Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About Backlog

Project & code management, together at last. Plan work, track progress, and release code right in Backlog for all-in-one collaboration.

Learn more about Backlog

Showing 76 reviews

Eric P.
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019

"A great app for any work with an active team"

Comments: We work in a research project for Artificial Intelligence in Games.

Pros: I really like the fact, this is easy to add some issues and to follow any kind of problem. This is also really easy to assign an issue to someone.

Cons: The different kinds of priority are not enough, that will be better to let the user define its own priority (high, normal and low are not enough sometimes to make the difference)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Daniel O.
COO
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2017

"At first Backlog seems like a bit much but now our team could not function with out it."

Comments: Streamlined workflow and the ability to see who's accountable for what and where projects are. It's help us stay on track and keep projects under budget and on time.

Pros: It's task oriented without feeling like a burden. Other project management tools I've used feel like glorified lists but Backlog offers a lot more. Getting your team on board is difficult but the flow of using Backlog makes sense and came natural for us. We work 100% remotely so if it didn't work we would know right away something wasn't right.

Cons: For us, one of the strengths about Backlog is the integrations with Typetalk. We use both but I do with they were more tightly integrated. For example, simply using at mentions on Backlog. Messages from Backlog issues go to Typetalk and we use @username to create an alert on Typetalk at the same time. This might be particular to our team but it's really helpful. When I type (@) on a Backlog comment or description I want the list of usernames to show.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2017
Surendra P.
Developer
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2020

"Great Software"

Comments: It is very user friendly and easy to use

Pros: I have been using backlog from the past 2+ years. It is very easy to use. It has many features like wiki, store file, gantt chart... Recently they introduced the Board which is very useful to see all the tasks in one place.

Cons: There is nothing i am disliking from this software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2020
Sandeep G.
Junior software developer
Cosmetics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"we are love to use backlog"

Pros: I liked the way of bugs maintenance and having simple ui to understand by the non technical persons as well.

Cons: mail structure. In mail try to add bug status in front. (closed or added). In mobile push notifications we are unable to differentiate whether it is added or closed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Engineering Manager/New Product Development
Machinery, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018

"This service is very good."

Comments: We use Backlog to track all the work in the department. All the documentation is stored in Backlog. It's very convienant.

Pros: The software works well. It makes it easy to track what everyone in the group is accomplishing each day.

Cons: When we send emails to Backlog, embedded pictures are lost. We work around it but it would be better if it just worked. Additional reporting would be nice to have.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018
Carmen G.
Senior Managing Director
Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"Backlog Review"

Comments: Solid PM tool with flexible pricing options.

Pros: Solid Project Management tool for software development teams. Interface is intuitive and training is minimal. Good reporting and project communication capabilities.

Cons: Sometimes the more advanced features you are looking for are only available in the higher cost subscriptions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Prabu L.
Team leader
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2019

"Backlog review"

Comments: We can track the issue's status but its does not have completion percentage of the issue. Improve UI

Pros: issue type and tags. Easy to create new issue/task

Cons: Need to concentrate on User Interface so that user can easily access the app

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Alex R.
Software Developer
Program Development, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2019

"Backlog"

Comments: Various team planning projects organized with the developers, organizers of activities, the testing and support team. It is wonderful the system of assignment of tasks and notifications that allows to always take the project to the day and with the priorities to solve.

Pros: Easy to use and practical for manage projects and teams

Cons: The attachment files is not very much easy to use, it may be better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2019
Conrad K.
Sales Representative
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018

"Absolutely fantastic way to manage your pest control business. Managing has never been so easy!"

Comments: Tracking appointments. Managing progress. Creating follow ups

Pros: I love how I can schedule and track appointments. Before using this products I was left to on my own devices to schedule and often times we would miss appointments. Have not missed one since.

Cons: I do wish they had an analytical reporting feature. It would be nice to have a one-stop tool to manage all sides of the business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Riya P.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"Amazing experience"

Pros: This product is easy to use. It has great functionalities for every user.

Cons: Nothing found so far. Better numbering of tasks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Serkan G.
Co-founder, CTO
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2020

"Easy to use and flexible issue tracking software"

Comments: We are using backlog for issue tracking. It is flexible, it allows us to define our own states. Also it is easy to create new issues and search for existing ones.

Pros: I love the kanban view. Also I like the flexibility of the issue states so that I can set up my way of working easily.

Cons: Even though there is an attachment preview I wish when you click on them you could get a bigger preview within the site itself.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2020
Oleksandra B.
QA engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2019

"Review for Backlog"

Comments: It is easy to create a new project, and easy to start using it for new users.

Pros: Very convenient management and bug tracking tool. looks like well-organized space for project management. Good to have Slack intigration

Cons: It was little bit tricky to migrate all ready issues to Backlog. For now, if there are a lot of projects it looks messy, it will be nice to have the possibility to combine them in folders

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2019
Thomas B.
TIer III Support Analyst
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2018

"Used this product in school and work"

Pros: What I like most about the tool is that it provides an easy to use interface that allows for team collaboration and sub-tasking.

Cons: The only thing that I would say that's negative is that it runs slow at times but I believe that's a result of our environment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2018
Jodus M.
Director
Primary/Secondary Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018

"Try it for free now"

Comments: No

Pros: Some of the best online project management tools for developers on the market today, hands down. Workflow A1

Cons: You have to stay onto people of it even though the layout is clear and easier to use. Visuals could be improved

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Rahul R.
Customer Success Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020

"User Experience"

Comments: Backlog is solving the company's issue.

Pros: Feature of assigning a bug to a concern person is very good. It is easy to use.

Cons: As of now i do not think there is any missing feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020
Nitsan F.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2019

"My experience with BackLog"

Pros: Combines the features that usually are scattered over a few apps. The ability of several teams in different places around the globe to work together on the same database, collaborating and exchanging thoughts is just great.

Cons: Document editor can be a bit more user friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2019
Yongjin L.
Commercial Pre-Sales
Internet, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"A fan of Backlog"

Comments: using for issue tracking, and regular meeting agenda / minutes at WIKI space.

Pros: The best tool with easy UI for users, and comparatively reasonable price!

Cons: Not sure how to backup all the contents and versioning if I should move to another platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Miguel F.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"Well designed and extremely easy to use"

Comments: Tracking software issues across a dispersed organization. Worked great!

Pros: Intuitive software that you can use without instruction. Upon sign-on immediately see what has recently happened and easy to click on items needing your attention. Great way to organize and collaborate on issues with a diverse team in different locations.

Cons: Not much I didn't like. Perhaps the ability to add a custom field or a more fine-grained priority field (Low, Medium, High) so as to make sure people are looking next at the most pressing issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Peter M.
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2018

"A great alternative ticketing system for teams"

Pros: We're using the basic plan and it provides us a great deal of flexibility for our teams. It allows us to keep track of items really easily and submit via email, etc is a breeze. Our users are finding it very easy to get into the system and are seeing quicker responses to their queries. Features of the system are great and what you would see in more expensive alternatives. Pricing per company is excellent compared to per seat as well.

Cons: Make sure you setup on the right plan to start your trial as you cannot change while you are on trial which is somewhat challenging if you setup a stack of work prior to your change. Apart from this support has been great when needed and the service runs quickly and smoothly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2018
Jim H.
Application Engineer
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2019

"Great Collaboration Software"

Comments: UI is easy to use. Issues are clearly tracked. Robust attachment management. Email notifications are effective and clear. Icon personalization is a nice touch.

Pros: I'm solving problems related to software design and development. We work across different time zones, and BackLog is great for our international projects. In conjunction with realtime collaborative software, we are able to use BackLog for high-level project organization.

Cons: Working with the smartphone app is not as useful since the browser version is so well designed. Also unwieldy at times when flipping between different projects. No realtime chat. Wish there were more markdown options for formatting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/08/2019
John M.
CTO
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/05/2020

"Works exactly the way you would expect"

Pros: Simplicity, configurability and easy of use.

Cons: Would have liked a little more configurability and the printing optiosn are kind of limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/05/2020
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019

"Free but functional"

Comments: I'm very happy working with Backlog tool. Email notifications are insanely useful for tracking changes.

Pros: It works well for small projects; it covers (probably) all features you may want to use and it is free for a team like my own.

Cons: No Cons, honestly. For this price it is impossible to find any ;)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019
Hoàng N.
Web Developer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"Work smarter with Backlog!!!"

Comments: Friendly, easy to use, easy to manage, work more efficiently. However, we need to notify the user (via email) when the server has problems to be able to organize the work

Pros: Unlike the Github, GitLab ..., Backlog allows me to have an overview when the project has multiple modules, each module needs a separate git repos.

Cons: I have trouble verifying who committed the code when viewed on the git tool of the Backlog

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Jennifer B.
Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019

"Simple and Effective"

Comments: Backlog has helped us get a handle on our massive list of bugs and upcoming features.

Pros: It's simple, easy-to-use, and clean, while still having most of the features I want in a bug tracker.

Cons: There are some times I would like to be able to categorize tasks by custom parameters, which is not supported. Also I think the user limit for the free tier is a little restrictive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019
Devaraj R.
Team Leader
Information Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2019

"Excellent Tool"

Comments: It helps us a lot to track all the issues and also it helps to take action on issues in a timely manner

Pros: 1. Easy to use, not an complicated one.
2. Quick alerts, easy to track all posted issues
3. I'll recommend more

Cons: I'm fully satisfied and I didn't see any cons over here

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2019