15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About OmniGraffle

Diagram software that enables designers to create website wireframes, electrical systems, family trees, and maps of software classes.

Learn more about OmniGraffle

Pros:

Very powerful tool for UML and other diagram conventions.

Cons:

Hard to find much wrong with the software. The mobile iOs client is a little archaic - however, it works.

OmniGraffle ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

OmniGraffle has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 43 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used OmniGraffle before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (43)

Ben
Ben
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A flawed masterpiece

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with OmniGraffle has been excellent. It is incredibly easy to create beautiful diagrams with the app, and much easier than traditional vector drawing apps. It bridges the gap between vector drawing apps and desktop publishing software, making it a great choice for those who need to create diagrams for a variety of purposes. Diagramming is a primary use for me, so it's worth spending money on a tool that I can depend upon. I do not regret my decision to choose OmniGraffle, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a powerful and easy to use diagramming tool.

Pros:

OmniGraffle is an amazing tool for creating great looking diagrams with ease. It has great control over typography, and object-oriented diagramming is incredibly powerful for creating different versions of the same diagram for different situations. It also has good import and export options, and is great for working across Mac, iPhone, and iPad. Plus, the support from OmniGroup is top notch.

Cons:

OmniGraffle is a powerful diagramming tool, but it has some notable shortcomings for advanced workflows. It does not support live data sources, and its charting capabilities are quite weak. Additionally, it lacks the ability to import and export hierarchical or relational data structures, which can be a major limitation for sophisticated information work.

Sechaba
Solutioning Specialist in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great app for my diagrams

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: It’s been a pleasure to use. It full of features with a great UI.

Pros:

It was easy to use from the first time I used it. There were plenty of options to create amazing diagrams.

Cons:

I couldn’t find anything negative about my experience with the app.

Derek
Information Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Used to be Great

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used it exclusively for over a decade. What used to be a great product at a fair price, with great support, has deteriorated badly. Loss of features; massive price; no support. Thus I am switching to an alternative vector drawing tool.

Pros:

Ease of use, clean vector graphics, good set of exports

Cons:

1) No backward compatibility: features removed with each release  2) Each new release introduces a whole set of bugs (including in the previous feature set). 3) Support used to be great. 4) Price is through the roof.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Omnigraffle is Visio for Mac

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love omnigraffle helps me wireframe or produce flow documents of any process or project I am working on.

Pros:

Oh my so many things you can do with this layers check, a good library of stencils, check solid community of users check many more checks to count

Cons:

The only thing I would say on the downside of things is there are so many ways to use this product and finding the more advanced features will take a lot of mastery of use of the product.

Nathan
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Flexible, powerful, somewhat quirky OS X native Visio alternative

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: OmniGraffle is marketed largely as an OS X native alternative to Visio, but it shines as a separate product in its own right, and a perfect accompaniment to Adobe CS for technical drawing. It's fine for all those Visio-ish things, org charts and information maps and whatever else, but I mostly use it for circuit diagrams and other 2-D technical drawings, and it works very well for these purposes.

Pros:

Flexible units, canvas sizes, pen colors, objects, magnet positions, routing algorithms, etc.; it does pretty much anything you'd expect, and then some. The ability to specify double lines with outline and gap color is especially useful for my purposes: automotive wiring diagrams where wires often have a main color and one or two tracer colors. I also use OmniGraffle for diagramming fluid flow in fuel and cooling systems. It's great for all such symbolic diagramming.

Cons:

Object libraries are a bit wanting, as are the tools for drawing custom objects (I prefer to draw custom objects in Illustrator, and import them). But that's about it.

Vatsala
QA Coordinator in UK
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unleashing Creativity in Visual Design and Diagramming

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Users often commend OmniGraffle for its user-friendly interface. The intuitive design makes it easy for both beginners and experienced users to create professional-looking diagrams and visual designs.

Cons:

While many users praise the intuitive interface, there is still a learning curve, especially for individuals who are new to diagramming or graphic design software. Some users might find it takes time to become proficient in using all the features effectively.

Yeni
Yeni
Product Engineer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Serves my wireframing needs well.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Using Omnigraffle for my projects makes me work faster.I like the ease at which I am able to tweak my wireframes ,flows and maps on this program.I am provided with loads of templates to aid the quality of my work and draw inspiration from. It is cross platform and this fits well with the nature of my job,which almost forbids me being behind my desk regularly .With Omnigraffle ,I stay in control of my projects even while on the move and I am able to quickly make amendment to my wireframes ,if there is a need to.

Cons:

It is obviously far from the most intuitive diagramming tool I have used and takes far too much time to learn for new users.

Alexander
Alexander
Product Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The swiss army knife

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It makes it ridiculously easy for me to sketch out brainstorming ideas and send them to the team. And they look professional.

Pros:

Essentially if you want to create a diagram, you can make it in OmniGraffle. It has stencils for brainstorming, UML, AWS diagrams, site mapping, almost any kind of diagram and that is amazing. You could easily just have one piece of software.

Cons:

It can do too much. It can do brainstorming, UML diagrams, app mockups, vector drawing... and it's not the best tool at many of those things. You just have to know what you can do quickly.

Steven
Steven
Software Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful Architecture Diagram Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Use OmniGraffle Pro for quick diagrams to review with the engineering team, as well as more structured diagrams for presenting concepts to stakeholders.

Pros:

Very powerful tool for UML and other diagram conventions. Ability to map out system interactions and present in a clear format. Export to image format or save as a graffle file for future editing and collaboration.

Cons:

Feature-rich interface can appear daunting for beginners and this creates a steep, but short, learning curve.

Andrew
Andrew
Technical Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Multipurpose diagramming and design software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I have been an omnigraffle user for around 7 years now. I have used it to layout tiles for tiling floors and backsplashes, laying out designs for audio visual systems for signal flow and also have use it for designing patterns used to cut out stage design pieces on a CNC router. Line routing is very helpful for making signal flow diagrams. An extensive stencil library covering a variety of industries is a huge benefit making this software useful for many different purposes. Multiple export options of your document is also a huge plus.

Cons:

It has a little bit of a learning curve in the beginning but if you have any previous experience with other design software it is not too difficult to learn Omnigraffle.

Charles
Charles
Entrepreneur in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Alternative to Visio for Mac Users

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My go-to tool for non-trivial wireframe, laster-cut, IT architectural diagrams. This is a powerful feature rich tool and its import / export capabilities allow me to exchange work with Visio users.

Pros:

Professional graphics with many import / export options. Outstanding for making flow charts, org charts and architectural diagrams for IT. Also a great tool for designing laser cut templates for on-line services as the object oriented approach is dimensionally correct and the wide format options improves chances you will meet the services' file format requirements.

Cons:

Some of the features take a while to master. This is not a tool that you will pick up quickly or that you would use to create a drawing for a simple business presentation.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid Layout tool, Very nice UI

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's a solid tool, and if you need a native flowchart/layout app to help with flows, this is the one. However, it's not as functional or collaborative as other tools out there.

Pros:

The UI is familiar to those familiar with Sketch and other Design-based software. The Ui is clean and gives you a lot to work with. Nice for laying out flows and for VERY simple wireframes.

Cons:

Feels somewhere inbetween a vector-based design tool and a flowchart/layout tool. It does both good, but neither great. Also, it's not as collaborative as other tools out there. The rage right now is real-time collaboration. Omnigraffle requires you to attach and share files.

Thomas
Development Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for Macs!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The design capabilities of OmniGraffle Pro are excellent. Multiple layers for objects, plenty of formatting options for text and graphic objects, and easy to use and create templates, are all hallmarks of this application. It's pretty easy to build a library of art that can be re-used, and it's relatively simple to share that library across multiple users. There are also a number of already-made libraries of graphic items that can be downloaded and used. I use this tool regularly for flow charting and process mapping for professional use, as well as some design work for personal use.

Cons:

It would be nice to see some connectivity features added, perhaps something like a "web part" that could return a graph from Google Charts or data from another API.

Scott
Scott
Senior Architect in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great alternative to Visio for the Mac

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like pretty much everything about this software. It is easy to create flows and drawings for my projects. There are numerous stencils available online for download which improve my productivity.

Cons:

I wish I could export directly to native Visio format instead of Visio XML for sharing files with clients.

Alexander
Researcher in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Have no fear... OmniGraffle is here! (Don't even think of looking at Illustrator.)

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

For most "business"-related or academic tasks, you don't need Illustrator to make a quick schematic. It'd be overkill. And for most people, learning Illustrator is hard. To the contrary, OmniGraffle is specifically designed for making professional-looking, crisp vector graphics in a very intuitive and effortless way. Like other Omni Group products (e.g., the excellent OmniFocus task management software), OmniGraffle is robust and packed with features. But it's also user-friendly and easy to understand and use. It's the perfect choice for technical schematics, circuit diagrams, org charts, flowcharts, wireframe diagrams, etc.

Cons:

I wish there were more high-quality free stencils in the Stencil Town marketplace. Most of the nice ones cost some money. This doesn't detract from the software at all -- you can create whatever you want from scratch -- but if you'd like to jump ahead and use some nice "clipart-style" vector graphics, you might end up spending a few bucks like I did!

Damon
Damon
Engineering Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy To Use After Learning Curve

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I use OmniGraffle Pro on my Mac desktop for engineering design documentation. The tool is generally easy to use after learning a few key combinations for editing. It is easy to center and line up objects using the very smart alignment tools. The default shapes are nice and clean and objects with curves render smoothly. There is a lot of functionality that might not be immediately obvious until you start using the tool.

Cons:

I have difficulty manipulating the connection lines. The key combinations to edit a line position are not immediately obvious and I had to use outside resources to figure it out.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OmniGraffle is indispensable for creating publication-quality graphics

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Create publication-quality graphics
Illustrate complex systems

Pros:

Draw on a fixed size canvas, what you see is what you get on the print -- very helpful for IEEE/ACM papers Magnets and grid that connect and align objects So many features and shortcut keys that I am still discovering, but all features are to maximize productivity

Cons:

Learning curve is steep. Documentation is still very long. Should have a shorter getting started documents that introduce all key concepts of OmniGraffle

Daniel
Product Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OmniGraffle - Better Than Visio

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This is an outstanding piece of software for creating diagrams. On the Mac there is nothing better.

Pros:

If you are a Mac User and need something to replace Visio, or just need a good diagraming program I would highly recommend OmniGraffle. It is easy to use, has a great set of features, and allows you to create powerful documents. It can't be beat.

Cons:

I would love to see them offer this solution on Windows. I think there is a great opportunity there.

Rene
IT Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best diagram tools I've used.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using omnigraffle to design my business flow process charts including software implementation and project management. Every time I require any kind of process flow charts I design them with omnigraffle.

Pros:

You can design any kind of diagrams, charts, etc. You can export them to different type of formats that make it easier to visualize and organize.

Cons:

I am a mac user, never had any problems or complains with it. Works just fine with everything i need.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best UX Software outthere

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have had a great experience with this software it's definitely my go-to.

Pros:

This software's amazing. Very user-friendly and most importantly is that it maintains the UX Designer focus on the wireframe. Other software is very heavily on the design that sometimes you might end up losing focus.

Cons:

Better curation for the stencils that are included in the Omnigraffle website. There are quite some that are useless.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I regularly use OmniGraffle for creating process flow charts and influence diagrams.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Easily clarify complex thought processes.

Pros:

OmniGraffle is very easy to use. It allows a user to create lucid charts that capture the essence of the logic of a process. I particularly like the fact that arcs drawn from one object to another are drawn such that they virtually pass through the center of an object so that arrowheads don't pile up on each other. One of the best features of OmniGraffle is that it allows a user to create layers that can be turned off and on to reveal successive layers when talking through the build-up of a process map.

Cons:

OmniGraffle is packed with so many features that it can be difficult sometimes to figure out how to use those features in a chart as the supporting documentation is a little thin.

Ryan
Hardware Engineer in US
Consumer Electronics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Block Diagram Creation

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, omnigraffle did exactly what it was supposed to do and did it well.

Pros:

Omnigraffle is fantastic alternative to Visio for use on MacOS. It makes creating block diagrams of complex systems fairly easy. The interface is clean and the software was reliable.

Cons:

At times, I found it hard to customize existing shapes or create new custom shapes. This was not really a deal breaker, just a mild annoyance.

karthekean
Senior Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Reasonably good diagramming tool

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience was good but could have been even better if the tool is more easy to work with and had more cross compatibility.

Pros:

Liked OmniGraffle's integration capability with Jira and also the import / export features that is very helpful. Templates available with it were handy and aided in quick diagram creation.

Cons:

Finding the features needed was relatively hard and also cross compatibility of the diagrams created within this platform was not great.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

This product helps us organize projects and as an admin it's easy to download and set up on laptops.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Project organization just got easier with this software

Pros:

This software it's used mainly by our engineering team and production team. They use it to help them organize and prepare projects.

Cons:

It is very expensive and wish that they offered a bulk plan to be able to assign multiple users to this account.

Gena
Strategist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid Tool for Various Visualizations

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Omnigraffle is an easy to use tool with a wide variety of available stencils to help you rapidly create visualizations. It also has a ton export format options.

Cons:

Converting Vizio files for use almost always results in display issues. There are a few unusual hot keys that take some time to get used to.