You don't need to spend more money elsewhere

Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Javier G.
Service Tech
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The main pro for us has been that it is pay what you use. Many other RMM tools will lock you into 3 year contracts and make you buy hundreds of seats and you will pay for them regardless if you use them or not. We loved that the remote control tool was based on Teamviewer

Cons: The initial interface was kind of clunky. And we really didn't like when they changed the remote control client. We've gotten used to it now though.

It is WORTH a Consideration!!!

Reviewed on 07/03/2019
Rex S.
Business Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: SolarWinds has a great solutions and been happy with the support. They give generous discounts and allow very attractive solutions to provide more features and products to our clients. Its a new solution, so they have issues, but they do seem to take care of them rapidly. If something does not seem to work for us they will discount it, and allow us to integrate it slowly. The price is attractive and a consideration for anyone in the MSP RMM or MSSP business.

Pros: Starting using SolarWinds shortly after they offered a reseller solution for RMM and MSP's. The features are wide and the prices is mostly on par with other mid tear offerings. The ease of loading the remote client software is good, and better than many others. The broad range of addons is nice, but can be costly fast! Tailoring to each client is what we do, so we add the features based on the broadest range of use of that feature. We spend many weeks evaluating RMM software. Coming from more costly software solutions to SolarWinds we felt that for many of the clients we had, they offered to most advanced solutions which could grow with us. The reporting features, and remote monitoring, and the anti-spyware was key features we needed. Recommend SolarWinds for any level MSP or MSSP.

Cons: The user interface needs work to be easier for entry level staff. The reporting details in some modules seem to be incomplete. The cost structure for each item, needs to be redone. Very hard to determine exact pricing for wholesale cost versus retail selling price.

There is no perfect RMM tool

Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Bill B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Solarwinds was one of my stops on the way to the perfect RMM system. After trialing a number of them for months, I learned there is no perfect RMM. Each one has different strengths and weaknesses. Solarwinds RMM is strong on usability, integration, and pricing. They were, when I trialed it over a year ago, weak on patching and to a lesser degree, automation.

Pros: The trial period is a full 30 days. The sales and support teams are available to help with setup questions and problems during that time. My experience with sales was overall positive - they were not pushy. The product is cloud hosted, no option for self-hosting (they offer another RMM that can be.) The monitoring agent is unobtrusive on the target PCs. It's possible to remotely manage most of what you need to manage on a workplace PC. They offer integrated AV which is a must for MSPs. A documents-only backup is also available, although for full system backups you will need to use theirs or another add-on backup application. A large body of knowledge is available online, much of it from the days when the individual components were stand-alone companies. Once you learn the history of SW RMM, you can find answers to most problems in forums and blog posts. I can't comment on their phone support, as I only used it once or twice. I thought the pricing was quite fair. You can easily charge enough per PC to make the RMM cost small change. They offer month-to-month billing, which is great for small startups.

Cons: Running tasks and scripts is anything but real time. You might wait hours to learn if a script had run or not, or what the output was. Patch management gave the appearance of being complete and granular, but again, for me, confidence in the actual state of systems was not there, needed lots of double checking. AV and backup were reliable.

Does what it says no exaggeration.

Reviewed on 13/10/2019
Matthew C.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The software does exactly what the sales team say.

Cons: None really. Issues are with post sales team have them set up your accounting correctly the first time.

SolarWinds Monitoring Tool

Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Jim M.
System Engineer
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I would recommend to start with one or two features and add others to reduce the overall impact of its initial rollout and use

Pros: This software will monitor just about anything on your network (except for the coffee pot). Server status is its best known function. You can set parameters for the monitoring both local and devices over the network.
Other features available are anti-virus, help desk, notifications, etc

Cons: With all of the options available for this software, the screen can become busy.

Powerful, but complex monitoring and backup

Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Kevin E.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I'm using the software to monitor and back up business servers across multiple clients. Other than an outage due to the removal of less secure SSL and TLS protocols from the servers I monitor, the software has been solid. In the case of the outage, support stuck with me for quite some time over multiple sessions to make sure the issue was resolved. TOP MARKS FOR SUPPORT!!

Pros: A wide array of sensors to monitor servers and workstations. A powerful dashboard provides a quick look at the state of systems being monitored. Integrated file and SQL backup and antivirus provides a one stop shop for protection and monitoring.

Cons: It can be challenging to resolve issues when they arise with the software, or underlying issues that affect the software. Given the complexity and nature of it, this can be expected to an extent.

Long Time User

Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Carl K.
Senior IT Consultant
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Scheduled automated reboots, seeing issues before they become major problems.

Pros: It's easy to use and deploy and is packed with functionality.

Cons: Nothing that comes to mind at the moment - I'm satisfied with it.

An all-in-one solution for providing IT monitoring

Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Louis B.
IT Profesional
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This platforms allows me to manage about 50 customers with more than 20 servers and 100 desktops from one single location. Thanks to the remote access feature, I can solve more than 80% of my customer problems without having to go onsite.

Pros: Complete solution: rich monitoring features including SW updates management and backups
Easy to deploy: o need to spend lots of time reading the documentation
Flexible: it does what you need to do

Cons: Nothing really!
The backup/restore option could probably be more user friendly
The Android version is a bit disapointing today

Great for small to medium sized MSPs

Reviewed on 26/08/2019
Jacob R.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The ease of use, and how everything just works.

Cons: I wish there was more integration with their ticketing software.

Network monitoring tool with a lot of information to help you track your environment

Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations Manager / Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The tool has a lot of features out of the box with the basic module purchased - add the nodes of your environment and collect historical data on them. The main features make network monitoring and tracking simple - with stats and graphs. Reporting is also great for giving to managers. Excellent support when calling in.

Cons: Out of the box a simple setup, each module though becomes pricey for small/medium businesses - each comes with it's own maintenance plan. Reporting takes some knowledge of SQL for setting up the reporting profiles and can be confusing.

Remote Monitoring made easy

Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Simon E.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall and cost effective solution for monitoring systems which normally would be a manual process.

Pros: Extremely easy to deploy with default agent settings you setup in minutes. Advanced users can customise the alerts, monitor events of any type. Email alerts on failures. Other addon's can be added to the console such as patch management, antivirus, backup and more.

Cons: If I had to pick something I would say occasionally (once a year if that) the agent service would need a restart as the server would stop reporting it. You still get notified of this so not a massive problem.

Best IT Management Software

Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Dillon D.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My experience is great so far - definitely worth the buck.

Pros: Patch Management
IT Asset Management
Control
Reporting

Cons: nothing that comes to mind - the product so far fulfills all the needs

Easy to use with all the functionality needed

Reviewed on 05/06/2017
Brian H.
Service Manager/Project Coordinator
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This software helped us reduce the time needed to manage and confirm our customers backups and be more proactive for our clients.

Pros: We really enjoy the ease of use of this product, we're able to securely monitor all our customers workstation and be more proactive. The patch management system and take control features are a must for any small MSP companies starting out. Their capped server and workstation fee's are great so you know exactly how much you will be billed.

Cons: We do have some issues with the Vulnerability scanners not always scanning or sending us the data. We would like more custom reports settings available and more functionality with the managed anti virus.

Highly Recommended

Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Robert B.
Support Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Monitoring made easy.

Pros: I have used Solarwinds RMM for 3 1/2 years, the program has changed hands many times. I like the integration with teamviewer, makes monitoring workstations and servers extremely easily. I don't think I could manage customers without RMM.

Cons: Support isn't the best, not timely and often you do not get the solution you are looking for, they need to clean up and update their online guides.

Almost the perfect solution

Reviewed on 03/07/2019
Joe D.
Director of TEchnology
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our IT unit was in disarray when I took over and Solarwinds helped us get control of all aspects of systems management. From monitoring servers to patching workstations and protecting our users from CTD's. And on top of it all... inventory. We now know where all our assets are and who is using them.

Pros: Above all, this software gives you the tools you need to run an IT department. Patch management, Managed AV, Web filtering, Risk Intel etc..

Cons: There isnt much. If I had to gripe on something I would say the UI and UX could use a facelift/makeover. Hover menus, cleaner look. But this is just to pick something.

SolarWinds RMM MSP Software

Reviewed on 16/10/2019
Akbar A.
CEO
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Remote Access, Industry Standard Software for protection, quick install, Data collection

Cons: Loading of the RMM is slow, workstation drag and drop not available, does not provide much information like Kasaya does, and issues installing because its not showing up on the RMM Dashboard. Dashboard also could use a touch up. Support is slow to respond, Make this more like Kaseya, and you will have the Perfect RMM. Keep the pricing more lower then the others as well. make support easily accessable to partners like myself. And provide more training and help for setting up billing, and consumer side visuals.

Remotely keep an eye on your customer computers

Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Brian F.
it admin
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Monitors many items on a company's computer network, allows for remote access, antivirus monitoring and reporting, control over when updates are installed, can schedule reboots for off hours.

Cons: The main application needs to be installed onsite. There is some delay when a computer is restarted for the portal to show that is online.

SolarWinds makes a fantastic RMM tool.

Reviewed on 25/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: What I like most about SolarWinds RMM is it's value. I believe you get the most bang for your buck compared to other RMMs. In a recent survey among MSPs nationwide, SolarWinds was even ranked the best overall.

Cons: Patch management could be better, but I know they are working hard on it. Right now it's a bit complicated to setup and use.

Good product for a small shop

Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Jeremy K.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Managed services, able to take control of computers and to keep an eye on important functionality.

Pros: Not expensive. Pay per use. Easy to use. Works well.

Cons: Some features like chat with the user have still not been built in. Patch management seems to fail on patches some times.

Great product to manage clients from a single dashboard

Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Lee T.
District Manager
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Single dashboard to manage all our clients.

Pros: Love the ability to push out updates/patches with a single click or a custom script. Tons of extra features if you are willing to purchase them.

Cons: The reporting feature of this software is sub par at best especially with network vulnerability feature. This could definitely be improved.

Makes my live easier

Reviewed on 07/08/2019
Adam W.
IT Operations Engineer
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have an expanding business with ever changing IT needs, solawinds has molded itself to work with our fast paced environment. To have an overview of out IT infrastructure and critical IT system at the touch of button. Pretty much anywhere allows for some easy IT management that without Solarwinds would take double to the time

Pros: The ease of use
Speed of information
Great patch management
Amazing product interrogation

Cons: Some menus can be clunky
Searching and changing large amount of items can be hard to find
interface could be more modern

Solarwinds RMM software review

Reviewed on 26/08/2018
Richard V.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I consider Solarwinds RMM a powerful software for managing IT Services which combines a set of tools into a unique panel, making the network administration more flexible and intuitive , allowing remote access and scalability to incorporate more network and IT components into its service scope.

Pros: - Provides a set of tools for managing IT Services into an unique panel.
- Last version includes NetPath which allows us knowing network performance and infrastructure from starting to finish points of our network.
- Allows active monitoring and alerting .
- Inlciude remote access that allows to monitor and administering the network wherever we are.
- QoS analysis available.

Cons: - The configuration process for this software must be done by person with high level knowledge about Networking and IT Infrastructure.

Excellent and fast remote monitoring system

Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Guillermo R.
University Professor in Telecommunications Enginee
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: - The importance of automation reflects very solid characteristics to be taken into account.
- The use of a centralized console makes our students clearly identify the managed services.
- Allows to anticipate problems thanks to monitoring alerts.
- Large amount of scripts in the network that serve as support.

Cons: - We have detected that sometimes the notification of the emails does not arrive.
- The amount of information presented within mobile applications should be expanded, since today it is a very useful element for this type of user.

Great value RMM tool that does the work of many people on my team!

Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Daniel db B.
Founder, CEO
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: remote support, patch management, antivirus management

Pros: I love the remote support, the file transfer, the chat feature, the scripting tools, and being able to get checks cleared from the software without using a remote session

Cons: I don't like its Mac integration, it seems broken. I also don't like the fact that it doesn't tie into Kaseya BMS at all.

SolarWinds RMM Works for the MSP

Reviewed on 25/07/2019
John H.
Network Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: This Software does all of the heavy lifting and will save you time and money from managing your network the manual way

Cons: This software does everything that I ask of it.