15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ELMO Software

Swap admin time for people time with ELMO, the award-winning cloud HR solution that can help your organisation streamline its people and pay processes.

Learn more about ELMO Software

Pros:

This software is so simple to implement and once implemented it has saved myself and other managers so much time.

Cons:

One issue was with external training as this was very limited for what we need it for.

ELMO Software ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

ELMO Software has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 241 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ELMO Software before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (241)

Tom
Tom
OT Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A happy user

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Dashboard, online form and online course.

Cons:

None

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for your review, Tom. We hope you continue to enjoy using ELMO Software. Kind regards, ELMO

Alan
Alan
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and updates team on policies and procedures

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Before an HRIS was implemented, most records were kept in printouts and physical copies rather than in a centralized location. Since ELMO has been introduced, it is simple to look up an employee's past and see how their performance has been handled.

Pros:

Superb Customer Service and Support Staff: Throughout both the pre- and post-implementation phases, I received assistance that was competent, fast, and effective. Simple Leave Request Form with Leave Balance View. And to conduct evaluations for supervisors to examine. The dashboard is also quite helpful for data retrieval.

Cons:

One email will be sent upon enrollment in a new course. As a gentle reminder, I prefer many reminders. The employee data part is not as aesthetically pleasing as the rest of the screen display.

Andrew
Administration Assistant in Australia
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ELMO - The 21st Century nightmare of HR

1.0 5 months ago

Comments: Hate is a strong word. Would prefer to use despise, which is frankly worse. Cannot believe that anyone would pay such a huge amount of funds towards such an underdeveloped project. I guess we got pulled in by the sales team that marketed with ' Yes we can ' to later find out that they could actually not, worse than that, that option never existed. Felt like a test dummy for Xero integration, with nobody really knowing how to fix the issue and is still unresolved 3 years later.

Pros:

Forms provide flexibility in development. Employee management of documentation is easy.

Cons:

Lost most of my hair setting it up, lost more trying to change how departments wanted it to run, and more when trying to sort out their software bugs for them. It is badly managed, badly put together hodgepodge of software that has no place in being part of the HR realm.

Katie
Capability & Engagement Manager in Australia
Wine & Spirits, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very happy with the software and the service offered by ELMO

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The implementation was seamless and the staff at ELMO go over and above to ensure you get the most out of the system. We have gained the most benefits out of the Onboarding, Learning & Performance modules.

Cons:

Some limitations in the rostering software but ELMO are very proactive in continuously developing and improving the software

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Thanks for a great review, Katie! We love to hear that you have found ELMO's Implementation team and cloud-based solutions helpful to your oranisation. We look forward to continuing to support your business. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Varun
Service Delivery Lead - ICT & Cloud in Fiji
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

360 Employee Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: ELMO provides you a platform to manage your daily HR operations through a system driven governed process. From on-boarding, recruitment, leave management, performance tracking and internal workflow management to handling employee exit.

Cons:

Some fields require manual addition to sections. Option for duplicates not present.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Varun, Thanks for your review and for your feedback. We've passed this on to our Product Development team. We hope you continue to enjoy ELMO's Performance Management. Best wishes, ELMO

Richard
CEO in Australia
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Buyer beware - this software is a scam

1.0 4 months ago

Comments: The single worst engagement we have ever had in 17 years of doing business. Avoid at all cost.

Pros:

On face value it appears good, but in reality they claim it can do all sorts of things that it just can't do.

Cons:

- Highly deceptive sales process - they won't let you preview the product or test it in any way before signing up. - False sales; salesperson promised us features that don't exists - Completely non existent customer support - Outdated, clunky and buggy software - parts of it even rely on Flash, which hasn't been supported on Apple products since 2007 - They're quick to refer to their inhouse legal team when you want to question the contract and won't entertain ideas of leaving the platform BEWARE! We've been trapped and are now locked in for three years with a complicated and completely unusable product. It's an absolutely disgusting team of people who have no respect for the customer at any stage of the journey - they just want to get you signed up and then you're treated like garbage.

Helen
National HR Manager in Australia
Facilities Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Change your life with ELMO

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Time to Onboard has been dramatically reduced and is now no longer a labour intensive process.
I am looking forward to providing meaningful reports to the business.

Pros:

This software is so simple to implement and once implemented it has saved myself and other managers so much time. In particular having project based work our Onboarding process has become so streamlined now we can onboard high numbers of employees at the same time. As a Performance Appraisal system we found ELMO easy to develop and roll out. Our company had not been keen on Performance Appraisals in the past but ELMO was so well embraced we had 100% update on the first appraisal round. We also find the more you use the system the more proficient you become. The support provided by ELMO during the project implementation phase has been extremely supportive. We are now using the Help Desk and our issues are usually resolved within 24 to 48 hours.

Cons:

If an employee has not completed all their documentation we would like an automatic alert. At this stage we need to manually check on this.

ELMO Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Helen. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such a great review, and thank you for your continued support. Our customers are at the heart of our business, and feedback like yours is invaluable. We have passed your feedback on to our Product Development team. We hope your organisation enjoys the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO Software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: ELMO has been used by our HR team for over five years. It has gotten progressively better and easier to use. Now, I know exactly where to go in ESS, how to request information or support and have more clarity around my performance management, than ever before.

Pros:

I use ESS ELMO software nearly every day in my role; for requesting leave, undertaking mandatory training, keeping an eye on performance KPI's and measurement.

Cons:

Finding a payslip from my company is difficult.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate the time you've taken to share your positive experience when using ELMO's Employee Self-Service module. Kind regards, ELMO Team

celine
Registered Nurse in Australia
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: excellent

Pros:

easy learning and keeping the the record of my health learning

Cons:

Each time entering username and password

Andrey
Data architect in Australia
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty intuitive and easy to use.

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

ELMO Software is a standout tool in HR management. Its comprehensive suite of solutions is incredibly user-friendly, covering everything from onboarding to payroll and performance management. The versatility of the platform truly shines when coordinating a multitude of HR tasks. The real-time data insights provided are second to none, allowing for actionable decisions to improve workforce engagement and productivity. Additionally, ELMO's commitment to integrating with existing systems makes implementation smooth and hassle-free.

Cons:

Cannot really think of anything, the whole thing is pretty intuitive and easy to use.

Clinton
Digital Health Advisor in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elmo has a modern, clean interface, and can be highly customised

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use Elmo for our Leave applications, personal leave, Annual leave etc., as well as keep us updated on what documents/certificates/checks are needed for our employment.
Also Elmo enables us to provide some onboarding modules for our new staff, so it's great to have that in one place, and means the new staff become familiar with it's operation from the start.

Pros:

Ease of use is high. Clean layout within the software is helpful. Customisation means we are not forced to use pre-defined templates as with some other apps, so we can tailor the forms to suit our business processes.

Cons:

The other side of the customisation coin, is that the forms seem to need creating from scratch. At least that's the feedback I have had, as a user, from the staff who are creating the forms, but this might be a gap in their knowledge so might be good to look at Elmo/talk with a rep to see what pre-defined templates they may have available.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Clinton. Thanks so much for your detailed review. It's great to hear your feedback about ELMO's Leave Management and Onboarding. Please do not hesitate to reach out regarding pre-defined templates, your system administrator or your Account Manager here at ELMO can help. Thanks again, we really hope you and your organisation continue to benefit from using ELMO Software to streamline your HR processes! Best wishes, ELMO Team

Debbie
General Manager, People & Development in New Zealand
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We have the ELMO Learning module - so far, so good! Easy way to get learning out to the business.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

PROS: ELMO was relatively easy to install, and the single sign on function is great as it means we don't have to log on separately to use the system. The system has been branded to look the same as our other platforms, and is quite intuitive in terms of navigating around. The ability to deploy learning opportunities from the Library works well, and we're also able to generate our own content using the course builder. The support team have been great - particularly with more presence in NZ! The data and tracking we get from the system has worked well for us and allows us to provide real time analytics to our management team.

Cons:

CONS: We have come up against some limitations, particularly around linking learning items together - e.g. if we want to run a webinar using Skype across the organisation, we can't embed the Skype link into an invitation direct from ELMO. We also wanted to be slightly "out of the box" and use ELMO for collation and recording of Driving Licence details for example, or apply for an unlisted external programme using the system. This proved to be more challenging than we thought, but it is probably more to do with an unintended use of the system rather than a particular system issue......

Daria
L&D Manager in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning module

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use initially, generally the administration of courses etc is easy, the coursebuilder is good too and is getting easier to use with recent updates.

Cons:

More functionality and features for L&D would be great. Better options for pointing users directly to a specific course for sign up. More options for content management and curation within the Learning module.

Vicki
People and Culture Manager in Australia
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy of People Management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: All staff that I have had the experience of working with have been extremely professional and helpful along the journey of implementation. Could not speak higher of them as a team.

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to implement product is very high

Cons:

You currently don't have the ability to have two managers

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the wonderful review, Vicki. It is great to hear about how the ELMO team has supported your organisation through the implementation process. Your feedback has also been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Kseniya
People and Culture Director in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ELMO HRIS: Review Snap-shot

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, our feedback is very positive and staff across all levels are happy with the introduced HRIS

Pros:

Great customer support team: very responsive and efficient

Cons:

Some visibility features are yet to be improved (e.g. display of data, attaching additional data, etc.)

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Hi Kseniya. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Carol
Senior Manager Learning and Development in New Zealand
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We use the standard modules available from ELMO and edit them in the Editor software provided.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy to use and maintain. Good coverage of learning topics within the 400 topics available.

Pros:

Good range of topics, covers the basics for compliance and has a mix of information and quiz items all of which can be modified/edited to our company needs. Simple to use and easy to maintain.

Cons:

While the modules have sound instructional design and get the job done, they are not highly sophisticated or overly glossy. Having said that, we paid for a good solid offering to cover the needs of people on the go, who need to get the information quickly and efficiently.

Daniel
People and Culture in Australia
Human Resources, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very positive

Pros:

Excellent product- has allowed us to bring training , onboarding and payroll and a Human resource database into one system

Cons:

Document attachment could be larger to allow bigger documents to be saved

ELMO Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Daniel. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such great feedback. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team. We hope your organisation continues to benefits from using ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Thomas
Discipline Coordinator / Academic Supervisor in Australia
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ELMO Software will benefit your business

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Staff acquisition and management is the chief benefit I find, other than its excellent functionality as my personal HR-related portal. It is clear, well set up, ergonomic and logical.

Pros:

The staff management and performance review features are logical and easy to use.

Cons:

Once enrolled in certain courses by accident, I found they couldn't be removed.

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Hi Thomas. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate it! We hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Shamal
Assistant Engineer in Fiji
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ELMO Feedback

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good experience

Pros:

Great management software. Brings transparency to ones performance

Cons:

I did not have any bad experience with this software.

ELMO Software Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review, Shamal! It is great to hear that you have had a positive experience using ELMO's Performance Management solution. Best wishes, ELMO

Cody
Administration in Australia
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

STAY AWAY!

1.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Looks pretty nice colours sales people will tell you anything you want to hear

Cons:

The sales team promises you everything, but doesn’t know how the system works. The payroll package is only part built and only partly functioning. Stay away!

Nicole
Senior People & Culture Advisor in Australia
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Recommend ELMO

5.0 last year

Pros:

It is very intuitive and once I had used it for a few months I could troubleshoot most issues staff were having.

Cons:

There are a few things it can't do, can't think of them off the top of my head, but I'm sure that is the same with all similar products.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for the review, Nicole! We hope you continue to enjoy ELMO Software. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Robert
Security Guard in Australia
Security & Investigations, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for a training programme

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This product allows you to find what you need with ease. Places items needed to do on top and gives you a clear time period to have the items completed.

Cons:

The program doesnt have the items in alphabetical order making it sometimes difficult to find something in a hurry.

ELMO Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Robert. We really appreciate the time you've taken to write a review and thank you for your feedback. We've passed this on to our Product Development team. Best wishes, ELMO

Nicole
People and Culture in Australia
Veterinary, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New user

5.0 last year

Comments: The Sales experience was exceptional. We are yet to start using the system although the implementation schedule looks very achievable and workable for our business

Pros:

Intuitive, user friendly and everything is integrated

Cons:

not sure as yet as we haven't started actively using it.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Nicole. Thanks for your great review and feedback on your experience with the team so far! We are so excited for you to start using ELMO to help streamline all your HR processes. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Diane
Planner in Australia
Individual & Family Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very positive

Pros:

Interface, ease of access, user friendly

Cons:

Formatting and/or Display issues at times

ELMO Software Response

2 years ago

Hi Diane. Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you have had a positive experience using ELMO. Your administrator may be able to help you with formatting/display. Otherwise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for assistance. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Anand
Finance Officer in Australia
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall satisfied with the software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Ease of use and its comprehensive features are great and user friendly

Cons:

Nothing that I experienced so far. It is well designed and equipped with clear features and options

ELMO Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Anand. Thank you for the review. We're so glad to hear that you find ELMO's cloud-based solutions easy to use. Kind regards, ELMO