Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Comet Backup

Start running backups and restores in less than 15 minutes! Comet is a fast, secure all-in-one backup platform for IT professionals.

Learn more about Comet Backup

Showing 20 reviews

Raymond J.
Raymond J.
Systeembeheerder
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2021

"Excellent backup software"

Comments: We have used a fair number of backup software, all with some challenges. With Comet we have no issues at all.

Pros: Backup servers are available for Windows and Linux. Installation and configuration is very easy. Setup and executing backup jobs works perfect. Restore also no problems. They make new versions very regular, so many new features over time.

Cons: Overal the product works great. For virtual machine backup we use different software. If at some point this could be integrated in Comet backup, that would be excellent!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2021
Philip O.
Mr.
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2021

"Backup Já"

Comments: Overall, it works very well, it meets the demands of my clients.

Pros: very easy to use
attractive price
very easy to use
attractive price

Cons: Does not backup VMware
Does not backup VMware

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2021
Matthew P.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2021

"Outstanding customer service for outstanding software!"

Comments: Comet makes offering backup services to my clients so incredibly easy. Comet's support team is just completely amazing, my last interaction with support sold me on Comet for life - I've been in IT professionally for 4 years now and have worked with support teams from ISPs to Medical Software companies, and no one even comes close to how fantastic Comet's support team is.

Pros: Account-wide deduplication and compression make storage footprint much smaller and backups much quicker. User interface is clean and easy to use. Administration side of things is packed with incredibly useful features and options. I can customize policies to fit the software for any of my clients, whether they're more techy and prefer to do things themselves or a company that prefers totally managed IT services.

Cons: Linux support is very lacking - I can't use Comet to backup any of my Linux servers to the extent of less-than-a-day disaster recovery. More thorough branding options for the backup client could be nice.

Alternatives Considered: MSP360 Backup and Pulseway

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: Comet's incredible support team; better branding options; much more control over the software as a whole; much better interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2021
Robbert V.
Robbert V.
System manager
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/12/2020

"Perfect software"

Pros: Very easy to use and managed, very simple to install en fast product

Cons: We would like to use also for office 365 backup

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/12/2020
Jason C.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2021

"Excellent white-label option for MSPs"

Pros: - Ability to white-label without additional fees
- Ability to use your own storage solution

Cons: - A little tricky to setup but the online guides and support are phenomenal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2021
Tim K.
IT Management
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2020

"Hestronic Comet"

Comments: Never had real issues. had a issues once where the app crashed and crashed but support helped me out with that and solved the issue.

Pros: Easy to deploy, we have our own version of Comet backup for our company (Hestronic BV). Small app with lots of features and webbased!

Cons: The app is sometimes slow in starting/reacting. Maybe depending on the various systems but overall I find the app is a bit slow on server systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2020
Sergi M.
Sergi M.
CTO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2021

"Comet backup for a Cloud provider"

Comments: We were looking for a backup application that should be able to store efficiently the backup jobs to a cloud storage without using local temporal space.
After a few evaluations we came to Comet, has a good pricing model, it's easy to start with and we are a happy user for more than 2 years.
We are running hundred of backup jobs each day, and a few restores each quarter (we are lucky), and we never had any issue caused by Comet Backup.

Pros: I was impressed by the ease of use of the server, how to deploy agents and how easy was to extract information from the server to report to our users how the backup was protecting their information.
Also, every time we opened a case with Comet, response time and quality was top notch.

Cons: It doesn't integrate (yet) with change tracking with the hypervisor so all the virtual disk has to be read each time, and that it'd be nice to integrate with S3 protocol Object locks to hedge against potential ramsonware attacks. I know that they are on it on both things but still not available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2021
Matt I.
Matt I.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019

"Awesome Backup for MSPs"

Comments: We have Comet install on a digital ocean server. Customers are managed from this and backed up directly to S3.

Pros: Very easy to use and setup. Runs on Linux. Low resources.

Cons: Interface needs some maturity but it is getting there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019
Alexander Z.
CTO
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/08/2021

"Great product for msp on super competitive prices"

Comments: Great product which we rely on to backup our customers data, and it's doing its job really good

Pros: The web dashboard, the multi os client, the multi tenancy and white label . Is the best thing about comet.
At this prices it's a bargain

Cons: A little bit rough interface, not very intuitive.

Alternatives Considered: Acronis Cyber Backup

Reasons for Choosing Comet Backup: Price

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: White label and pricing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/08/2021
Arsène V.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2021

"A solid modern backup solution"

Comments: We use Comet Backup for backing up our own servers and services, and now also provide managed backup services to clients. Being a software company ourselves, we really like how Comet can be configured and customized.

Pros: The combined feature set of Comet Backup is quite unique in this price range. The ability to manage multiple clients, on your own hardware, with your own branding, with data deduplication was something we did not find in other products. The licensing model is not prohibitive as it grows with usage with no initial investment required. We were able to integrate Comet Backup well into our system landscape, even with monitoring.

Cons: Being a "younger" product than some enterprise backup solutions, there are still some rough edges which needed attention from the producer or where we had to implement workarounds. The scheduling part and performance when using the Comet Server as storage destination are some of the parts where we struggle the most with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2021
Daniel B.
Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2021

"Great product"

Comments: I have used Comet Backup for years now and am very happy with it. We have used it for various different scenarios and there is an option for every type of backup needed.

Pros: The support is the best, I always test new features as they are released and have questions regarding them, I always get a response the same day.

Cons: The web interface is a bit clunky, I wish they would redo it, there is plenty of room for improvement.

Alternatives Considered: MSP360 Backup and Acronis Cyber Backup

Reasons for Choosing Comet Backup: Urbackup was extremely finicky.

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: It gave the option to host files locally, making restores supper fast. At the time this was important for one of our main customers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2021
Pierre D.
IT Manager
Media Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2021

"Comet Backup"

Comments: We used this to back up a small number of Windows servers at a hosting provider in Germany, it served its purpose well for this particular application but as we have added more servers the time required to add new servers, make config changes and ensure backups go through successfully took a lot of time. We specifically also needed a quick and easy bare-metal restore feature which was at the time still in development with comet backup.

Pros: The price point and flexibility to use a storage backend of your choice

Cons: A fair amount of manual intervention required initially and the agent deployment and user interface is not 100% obvious with regards to storage policies and locations

Alternatives Considered: Rapid Recovery and Acronis Cyber Backup

Reasons for Switching to Comet Backup: Cost was a factor at the time and we ticked all of our backup requirements at that time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2021
Karl rodrigue C.
Beatmaker
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2021

"storage software"

Comments: overall I am satisfied with the result, the software does its job well

Pros: comet backup is the best backup software that works on any operating system: Windows, mac, linux and this in a stable way while offering multiple flexibility, data synchronization with other servers.

Cons: improvement on the web interface, if possible a redesign this lacks user-friendliness the handling is not easy

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2021
Fernando S.
Cto
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/08/2021

"Very good backup solution"

Pros: Compatibility is great, schedule works very well.

Cons: The interface is a little confuse, paths to the options are not directly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/08/2021
Manish M.
Adminstrator
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2021

"Good Backup solution"

Comments: Overall really good for MSP customers.

Pros: The file backup part is really good.
All the options for backup is really good. The features are a must.
Work really smooth once its is setup

Cons: Storage vaults is bit confusing.
Local vault and UNC file might have a problem connecting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2021
Fernand J.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2021

"Great self-hosted multiplatform backup solution"

Comments: We use Comet to backup key data and systems for our clients as well as for ourselves.

Pros: Comet has a light footprint, native applications (no Java client) and has a plethora of supported backup sources including Windows, Mac, Linux, databases, windows bare metal and more. It works reliably and offers flexible implementation options.
The server software includes SSL certificate generation, data sync to other servers and more.

Cons: Server setup and implementation took a bit of work but once it is set up it works well. The management interface takes a bit to get used to. It would be nice if we could have more fine-grained control of server-to-server data sync.. e.g. syncing overnight.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2021
Michael P.
IT Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021

"Great Affordable Backup for most use cases"

Comments: Great so far.

Pros: Large array of storage options.
Large array of supported platforms
Native Hyper-V Integration
Basic Linux support
Great pricing model

Cons: Could use KVM/libvirt integration on Linux as well as support for more Distributions
More robust error reporting when jobs fail is needed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2021
Caleb H.
Computer Technician
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2021

"Happy Backerupperer"

Pros: Local (NZ) support
White label
Easy central management

Cons: Linux client support poor
Setup wizard needs to rerun for changes

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2021
Sarel P.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2021

"Great Value for money"

Pros: I like the fact that I can rebrand the software. We can make use of a plethora of different storage providers, even our own

Cons: Server upgrades to newer versions should be made as easy as pushing updates to the clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2021
Fernando L.
SysAdmin
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2021

"Comet Backup"

Pros: Simples instalação, fácil utilização, rápido, boa integração com ZFS.

Cons: Valor elevado para quem não utiliza o dolár com moeda corrente.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2021