RMM Reviews

by N-ABLE (formerly SolarWinds MSP)

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About RMM

The N-able RMM platform is built for both managed service providers and in-house IT professionals who manage complex IT environments-w

Learn more about RMM

Showing 68 reviews

Derek S.
Service Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020

"SolarWinds RMM (formerly N-Able) is a great RMM tool"

Comments: Great solution for an RMM tool. The management of the alerts and system is the best overall of the competitors. Would recommend as long as the PSA tool links to it well.

Pros: Very intuitive interface and easy to learn. Easy to navigate and manage individual endpoints and quiet noisy alerts. Great integration with direct hardware monitoring as well.

Cons: Remote access software has historically been an additional feature. Very competitive market and some aspects are not the "best" in the market, including remotely connecting to computers. SolarWinds is also only breaking into the PSA market so there is not a direct connecting service to link on day 1 without looking at other vendors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations Manager / Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018

"Network monitoring tool with a lot of information to help you track your environment"

Pros: The tool has a lot of features out of the box with the basic module purchased - add the nodes of your environment and collect historical data on them. The main features make network monitoring and tracking simple - with stats and graphs. Reporting is also great for giving to managers. Excellent support when calling in.

Cons: Out of the box a simple setup, each module though becomes pricey for small/medium businesses - each comes with it's own maintenance plan. Reporting takes some knowledge of SQL for setting up the reporting profiles and can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Bill B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"There is no perfect RMM tool"

Comments: Solarwinds was one of my stops on the way to the perfect RMM system. After trialing a number of them for months, I learned there is no perfect RMM. Each one has different strengths and weaknesses. Solarwinds RMM is strong on usability, integration, and pricing. They were, when I trialed it over a year ago, weak on patching and to a lesser degree, automation.

Pros: The trial period is a full 30 days. The sales and support teams are available to help with setup questions and problems during that time. My experience with sales was overall positive - they were not pushy. The product is cloud hosted, no option for self-hosting (they offer another RMM that can be.) The monitoring agent is unobtrusive on the target PCs. It's possible to remotely manage most of what you need to manage on a workplace PC. They offer integrated AV which is a must for MSPs. A documents-only backup is also available, although for full system backups you will need to use theirs or another add-on backup application. A large body of knowledge is available online, much of it from the days when the individual components were stand-alone companies. Once you learn the history of SW RMM, you can find answers to most problems in forums and blog posts. I can't comment on their phone support, as I only used it once or twice. I thought the pricing was quite fair. You can easily charge enough per PC to make the RMM cost small change. They offer month-to-month billing, which is great for small startups.

Cons: Running tasks and scripts is anything but real time. You might wait hours to learn if a script had run or not, or what the output was. Patch management gave the appearance of being complete and granular, but again, for me, confidence in the actual state of systems was not there, needed lots of double checking. AV and backup were reliable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Kevin E.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"Powerful, but complex monitoring and backup"

Comments: I'm using the software to monitor and back up business servers across multiple clients. Other than an outage due to the removal of less secure SSL and TLS protocols from the servers I monitor, the software has been solid. In the case of the outage, support stuck with me for quite some time over multiple sessions to make sure the issue was resolved. TOP MARKS FOR SUPPORT!!

Pros: A wide array of sensors to monitor servers and workstations. A powerful dashboard provides a quick look at the state of systems being monitored. Integrated file and SQL backup and antivirus provides a one stop shop for protection and monitoring.

Cons: It can be challenging to resolve issues when they arise with the software, or underlying issues that affect the software. Given the complexity and nature of it, this can be expected to an extent.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Louis B.
IT Profesional
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"An all-in-one solution for providing IT monitoring"

Comments: This platforms allows me to manage about 50 customers with more than 20 servers and 100 desktops from one single location. Thanks to the remote access feature, I can solve more than 80% of my customer problems without having to go onsite.

Pros: Complete solution: rich monitoring features including SW updates management and backups
Easy to deploy: o need to spend lots of time reading the documentation
Flexible: it does what you need to do

Cons: Nothing really!
The backup/restore option could probably be more user friendly
The Android version is a bit disapointing today

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Simon E.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018

"Remote Monitoring made easy"

Comments: Overall and cost effective solution for monitoring systems which normally would be a manual process.

Pros: Extremely easy to deploy with default agent settings you setup in minutes. Advanced users can customise the alerts, monitor events of any type. Email alerts on failures. Other addon's can be added to the console such as patch management, antivirus, backup and more.

Cons: If I had to pick something I would say occasionally (once a year if that) the agent service would need a restart as the server would stop reporting it. You still get notified of this so not a massive problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Dillon D.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019

"Best IT Management Software"

Comments: My experience is great so far - definitely worth the buck.

Pros: Patch Management
IT Asset Management
Control
Reporting

Cons: nothing that comes to mind - the product so far fulfills all the needs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Joe D.
Director of TEchnology
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2019

"Almost the perfect solution"

Comments: Our IT unit was in disarray when I took over and Solarwinds helped us get control of all aspects of systems management. From monitoring servers to patching workstations and protecting our users from CTD's. And on top of it all... inventory. We now know where all our assets are and who is using them.

Pros: Above all, this software gives you the tools you need to run an IT department. Patch management, Managed AV, Web filtering, Risk Intel etc..

Cons: There isnt much. If I had to gripe on something I would say the UI and UX could use a facelift/makeover. Hover menus, cleaner look. But this is just to pick something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2019
Brian F.
it admin
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Remotely keep an eye on your customer computers"

Pros: Monitors many items on a company's computer network, allows for remote access, antivirus monitoring and reporting, control over when updates are installed, can schedule reboots for off hours.

Cons: The main application needs to be installed onsite. There is some delay when a computer is restarted for the portal to show that is online.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"SolarWinds makes a fantastic RMM tool."

Pros: What I like most about SolarWinds RMM is it's value. I believe you get the most bang for your buck compared to other RMMs. In a recent survey among MSPs nationwide, SolarWinds was even ranked the best overall.

Cons: Patch management could be better, but I know they are working hard on it. Right now it's a bit complicated to setup and use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
John K.
IT Director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: I am very pleased to be able to see all of my devices in a single pane.

Pros: Everything is visible at a glance, icons make it easy to what needs to be updated, what to reboot, and what needs further attention

Cons: Setup of new devices can be a little cumbersome, but it can be done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Shuabe A.
Senior Technical Support Analyst
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Great bang for your buck."

Comments: Overall, a great tool and efficient access across our network.

Pros: Solarwinds RMM is a great tool to use to manage and remote into user machines remotely.

Cons: It can alter the display when remoting in, making it a bit difficult to see clearly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Chris O.
Lieutenant
Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"THE BEST"

Pros: Ease of use and the support is awesome, the software is a breeze to use for daily duties in our IT department.

Cons: Nothing to say bad about this software or the people who support it. Has been a pleasure to use this program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Chris A.
VP of IT
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"For advanced RMM needs"

Pros: This product has a lot of features and some great add on such as IPSLA and Netflow. This gives you the ability to move beyond Real-time Monitoring and begin performance monitoring.

Cons: This is a complex tool so if you don't understand WMI and SNMP you will most likely not be able to get it to perform the way you want it to. In addition it is costly for small businesses if they plan to use it strictly as an RMM.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Matthew L.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018

"They will take your money or ruin your credit trying."

Comments: I am about to file a lawsuit with this company because they gave me a free trial but now claim I owe them a few hundred dollars even though I never used their services but have failed to provide me any documentation proving their claim but are refusing to refund my nonexistent account.

Pros: Its a good idea for a platform that allows an MSN to operate in a competitive sense.

Cons: The customer support is abysmal and they will charge you for talking to them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Marcio P.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2019

"Nice to have all your customers in one place"

Comments: Customer service is hard to reach and slow to respond

Pros: The fact that I have all my customer computers in one place

Cons: Updates fail constantly and the reason is not clear. Also it doesn't work with trendmicro antivirus which is my solution

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 23/12/2019

We're sorry to hear you've experienced some challenges with customer service as we always strive to deliver the best service experience possible. This obviously wasn't what you experienced and that's troublesome. We will reach out to you shortly to hopefully assist you further.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2019
Danny M.
IT Manager
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019

"Amazing remote manamgement software"

Pros: I love how simple it is to manage my systems with this software. I can remotely control every single endpoint in my organisation, pull an assest list when I need it, keep an eye on virus threats and even deploy virus protection all via a simple interface

Cons: The only additional feature I'd like to see is the ability to freeze the remote display, so the user cannot see what actions are being performed, like entering sensetive parts of systems etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019
Rex S.
Business Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2019

"It is WORTH a Consideration!!!"

Comments: SolarWinds has a great solutions and been happy with the support. They give generous discounts and allow very attractive solutions to provide more features and products to our clients. Its a new solution, so they have issues, but they do seem to take care of them rapidly. If something does not seem to work for us they will discount it, and allow us to integrate it slowly. The price is attractive and a consideration for anyone in the MSP RMM or MSSP business.

Pros: Starting using SolarWinds shortly after they offered a reseller solution for RMM and MSP's. The features are wide and the prices is mostly on par with other mid tear offerings. The ease of loading the remote client software is good, and better than many others. The broad range of addons is nice, but can be costly fast! Tailoring to each client is what we do, so we add the features based on the broadest range of use of that feature. We spend many weeks evaluating RMM software. Coming from more costly software solutions to SolarWinds we felt that for many of the clients we had, they offered to most advanced solutions which could grow with us. The reporting features, and remote monitoring, and the anti-spyware was key features we needed. Recommend SolarWinds for any level MSP or MSSP.

Cons: The user interface needs work to be easier for entry level staff. The reporting details in some modules seem to be incomplete. The cost structure for each item, needs to be redone. Very hard to determine exact pricing for wholesale cost versus retail selling price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2019
James W.
Business support technician
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2019

"Solid software with good function, but not perfect."

Comments: We've been using this dashboard for a long time and it does everything light solid antivirus for my residential clients up to medium scale commercial asset tracking and maintenance operations.

Pros: The single pane of glass to manage antivirus, backups, in detail alerts, and asset tracking is really nice. I use it to manage nearly a thousand workstations and have used it since it was called "hound dog RMM"

Cons: several parts have a fair amount of hassle to set up and administer, notably the antivirus installation and patch management. Alert status is always green or red, there's no functionality to have a "low priority issue", so I have to treat every failed check as a possible emergency. I'd like to be able to say something like "if the backup is one day out of date, mark it yellow, 2 days mark red" or something like that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2019
Matthew S.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020

"Solarwinds RMM Review"

Comments: We have been using Solarwinds RMM for quite a while now and have been very happy with they business relationship we have formed, easy, cost effective RMM with loads of features.

Pros: This RMM is cost effective and web based, no need to install a bunch of software to use it. The ability to turn on components as you want to upgrade and grow is brilliant.

Cons: I have to say I cannot think of anything that I like the least.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020
Akbar A.
CEO
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019

"SolarWinds RMM MSP Software"

Pros: Remote Access, Industry Standard Software for protection, quick install, Data collection

Cons: Loading of the RMM is slow, workstation drag and drop not available, does not provide much information like Kasaya does, and issues installing because its not showing up on the RMM Dashboard. Dashboard also could use a touch up. Support is slow to respond, Make this more like Kaseya, and you will have the Perfect RMM. Keep the pricing more lower then the others as well. make support easily accessable to partners like myself. And provide more training and help for setting up billing, and consumer side visuals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019
Leo A.
Network Specialist III
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2020

"Instant notifications = quick response rates"

Comments: We've had SolarWinds deployed in place for years and it works perfectly.

Pros: I've used SolarWinds notifications across multiple organizations I've worked for. Battery Backups fail after short power outages and SolarWinds helps to identify those needing replacing.

Cons: SolarWinds is a staple in the field, we do not have anything negative to say about SolarWinds RMM...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2020
Jeremy K.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"Good product for a small shop"

Comments: Managed services, able to take control of computers and to keep an eye on important functionality.

Pros: Not expensive. Pay per use. Easy to use. Works well.

Cons: Some features like chat with the user have still not been built in. Patch management seems to fail on patches some times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Yona R.
IT Systems Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019

"Long Time User"

Comments: We use this product all the time to monitor our customer's systems. The alerts and checks are the main features I use. It has helped us in many situations prevent many disasters.

Pros: -easy to monitor
-easy to use
-lot's of features

Cons: I don't have any issues with this product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019
Richard V.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2018

"Solarwinds RMM software review"

Comments: I consider Solarwinds RMM a powerful software for managing IT Services which combines a set of tools into a unique panel, making the network administration more flexible and intuitive , allowing remote access and scalability to incorporate more network and IT components into its service scope.

Pros: - Provides a set of tools for managing IT Services into an unique panel.
- Last version includes NetPath which allows us knowing network performance and infrastructure from starting to finish points of our network.
- Allows active monitoring and alerting .
- Inlciude remote access that allows to monitor and administering the network wherever we are.
- QoS analysis available.

Cons: - The configuration process for this software must be done by person with high level knowledge about Networking and IT Infrastructure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2018