Best Backup Software

Reviewed on 22/11/2019
Ramon G.
IT Manager
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall is being great, a few glitches but support try there best to meet your expectations.

Pros: Baremetal recovery is amazing it just works.

Cons: Recent Updates where it does not tell you what is the issue.

Solarwinds backup made my life easier

Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Arjan B.
senior engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is easy to setup and maintain and works mostly without any problems.

Cons: The portal is sometimes down due to maintenance.

Simplicity and Trust

Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Brian C.
Manager
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Solarwinds set a stand and bar for the industry to match at minimal and best if capable.

Pros: Simplicity. It just works. Thats a huge plus.

Cons: Help and how-to sections are a bit flaky to navigate around.

Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups

Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Eli P.
Centralized Services Manager
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.

Pros: Overall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.

Cons: I have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.

Solarwinds Backup

Reviewed on 20/11/2019
Andrew T.
President & CEO
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Fantastic product

Pros: Easy of install and setup, ease of Use, accuracy, recovery option

Cons: Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts

Simple And Effective Backup

Reviewed on 15/02/2019
Mike M.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: SolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.

Pros: SolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.

Cons: There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.

Solid and reliable

Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Mark S.
Senior Engineer
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.

Cons: The Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.

Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!

Reviewed on 10/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Engineer/Account Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Coming from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!

Pros: We have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.

Cons: One thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.

Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup

Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Bob W.
Chief Technology Officier
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Started with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.

Pros: Once installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.

Great backup product

Reviewed on 27/11/2019
Rick M.
Technology Architect
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Great product, cost effective solution.

Pros: Software is easy to use, set up, and administer. Also the cost is so much better than competing localized products

Cons: 1. Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.

Reviewed on 23/08/2017
Brad M.
Managing Partner / CTO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Local and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.

Pros: Ease of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.

Cons: Some scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.

It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.

Reviewed on 23/08/2017
Wayne S.
Owner
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.

Cons: Not easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.

It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients.

Reviewed on 24/08/2017
Mark C.
Director, Cloud services
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Cloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.

Fast, professional backup

Reviewed on 23/08/2017
Jeff O.
President
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Hybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.

Pros: Simple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.

Complete and reliable backups with powerful additional features.

Reviewed on 13/05/2018
Solianny antonieta F.
Analista de sistema/ Asistencia a la Gerencia
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Practical solution that provides a backup and recovery tool to prevent reconfiguration in the event of system failures.

Pros: It is very accurate in the creation of copies of the entire computer including user, application and configuration data, as well as the operating system, it allows the planning of common backups and creates rescue media that are necessary in case of incident with the workstations.

Cons: It has a wide range of configurable options so it is necessary to study your options calmly so that the data backup is reliable and adequate according to each requirement.

Reliable data archiving and retrieval software

Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Robert W.
Production Assistant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: There is worrying and complains over data loss in case of a shuttering cyber attack

Pros: There is a free software available for demo to enable the buyer make an informed decision to buy the product
Its easy to install and use the software

Cons: In organizations that do not have secure foolproof mechanisms, an attack on their servers may lead to leakage of crucial and confidential information

Brilliant backup

Reviewed on 17/03/2019
Oliver S.
director
Pharmaceuticals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: backing up my work is very easy to do. the software is especially good with office 365. which i use a lot.

Cons: backing up takes a very long time. i don't know if it's my computer but it just takes so long.

solarwinds review

Reviewed on 26/12/2018
Opeyemi O.
English Teacher
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The installation time take the lead as it is pretty straightforward and less complicated when compared to other softwares have used. Branding of clients is one feature i find intriguing and useful plus the entire process is easy to do.

Cons: I am disgruntled by the fact that solarwinds backup does not allow for multiple backup sets and the inability to choose whether data is to be store locally or in the cloud is also pretty annoying

Simple

Reviewed on 21/02/2019
Mark R.
self employed
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: very easy to understand through the use of the dashboard

Cons: it can be a bit cluttered on the dashboard.

Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Fibras y normas D.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
5/5
Overall
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money

More than enough

Reviewed on 18/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Développeur
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Backup and Recovery is very intuitive and easy to use, the support is always available to help you in case you face any issue. great set of features.

Cons: there is limitations on the scheduling feature, and while the interface is good it still needs some touches to make it perfect.