About Comet Backup

Start running backups and restores in less than 15 minutes! Comet is a fast, secure all-in-one backup platform for IT professionals.

Learn more about Comet Backup

Pros:

We were able to integrate Comet Backup well into our system landscape, even with monitoring.

Cons:

More robust error reporting when jobs fail is needed.

Comet Backup ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Comet Backup has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 32 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Comet Backup before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (32)

Raymond J.
Raymond J.
Systeembeheerder in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent backup software

5 11 months ago

Comments: We have used a fair number of backup software, all with some challenges. With Comet we have no issues at all.

Pros:

Backup servers are available for Windows and Linux. Installation and configuration is very easy. Setup and executing backup jobs works perfect. Restore also no problems. They make new versions very regular, so many new features over time.

Cons:

Overal the product works great. For virtual machine backup we use different software. If at some point this could be integrated in Comet backup, that would be excellent!

Sergi M.
Sergi M.
CTO in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comet backup for a Cloud provider

5 10 months ago

Comments: We were looking for a backup application that should be able to store efficiently the backup jobs to a cloud storage without using local temporal space.
After a few evaluations we came to Comet, has a good pricing model, it's easy to start with and we are a happy user for more than 2 years.
We are running hundred of backup jobs each day, and a few restores each quarter (we are lucky), and we never had any issue caused by Comet Backup.

Pros:

I was impressed by the ease of use of the server, how to deploy agents and how easy was to extract information from the server to report to our users how the backup was protecting their information. Also, every time we opened a case with Comet, response time and quality was top notch.

Cons:

It doesn't integrate (yet) with change tracking with the hypervisor so all the virtual disk has to be read each time, and that it'd be nice to integrate with S3 protocol Object locks to hedge against potential ramsonware attacks. I know that they are on it on both things but still not available.

Manish M.
Adminstrator in Australia
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Backup solution

3 10 months ago

Comments: Overall really good for MSP customers.

Pros:

The file backup part is really good. All the options for backup is really good. The features are a must. Work really smooth once its is setup

Cons:

Storage vaults is bit confusing. Local vault and UNC file might have a problem connecting.

Luiz eduardo M.
CEO in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple and effective backup system. Perfect support.

5 2 months ago

Comments: The solution was great for solving problems that were occurring with our customers. Easy implementation, effective support, and attractive prices.

Pros:

Clear pricing policy, one of the best value for money for MSP, efficient support and really safe solution.

Cons:

Initially it may take some time to understand its concept, which in our opinion differs a little from traditional backup systems, but after a short time everything is working perfectly.

Alternatives Considered: Acronis Cyber Backup, MSP360 Managed Backup and Ahsay Offsite Backup Server

Brandon W.
Owner in US
Computer Hardware, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Backup for MSPs

5 8 months ago

Comments: I've been really happy with Comet since the minute we started using them. I'm very happy with the switch! The Web UI is fast and responsive. You have lots of flexibility in choosing either to store backups on Comet Server or on an S3 provider like Azure (or any other that you might want to use).

Pros:

The pricing is very fair for a product like this and I love that you can brand the client to look and feel like your business.

Cons:

Not too much in the cons field. If I was to list one I would say the lack of continuous backup. You can work around this by scheduling multiple jobs a day but isn't as ideal as solutions we've used in the past.

Alternatives Considered: UrBackup

Reasons for Choosing Comet Backup: MSP360 (we signed up when they was still called Cloudberry) recently switch to a new billing system and as part of that switch decided to increase their rates. The new rates were going to almost double our costs. Switching to Comet we saved money over what our original rates were with MSP360 and gained a lot of flexibility.

Switched From: MSP360 Managed Backup

Fernand J.
Owner in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great self-hosted multiplatform backup solution

5 11 months ago

Comments: We use Comet to backup key data and systems for our clients as well as for ourselves.

Pros:

Comet has a light footprint, native applications (no Java client) and has a plethora of supported backup sources including Windows, Mac, Linux, databases, windows bare metal and more. It works reliably and offers flexible implementation options. The server software includes SSL certificate generation, data sync to other servers and more.

Cons:

Server setup and implementation took a bit of work but once it is set up it works well. The management interface takes a bit to get used to. It would be nice if we could have more fine-grained control of server-to-server data sync.. e.g. syncing overnight.

Daniel B.
Technician in New Zealand
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product

5 10 months ago

Comments: I have used Comet Backup for years now and am very happy with it. We have used it for various different scenarios and there is an option for every type of backup needed.

Pros:

The support is the best, I always test new features as they are released and have questions regarding them, I always get a response the same day.

Cons:

The web interface is a bit clunky, I wish they would redo it, there is plenty of room for improvement.

Alternatives Considered: Acronis Cyber Backup and MSP360 Managed Backup

Reasons for Choosing Comet Backup: Urbackup was extremely finicky.

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: It gave the option to host files locally, making restores supper fast. At the time this was important for one of our main customers.

Matt I.
Matt I.
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Backup for MSPs

5 3 years ago

Comments: We have Comet install on a digital ocean server. Customers are managed from this and backed up directly to S3.

Pros:

Very easy to use and setup. Runs on Linux. Low resources.

Cons:

Interface needs some maturity but it is getting there.

Charles R.
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Comet Backup in small MSP Environment

5 8 months ago

Pros:

I liked the cross platform use of the product for mac and windows. I liked the integration into backblaze. I liked the pay per use pricing model where I only pay for customers as I add them into the software.

Cons:

Having to run the software on a server instead of managed by Comet as Comets pricing is expensive. Unable to integrate the installer with my Syncro MSP software. Requires multiple steps to setup backup client on client system.

Pierre D.
IT Manager in South Africa
Media Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Comet Backup

4 11 months ago

Comments: We used this to back up a small number of Windows servers at a hosting provider in Germany, it served its purpose well for this particular application but as we have added more servers the time required to add new servers, make config changes and ensure backups go through successfully took a lot of time. We specifically also needed a quick and easy bare-metal restore feature which was at the time still in development with comet backup.

Pros:

The price point and flexibility to use a storage backend of your choice

Cons:

A fair amount of manual intervention required initially and the agent deployment and user interface is not 100% obvious with regards to storage policies and locations

Alternatives Considered: Acronis Cyber Backup and Rapid Recovery

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: Cost was a factor at the time and we ticked all of our backup requirements at that time.

Arsène V.
CEO in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A solid modern backup solution

4 11 months ago

Comments: We use Comet Backup for backing up our own servers and services, and now also provide managed backup services to clients. Being a software company ourselves, we really like how Comet can be configured and customized.

Pros:

The combined feature set of Comet Backup is quite unique in this price range. The ability to manage multiple clients, on your own hardware, with your own branding, with data deduplication was something we did not find in other products. The licensing model is not prohibitive as it grows with usage with no initial investment required. We were able to integrate Comet Backup well into our system landscape, even with monitoring.

Cons:

Being a "younger" product than some enterprise backup solutions, there are still some rough edges which needed attention from the producer or where we had to implement workarounds. The scheduling part and performance when using the Comet Server as storage destination are some of the parts where we struggle the most with.

Matthew P.
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Outstanding customer service for outstanding software!

5 last year

Comments: Comet makes offering backup services to my clients so incredibly easy. Comet's support team is just completely amazing, my last interaction with support sold me on Comet for life - I've been in IT professionally for 4 years now and have worked with support teams from ISPs to Medical Software companies, and no one even comes close to how fantastic Comet's support team is.

Pros:

Account-wide deduplication and compression make storage footprint much smaller and backups much quicker. User interface is clean and easy to use. Administration side of things is packed with incredibly useful features and options. I can customize policies to fit the software for any of my clients, whether they're more techy and prefer to do things themselves or a company that prefers totally managed IT services.

Cons:

Linux support is very lacking - I can't use Comet to backup any of my Linux servers to the extent of less-than-a-day disaster recovery. More thorough branding options for the backup client could be nice.

Alternatives Considered: MSP360 Managed Backup and Pulseway

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: Comet's incredible support team; better branding options; much more control over the software as a whole; much better interface.

Gary B.
Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comet Backup

5 8 months ago

Pros:

Everything. it just works and is easy to use for all functions

Cons:

Reporting is a bit weak if a customer sked for a report on their backups

Comet Backup Response

8 months ago

Hi Gary, Thanks for leaving a review! We appreciate the feedback. If you visit our integrations page (https://cometbackup.com/integrations) & filter by "monitoring" you will see a half dozen options that can assist with reporting, including MyClient and Backup Radar. Warm regards, Comet Team

Michael P.
IT Manager in Canada
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Affordable Backup for most use cases

4 10 months ago

Comments: Great so far.

Pros:

Large array of storage options. Large array of supported platforms Native Hyper-V Integration Basic Linux support Great pricing model

Cons:

Could use KVM/libvirt integration on Linux as well as support for more Distributions More robust error reporting when jobs fail is needed

David Y.
CEO in US
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Flexible Backup Service

5 5 months ago

Pros:

Comet is flexible in their hosing, backup, and restore options allowing us to be flexible with our customer’s needs. The flexibility in hosting options for us is critical. In the last two years of using Comet, we have transferred from using AWS S3 backing to Wasabi + client self-host servers without a single issue. The ability to self-host the server out of a docker container and scale it in our existing compute resources (Kubernetes) is an excellent option that we take advantage of. File backup plus select system images have been super helpful for recovery. We have been able to restore a full system image to a VM for a client well we rebuilt their main hardware.

Cons:

- Extra cost for system images backs. - Unable to restore a file from a different account. - Our interface is starting to look outdated.

Philip O.
Mr. in Brazil
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Backup Já

4 10 months ago

Comments: Overall, it works very well, it meets the demands of my clients.

Pros:

very easy to use attractive price very easy to use attractive price

Cons:

Does not backup VMware Does not backup VMware

Alexander Z.
CTO in Israel
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product for msp on super competitive prices

5 10 months ago

Comments: Great product which we rely on to backup our customers data, and it's doing its job really good

Pros:

The web dashboard, the multi os client, the multi tenancy and white label . Is the best thing about comet. At this prices it's a bargain

Cons:

A little bit rough interface, not very intuitive.

Alternatives Considered: Acronis Cyber Backup

Reasons for Choosing Comet Backup: Price

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: White label and pricing

Caleb H.
Computer Technician in New Zealand
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Happy Backerupperer

5 10 months ago

Pros:

Local (NZ) support White label Easy central management

Cons:

Linux client support poor Setup wizard needs to rerun for changes

Robbert V.
Robbert V.
System manager in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect software

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use and managed, very simple to install en fast product

Cons:

We would like to use also for office 365 backup

Charles S.
Operations Manager in US
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Comet FTW

5 5 months ago

Comments: 9/10 Best Solution and Fastest we have ever used.

Pros:

Quality Data Backups To Multi-Platform and From Multi-Platform

Cons:

Non descript Errors when a problem arises.

Jason P.
Chief Problem Solver / Owner in US
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Rock solid backup software.

5 8 months ago

Pros:

The ability to white label the software, and run our own infrastructure has been fantastic.

Cons:

There was nothing we found lacking in what we wanted to use Comet Backup for. The software met our checklist in every way.

Dale H.
owner in UK
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good product with solid foundation

5 8 months ago

Pros:

Self hosted gives the freedom to run our own services, Web UX is simple and easy

Cons:

The desktop application could be a little simpler for end-users but the backend for MSP's is great.

Karl rodrigue C.
Beatmaker in Haiti
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

storage software

4 10 months ago

Comments: overall I am satisfied with the result, the software does its job well

Pros:

comet backup is the best backup software that works on any operating system: Windows, mac, linux and this in a stable way while offering multiple flexibility, data synchronization with other servers.

Cons:

improvement on the web interface, if possible a redesign this lacks user-friendliness the handling is not easy

Sarel P.
Director in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Value for money

5 11 months ago

Pros:

I like the fact that I can rebrand the software. We can make use of a plethora of different storage providers, even our own

Cons:

Server upgrades to newer versions should be made as easy as pushing updates to the clients.

Ryan L.
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comet is great!

5 5 months ago

Pros:

It allows me to offer cloud backup services to my clients and get them on a monthly service fee for backing up their data.

Cons:

The software isn’t as customizable as I’d like but it is a white label software so you can customize it pretty well overall.