Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About Netwrix Auditor

Gain complete visibility and control over IT infrastructure changes and configurations

Learn more about Netwrix Auditor

Showing 151 reviews

Glenn J.
Sr. Systems and Security Architect
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"A good product for the money"

Comments: We have been quite happy with Netwrix and staff are starting to rely on it for detailed auditing.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor is a good product that audits all of the items we need to audit. It will audit file servers, database server, Active Directory Servers, SharePoint servers and a whole lot more. We use it for all of these items and the price did not go up because we added more machine types.

Cons: Netwrix can be a bit finicky at times. We have has it stop auditing a server because the configuration on the server was changed. It took a bit of work with support for them to realize that it shouldn't have stopped due to the configuration change and once they figured that out, they fixed the problem. Once we got the auditing to start, it picked up all of the items it missed while it wasn't auditing, so we lost nothing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
James M.
Director of Information Security
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020

"Netwrix auditor does what is needs to but watch out for hidden cost"

Comments: Started off ok, but when the extra bill came and rude sales guy started in we were more than happy to turn this off. We moved to a fully managed SOC.

Pros: I liked I could get reports on who made changes to everything on my domain. I knew when someone adjusted a group policy, created a user, or made a change in SQL.

Cons: We set this up to monitor employees only. We did not want to monitor students or service accounts because of the extra cost. The count on the user side showed 2000+ and we were not licensed. I opened a support ticket with the company and was told not to worry about it because it would just not monitor any user because of the license. I didn't like the answer, but it was still monitoring so much more. Then a year later I was hit with a huge bill because we had 2000+ people being monitored. We decided to just turn of the service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020
Christopher C.
Senior Vice President
Banking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Great Overview of your Systems"

Comments: I have been able to provide real-time reporting for AD changes and several other administrative functions that we did not have the ability to before which has allowed the institution to focus on our core products and information flow.

Pros: We are a smaller financial institution with limited staff and the automated reporting has been a great time saver for me to review various selected events. There are more than enough predefined reports to meet many of our oversight needs

Cons: I do have some issues with trying to understand the licensing and when we had to had other modules. Perhaps someone coming from an IT administration or CIO background would understand it better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Jordan D.
IT Manager
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/10/2018

"Great tool for network visibility"

Comments: I find visibility to be one of the greatest tools as a network manager. Netwrix gives me the ability to monitor file actions as well as account actions that may tip me off to a security breach on the network. Or, if an employee wants to know the exact reason a file went missing I am able to query Netwrix and provide an exact answer, even a screen capture of the event in progress if I wanted. With customizable notifications I am able to get on the spot information when specific events occur, like somebody attempting to log into a Domain Administrator's account without authorization. Though a little expensive, it is better to have the security Netwrix auditor provides than to allow a network breach go unnoticed until it is too late.

Pros: Easy to setup
monitor AD, Logs, Events, etc
customizable notifications
visibility into files, Group Policy, Active Directory, Office 365, Azure, etc
advanced features that help track down file actions, like screen captures or recordings of the actual event

Cons: The interface is sluggish
can cause some network interference if not tuned properly
cost

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/10/2018
Nathan K.
Sr. Manager, Business Applications
Chemicals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"One of the easiest products to use."

Pros: Its User Interface. Netwrix has a lot of built-in features that come right out of the box.

Cons: It needs a full time person to run the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Adrian I.
Chief Technology Officer
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"A auditing solution with huge value to the organization!"

Comments: It makes AD auditing easier for our Information Security Officer, while providing real-time reports for our IT department. The program saves a lot of time that had been spent doing things manually.

Pros: The daily reporting is great at providing a snapshot of changes the environment for Information Security Officer. In our IT department we rely on the real-time alerts daily for user lockouts and other AD related changes to inform us of changes made so we can act accordingly.

Cons: It takes some time to get a handle on the on-demand reporting, but Netwrix provides a huge list of canned reports so you rarely have to create a customized report from scratch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Systems Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"The additional set of eyes you need."

Pros: Netwrix Auditor was easy to deploy and you can very quickly gain deep insights into what is occurring in your environment. A huge positive is that a single application can provide data for so many different environments.

Cons: Not a knock against the software itself, but in some cases, requirements for certain audit features could be documented a bit better or more centrally. Perhaps this has been improved upon since my initial deployment 5+ years ago.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2018

"It has been refreshing to know that strange activity is going to notify me."

Pros: The alerting is incredibly valuable. Changes taking place to multiple files will generate an alert long before a human eye could notice what was happening. This is true of administrative logins and failed logins as well. The ability to audit changes in permissions so that they can be "seen" has been very helpful as well.

Cons: It can be a bit too quick to alert but this is configurable. The initial configuration will set the tone for the application and goes a long way toward the initial implementation and usage so plan your install and determine what you want it to do for you before you actually install it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2018
Rich J.
Security Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"While it may lack features a few people will claim are needed, it offers what most people need."

Pros: The prebuilt reports for so many areas of compliance. The option to install a client rather than RDPing to the server is nice.

Cons: The arduous task of creating an alert via the server console. And on this console (and I know this is not technically a SEIM), it would be nice if there were already pre-built alerts that we could simply enable for the most common security threats. The client interface is great for showing you what you are looking for if you wanted to print a PDF. I don't want a PDF view in the interface though. I want to see data returned in rows that I can filter live, sort columns, drill down on data, pivot on data, etc... Again, these features encroach on SEIM territory, but for what this product is, it kinda should have it. I am open to discussing further if you need more clarification.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Santosh D.
Deputy Manager
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017

"Now we can find out and monitored Administrative changes in our domain."

Comments: Able to monitored administrative changes happening in our domain.

Pros: I like Data collection method about this software. Summary change audit reports are good which save time to generate report and check.

Cons: Upgraded versions having complex reporting module which creates problem while generating any reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017
Benjamin S.
NISO
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"NISO"

Comments: Fair. I do get some benefits from the product

Pros: The ability to detect multiple lockouts or login attempts

Cons: Very cumbersome to setup reports. No basic best practice templates to utilize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Christopher J.
Network Admin II
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Netwrix for Credit Unions"

Comments: Visibility and a single pane of glass for auditing

Pros: Ease of use
Reliability
Licensing model works well for our needs

Cons: Support often is a lengthy process. Once reached they are helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Jay P.
CIO
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Excellent Product"

Comments: Compliance mostly, but also managing engineers and having some insight on what is happening on the administration of the network that I am not directly involved with.

Pros: The automation is great. We love the videos of admin. The examiners love the reports and the history as well.

Cons: A little pricey to add seats and have to do it in groups or sets of end user client licenses. Will budget more next year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Nana T.
accountant
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2021

"best helper"

Comments: Overall Netwrix Auditor is an ideal software for sorting information, so that the information would be affordable for use.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor gives me opportunity to sort lots of information that are received from various channels. It is a very software. it became for me an important part of my job.

Cons: During our cooperation time i haven't noticed any negative. The only thing i think is unpleasant it that the software isn't quite easy to use. i need to train a lot to do job well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2021
Danny G.
IT Systems Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"this tool is awesome, great functionalitly and support team."

Pros: ease of use, reporting and lightweight footprint. I downloaded the VM and was up and running within minutes.

Cons: it's not free! Seriously though, the only con I can think of is that the sales approach is too modular, have to purchase mutliple modules to accomplish what i was look for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
David H.
Systems Administrator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018

"Very easy to use, setup moderate"

Pros: Very easy to run audits on users
Report templates very informational
Interface easy to navigate
Simple installation

Cons: Error messages are very vague. When running into problems with domain permissions, the error messages displayed did not really point anywhere but the installation PDF, which was of no help either relating to the problem. Would like to see an expanded knowledge base on the product. When running large data sets, performance is very slow even on current hardware. Would like to see Netwrix offer other options to use different reporting engines.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018
Shannen B.
ISO
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Netwrix"

Pros: I like the visibility I didn't have before. I was able to use it to clean up vulnerabilities we had.

Cons: Reports don't always work. Search feature is hit or miss.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Chester C.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Great product"

Pros: Love the features and functionality of the software

Cons: Reporting can be a little slow to load. But overall a great product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Jojo S.
it network and security mgr
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2016

"Netwrix Auditor"

Comments: server requires a lot of memory. running on virtual guests and it choked up once a month. requires a lot of hard drive space as well.

Pros: none really

Cons: console crash all the time (at least once a week) especially when you use it. version 8 GUI was redesigned and it worst than the original one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2016
Michael L.
Sr. System Engineer
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Was okay product. Did what we needed. Started giving us problems towards the end and stopped."

Comments: Provided a daily inactive user report and help manage AD passwords.

Pros: Nice logs of account expirations. Daily reporting of users was great. Password management portal was very helpful.

Cons: Wasn't alway accurate for some of our external domains. Reported inactive accounts were actually still valid users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Network Supervisor
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Good Software just needs some tweaks"

Pros: Reporting, ease of setup once installed.

Cons: Lack of some settings to pull better I fo for reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Network Administrator
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Netwrix"

Pros: Setting up email templates to users are easy

Cons: Hard to setup, not very out of the box.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Tilmon H.
Vice President
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Amazing Audit control"

Pros: Know what's happening in your environment

Cons: Setup a bit hard. But great once the software is going

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Justin F.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Satisfactory"

Pros: Once it's setup, there is little/no maintenance required.
Super convenient screen recording when someone logs into a server.

Cons: Getting truly useful reports can be cumbersome if you have lots of qualifying events. A more convenient method of setting up exclusions would be appreciated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017