15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Overcast

Cloud-native Content-as-a-Service platform that helps distributed teams manage video easily. You can simulate costs before signing up.

Learn more about Overcast

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

Overcast ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Overcast has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 10 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Overcast before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (10)

Adrian
Founder in Ireland
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Media Sharing & Management Software Available

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: No dead links, sharing is easy, never had an issue

Pros:

Easy for clients to use and access. Uploading, sharing, and time stamp commenting.

Cons:

Exporting of comments so one doesn't have to go back and forth

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

Adrian is a superuser and has influenced our product roadmap in the past. He can expect to see comment exports in Q3.

Mary
Project Manager in Ireland
Translation & Localization, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for video localisation

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Improved efficiency in sharing / reviewing videos, positive experience overall.

Pros:

Enables sharing of videos with ease. Review commenting is efficient and easily tracked.

Cons:

No specific dislikes. Some tweaks in workflow identified, taken on board by Overcast and solutions found.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

We are always happy when super users like Mary and her colleagues ask for tweaks - if we can make the experience better we will.

Michael
Broadcaster in Ireland
Broadcast Media, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Value for Money

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The product is good value for money, and very easy to use, user friendly

Cons:

Can be slow at times to download audio....

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

Thanks Michael - we've been working hard on scaling the download solution and transcode - I think you will see a big improvement in the coming weeks!

Martin
Director of Media Operations Technology in Canada
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple to use review and approval system

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We needed a way to share content with clients in a more streamlined way than uploading a link and have the ability for them to make comments that can feed back into editors and producers.

Pros:

We are implementing a whole new system and part of the requirements was a way for external clients to have access to work in progress and be able to make comments. This is easily achieved using Overcast and the integration with editing systems is fantastic.

Cons:

So far everything is working as expected so nothing to dislike.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

Martin is one of those clients who knows exactly what he wants. We're delighted to have the chance to work with him and his team.

Neil
Director - Client Services in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and easy to work with

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overcast accomplished our goal of bringing four disparate asset management systems and the assets the held into one easy to use system, whilst minimising the pain of ingestion and standardising the metadata.

Pros:

The features that really stand out with Overcast are (1) customer service and support, working with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was a true partnership and it was great to deal with real people rather sitting in a queue waiting for a response to your support ticket (2) intuitive interface making the software a pleasure to use rather than the painful experience we had with our previous software.

Cons:

Overcast lacked some of the nice to have features that more established players had, but did have all of the core features we needed. But since using it we have already seen more functionality come on stream and are kept informed about further developments in the pipeline.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

It has been great working with content creators with really high standards, who know what they want and are not afraid to ask for it. This is a great partnership.

Paul
Co-founder in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A pleasure to work with

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great people to work with.

Pros:

The software is really user friendly, both for myself as an administrator but also for all of our users.

Cons:

Anything that we didn’t like / or had no purpose for us was removed from our customised version.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

K2 knew what they wanted - but not the full feature set from day 1. We worked closely with the team to identify needs and optimise workflows. Great crew to work with...

Ivan
Product Management in Canada
Broadcast Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great share platform!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Nothing but great.

Pros:

Ability to customize, ease of use, its ability to scale with ease as acquisition of content increases

Cons:

It is small and minor however real time thumbnails previews. When editing it is relevant as you search for an edit point in a clip.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

FIS are at the leading edge of technology innovations - it's great to get this kind of review from someone that we really admire. Oh - and we are working on those thumbs!

Alice
Head of Operations in UK
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and excellent customer service

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Working with Overcast has been great, especially whilst adapting to digital events. They are hands on, supportive and the product does what it says on the tin.

Pros:

No nonsense, user friendly, multi-functioning, easy client access, excellent customer service

Cons:

Doesn't have some of the "nice to have" functions or full streaming capabilities (such as viewer data analytics). But does have everything we needed from a digital asset management point of view.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

Alice and her team have shown a great ability to adapt to a changing environment - especially doing live events during Covid lockdowns. We've gone on that journey with them and thoroughly enjoyed it.

John
Producer in Ireland
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Asset Management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The customer service is super. Very happy with it.

Pros:

Constantly improving and evolving. Very easy to control permissions.

Cons:

I would really like to be able to prioritise the file type of content transcoding. For example - once we load a piece of video we would like to transcode audio first and then and MP4 HD1080 35mb file. At the moment I dont think there is a priority option.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

John uses Overcast in many innovative ways and we always like to take his suggestions on board - look out for an admin transcode panel in Q3!

Madhuparna
Content Strategist in India
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A very handy software for video sharing

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very good.

Pros:

Our team really liked the ease of use. It really helped to collaborate with other team members and share content. I personally loved the features of the platform.

Cons:

Nothing that comes to mind. Overall, me and the entire team had no significant issues while using the software.

Overcast HQ Response

3 years ago

Great to hear Madhuparna. Sharing video has historically been managed by engineers and video editors - so we knew we had to create a platform that everyone could use - like Google Docs for video.