Cove Data Protection Reviews

4.6 (31) Write a Review!

About Cove Data Protection

Cove Data Protection offers backup, disaster recovery, and archiving. Protect servers, workstations, and Microsoft 365 with Cove.

Learn more about Cove Data Protection

Pros:

It is fully integrated into N-Central, SolarWinds RMM product. This allows for centralized management from the RMM console and easy templating and monitoring of the backups themselves.

Cons:

Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

Cove Data Protection ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Cove Data Protection has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 31 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Cove Data Protection before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (31)

Mike
Mike
CEO in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple And Effective Backup

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: SolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.

Pros:

SolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.

Cons:

There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.

Ramon
IT Manager in US
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Backup Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall is being great, a few glitches but support try there best to meet your expectations.

Pros:

Baremetal recovery is amazing it just works.

Cons:

Recent Updates where it does not tell you what is the issue.

Alternatives Considered: MSP360 Managed Backup

Reasons for Choosing Cove Data Protection: There was no console for management or cloud backup.

Switched From: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows

Reasons for Switching to Cove Data Protection: There was too much configuration involve in order to get it up and running.

Verified Reviewer
Implementation & Support Specialist in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

backup and restore

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

tried this tool to have it integrated with other SolarWinds products and its a pretty decent solution.

Cons:

There are better products out there with more features and alesser cost.

shabbir
security analyst in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Must recommended flexible and reliable product for SMB or Enterpraise

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: plays a crucial role in Disaster recovery as we follow strict compliance. Managing Multiple VM servers, backup, encryptions, or restore easily in operations in though a bit worried about its console.

Pros:

It is a next-generation product in backup very flexible and feasible to handle. backup solution's primary use case is to handle multiple products which can be able to support multiple platforms and along with scalability and feasibility in utilization.

Cons:

Console to user roles created like especially admin is not such great in performing actions and Multiple servers handling is also a challenge.

Arjan
senior engineer in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Solarwinds backup made my life easier

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to setup and maintain and works mostly without any problems.

Cons:

The portal is sometimes down due to maintenance.

Andrew
President & CEO in US
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solarwinds Backup

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Fantastic product

Pros:

Easy of install and setup, ease of Use, accuracy, recovery option

Cons:

Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts

Verified Reviewer
System Engineer/Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Coming from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!

Pros:

We have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.

Cons:

One thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.

Verified Reviewer
Composer in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Never regretted the change to SolarWinds Backup

5.0 last year

Comments: I recently made the "big step" to set up an external server for my work. Since then, smaller, non-business optimized cloud services didn't seem to scale up in pricing and protection, so i subscribed to SolarWinds Backup.
It obviously has a ton of tools, that i might never need. But since my daily work routine is based on different projects with different customers, it's crucial to have a central storage point, that is easily accessible from everywhere and reliably saves all the steps of editing.

Pros:

With several backup-steps SolarWinds Backup assures a complete protection from dataloss. Data is easily accessible from everywhere and backups are generated automatically and efficiently. The ability to access old versions of backups is especially helpful to never lose progress!

Cons:

I didn't encounter any real problems with this software. The load of functions can be overwhelming, especially with all of the cryptic abbreviations. Honestly though, this is not a real con, but rather my own problem!

Gary
Gary
Service Team Lead & Dispatcher in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Reliable backups, excellent interface.

5.0 last year

Comments: I've used other backup software in the past and I can say this is the best one I've ever used, hands down.

Pros:

Backups are reliable and easy to implement at any time. You can store multiple weeks or even months of backups at a time, and restoring data when needed is a snap!

Cons:

Getting help from SolarWinds support can take a few days if they're busy; a very good knowledge base is available to all users and can usually resolve most issues, but speaking to an actual engineer for difficult troubleshooting can be difficult to get started.

Bob
Bob
Chief Technology Officier in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Started with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.

Pros:

Once installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.

Cons:

Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.

Brian
Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simplicity and Trust

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Solarwinds set a stand and bar for the industry to match at minimal and best if capable.

Pros:

Simplicity. It just works. Thats a huge plus.

Cons:

Help and how-to sections are a bit flaky to navigate around.

Eli
Centralized Services Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.

Pros:

Overall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.

Cons:

I have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.

Kelly
NOC Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

N-Central & SolarWinds Backup

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Solid file and database backup feature. Versioning is built into the product with customization of schedules and standardization across customer base is excellent. I've used many different products and consider SolarWinds backup to re reliable and dependable.

Pros:

It is fully integrated into N-Central, SolarWinds RMM product. This allows for centralized management from the RMM console and easy templating and monitoring of the backups themselves.

Cons:

When compared to Veeam or other mature products it is lacking in features. However, direct apples to apples comparisons it does a very good job of file level and database level backups.

Jacob
President in US
Computer Hardware, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great backup software!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's been great so far! I've recovered several customer files that were inadvertently deleted with very little trouble.

Pros:

It's very reliable, especially the VDR restore tests that you can run on a ESX or HyperV box. I have very little issues with the product after the initial deployment.

Cons:

I wish that the RMM version had as many features as the standalone version. Not having the capability to restore to the cloud would be nice.

Mark
Mark
Senior Engineer in US
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid and reliable

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.

Cons:

The Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.

Rick
Technology Architect in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great backup product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great product, cost effective solution.

Pros:

Software is easy to use, set up, and administer. Also the cost is so much better than competing localized products

Cons:

1. Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

Brad
Managing Partner / CTO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Local and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.

Pros:

Ease of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.

Cons:

Some scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.

Wayne
Owner in Canada
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.

Cons:

Not easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.

Mark
Director, Cloud services in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Cloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.

Jeff
President in US
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fast, professional backup

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Hybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.

Pros:

Simple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.

Solianny Antonieta
Solianny Antonieta
Analista de sistema/ Asistencia a la Gerencia in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete and reliable backups with powerful additional features.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Practical solution that provides a backup and recovery tool to prevent reconfiguration in the event of system failures.

Pros:

It is very accurate in the creation of copies of the entire computer including user, application and configuration data, as well as the operating system, it allows the planning of common backups and creates rescue media that are necessary in case of incident with the workstations.

Cons:

It has a wide range of configurable options so it is necessary to study your options calmly so that the data backup is reliable and adequate according to each requirement.

Don
President in US
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

N-Able Backups

5.0 last year

Pros:

The dashboard makes use of the product very simple.

Cons:

There was not anything that I did not like.

Robert
Robert
Production Assistant in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reliable data archiving and retrieval software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: There is worrying and complains over data loss in case of a shuttering cyber attack

Pros:

There is a free software available for demo to enable the buyer make an informed decision to buy the product Its easy to install and use the software

Cons:

In organizations that do not have secure foolproof mechanisms, an attack on their servers may lead to leakage of crucial and confidential information

Joshua
Marketing Exec in France
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Useful online backup tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very good customer support, and useful online backup function

Cons:

No local only option for backups, and relatively expensive complete product

SolarWinds MSP Response

2 years ago

Thanks for trying SolarWinds Backup. I would like to clarify one point - we do provide the ability to keep an optional local copy of your backups, using the storage hardware of your choice. Our backup process is direct-to-cloud, and not dependent upon a local appliance or aggregator, which eliminates a potential single point of failure.

Cristiano
Technical Consultant in Canada
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy and clean

5.0 last year

Pros:

Easy to use. Very straight-forward. Clean

Cons:

Nothing to complaining about this product.