15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Compliance & CE Reviews

About Compliance & CE

Compliance & CE is a complete learning management solution for your laboratory.

Learn more about Compliance & CE

Pros:

The program was easy to learn with some practice. It was easy to make corrections unlike other emr software.

Cons:

As a traveler, sometimes the facility that I'm working at has a MediaLab account. If I complete CE's on their account there is no way for me to transfer my work to my personal account when I leave.

Compliance & CE ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Compliance & CE has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 290 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Compliance & CE before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (290)

Bryan
Bryan
Nurse in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I couldn't have asked for better

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: No issues with this product. Wonderful customer service experts

Pros:

The program was easy to learn with some practice. It was easy to make corrections unlike other emr software

Cons:

The price was a little high for the software in my initial thought but with all that comes with it my mind was quickly changed.

Hema
Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I love MediaLab. One of the best software and easy to use. Customer Support is Excellent

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have been able to convert all our major documents into electronic document control format without having the need to carry paper manuals. Automatic reminders for reviews when they are due saves lot of time & reduces stress on managers. Ability to print employee reports for procedure review is also another great feature.

Pros:

Easy to navigate, set up and follow though to all the modules that are being offered - easyto set up, upload, review, print reports, add/delete users. It keeps track of EVERYTHING! I love it. It also allows to provide link to other departments in the hospital to review (read only access) to our manuals. It monitors, keeps track and send reminders, alerts as required. It also has multiple modules each organized so well with detail instruction manual on the side bar, which is fantastic. It has answers to everything. Inspection Proof module makes the life easy during inspection as it shows the changes in two versions - (in Red). Easy to attach all documents to responses. Continuing Education modules is also very well designed and set up. It offers tons of information. Great learning site!

Cons:

This software is made to perfection however, it would be good to have the ability to print the manual for each module that it offers. Also, one cannot do any edits inside the software but, a limited edit with permission could have been nice.

Aileen
CLS in US
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I used this program to prepare for the MLS(ASCP) board exam

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Provided a different way to study besides just studying from the book. I enjoyed using LabCE.

Pros:

I love that the answers to questions are explained in depth and that it had questions that covered different areas of study such as hematology, chemistry, microbiology, etc. I also enjoyed the ability to select different types of mock quizzes, test, game mode was my favorite and that I could select the number of questions I wanted to answer.

Cons:

The size of the font, I would recommend increasing it. I also thought the size and quality of the images was poor. It was difficult to identify cell morphologies and biochemical reactions for some of the images.

Lisa
Quality Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Such an easy system to keep up with regulatory requirements...wish it was around long time ago!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Made everyday tasks require mush less time, so that I could focus on matters that need more attention.

Pros:

Not only does this software help our lab stay in compliance, it makes it so easy. New users are able to figure out how to navigate it with very little instruction, which makes them more eager to go back to it again and again. As an administrator, I can pull important information quickly to help me stay on top of matters before they fall through the cracks! Our management team likes the e-mail reminders, which frees us from micro-managing our employees. Staff from all levels appreciate its usefulness!

Cons:

Our technologists like the ability to acquire their CE credits with this software, but it would be even better if I could allow them to have access to it outside of our business. I subscribe to multiple modules but would like to make only the CE portion available outside of the facility, while other modules remain white-listed. Currently I must restrict it, because either all of the modules are accessible, or all are not.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MediaLab offers multiple solutions for laboratories at reasonable prices.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Daily benefits - excellent document control system that did not require our IT department to set up, great system to maintain inspection readiness with Inspection Proof, ease of meeting continuing education requirements using the Continuing Education package. Overall, great system!

Pros:

Flexibility of the software, willingness of the company to make changes, continuous improvement and addition of new features. We use several modules and find that the system is flexible enough for us to create new ways to store and retrieve information rather than storing paper.

Cons:

It is sometimes difficult to know what needs to be created first and we went back to make changes in how we set up the document control system. It would be helpful to identify users who have really maximized the system and offer to have them share their ideas.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The staff LOVE this!!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: GET AWAY FORM MOUNTAINS OF PAPER.

Pros:

Easy of use, and available from anywhere there is internet service. Easy to maintain (add, remove users, assigns courses, etc.

Cons:

I have not found any "cons" yet! We are quite happy that we selected mediaLab, and I tell everyone who asks.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very straightforward to use: Read material, note pictures/slides, take multiple-choice, earn CEUs.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Prepared for ASCP certification. Earned CEUs for recertification.

Pros:

Ease of use. A large number of courses to choose from, with new courses constantly being added. Good, clearly-labeled illustrations, especially helpful with reinforcing visual identifications. Practice questions embedded in the reading to monitor progress and keep the reader engaged. Instant feedback on both ungraded practice and graded test questions. The ability to reset and retake a test--but this can only be done once! Also available are Exam and RBC Morphology and WBC Differential Simulators. The Exam Simulator is very similar to the BOC Study Guide. I have not yet tried the heme simulators, but if they are anything like the other CE courses, they should be very good.

Cons:

I would prefer to see more of everything, especially illustrations. Very good presentation of textbook cases, but few examples of borderline cases. More questions could be written into the material, especially for longer readings.

Tahmineh
Tahmineh
Senior Research Associate in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great resource for Laboratories

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I really liked using Medical Lab LMS as someone new in the field of biotechnology. It is easy and very cost effective.

Pros:

Based on the features provided by the software the pricing is amazing. It has great resources and can help different spectrum of users from student to professionals. It is very easy and straightforward to use.

Cons:

There is not much that I don't like about using Medical Lab LMS. Navigation from modules to other pages can be tricky sometime.

Rachel
Rachel
Clinical Laboratory Scientist in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I have found it to be very easy to use and straightforward.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

MediaLab has helped me prepare for boards when I was a student and has been a great way for me to stay updated with my learning in a professional setting.

Cons:

The only con I would say is it would be nice if there was a longer explanation for answers perhaps in a video or different format to mix things up. Also many questions are often recycled.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great info in lessons. Practice exam is why I passed the ASCP

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Passed the ASCP!

Pros:

Very user friendly software. Courses were easy to navigate and contained useful information. The practice exam really prepared me for the ASCP exam. The questions trained me how to read and answer the actual questions on the exam.

Cons:

The only thing I didn't like about the software was that once I had completed a class it reverted to "take course" on the available courses page and not "completed" or the like. It made it more difficult to quickly look for new courses to take.

Jessica
Medical Lab Tech in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Makes it wasy to get all my credits in one place with material relevant to my job.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I've been able to improve my microscope skills by reviewing gram stains in the microbiology courses and also by using the white blood cell differential simulator. It also allows me to pick subjects that I have more trouble in to focus on my weaker areas. As I don't work as a generalist, it is useful in keeping current with my knowledge and subjects that I'm not using everyday.

Pros:

There are wide variety of programs available to use for studying. I'm able to take courses that are relevant to my current job field and to also learn about new technologies that are always emerging. It's also much easier to have your credits in a digital format then having to send everything in the mail.

Cons:

The thing I like least about the software is sometimes the pictures for hematology in microbiology questions are too small, leafing to wrong answers. On some phones I've had trouble loading questions that contain blood bank charts.

Michael
Assistant Professor in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Medialab is a great tool for our students, it provides great documentation. It's an excellent learni

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great documentation and excellent online instruction.

Pros:

The automatic credit documented via CE broker is a great feature. The documentation is excellent for our students.

Cons:

Some of the photos of the white cells are sub-par. On some of the modules, not enough photos are utilized and some of the images are not clear.

Dee
Administrative Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use this to make sure all of our staff have been trained and remain compliant.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use! It is very helpful that this site is accessible form anywhere with internet, and not based solely on a PC somewhere.

Cons:

My only issue is the time difference between me and Customer Support. I often have questions and they have already gone for the day.

Dana
Administrative Lab Director in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Has been awesome for about 15 years now

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Countless benefits that I've already described in the previous questions.

Pros:

Applicability to re-certification for my MLT's and MLS's, and a wide variety of coursework. The price is also attractive and can hold a lot of information that inspectors like to see.

Dana
MLT Instructor in US
Higher Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I like reading about the subject, and then being quizzed on the materials. It makes learning fun.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: A greater understanding of the materials. I also require the MLT students to perform the assigned modules. I REALLY like that MediaLab requires the students to receive a certain percentage correct on their quiz before allowing them to be able to print off their certificate. Then I require the students to upload their certificates for their assignment. The students even state how much they enjoy learning from the MediaLab modules. Thank you!

Pros:

The photos and information are very helpful in the learning process. I really like to learn about the materials prior to be tested on the information. The Compliance & CE is of greater value to study up for the ASCP exam, to give me better understanding of the material rather than memorizing the answers to the questions.

Cons:

The only bad thing... is that there are not more modules in Body Fluids. I would like to see additional modules for Chemistry... perhaps Kidney Function Tests, Liver Function Tests, Endocrine Tests, Cardiac Tests, Blood Gas Tests, etc.

Risa
MLT Program Director in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Use for student learning

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: see notes under PROS

Pros:

I like the availability for students anytime, anywhere; the automatic evaluation give the students immediate feedback for increased comprehension; we use these grades in our courses without having to review them ourselves, saving time for classroom activities.

Cons:

Purchasing for groups between 25 and 50. For my academic use, I need ~30. On a tight budget the bump from 25 to 50 users is significant. If after 25, if option for additional groups of 5-10 would be helpful in reducing cost for actual number of users needed.

Nancy
Chief Medical Technologist in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It takes many steps to create questions and formatting does not transfer when using cut and paste.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: This software can be used from any location. I can stop and continue any courses at any time, so learning is done when I am most likely to retain the information.
Courses can be built according to my organizational needs.

Pros:

There are many courses available and it is possible to create courses with any kind of question. I like the variety of question type as it allows all learning types to learn in this environment.

Cons:

Course development can be tedious as formatting doesn't transfer. I had to go into HTML mode to format many of the questions. Those that don't know HTML would have unprofessional looking results.

MARINA
Medical Laboratory Scientist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great website for CE! The testing center was helpful when studying for MLS certification.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: CE for CM. I also get the ability to keep up knowledge in other areas I rarely work in.

Pros:

Great CE! I enjoy the contributors and wide variety of topics. Every area of clinical practice is offered for CE.

Cons:

Although the CE is useful, it's limited and it seems the same things are offered continuously. I would like to see new emerging topics. It may be helpful to include topics on new testing platforms. I would also like to see a more interdisciplinary approach to learning by integrating other allied health professions in our learning. I would like to see topics from other professions that relate to our testing. I would also like to see "Spotlights" on different aspects of our profession: combat laboratories, smaller countries testing platforms, odd reference lab testing, etc. I would like to know and learn from more peers about what they do and learn about their tests.

DANIEL
Manager, Laboratory Services in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our lab uses MediaLab as part of our annual competency assessment program. Excellent offerings.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This software is a very important part of our annual competency assessment program for staff and the main source of continuing education credits for staff.

Pros:

Wide selection of courses; easy to manage users; relevant content; courses are challenging; the value for the licenses is outstanding, which allows us as an employer to offer high quality CEU opportunities to our staff.

Cons:

Microbiology modules are lacking. Engine that enables customers to make customized courses could be a little easier to use.

Erica
MLT Program Director in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use MediaLab to support both faculty and students. The WBC simulator and mock exams are our favs

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Mock exams and WBC simulator. The WBC simulator gives our learners more differential experience without needing additional classroom lab time. This is a huge opportunity.

Cons:

Would like some more flexibility within the mock exams for selecting assignments (by specific subject matter, for example ABGs or anemias, etc.) This would allow us to use the mock exam feature throughout the curriculum rather than just at the end of the program.

Philip
Medical Technologist, Anesthestist in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MediaLab provides the best experience in online continuing education!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Relevant courses that are helpful in my practice.

Pros:

Very easy to use and navigate. I enjoy the abundant topics presented and the course presenters have articulately structured each course for maximum benefit with great content and graphics. There has been no problems with signing up, taking the course, starting and pausing the activity, and then testing. I enjoy that you have both options to have a paper course copy or just follow the online course . I like the review options too. All in all, this is the best program and software for multiple platforms. It is truly an "on the go" continuing education friendly approach to maintaining your goals and keeping abreast of current modalities in Medical Laboratory Science.

cheryl
CEO in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's so easy to use I can study my continuing Ed from my iPhone

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I actually learned from these courses and thoroughly enjoy the graphics. A picture is worth 1000 words and there are lots of pictures as well as text thoroughly explaining everything that you will be tested on.

Cons:

There's usually one question in the test that is ambiguous or tricky but most exams have a few test questions that are actually experimental and the majority of questions are very clear-cut / self-explanatory.

Deborah
Director of Lab Services/Compliance in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Staff is very knowledgeable and responsive to questions

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of navigation. I like to documentation controls modules the most as it allows for tracking of all employee compliance

Cons:

I work with physician offices and would like to see a module created to help them a little more. The current software is very for medium to large side. I need licenses for 5 or less. Would also like a checklist develop for COLA Regulations just like CAP

Benjamin
Facility Manager, Laboratory in US
Biotechnology, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Medialab to make our site compliance audit proof.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Making my site audit proof and a safer place to work.

Pros:

Ease of setup and cost. Also updated when the law updates. We are also able to control trainings that we issue and set up automatic retraining updates.

Cons:

I would love a little more research lab centered trainings rather than health care labs. This as cause a little on usage for us as we only do the OSHA trainings for the most part.

Patricia
Program Director in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great resource for CE and students.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Virtual microscopy is the best thing since sliced bread. Students and those who need refreshing on blood morphology have an excellent way of re-capturing that knowledge.

Cons:

The UA Virt microscopy only seems to work with Goggle Chrome. Internet explorer and Safari don't work, but not a deal breaker by any means!