my business and my clients also enjoy the ease of use and collaboration Milanote provides.

Cons:

Would be cool if you could customize the fonts a bit more, otherwise don't have any complaints thus far.

Clara
Editor in Brazil
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The outline king

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love when I can write and see my beat sheet and outline visually, because text sometimes is annoying.

Cons:

Limit of cards when you're creating content.

Candace
Candace
Art Director/Senior Graphic Designer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Working with Milanote has made tasks like mood-boarding and team collaboration so easy.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use is definitely one of the pros. The software is fast/easy to learn , and easy to use. It lets you focus on the task at hand and not get frustrated with convoluted user experiences.

Cons:

More functionality around team collaborate would be great. A way to see who is leaving feedback or comments and a way to comment back. Maybe in a comment thread.

Benjamin
Founder in US
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic way for me to organize my crazy ideas.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Ability to organize my thoughts and projects.

Pros:

I love the basics of a movable board. It is most like my brain so I like to fill up images and colors to help brainstorm. The web clipper has been a huge improvement too and allowed me to read more articles.

Cons:

Least I like the zoom option and sizing options. I fill boards a lot and would like to zoom out more easily, or have there be a way to make articles smaller on my board. I think of Adobe illustrator and how often I zoom in and out to see where I am at.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Whiteboard that doesnt get in the Way

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Its a fun software, it really is. When i gather my team around it to start brainstorm a project, milanote works so smoothly and so intuitive, everyone fells comfortable.

Pros:

Milanote its perfect for documenting ideas, brainstorms and moodboards, and it is a joy to use. Every project i work in starts setting up a milanote page for pre-production, to discuss ideas and gather references, and visualize all these ideas in a a Canvas.

Cons:

Sincerally, i dont think theres something that i dislike, the software does wonderfully what i want it to do.