15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Comet Backup

Start running backups in less than 15 minutes to ensure business continuity! Comet is a fast, secure all-in-one backup platform.

Learn more about Comet Backup

Pros:

We were able to integrate Comet Backup well into our system landscape, even with monitoring.

Cons:

Reporting is a bit weak if a customer sked for a report on their backups.

Comet Backup ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Comet Backup has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 60 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Comet Backup before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (60)

Terry
Terry
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Backup software for MSP or Small Business

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience from the Onboarding Video Call to getting it all setup and running has been great. Any questions or issues have been taken care of quickly, and I can have the peace of mind that stuff is safe.

Pros:

We got this software as a solution for our MSP business. It has all of the features that you need backup client's equipment without breaking the bank.

Cons:

There are some parts to it that are confusing in the initial scheduling of the backups, but once you do it a few times it gets better.

Rene
MD in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great backup good price

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: The support team has been great and will even schedule a zoom to help you sort out your issue, they keep adding features and functionality so it just keep getting better, I feel like there are better solutions on the market but not at the price point.

Pros:

Central cloud backup Server with options to and onsite backup servers too. Linux option for the backup server reduces our cost. No cost to run the backup server only cost per client device. Support for most types of storage. DAS, NAS, S3 and more.

Cons:

Restores can be slower then some competitors, no option to live mount the data found in some of the competition. Storage locking can be a challenge.

Francois
Owner in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review Cloud Web

3.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall it's between OK and good. Hopefully there will be big updates to smooth out the ease-of-use.

Pros:

The pricing, the featureset and the scheduling of tasks.

Cons:

The Server back-end, sometimes there are weird errors backing up restored VM's, sometimes slow performance, no instant disaster recovery from the data.

Denis
Senior Engineer in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Comet after a year.

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: So far, so good. It seems to be reliable for the most part. Would like some more in depth reporting and monitoring features, but for the price, it's been very good value.

Pros:

Quite easy to set up, inexpensive pricing.

Cons:

Need to be able to back up MS365 data without relying on a dedicated endpoint at the client end. We can't use it for MS365 backups without that feature and are using another backup tool for that side of backups.

Walt
Technology Consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Attractively priced backup solution for service providers

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Product is very easy to use. Wasabi cloud storage is fast, cheap, and fully integrated, requiring zero setup. No issues installing on a wide variety of machines and OSes. Does not pester users; console provides comprehensive overview of status across clients and backup loads.

Cons:

No Google Workspace backup. Costs for backing up Microsoft 365 are out of line with otherwise very reasonable pricing for backup software. Would like to be able to support older versions of Windows Server, because we all have those old servers sitting around somewhere!There are some issues to beware of regarding multiple jobs backing up to a single repository. If a job doesn't complete, you could end up with a locked repository that keeps other jobs from running.

Sergi
Sergi
CTO in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comet backup for a Cloud provider

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We were looking for a backup application that should be able to store efficiently the backup jobs to a cloud storage without using local temporal space.
After a few evaluations we came to Comet, has a good pricing model, it's easy to start with and we are a happy user for more than 2 years.
We are running hundred of backup jobs each day, and a few restores each quarter (we are lucky), and we never had any issue caused by Comet Backup.

Pros:

I was impressed by the ease of use of the server, how to deploy agents and how easy was to extract information from the server to report to our users how the backup was protecting their information. Also, every time we opened a case with Comet, response time and quality was top notch.

Cons:

It doesn't integrate (yet) with change tracking with the hypervisor so all the virtual disk has to be read each time, and that it'd be nice to integrate with S3 protocol Object locks to hedge against potential ramsonware attacks. I know that they are on it on both things but still not available.

Brian
Tier 3 supervisor in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MSP Review

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The biggest thing we look for in a product is their support. Support has always been responsive and knowledgeable. You feel like you're getting support from the people who wrote the program and thats is one of the biggest plusses of Comet.

Pros:

Easy to deploy, made in a country we trust

Cons:

Sometimes backup configuration is not straight forward but once you figure it out like any other tool its fine

Raymond
Raymond
Systeembeheerder in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent backup software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have used a fair number of backup software, all with some challenges. With Comet we have no issues at all.

Pros:

Backup servers are available for Windows and Linux. Installation and configuration is very easy. Setup and executing backup jobs works perfect. Restore also no problems. They make new versions very regular, so many new features over time.

Cons:

Overal the product works great. For virtual machine backup we use different software. If at some point this could be integrated in Comet backup, that would be excellent!

Michael
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Working great so far.

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

I found it simple to set up the server. I like that it's pretty customizable and the one time I did contact support, they were friendly and helpful. It's just worked since I got it installed.

Cons:

Not sure, maybe wish there were slight discounts on the per seat licenses or something when self hosting, but really, I don't think there is room to complain about pricing right now, it's a significantly better deal than something like Veeam when you just need something simple. Maybe some kind of automatic backup verification that can reload backups into VMs, check they boot and such and then delete similar to what bigger backup software have, but that's a big feature. Oh, and maybe an obvious way to use your own SSL certs instead of LetsEncrypt.

Francis
Project Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ideal for startup's with capital constraints

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: The implementation was very simply and the api works well with the 3rd party webapp we use.

Pros:

The fact that you can spin up a quality backup service very quickly and with very little capital makes comet an attractive proposition.

Cons:

The support is a bit clunky due to it's location and the time differences.

Arsène
CEO in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A solid modern backup solution

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Comet Backup for backing up our own servers and services, and now also provide managed backup services to clients. Being a software company ourselves, we really like how Comet can be configured and customized.

Pros:

The combined feature set of Comet Backup is quite unique in this price range. The ability to manage multiple clients, on your own hardware, with your own branding, with data deduplication was something we did not find in other products. The licensing model is not prohibitive as it grows with usage with no initial investment required. We were able to integrate Comet Backup well into our system landscape, even with monitoring.

Cons:

Being a "younger" product than some enterprise backup solutions, there are still some rough edges which needed attention from the producer or where we had to implement workarounds. The scheduling part and performance when using the Comet Server as storage destination are some of the parts where we struggle the most with.

Roman
CISO in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great backup solution

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: A very good experience, when we have had any questions we have been solved quickly, the solution is stable and is updated very frequently.

Pros:

The ease of deploying the solution internally, customizing it and integrating it with repositories from different public cloud providers.

Cons:

There are functionalities that take time to develop, for example until recently there was no possibility to copy machines in VmWare.

Brandon
Owner in US
Computer Hardware, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Backup for MSPs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've been really happy with Comet since the minute we started using them. I'm very happy with the switch! The Web UI is fast and responsive. You have lots of flexibility in choosing either to store backups on Comet Server or on an S3 provider like Azure (or any other that you might want to use).

Pros:

The pricing is very fair for a product like this and I love that you can brand the client to look and feel like your business.

Cons:

Not too much in the cons field. If I was to list one I would say the lack of continuous backup. You can work around this by scheduling multiple jobs a day but isn't as ideal as solutions we've used in the past.

Fernand
Owner in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great self-hosted multiplatform backup solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Comet to backup key data and systems for our clients as well as for ourselves.

Pros:

Comet has a light footprint, native applications (no Java client) and has a plethora of supported backup sources including Windows, Mac, Linux, databases, windows bare metal and more. It works reliably and offers flexible implementation options. The server software includes SSL certificate generation, data sync to other servers and more.

Cons:

Server setup and implementation took a bit of work but once it is set up it works well. The management interface takes a bit to get used to. It would be nice if we could have more fine-grained control of server-to-server data sync.. e.g. syncing overnight.

Daniel
Technician in New Zealand
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have used Comet Backup for years now and am very happy with it. We have used it for various different scenarios and there is an option for every type of backup needed.

Pros:

The support is the best, I always test new features as they are released and have questions regarding them, I always get a response the same day.

Cons:

The web interface is a bit clunky, I wish they would redo it, there is plenty of room for improvement.

Paul
CTO in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cost effective, easy and reliable.

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

All the features of the comparable products at a much cheaper price point. Was a little nervous at first but after our first restore - we are sold! Easy to use, reliable, cost effective. Frequent feature updates too. What more is to say.

Cons:

Nothing. Simple to roll out within the company to manage all our clients.

Matthew
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Outstanding customer service for outstanding software!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Comet makes offering backup services to my clients so incredibly easy. Comet's support team is just completely amazing, my last interaction with support sold me on Comet for life - I've been in IT professionally for 4 years now and have worked with support teams from ISPs to Medical Software companies, and no one even comes close to how fantastic Comet's support team is.

Pros:

Account-wide deduplication and compression make storage footprint much smaller and backups much quicker. User interface is clean and easy to use. Administration side of things is packed with incredibly useful features and options. I can customize policies to fit the software for any of my clients, whether they're more techy and prefer to do things themselves or a company that prefers totally managed IT services.

Cons:

Linux support is very lacking - I can't use Comet to backup any of my Linux servers to the extent of less-than-a-day disaster recovery. More thorough branding options for the backup client could be nice.

Luiz Eduardo
CEO in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple and effective backup system. Perfect support.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The solution was great for solving problems that were occurring with our customers. Easy implementation, effective support, and attractive prices.

Pros:

Clear pricing policy, one of the best value for money for MSP, efficient support and really safe solution.

Cons:

Initially it may take some time to understand its concept, which in our opinion differs a little from traditional backup systems, but after a short time everything is working perfectly.

Gary
Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comet Backup

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Everything. it just works and is easy to use for all functions

Cons:

Reporting is a bit weak if a customer sked for a report on their backups

Comet Backup Response

3 years ago

Hi Gary, Thanks for leaving a review! We appreciate the feedback. If you visit our integrations page (https://cometbackup.com/integrations) & filter by "monitoring" you will see a half dozen options that can assist with reporting, including MyClient and Backup Radar. Warm regards, Comet Team

Michael
IT Manager in Canada
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Affordable Backup for most use cases

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great so far.

Pros:

Large array of storage options. Large array of supported platforms Native Hyper-V Integration Basic Linux support Great pricing model

Cons:

Could use KVM/libvirt integration on Linux as well as support for more Distributions More robust error reporting when jobs fail is needed

Matt
Matt
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Backup for MSPs

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have Comet install on a digital ocean server. Customers are managed from this and backed up directly to S3.

Pros:

Very easy to use and setup. Runs on Linux. Low resources.

Cons:

Interface needs some maturity but it is getting there.

Michael
Michael
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comet Backup is my GoTo for backup products

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Inexpensive, good features, remote control

Cons:

If it were integrated with my Datto CRM and RMM product, it would make things somewhat better.

David
CEO in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Flexible Backup Service

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Comet is flexible in their hosing, backup, and restore options allowing us to be flexible with our customer’s needs. The flexibility in hosting options for us is critical. In the last two years of using Comet, we have transferred from using AWS S3 backing to Wasabi + client self-host servers without a single issue. The ability to self-host the server out of a docker container and scale it in our existing compute resources (Kubernetes) is an excellent option that we take advantage of. File backup plus select system images have been super helpful for recovery. We have been able to restore a full system image to a VM for a client well we rebuilt their main hardware.

Cons:

- Extra cost for system images backs. - Unable to restore a file from a different account. - Our interface is starting to look outdated.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

best online data backup platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: my overall experience with Comet Backup is that after trying their services, I can see why they were so highly recommended. They have a simple, easy to use and cost effective solution for data backup.

Pros:

I have always been looking for a reliable back up storage on the cloud, that would be secure, fast and easy to use. I was looking for a piece of software that would allow me to back up my clients data, get the most out of the cloud and make sure that my company can grow and support more clients. Comet Backup offers a user-friendly platform designed to help you manage your data in the cloud, along with a reliable back up storage solution. The platform has a Windows version is available in 11 languages.

Cons:

what I don't like is that the virtual machine backup is not done with cometbackup, it would be really nice if they thought to include that in their system

Borche
Senior software engineer in North Macedonia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Commet backup experience

5.0 last year

Comments: I am very pleased with it

Pros:

1. Excellent Customer support2. Encryption3. Flexibility and Scalability of the solution4. Extensibility

Cons:

A bit of complexity to understand client, server, commet online vault, protected items, moving to other machine