15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About BrowserStack

BrowserStack is the leading test platform built for developers & QAs to expand test coverage, scale & optimize testing.

Learn more about BrowserStack

Pros:

Wide Range of Devices available for every category like Android, IOS & Windows Platform. Has a number of integrations.

Cons:

I don't like that it can get quite a bit costly very quickly. Also if you want to be able to test faster, it's going to get expensive fast.

BrowserStack ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

BrowserStack has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 189 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used BrowserStack before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (189)

Raam Kumar
Raam Kumar
QA Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerfull testing tool for all test management needs

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Wide Range of Devices available for every category like Android, IOS & Windows Platform Has a number of integrations run several parallel test cases at one time

Cons:

Can have more training videos would be great if someone from browserstack can help in the implementation

Kirthana
Kirthana
Account Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Test automation is of ease with BrowserStack

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I was able to quickly create and run automated tests.

Pros:

Simple automated test creation No test infrastructure maintenance Automatically record test execution Self-healing tests

Cons:

UI can be slightly improved, can improve training.

Timothy
Timothy
Co-Founder in South Korea
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An essential tool for front-end devs (when it works)

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cross checking responsiveness is a MUST for web design, but using this tool is close to a nightmare. It typically takes me 15-20 minutes just to get it working correctly, and I can't explain why sometimes it works and other times it doesn't. Their chrome plugin and the desktop app seem to work in connection to each other, but how or why they work sometimes and not others is a complete mystery. Testing Localhost sites especially will give you a headache as the tech just isn't well designed for a good user experience.

Pros:

- Uses actual devices and not emulators - A wide range of devices and sizes are available

Cons:

- The Chrome extension works about one out of five times you try it - Lots of bugs in getting it to work, and often kicks you off the device for unknown reasons - The connection is slow, but to be expected with remote connection to a live device - Sometimes bugs still do not show on BrowserStack which I can see on my own device of the same type - Checking localhost sites is especially difficult to get working

Harshilkumar
Sr Automation test engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very productive tool, everyone should atleast try before opt another one

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: fantastic journey till now and productivity level got increase.

Pros:

-Ease of usage -Variety of options navigation -Wonderful dashboard

Cons:

-Almost everything is good and haven't yet came across any limitation

Kartik
SDET in India
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Browserstack real devce testing results

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, my experience with BrowserStack has been very positive. Access to a variety of real devices has greatly improved my testing workflow, ensuring my applications work smoothly across different platforms. The setup was straightforward, and the support team has been responsive to my questions

Pros:

What I liked most about BrowserStack is the ability to test on actual devices. The wide range of devices and browsers they offer ensures that I can catch issues that might only appear on specific setups. The interface is user-friendly, making it easy to navigate and run tests. Additionally, the performance is reliable, with minimal lag even when testing on high-demand devices.

Cons:

The least favorable aspect of BrowserStack for me is the cost. It can get quite expensive, especially for small teams or individual developers. Also, sometimes the devices take a bit longer to become available during peak times, which can slow down the testing process.

Nickol
Sr. QA Engineer in Costa Rica
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best available tool for testing

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Its been such a huge help on my daily testing, be it for web or apps

Pros:

- Several different devices available - For the same device, different OS versions available - Easy to switch between browsers/devices - Live app testing - Crossbrowser testing - Devices comparison side by side - Location settings - Integration with different tools suck as Jira, Azure, etc which helps reporting - Automation features

Cons:

- Session timeout - Gets slow if apps are too heavy - Would like a more detailed/code oriented dev tools

Edhar
Android Developer in Canada
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient and reliable cross-platform testing tool

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall experience has been very positive. It has streamlined our testing process, making it much easier to ensure our applications perform well across all platforms and devices. Despite the occasional slow-down and pricing concerns, the benefits far outweigh these issues.

Pros:

I like vast array of real devices and browsers which has significantly simplified the process of cross-browser and cross-platform testing. The ability to quickly switch between different testing environments without the need for physical devices is a massive time-saver. Their live testing feature is also incredibly user-friendly and effective for catching subtle bugs.

Cons:

It can sometimes be slow during peak hours, which can affect productivity. Additionally, the pricing model can be a bit steep for smaller teams or individual developers.

swetha
Test engineer in New Zealand
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best tool for cross browser testing

5.0 last month New

Comments: Its my everyday life saver for my responsive cross browser testing.
Happy to see the geo based testing

Pros:

Recent updates like making fav devices, maintaining session across the browsers.

Cons:

No defect management tool within b.stack

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good to try

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

It works well for our QE department allowing them to not all have physical devices for testing.

Cons:

No complaints as of yet. I do need to get more experience with it. But from what I've seen from the QE team it is working well.

Aman
Boss in India
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Feedback By Aman Bhagat

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

i use live testing tool for website testing and its the best feature i love it.

Cons:

Eailer there was location changing button missing that please add it once more

Madalina
Sales Marketing Manager in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Save your time with BrowserStack

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I would recommend this platform to all the developers who write codes, build websites but don’t have many devices or browsers available for testing. It is a real timesaver and a wonderful solution for developers. I recommend you to go for BrowserStack and increase the productivity of your team.

Pros:

This platform is a real savior for developers: it saves a lot of time and resources. Maybe you don’t have all possible browsers installed on your PC or all possible devices at hand, but there is no need to worry. You can test your code on BrowserStack. The platform is very reliable, it is pleasant to know that it works without any glitches. In addition, the platform is being regularly updated, so you can test your code on the latest devices and browsers. If you have built a website and you are interested in how it looks like when accessed via various browsers or different devices, then BrowserStack may come to your assistance. First of all, it shows whether the site works and finds the errors if there are any. Secondly, the platform allows you to see the design of the site on different browsers. And finally, you may also want to know if the website is available on devices or how it looks. You don’t need to look for all possible devices, iOS or Android, you can just trust the job to BrowserStack.

Cons:

Sometimes it works a bit slow but I don’t think that the problem is connected with the platform, probably it depends on the internet speed. You can not test a few browsers at the same time. I would like to see this problem solved because browsers are many and it takes a long time to test the browsers one by one. BrowserStack suggests four plans but to my mind, all of them are expensive. I would like to see a cheaper platform.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good platform to scale web and mobile testing

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: No platform specific bugs missed anymore.
We ended up on a few physical devices (while the rest of testing is on BrowserStack cloud) without loosing the quality of testing.

Pros:

Ease of switching from local testing to testing in the cloud. Ability to group test results and generate basic reports. Ability to include test execution video in JIRA bug reports. Ability to re-start manual session with the same parameters as previous one.

Cons:

Response time of their endpoints changes unpredictable over the day. That affects some testing, especially when we need to test some dynamic elements such as progress indicators in our mobile apps (that appear just for a few seconds so test cannot capture them opposite to local testing). Pretty complicated learning curve for newbees. When junior member joined my team, I needed to spend 3 hours explaining him basics about our test automation infrastructure built around BrowserStack.

Amey
Technical Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good Tool for Testing app on different devices and platform.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Main Problem for testing apps is Limited set of devices in inventory. BrowserStack removes this hurdle by providing developers, testers a platform where they can test apps on multiple devices. It was very difficult to have different sets of iOS devices as they are very expensive and also their simulators are working on only mac machines. But with BrowserStack one can test apps in real environments. It provides the same features like real devices with pre installed apps. You can also debug consoles to find any errors. Hence really handy and useful. So I would recommended BrowserStack if you want to don't spend extra money on different devices. You can choose BrowserStack and be relax as you don't need to worry about theft :-)

Pros:

Variety of devices. Testing in Real Environment. Easy to manage with team. Easy to start and stop Sessions. Easy to install Applications from different platform. Love that they have Test-flight options separately Error handling becomes easy using console. Cost Saving as user don't need to buy multiple devices.Especially iPhones and iPads

Cons:

There were few issues I came across. Sometime Setting app from iPhone didn't work. You need to close session and restart again. Subscription cost is little on higher side as compared to competitors But it's worth. Power consumptions is more. Some time its get slow. User has to restart session.

ilysse
Project Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Real Game Changer in Website Development

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've used BrowserStack for several years while building websites. Our clients trust that we are going to be able to test their website before it launches because of BrowserStack.

Pros:

BrowserStack is a life saver in website development, so our team can test across all browsers for desktop, tablets, and all mobile devices. It also helps us to be able to replicate issues that clients may see, even if we don't have their device.

Cons:

We can currently only have one user logged into BrowserStack at a time. There may be an upgraded plan for more users.

Reeve
Staff QA Engineer in US
Broadcast Media, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BrowserStack is working for us

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I am happy with BrowserStack as the issues we've encountered have been minor and things have been running smoothly.

Pros:

What I like most from the software is the support for a lot of real mobile devices instead of just emulators.

Cons:

What I like least about this software is there is no way to spin up a VM on a combination of a major and minor version of a browser.

Flavio
Flavio
Creative Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An invaluable tool in our development process.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: BrowserStack helps us ensure the websites and products we develop work flawlessly across browsers, devices and platforms.

Pros:

BowserStack includes excellent features for cross-browser and device testing, allowing us to identify isolated issues across platforms. It's a must for any serious developer looking to iron out any bugs before delivery.

Cons:

Testing with real devices is still a good idea to identify some of the most obscure edge-cases - in some rare situations the platform isn't completely accurate.

Tigran
Tigran
Developer in Armenia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BrowserStack review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: In general this software is very usable nowadays in web development mostly for front end developers for testing web apps responsibly and debugging it without using extra machine within one place.

Pros:

It's the best app to test your web application in the most popular platforms. It has major usable systems Windows, Mac, Android, IOS, including the old versions of these stacks. You can run the os and launch the preferred browser and test your app. Beside that It provides developer tools, and you can test it even app in your local machine and debug it.Beside that

Cons:

There are some drawbacks of this software, one is it loads slow than usual, starting from loading site and during testing process. The second issue I faced sometimes, it closes browser inside it's environment for no reason and you should do your working steps again and again.

Suman
Director, QA in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient test automation for cross browser and device testing

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Browserstack provides us with an ability to test multiple browsers and devices without spending a ton of money to create and manage a device farm. Support team has been very effective in resolving any issues we saw with integration or use of the software.

Cons:

We find that testing real devices is faster than testing on browserstack.

Simisara
Simisara
Project Coordinator and Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Enables manual and automated testing on virtual devices

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use browser stack for testing of our developed websites across multiple devices as well as for cross-browser testing and testing on different versions of browsers and OS. It provides many device options and older browser versions.

Pros:

Availability of virtual devices to test websites on. Ability to inspect the code on the devices to identify the issues. It offers to test on the local machine/development server too that is very handy for developers.

Cons:

It would have been better if there were more devices available with different screen sizes as certain bugs are identified in certain devices only. It consumes lots of bandwidth. Safari browsers sometimes crashes on local server testing.

Sonali
Senior Process associate in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

BrowserStack

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall it's useful device to use and work with and I found it user friendly compared to other such as lambda test.

Pros:

It's similar to real devices and gives same results as you can get in real device. You can get all the solutions easily and with no time if you report them.

Cons:

After few hours it might be slow as part of performance and your work can get delayed due to that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Decent

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Somewhat solid software, with some quirks.

Cons:

It's expensive for what it does in my opinion.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you do any kind of web development, you need this.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've been making websites for over 20 years now and I wish I had this tool years ago! It's a solid, fast, complete product that will basically pay for itself because it will save you hours in development and debugging work.

Kobi
QA Manager in Israel
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Payoneer review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and adapt to our needs, A variety of devices and debug and inquiry options.

Cons:

Not thinking of anything in particular right now. When I see or hear something I will update

Vinothkumar
Sr. Automation Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Product feedback

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Customer Support, integration, logs and other details, video screenshots and so on are good.

Cons:

Some of the features like cross platform support within the same session switching between the apps and iOS related performance features like battery usage, CPU usage, memory usage and so on, would be nice to have.

Aleksei
QA Lead in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

cross platform/browser testing I like about this software

Cons:

nothing specific I didn't like about this software