15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About BMC Helix ITSM

Radically redesigned to set a new standard for IT service management on-premises or in the cloud.

Learn more about BMC Helix ITSM

Pros:

When combined with the Asset management system which adds on the procurement, ASL, receiving and well all the pre and post deployment activities it can manage the entire lifecycle.

Cons:

We had a hard time installing the software on window server.

BMC Helix ITSM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.3/10

BMC Helix ITSM has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 114 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used BMC Helix ITSM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (114)

Antonio
Antonio
ITSM Specialist in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Former RAC and BMC Accredited Administrator AR System

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Using the BMC ITSM you can consolidate in a Suite the major task of the ITSM support staff based on ITIL best practices.

Pros:

The Remedy ITSM Suites cover the main processs of the ITSM aligned to ITIL best practices. All the Application are integrated as part of the ITSM Suite in order to manage the different scenarios that normally needs to be handled by the support staff. Using the AR System Server as base the ITSM applications can be customized in order to give to the organizations complete and achieve thier functionality requierements. The license model of floating write licenses, lets the organization to share licenses pool.

Cons:

BMC Remedy ITSM was born as an On premise solution, the cloud option is in the process to be a mature option. In Remedy you could achieve many thing but you need a lot experience with the product to complete it.

Marie
Services Architect in US
Utilities, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Set the record straight!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Once installed/upgraded it is super easy to develop, manage and it is very easy to have to tool fit your processes. The automation and ability for it to assign, push workflow to other systems and automatically close is awesome. The intelligent integration for event management (off the shelf and event management system that can consume WSDLs or REST, can take advantage of this two-way BSR utility; it’s a game changer!

Pros:

I’m not sure where this site is getting it’s information but it is wrong. BMC Software ITSM has mobile solutions built in for any html5 device and apps that can be downloaded from the Google or Apple store and connected to any instance. This system is incredibly robust to the extent that if you do not have mature processes and you do not manage IT well this system will become your mortal enemy. It does have a configuration database (CMDB) and it was the absolute first ITSM system to have one and it has many patents; so I have no clue why this site is saying it doesn’t exist. It is the only one that has a definitive catalog, normalization tool, reconciliation, transformation, mapping, auditing, drift management, outage management, impact analysis, and integration all built into the CMDB. The validation is the best. When combined with the Asset management system which adds on the procurement, ASL, receiving and well all the pre and post deployment activities it can manage the entire lifecycle. But it doesn’t stop there! You have cost and finance management, contracts, licensing, warranties, leases, people and group associations, underpinning agreements, and everything you can think of they’ve already built it! Not to mention that all of this isn’t just flat text, you actually get visual maps of the infrastructure and all the relationships, models and services. And it doesn’t stop there you can even view this through digital Workplace on actual maps.

Cons:

Upgrades and installs are the absolute worst! You cannot just go download the package and run setup. There’s literally 50 installs you need to perform plus a checksum between each and everything has to be installed in a specific order and BMC Software doesn’t make it easy on the customers to comprehend this because every tool has a separate website in their DOCs and it’s up to you to understand what needs to come before and after. I suspect they’re making it difficult because they want to sell subscriptions to their SaaS. Additionally, BMC Software ignores their onPrem customers, whom by the way made this company who they are today and they chose to release everything formSaaS and not pay attention to their onPrem customers!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Remedy Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I wouldn't recommend Remedy for IT Service Management. I believe there are better solutions available that are user friendly while also being visually appealing.

Pros:

This software has a very simple layout that makes tracking information down an easy task. The filtering within the application is great and allows for extremely specified results. I like the priority emails that are given based on open tickets. This process allows teams to stay on track to complete requirements and continuously close open tickets.

Cons:

I don't enjoy how the UI visually looks. The application has a very outdated look that doesn't appeal to you visually. I have found difficulty when trying to close Incidents because of status issues. This has been my biggest issue because Remedy will want me to enter twenty different status boxes in order to close a ticket or I will receive multiple errors.

Emir
Emir
Expert associate in Bosnia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

After 5+ years i still dont like it

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Neutral, it works stable when you give the system enormous resources. System is quite complicated from licencing perspective, user handling, reporting, creating autoassigments, maintaing knowledgebase, problem management handling etc.
Actualy when you try alternatives you figure out that system is not that bad. But in 2020 it looks like it's from last decade from perspective of resources, flexibilty and integration posibilites.
Support forum is the worst. You are basicly on your own. When you implement any kind of improvement you often create 3-4 problems that you have to solve. Mobile aplication exist only on paper. It is abandoned by vendor i thing from version 1.
Last updates still have part of system based on Adoble Flash so beware of Decembar 2020 when Microsoft, Mozilla drop support.
After 5 years of using i'm still puzzled by database structure that creates so many problem for integration with 3rd party reporting systems.
Smart Reporting and Birt reporting are basicly the worst reporting system ever. Slow, unresponsive, require enormous resources just to run basic reports.
Personaly i would never choose it as solutin if you have any requirement for custimization. To expensive, to complicated.

Pros:

Robust, ITSM compliant, fairly great integration posibilites

Cons:

Where do i begin? Database structure is nightmare for maintating, creating reports and to actually understad inner workings of system. Reporting sofware lacks some basic stuff. Upgrading production system is a 14 days nightmare. Some basic stuff like creating user level reports based on who did what in which time are imposible. It has almost no room for adjusting, user interface is upgraded from version 7.5, 8.1 until version 9.1 but is substandard compared with cloud based solution.

Timothy
Timothy
IT Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Complete Helpdesk and IT service management solution

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is a single repository/database for incidents, assets, change requests and knowledge
You can easily track old tickets as well as you can figure out the approval chain, pending tickets and followup on tasks done and has to be done.

Pros:

We upgraded to cloud based Remedy system which saved us the hassle of supporting the solaris server. Web-based and integrated with SSO solution The software is highly customizable. BMC's customer support are very responsive. All branches of IT department use it for incident management, change management, asset management and knowledge management. The approval workflows are easy to set and update.

Cons:

customization of the application was a very long process specially if you need to use the most of it. But once it is running, it is worth the pain.

Jose
Jose
Support Services Manager in Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

All-in-one asset management under a single app

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have consolidated all our ITOM operations under a single app, readily accessible across the organization.

Pros:

Remedy Asset Management handles the complete IT lifecycle of endpoints and IT devices in general. What makes it more comprehensive is that, unlike other asset managers, it includes literally the COMPLETE lifecycle, including non-IT processes such as Procurement, Inventory, up to Depreciation and EOL (decommission or disposal). Being part of the BMC Remedy family, it also seamlessly integrate and expadn its capabilities with other related products such as Remedy ITSM and Remedy CMDB. Having said that, what I Iike most of it is the integration of all ITAM (IT Asset Management) steps in a single suite, and the representation, mapping and auditing of all assets in a single place. Normally you would resource to several different tools to achieve this.

Cons:

One thing definitely open to imporvement is the reporting module. The reporting module could be definitely improved to add more options of building and scheduling reports.

Diogo
Diogo
Helpdesk in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

incident management tool

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: All the demands of you, which need to be met by technicians, are registered in ars remedy, there are two ways to perform the registration. Via the web, having access to the tool, or contacting the helpdesk, the first level technician records the customer demand, this demand is received by the responsible area that continues the service. The process is correct and follows the itil methodology, but the tool is outdated and problematic.

Pros:

The tool centralizes all of the company's IT demands, and that's a high point. We have a preview of all upcoming and upcoming incidents, changes in progress,

Cons:

The tool has constant problems. In basically all areas, from browser interface to architecture issues. Bus error, requests, database information retrieval

Jorge
Jorge
Customer Support Engineer at Cisco TAC in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great ITSM Tool!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Remedy ITSM has been great to implement our Service Desk Service from Scratch.
With it we can keep track of the ticket´s progress, and improve our Support Platform 100%.

Pros:

Remedy ITSM is great for Service Desk administration due to it´s great flexibility and customization. It has everything you need to fine tune your Support Service, and keep track of the process with all the Reports functions it offers. It being design for Backlog Management, Problem, Knowledge, Incident and Request Managing with a very reliable platform and server

Cons:

At this point, Remedy ITSM could feel outdated along the amount of others ITSM options out there. It´s not very easy to use therefore it needs a Learning curve. When the ammount of tickets on the database gets huge, it could be somewhat slow to pull out old tickets and to process some reports.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A decent alternative in ITSM domain

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

BMC Helix is a decent alternative when it comes to managing service requests, incidents and trouble tickets. Belonging to a huge brand which is number 1 in OSS area in telecommunications, it is pricy; but provides good support for enterprise solutions.

Cons:

Not the best front end programming. Very hard to build RPA automations around. Floating licenses are problemmatic sometimes, blocking the user for some time when trying to log in from different IPs.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good ITSM tool

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I use this software withing ITSM and we use it to track tickets, problems and trends within service and its impact on business.

Pros:

It gathers Incident, problem and knowledge management in one software and it doing it good. Tickets can be assigned ongoing change management items.

Cons:

There is quite high entry level, so it takes some extra time to use it quickly and efficiently to support your business needs.

Damir
ITSM Team Leader in Croatia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Mercator review of Remedy IT Service Management

3.0 9 years ago

Comments: PROS:
- big community of users,
- generally lots of best practices are incorporated into the tool,
- listed as ITIL compliant (but see below coment...),
- offers lots of ITIL processes,
- well-connected OOTB with CMDB, BPPM, ADDM, other BMC tools,
- mostly well accepted among users (if we ignore product defects).
CONS:
- very difficult to understand process steps in Remedy and SMPM and relate them to ITIL process steps. SMPM, Remedy and ITIL have 3 different versions of the process, with not obvious relationship between them. None of the consultants knew the answer to this...
- the tool has lots of issues, some of them are very serious (e.g. server hangs and crashes every 2-3 days, some of our users cannot log onto SRM console, ...)
- support by BMC is generally poor. Very difficult to get people who understand what the problem is and even more difficult to find the ones able to resolve it. Unsatified almost 100%.
- Remedy is generally very slow for people doing lots of updates in the tool. I have seen 2 different installations and both have slow response times
- some easy things are actually a science in Remedy. E.g. how to add a column to Overview or Incident Console.
- old and clumsy interface, looks like it was built at the beginning of internet
- unpredictable system, sometimes works nice for days, and then it just starts behaving strangly (flush-cash becomes a regular thing to do, both server-side and client-side)
- there is practically no support nor consultants in our area, which makes us dependent on near-shore consultants, which is not practical
- upgrade is a nightmare, even with small amount of customizations that we had. It took us 2 months to perform it, and we still haven't resolved all the issues occured during upgrade
OVERALL IMPRESSION:
- good tool, but that volume of bugs leaves a really bad taste in the mouth...

David
Technician in Canada
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Remedy

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: it allows us to obtain statistics on the number of tickets opened in the different groups created in the software.

Pros:

Remedy is a good tool that allows us to follow up with clients on problems experienced by them and we can see how many times this client has had the same problem.

Cons:

We use templates in the version we have and the main problem with templates is that they are duplicated by the number of groups we are assigned to.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Remedy - crashing and burning constantly

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use the Remedy Ticket system for helping with customers. However, there is a lot more we could be utilizing for what we're paying.
Remedy is great - when it works.

Pros:

It works - to the standard that we need it to. Highly Customizable. Works - under a light load. When it works, it works well.

Cons:

Crashes often. Not using to the extent that it's possible to use. Several different versions needed for running at once.

Leo
Network Specialist III in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Mediocre Solution

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Although Remedy works, there are much better options out there.

Pros:

What Remedy has going for it is the ability to scale upwards to the nth degree. It does that well and allows external emails to be sent to other services.

Cons:

It is a slow system and it takes loads of patience to work with. It isn't very forgiving with mistakes either.

Murtaza
App specialist in India
Information Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Remedy the best ticketing tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am using this tool from last 7 years and happy with this ticketing tool.

Pros:

Its very nice tool for logging ticket and raising incident. Change, outage management can be used with remedy. Its best and most used in IT industry

Cons:

its typically slow. It should be fast to use like Jira. rest all feature are very good

Jake
IT Support Analyst in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Expanded Tool - Not User Friendly

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Remedy can be a great tool in the right hands but it's a bit difficult to use. You can manage both tickets and assets all in one place.

Cons:

Not user friendly, needs A LOT of training to even use the basic functions. Wish it was easy to use, training new engineers takes a long time.

Loyce
Retention Team Leader in Uganda
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Remedy Service Desk

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Especially in an organisation that involves customers and a back office, this is a must have.

Pros:

It's instant. It's very easy to use. Ability to edit and add templates, to customize them to ones' need.

Cons:

Get's too slow when the Tickets are many.

Kelly
Edge Product Management in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Remedy ITSM - Kelly's view point

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros -
* Consistent UI makes it easy to navigate.
* Fully ITIL Compliant and easy to explain how using SMPM
* Easily customizable to meet company needs and business processes
* Data driven configuration/business rules allows for less customization to need to be done
* Data load capabilities are getting stronger
* Default configuration of system variables works for 90% of companies
* Continues to add new sizzle in each release
Cons -
* No end to end data model so when you do have to do a configuration or customization change you don't know all the places impacted
* Limited Mobility solution - ability to show reports/charts on mobile devices. I think Smart Reporting in 9.0 will help with this. Ability to work tickets - you have Smart IT for the Service Desk. We need it for the resolvers.
* Upgrade is a bear if you have done any customizations.
* No support for multiple overlays. Unisys has done a lot of overlays for our improvements. If a customer wants to change something then it goes in our overlay, not a second level overlay. Consequently, when we do an update to our overlay, their customization goes away.
Overall General Impression -
Remedy ITSM is the most feature complete yet flexible tool on the market. Time to implement is far less with Remedy than the competitors. The open ability to integrate is a huge plus because in today's world everyone wants all the tools form multiple vendors to work together.

Megha
Software Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy ticket management tool

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Service tickets made easy to handle. Managing SLA and teaching incident is very easy Changes and incidents can be handled without any fuss

Cons:

Initial mapping is bit hectic. Takes lot of time for higher queues

Greg
Salesforce Owner in UK
Medical Practice, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Works nicely as an incident management system

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Simple to use, nice interface, and helps me keep on top of all of my incoming and in progress jobs. I think once the SLA's are properly defined then it will check a lot of the boxes for ITIL standards.

Cons:

As mentioned. If the SLA's are not configured properly then you can feel as if you are underperforming until you read that your SLA was breached at 4 in the morning on a Sunday. Also the change request can be cumbersome if you have not used the process previously.

Chris
Top Technical Specialist Automation and Monitoring in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Remedy

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have been a user of Remedy for about 14 years and have done integrations for the past 10 with products like Atrium Orchestrator and Opalis. Remedy is a very powerful forms tool that is extremely customizable. Performance can vary widely based on load. It complements an ITIL approach or organization very well. Of the products that I have used, it is certainly the most complex, but also the most feature rich. The issues that I have with it are mainly in two areas. Upgrades are difficult and very time consuming especially if there have been several customizations done. Depending on how these customizations were implemented, each one may have to be redone post upgrade. The second major issue is the user interface itself. I have heard it described as being written by developers for developers. When first exposed, many things are not intuitive and require "end user training" to stay consistent. I hope that this is enhanced and streamlined in future releases as I find the user experience lacking. Overall, I am pleased with the Remedy ITSM product from a user and integration prospective. It does what we need it to do, and we get good support. Products can always be streamlined and user experiences continue to evolve.

Gopi
Gopi
IT Engineer in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

You need a better designer

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software allows you to log tickets and assign to groups.

Cons:

If the person, i mean the designer does not know what he/she is doing and does not cater to your needs, then it is going to be a pain.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Use of remedy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: its useful for the team to efficiently place tickets without the hassle of going through paperwork

Pros:

What I like most about remedy is that Im able to place tickets Ina orderly fashion and im able to search through old tickets that relate

Cons:

N/A

William
ITSSM Consultant in Italy
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Complex and Complete

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: PROS
- when you setup Remedy ITSM you are able to work as ITIL says. ITSM brings you the ITIL standard process.
- all the applications inside the ITSM suite are connected natively: You can open a Change from an Incident. You can configure your SLA and measure it on Incident and Change. You configure your foundation data (about people, site, company and so on) once, and then your data are available to all the applications (incident, change, problem etc.)
- based on the famous BMC Remedy ARS Platform: it takes few days to understand how to develop on this framework, without know any programming language. After this, you are able to customize ITSM applications to fit your process needs.
- powerfull CMDB
- recently integrated with MyIT and SmartIT, two apps used to manage ITSM process through a new grafic interface and from any device
CONS
- sometimes the interface is not so easy-to-use, and it looks like a 90's software
- it's hard to tune the performance because ITSM architecture is based on a lot of components: network, db, os, midtier.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Remedy Good but not Great

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Has mobile tools to help be productive anywhere.

Cons:

The customer self service portal isn’t as friendly & well laid out as it could be.